• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
DEVICE 6 Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A surreal thriller in which the written word is your map, as well as your narrator.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Dec 28, 2013
    100
    Device 6 positions itself outside the box, looks back inside, and laughs heartily. [Jan 2014, p.81]
  2. Oct 17, 2013
    100
    Though its subject matter may be bleak, DEVICE 6's ambitious and intelligent re-invention of the text adventure is a joyous and unique experience.
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    100
    Suffice it to say though, for puzzle fans Device 6 is hands-down the game that best takes advantage of the iPhone as a gaming platform.
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    In turning a text adventure into a world map, Simogo has resurrected a long-dead genre with style and confidence. Great presentation and brilliant puzzles complete a stellar package.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    90
    Again, Device 6’s unorthodox presentation may be off-putting at first, but stick with it, especially if you’re a fan of Year Walk. It’s a perfect accompaniment to the current Halloween atmosphere, though like any good mystery, it keeps well at any time of the year.
  6. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    Simogo’s greatest triumph, perhaps, is to intensify the potency of the written word. In using its text both as narrative and as geography – and through its impressively restrained use of illustration and sound – it generates an almost unrivalled sense of place.
  7. Jan 15, 2014
    70
    If you’re looking for some absurdly fun puzzles and a truly unique storytelling experience, you’ll want to check out DEVICE 6 on iOS, but you’ll wish for a gameplay integration upgrade.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    Device 6 is not actually a game, is more like an interactive book experience. And it is fantastic.

    Honestly, only few times I've seen
    something as original as this work. The story is great, really well written, the sounds and visuals are really clever and helps creating a fantastic eerie atmosphere. It's not as scary as year walk, but the atmosphere is really great.

    Simogo is the best dev for iOS, and I'm really glad that there's somone trying to do things that are truly original in the plataform.

    Really an amazing game, better than Year Walk, and one of the best games of 2013, considering all platforms.
    Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    Outstanding usage of the platform, Device 6 blends book and game together extremely well. The puzzles are great and the story is enthralling. Overall this is one of the best games of the year on mobile or any platform. Expand
  3. Gid
    Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Device 6 takes advantage of the capabilities of the iOS platform to bring this outstanding text adventure. But calling it that is too much of an understatement. The story is very intuitive and the navigation through the text only adds to it. The uneasy atmosphere had me a bit scared to carry on at some points, using an atmosphere similar to that of Year Walk.

    Probably one of the best games of the year. Ignore all the bad reviews here, trust me.

    P.S. That 'Anna' song is REALLY catchy.
    Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    This is an interactive fiction & puzzle game. To progress through each chapter, you have to solve the 2-3 puzzles in the chapter. It's short but really well designed. Some of the puzzles are easy, others are hard. Even though it's short and only part game [and part fiction], I found it to be worth every penny of the $4 or so that I spent on it. It's funny, a little spooky, a bit intellectually demanding. I hope this team of game-makers continues on. Expand
  5. Oct 20, 2013
    9
    You can call it a book, a game or even a literary adventure, but you simply cannot disregard the fact that it accomplishes these genres splendidly. The game may seem simple at first but it really arouses the intuitive and technical side of most, and may really improve that of the user. It digs into your more logical side yet demonstrates the need for ingenuity rather than straight forward thinking. The game's sleek design and collective features are synonymous with Sigomo's "legacy" and coupled with the fantastic audio the experience all round is fantastic. Besides the fantastic features the game has offered the only problem is that it may not provide a challenge for those who possess a higher level of thinking, and thus may be a game that can be completed in 2 hours of less for this category of users. All in all for the average consumer you would have many hours of perplexing challenges ahead and you may be unnerved by the consuming atmosphere that somehow keeps you hooked. Besides the "short" length of the game, the features and experience speak for themselves. Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    Device 6 could be the strangest thirty minutes I've ever spent on an app. Never before has a game provided such an illogical premise with an ending that snaps every piece of the puzzle in perfect harmony. The game is unique in both presentation and control, producing a shockingly realistic atmosphere by using the narrative as your guide through the world. There are many puzzles throughout the game that require both intelligence and creativity to solve, one of which left me stumped for a good ten minutes until the answer almost slapped me in the face. While extremely short, Device 6 is one of a kind. No other game can match its mystery and innovative design, making it one of the best apps of 2013 and one of the most thought-provoking experiences you'll ever come across.

    9/10
    Collapse
  7. Dec 3, 2013
    6
    This was definitely an interesting experience but it's hard to call this a true game. It's more of an interactive novel and a good one at that. It's very engrossing, especially with all the various sounds and stuff that you come across in the story. But it's very hard to play sometimes. The many different twists and turns the story literally makes you take to actually read the story is a bit disorienting and confusing. Plus the game is fairly difficult. It's definitely a new experience but I'm not sure it's one that is a must-buy/play. It definitely didn't appeal to me very much but I can see why people would like it. The problem is that I don't know how many people will like this game going forward. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013 Image
    Published: December 22, 2013
    Here are the highest-scoring games released for iOS this year.
  2. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for October 2013

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for October 2013 Image
    Published: October 31, 2013
    We scare up a list of the best iOS game apps released over the past month, including a few horror-themed titles suitable for the season.