Amazing Alex Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: AN AMAZING NEW PHYSICS PUZZLE GAME FROM THE CREATORS OF ANGRY BIRDS!Meet Amazing Alex! This whiz kid has a boundless imagination and a houseful of fun toys that can turn anything into an adventure!From cleaning up his room to battling cardboard robots in his backyard, Alex creates amazingAN AMAZING NEW PHYSICS PUZZLE GAME FROM THE CREATORS OF ANGRY BIRDS!Meet Amazing Alex! This whiz kid has a boundless imagination and a houseful of fun toys that can turn anything into an adventure!From cleaning up his room to battling cardboard robots in his backyard, Alex creates amazing chain reactions to get the job done with the maximum amount of fun! Now he has some challenges for you -- and he wants to see the most creative solutions YOU can create!With 100 challenging levels across four fun-filled locations, there's a whole world of creations to explore!* PLAY AND CREATE YOUR OWN SOLUTIONS *Set the objects up to bounce, pop, ricochet, bash, and crash into each other and create an elaborate Rube Goldberg device! With a houseful of toys to play with, there's more than one right answer! Share your most creative solutions with your friends and see what they came up with!* BUILD AND SHARE LEVELS *Got a great idea for a level? Design intriguing new levels using 35 interactive objects and share them -- with friends or with the whole world! With other fans constantly creating and uploading new levels, there are always new challenges to check out!* FEATURES *- 100 amazing levels to test your creativity- Regular free updates with new levels- Create your own levels and share them with friends or with the whole world- Amazingly social -- share your levels and solutions with friends, or see theirs- 35 fully interactive objects and four fun locations- Download and play the best fan-created levels from around the world- Retina optimized for resolutionary experienceGET READY FOR SOMETHING AMAZING!Find out more at: https://www.amazingalex.comFollow Alex on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/amazingalexFollow Alex on Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/amazingalexWatch the Official trailer: Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Jul 12, 2012
    100
    Amazing Alex is indeed amazing, and should appeal to any puzzle fan or anyone that likes games that make you think. Get ready to spend hours on your iPhone or iPad with this one.
  2. Jul 13, 2012
    90
    It may have lost a little bit of its personal touch, but for better or worse, Casey's Contraptions is Amazing Alex now. And with the same great gameplay, a dauntingly endless set of custom levels, and a company behind that has the resources to churn out tons of free content? I'd say that's better. Amazing, even.
  3. Aug 24, 2012
    83
    A cunning slice of mind exercising wrapped up in lovingly crafted visuals. [Oct 2012, p.94]
  4. Jul 13, 2012
    80
    A great game. The physics are well done, it looks good, sounds good and is easy to pick up and learn. That being said, it did not grab me as much as some puzzle games out there, and part of that is the lack of motivation.
  5. Jul 16, 2012
    75
    While we mourn the passing of Casey a bit, Amazing Alex retains the same creative and enjoyable gameplay and even sports a few refinements over the earlier game.
  6. Aug 3, 2012
    70
    Manipulate everyday objects, like skateboards, balls or pipes to achieve your goals. It looks great and is quite fun, but don't expect a hit of such magnitude as Rovios more known series.
  7. Jul 20, 2012
    60
    When I recall my time with Amazing Alex I can only really remember throwing a couple of tennis balls down a pipe. And that's not really that amazing, is it?

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    Just awesome! It is a tricky, relaxing and challenging Game, all in one, just great!. The Graphics are fantastic and i really love the Music!Just awesome! It is a tricky, relaxing and challenging Game, all in one, just great!. The Graphics are fantastic and i really love the Music! One of the best and perfect fitting games for iPhone. Hats off! Expand
  2. Jan 5, 2014
    8
    Today bros, I'd like to take some moments to take a good look at Amazing Alex. You see, this game was both developed and published by RovioToday bros, I'd like to take some moments to take a good look at Amazing Alex. You see, this game was both developed and published by Rovio Entertainment (the creators of Angry Birds) for iOS, Android, and Windows Phone (ugh.) devices on July 12, 2012. That means that Amazing Alex has already been out for over a year now. However, like many mobile games these days, Amazing Alex has been largely ignored by IGN for all this time. Well, until today, that is.
    Amazing Alex is a physics-based (a shoutout to Grandmaster Jefferson Lima, btw) puzzle game. Players must use various objects given to them in order to solve a specific puzzle through the use of a chain reaction. These objects include books, pipes, soccer balls (or footballs, if you aren't American), bowling balls, and more. An example of what I'm talking about is shown below:
    Amazing Alex currently features 112 levels during normal gameplay. However, 8 "Levels of the Week" are introduced every week for playthrough (beware, they only last for a week before they are replaced). In addition, you can also download even more levels off of the Internet (well, specifically, their website). Plus, Amazing Alex even allows you to create your very own levels for both you and others to play! So yeah, Amazing Alex will (may) keep you busy for awhile.
    Similar to Angry Birds (what a surprise), each level within Amazing Alex allows you to collect three stars. Although, in this game, you actually have to grab a hold of them using the chain reaction that you create. So, none of that "I gotta blow up everything in my way for points" BS.
    Still, the game starts to free fall flat after awhile (no pun intended). Like Angry Birds before it, Amazing Alex's levels tend to become...repetitive. It just seems to get boring after awhile. Sure, Amazing Alex is fun in short bursts, but play for any longer than that, and it starts to become a chore. Nonetheless, Amazing Alex is still better than A LOT of mobile games out there bro. No doubt about it.
    And I can definitely say that this is much better than Angry Birds. So thanks Rovio Entertainment.
    Expand
  3. Jul 20, 2012
    6
    The game looks nice and obviously the physical engine works great. The forced tutorial is far too long. A score system is lacking. It's veryThe game looks nice and obviously the physical engine works great. The forced tutorial is far too long. A score system is lacking. It's very disappointing to solve a puzzle with very few items and not end with a better score than if you used every items available... Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2012
    0
    The game is just not amazing as it sounds, I'm starting to think the creative ideas are depleted at Rovio. I'm afraid the studio is beginningThe game is just not amazing as it sounds, I'm starting to think the creative ideas are depleted at Rovio. I'm afraid the studio is beginning to look like a 1 hit wonder that will be only known for Angry Birds. So much for the guys that think they'll become bigger than Disney. Expand
  5. Jul 22, 2012
    0
    This game is horrible. It is not fun nor interesting, I can't believe I got this game and I deleted it straight away. You don't do anythingThis game is horrible. It is not fun nor interesting, I can't believe I got this game and I deleted it straight away. You don't do anything fun, its just boring boring boring Collapse