Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Spartan Total Warrior doesn't remind me of anything before it, which is extremely rare. [Nov p.70]
  2. 90
    Mindless hack-and-whack style gameplay stays hot thanks to interesting objectives. Spartan is constantly throwing new gameplay elements at you.
  3. When it's at its best, Spartan offers an unparalleled sense of size and scope. Some of the environments are truly massive, and even with over a hundred soldiers on screen at once, the frame rate remains consistently smooth. [Nov 2005, p.108]
  4. While not the super-strategic romp some of you were expecting, Spartan: Total Warrior delivers the goods if you're looking for a solid chunk of challenging action from start to finish.
  5. It's one of the most polished games I've played since "The Incredible Hulk: Ultimate Destruction." [Nov 2005, p.138]
  6. The combat is satisfying, the setting is grand and the amount of troops on screen is amazing - this is war on a scale rarely seen in games and it puts the likes of "Dynasty Warriors" to shame for its combination of sheer numbers and exceptional graphics, with an outstanding soundtrack that completes the atmosphere of this historical adventure.
  7. Visually the game is certainly impressive when you take into consideration the number of characters onscreen at one time - with only very infrequent episodes of slowdown - and the draw distance.
  8. 80
    A very gratifying game, with a lot of minor problems that ultimately hold it back from greatness.
  9. With its simple gameplay and involving story, Spartan: Total Warrior is a perfect blend of strategy game and hack'n'slash romp.
  10. 79
    It's therefore unfortunate that the unrefined targeting system, cheap boss battles and generally unhelpful friendly AI make the experience a mixed bag of exhilarating and exasperating moments.
  11. The boss fights are frustrating to the point of idiocy, and are made worse by the annoying checkpoint system... It sure beats the hell out of another "Dynasty Warriors" retreat, though. [Oct 2005, p.119]
  12. I must say that while it doesn't even approach gaming's Pantheon of Gods nor does it really aspire to do as much, it does succeed as a pure action gaming experience.
  13. We weren't particularly bothered that we had to wait while our health/power gauge increased slowly, but what we didn't like was the fact that Spartan couldn't protect himself at all when praying at the statues.
  14. 74
    An accomplished and well-crafted battle-axe wielding warrior of a game. Just don't expect anything classic, historically speaking.
  15. For the most part, Spartan: Total Warrior is a pretty good action effort. Unfortunately, the high production values and engaging gameplay of the Total War games are nowhere to be found here.
  16. It only betrays itself completely once – in a dismally conventional boss battle around halfway through – though at times Spartan threatens to become routine, it never does, thanks to its strong character, handsome looks and sheer, irrepressible verve. [Nov 2005, p.96]
  17. If "God Of War" never happened, Spartan: Total Warrior would have been a great example of a simple, gratuitous action game. As it is, it's merely a good one. [Nov 2005, p.124]
  18. Though it can be an intense experience, Spartan does have a tendency to become quite repetitive at times. Having said that there is a solid combat system and enough variety that will please action fans.
  19. Spartan doesn't offer much new material over games like "The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King" and "God of War," both of which are more balanced and have vastly superior production values.
  20. If you are looking for an epic battle game that takes place in the ancient world, go get yourself a copy of "Rome Total War," if you want an awesome battle game where you are one soldier against many foes then go get yourself a copy of "God of War."
  21. Given the high-standards the series has set in the PC strategy genre, it's a big shame that Total Warrior couldn't have done better for the name in the console action genre.
  22. 60
    While the production values are pretty good, the gameplay is pretty shallow. If you're into action games, this is worth playing once.
  23. 50
    After such an uneven effort, there can be no other assessment made: the game gods must be displeased.
  24. Combined with the recent God of War, a pattern seems to be developing: the gifts Ares bestows come at the cost of a clad torso. [Dec p.88]
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    I played this game, out-of-the-box on hard. And i got stuck a few places because of the difficulty, but by the time I was finished with it, I thought it was the most underrated game of all time. This game turned out to be so good, that when I later tried God of War, it was hard to get into it, because it reminded me so much of spartan. But it wasn't the spartan sequel that i was longing for. anyway, great fun. I can't say this game would've been as much fun on normal or easy- but playing it on hard is the way to go: 10/10. Full Review »
  2. RyanM.
    Mar 10, 2006
    7
    Spartan: Total Warrior can be summed up in simply one word...meh. But that wouldnt be a review, and Spartan is worthy of atleast a rent and a single playthrough. To start off, the game is reasonably long, and sporting flashly gorgeous graphics for the Gamecube. The game has widescale battles, and the swarms of enemies you mow over can become extremely entertaining...for an hour. See, that little devil known as tedium clicks in, and you soon realize your doing the same thing over and over. The game is good though, with presentation rivalling those of other big titles, and it is not a bad entry in the total Rome series. yet, the game is simply too repetitive too be granted a purchase at the moment. the game does not fail, and its fun in brief plays, but overall the experience is left unfullfilled. verdict? Its a gorgeous game with top notch production values, but falls short when presented with "top-notch" gameplay. Full Review »
  3. JCB.
    Nov 8, 2005
    9
    Fun mission based game just it is frustrating during some of the boss battles. Objectives keep it entertaining. Should buy if into action games. One of the best i've played since God of War. Full Review »