User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 44
  2. Negative: 4 out of 44

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnB.
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    This was the COOLEST game ever!!!!
  2. ChrisM.
    Jan 1, 2004
    6
    On the plus side this game has great graphics and some really exciting levels. However on the minus side this game has a sh*tload of boring and repetitive levels. The on foot missions are absoloute rubbish and shouldn't have been included. Rogue Leader was a much better game.
  3. JoeL.
    May 10, 2005
    10
    I never played much Star Wars games and i gotta say it is the best Star Wars on the GC and outmasters any of them on PS2.
  4. JoeyK.
    Aug 6, 2005
    5
    There's a lot of stuff here. Plenty of content on that little disc. Unfortunately, the whole innovation with on foot combat fell terribly short. As for space combat, it's still great, though the level design is not as good as Rogue Leader. If you likes Rogue Leader, and want more of the same flaying, get this game, and ignore everything where you're touching the ground. There's a lot of stuff here. Plenty of content on that little disc. Unfortunately, the whole innovation with on foot combat fell terribly short. As for space combat, it's still great, though the level design is not as good as Rogue Leader. If you likes Rogue Leader, and want more of the same flaying, get this game, and ignore everything where you're touching the ground. Though the flying levels aren't as good as RL, they're still darn fun to play. Plus, Rebel strike comes with all of Rogue Leader in Co-op, and for some the right person that's worth 50 bucks on it's own. Expand
  5. LisaB.
    Jul 19, 2006
    8
    i thought this game was fairly good the ground missions SUCKED but the flying missions ROCKED my [***SPOILERS***] favorite part of the game is the multi player because inthe battle of hoth in story mode you get shot down and have to play on foot i liked when you get to take out the AT-ATs using the grappling hook and when you pull your self up you have to use your light saber to open the i thought this game was fairly good the ground missions SUCKED but the flying missions ROCKED my [***SPOILERS***] favorite part of the game is the multi player because inthe battle of hoth in story mode you get shot down and have to play on foot i liked when you get to take out the AT-ATs using the grappling hook and when you pull your self up you have to use your light saber to open the door and then throw your thermal bomb to destroy it thats the only part ilike about that mission but in the multi player battle of hoth your in a snow speeder and you get to use toe cable to take down the AT-ATs its a fun game but i think multi player is better for all you cheaters enter iouaoye and after that enter wimpiam! to get inf lives. Expand
  6. SteveE.
    Nov 28, 2003
    6
    This game was a big disappointment its still got some good levels but the game is too short and the on foot levels are crap.
  7. RickR.
    Oct 20, 2003
    10
    Wow. I've only played a level or two of the single player game, but I've already gotten my money's worth on the multiplayer. Racing and dogfighting with Classic Star Wars vehicles, and the entire Rogue Leader game in co-op mode. Word is that all 3 classic Atari coin-op games are in there somewhere too! This is a gold mine for us 30 something SW geeks. It'll make you Wow. I've only played a level or two of the single player game, but I've already gotten my money's worth on the multiplayer. Racing and dogfighting with Classic Star Wars vehicles, and the entire Rogue Leader game in co-op mode. Word is that all 3 classic Atari coin-op games are in there somewhere too! This is a gold mine for us 30 something SW geeks. It'll make you feel like you're 10 again. Expand
  8. SoulCalibur2
    Oct 22, 2003
    7
    I played this game at the store before, and it wasn't so bad. The graphics were good but you always get the sense that you have no idea what to do. In the demo, you are dropped in the middle of a huge battle with people yelling at you, so you have the sense of total confusion. This game, overall, is good, but it could have used some more touching up.
  9. JoeW.
    Oct 22, 2003
    1
    overrated
  10. MikailM.
    Oct 22, 2003
    1
    Ugh! I feel like Luke is running around inside a fat suit and concrete shoes.
  11. DonoB.
    Oct 26, 2003
    10
    Really good game! Lots of variety and bonuses. Very fun game. Multiplayer is buckets loads of fun. One of the best games this year.
  12. EtienneM.
    Jul 20, 2005
    3
    Huge disappointment. All the negative comments on the on-foot levels are spot-on, and then some. The flying levels are only slightly better. It is next to impossible to play from the cockpit view in almost all missions for a variety of reasons. My last experiences with Star Wars games were Rogue Squadron and Shadows of the Empire on the N64, and it is stunning to realize it feels like Huge disappointment. All the negative comments on the on-foot levels are spot-on, and then some. The flying levels are only slightly better. It is next to impossible to play from the cockpit view in almost all missions for a variety of reasons. My last experiences with Star Wars games were Rogue Squadron and Shadows of the Empire on the N64, and it is stunning to realize it feels like this game has been made before these two titles! In conclusion, a huge disappointment on all levels. Collapse
  13. SteveB.
    Nov 25, 2003
    9
    Overall, this is a great effort put forth by Factor 5. They are able to pull off the vehicle gameplay flawlessly. You will have a blast when you are in a vehicle. That being said, I have read a lot of negative things about the the 3rd person ground missions. Take it from me, they do not ruin this game. Instead they present a new form of gameplay that broadens the Star Wars experience. Now Overall, this is a great effort put forth by Factor 5. They are able to pull off the vehicle gameplay flawlessly. You will have a blast when you are in a vehicle. That being said, I have read a lot of negative things about the the 3rd person ground missions. Take it from me, they do not ruin this game. Instead they present a new form of gameplay that broadens the Star Wars experience. Now I will be the first to admit that they did not pull this off perfectly. But I am glad that Factor 5 took a chance, and I hope that they will continue to improve this form of gameplay. I hope that they will give the player camera control and smarter allies the next time around. Expand
  14. MikeS.
    Dec 19, 2003
    0
    A pathetic excuse for a video game, Rouge Squadron III fails to offer enough new material to be interesting. The new stuff that the game does have is flawed and get's boring after a couple of minutes. Rebel Strike is a duplicate of Rouge leader that happens to have a couple of new features.
  15. M.A.
    Dec 26, 2003
    10
    I bought it and it was very good!!!!
  16. W.
    Oct 25, 2003
    9
    This game is for FANS of starwars.
  17. May 28, 2012
    6
    Good graphics, like the previous game, interesting stories, and enjoyable air combat. Only problem is the ground missions felt quite bulky, and some of the other levels as well seemed slow. Other than that, a decent game.
  18. Feb 4, 2014
    7
    This game has good graphics and dogfights but they failed on foot combat. that was one of the reasons i bought this game too. it had good fighting elements in the dogfights.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Topping off the game is the ability to go through all of RS's excellent missions in a splitscreen co-op mode with a friend. [Dec 2003, p.68]
  2. Anyone who has played any of the previous Rogue Squadron titles will know what to expect from most of this title, but while its predecessors have been unadventurously solid, Rebel Strike is quite the opposite. A valiant effort with some wonderful moments but it promises more than it can deliver. [Dec 2003, p.96]
  3. There's a prevalent fashion at the moment for games to contain a multitude of games styles, a presumption that suggests consumers have become bored of single genre games. But Rogue Squadron III exposes the lie. It's a game that tries too hard to do many things, but only manages to do a few of them well. [Dec 2003, p.92]