• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The best iOS arcade racing game series reaches a new turning point! Perform dynamic, high-speed aerial stunts in an intense driving experience powered by a brand-new physics engine!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Sep 6, 2013
    100
    Asphalt 8 is pure, unadulterated fun.
  2. 100
    This is the most exciting arcade racer we've played in years. It makes Burnout 3: Takedown feel like a laid-back Sunday drive. A masterpiece of handheld gaming that will give any of the arcade racers on "proper" consoles a run for their money.
  3. Aug 23, 2013
    100
    Asphalt 8: Airborne delivers one of the most exhilarating racing experiences on any platform that takes the lead for iOS racers. The entertainment value provided is simply off the charts making Asphalt 8 an absolute must that you will enjoy every minute of.
  4. Aug 22, 2013
    90
    Despite some ridiculous car prices, loading issues and teeth-gnashing A.I. difficulty, it's a fun ride from beginning to end. Don't hesitate to catch some air with this one.
  5. Aug 26, 2013
    90
    With beautiful visuals, excellent controls, varying raceways, and near-perfect multiplayer experiences, I wholly recommend Asphalt 8: Airborne to anyone wanting a fun, over-the-top racing title. Who knows what Gameloft will do in the future with Asphalt 9, but they won’t be redlining and blowing their engines anytime soon.
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    85
    High octane racing game plenty of super cars, air spins and crashes. Fast and furious racing fun.
  7. Oct 3, 2013
    60
    Fantastic value for money, but not actually a great racer. [Nov 2013, p.79]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    The most realistic, fun, and immersive mobile game I've ever played. The naysayers say it's just another Gameloft ploy to get money, but the game is largely based on skill, not in-app purchases. The more stars you get in a race, the more money you get. Simple. So, KorNk, it's not a 2/10, you just stink. You're probably just the one I beat in the game's rewarding multiplayer. Expand
  2. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    Best Asphalt game, The level design is great! and the crazy stuff like jumps, barrel rolls, crashes...etc The physics are amazing and the game modes are fun. I like a lot the infection mode. I adition of all of this, the multiplayer is very well done. For me this is the best car racing in mobile until now. Expand
  3. CCT
    Aug 23, 2013
    10
    Stunning graphics, live multiplayer, fast paced races, huge tracks with many shortcuts and different ways to get to the finish line. You can play the same track and it never feels like the same. The live multiplayer plays very well, I had no lag or problems with it. As the game being "unrealistic", well, depends on the point of view. The gravity is easy to feel while racing although some wrecks might feel a bit "unrealistic" but its not noticeable. The only thing I think could be better is the garage, I feel lack of some more options and the upgrades (although many like them to be instantaneous) I kinda like them more with a timer. Nothing worth in life is instantaneous. BUT STILL.. I GIVE IT A 10!! Must buy! Collapse
  4. Sep 16, 2013
    8
    The graphics are amazing for an iOS device, that's my first sentence about it, I picked this game up for €0,00 in the appstore, and yes, it was worth it. The way how you have to play this is amazing actually, really easy to do and fun. But finishing the game first isn't easy, makes it more fun for me, but there are some problems about the game..

    If you play it and can't win you can't do anything, that's it. Or you have to pay.. the star thing to unlock is annoying sometimes because the levels are too hard in some game modes, and another thing. The roads are so annoying sometimes, to big short routes, if you take the long one once you won't win anymore, and when you jump over some bridges it is not possible to jump without ending crushed when you don't have nitro, and that's even more annoying because you have to do it over and over again when crushed.

    But all by all, I rate this game an 76, so 8, it's really fun for iOS!
    Expand
  5. Oct 11, 2013
    6
    Graphics: 8.5/10 Realism: 3/10 Appropriate for All Ages: 10/10 Gameplay: 5.5/10 Price 9/10 Multiplayer: 2/10 In-Game Purchases: 8/10
    Overall: 6.6/10

    The graphics are some of the best of any iOS game I've ever played along with CSR Racing, Real Racing 3, and pretty much any Sky Gamblers games. However, I hate the fact that you have to race the same race several times in order to get anywhere in the game. However, for those of you complaining about vehicle prices, I think its great considering how you only earn about 500 credits per race. Multiplayer is terrible. Confusing how to set it up and it isn't even live. It is very light on in-game purchases.
    Expand
  6. May 12, 2014
    6
    Good game for the free time;
    Graphics: 8/10 Realism:? Sound: 6 Gameplay: 7/10 Price 10/10 Multiplayer: 7/10 In-Game Purchases:
    6/10 sense:0 Expand
  7. Jan 15, 2014
    0
    why it doesn't work on all phones? ex: i have allview x1 soul 1.5 quad 2 gb ram and video chipset same as S4, android 2.2.1..... and in app store saids it's not supported for mi phone...............................
    i can't understand why.
    Expand

See all 22 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013 Image
    Published: December 22, 2013
    Here are the highest-scoring games released for iOS this year.
  2. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for September 2013

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for September 2013 Image
    Published: October 1, 2013
    We reveal the 10 best iOS games released over the past month.