Star Fox: Assault GameCube

Star Fox: Assault Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Team Star Fox is back for more intense combat as they engage a new threat by air and by land. A few years after disaster was barely averted on Dinosaur Planet, Lylat Central Command gets wind of a new threat spreading throughout the solar system. The Star Fox team--composed of classic teamTeam Star Fox is back for more intense combat as they engage a new threat by air and by land. A few years after disaster was barely averted on Dinosaur Planet, Lylat Central Command gets wind of a new threat spreading throughout the solar system. The Star Fox team--composed of classic team members Fox McCloud, Slippy Toad, Peppy Hare, and Falco Lombardi, along with some new faces--is sent in to engage this new enemy. Now, as part of the Star Fox team, you can participate in solo or co-op missions or plug in with up to three other players. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 59
  2. Negative: 3 out of 59
  1. While certainly not perfect – the game is short and could have benefited greatly from LAN or online multiplayer support – there really isn't a more versatile arcade-style shooter for the GameCube system.
  2. Play Magazine
    80
    I miss Fox's awesome fur mapping, but I guess getting Krystal as a permanent team member makes us even. [March 2005, p.59]
  3. Weekly Famitsu
    78
    8 / 8 / 7 / 8 - silver [Vol. 846]
  4. Game Informer
    70
    It's easily one of the most unique and entertaining multiplayer choices for the GameCube. [Apr 2005, p.131]
  5. Everything that is good about the game (the flight missions, the refurbished musical score) stems from the original Star Fox. What Namco tried to do with the on-foot missions makes me wonder why purists are arguing that the series hasn't evolved enough.
  6. Far from being the next generation of Star Fox game.
  7. From a value perspective, you're dealing with a feature-film's worth of content for fifty bucks. Independently wealthy, rabid fanboys might want to check it out, otherwise we'd leave this fox to the dogs.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 40
  2. Negative: 6 out of 40
  1. sdc
    Jun 24, 2015
    10
    Incredibly underrated; they do something different, fanboys will hate in every way shape or form. I don't give a damn about your nostalgiaIncredibly underrated; they do something different, fanboys will hate in every way shape or form. I don't give a damn about your nostalgia boners; it's different, unique, and still fun. I don't care if these foot sections reappear; I'm more than happy with them. Throw in a pre-apocalyptic atmosphere, amazing Arwing sections, graphics that'll knock your socks off, and an orchestral score that packs a punch; we have what I believe to be Star Fox' greatest adventure. 64 not withstanding. Expand
  2. EdgarB.
    May 13, 2005
    10
    Great Game. People complain that it is short, but yet again think about it people. Every StarFox was short but good! Good story thats Great Game. People complain that it is short, but yet again think about it people. Every StarFox was short but good! Good story thats different from Andross usual. AWESOME AND ADDICTIVE MULTIPLAYER. You can use Arwings, LandMasters, and walk on foot with an array of weapons and switch between them all. A pretty good bit of unlockables playing VS mode matches. ALl in all a great game. Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2012
    9
    i don't see how people can hate on this game. this game is the most advanced star fox game yet. it had a great story, some slight humor thei don't see how people can hate on this game. this game is the most advanced star fox game yet. it had a great story, some slight humor the boss battles were great, if only the game was longer. also, i liked the on land levels. they make good multiplayer. Expand
  4. Jul 7, 2016
    8
    StarFox Assault was and is an underrated gamecube gem, one of my favorites even, and probably my second favorite StarFox game behind StarFoxStarFox Assault was and is an underrated gamecube gem, one of my favorites even, and probably my second favorite StarFox game behind StarFox 2. The handling on-foot wasn't great, but it doesn't ruin the game, and the Arwing and Landmaster gameplay were both outstanding, definitely wish I could see more of that in future games. It's an easy 8.7/10

    The in-story cutscenes look spectacular even by today's standards, and has probably the best, and most solid storyline in the StarFox series, taking us back to SNES-era seriousness, it expanded on all of the characters and made them seem like more than cartoon tropes like in 64 or Adventures.

    The soundtrack was outstanding, one of Nintendo's best ever, but the soundscape/audio wasn't great, it sounds VERY underwhelming next to great visuals, design and music. Some of the voice acting is very good, and some of it is almost cringeworthy.

    I'd say the game stands on equal grounds with 64, and is the best true sequel to the series, (to be released officially that is), I hope Nintendo can learn from Assault, StarFox 2 and more recently SFZero and give us a game that pushes the series to the future, and add more characters, please.

    The multiplayer is spectacular, one of the best on GameCube next to Smash Bros Melee and MarioKart DD, but is a little underbalanced at times, Fox and Krystal are well rounded, Falco's got VERY low health even for a speedster, and Slippy's oddjob with extra health, Peppy is vulnerable most of the time except for his blaster, and Wolf is incredibly overpowered.

    The Arwing flies like a dream, probably the best aircraft I've ever used in a video game, and the LandMaster was for its first time a REAL Tank, but it was fast and maneuverable, a graceful machine that's super fun to run enemies over, or blast them with the beam cannon, definitely need more of that in the series.

    a spectacular underrated masterpiece that although is NOT perfect, is still an outstanding game worth its salt. and for the facts: the majority of the game is spent in the Arwing, and then LandMaster, and then onfoot in that order for people who say you spend 60% of the game on-foot or whatever bullcrap
    Expand
  5. Aug 10, 2013
    7
    I do not understand why people complain so much about this game.
    This is a great Star Fox game, I have only played the 64 remake on 3DS along
    I do not understand why people complain so much about this game.
    This is a great Star Fox game, I have only played the 64 remake on 3DS along with the SNES one.
    It is by far better than the 64 one. The combat on foot is a lot of fun, and multiplayer is GREAT!

    7 out of 10, since it could be longer.
    Expand
  6. Puffy
    Nov 22, 2005
    6
    star fox assut is more like the n64 n super nintendo versions of the game .. its ok .... but really not as good as star fox adventure...the star fox assut is more like the n64 n super nintendo versions of the game .. its ok .... but really not as good as star fox adventure...the mutlyplyer aspect is pretty fun... but it is easy to get lost... the missons are ok... lot of the ground missons remind me of star wars... the sounds n all.....u can tell it even the look of star fox reminds u of star wars on the ground ....i like star fox adventrue better...but if ur lookin for a flyin game like the n64 n super nintendo one this one has it ......but ito me i really didnt like it .... i rent this first if i were u ......i boarrowed from a friend for few days ....its just a average game.. nothin speaial. Expand
  7. BReilly
    Feb 4, 2005
    0
    Worst Star Fox game ever. Huge disappointment.

See all 40 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2005
#3 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2005