User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 24, 2014
    9
    As a fan of Final Fantasy, this game is worth every penny. This game has the length of a standard 16-bit Final Fantasy and then some. At this moment of the review, I have amassed a staggering 65 hours on this game and believe I may have at least five more hours of storyline left to go. Controls could be tighten a bit.
  2. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    What can I say this game is just amazing. I remember deciding I just wanted a free intro to the game just to kill some time. And I ended up playing it for longer then almost any other game I ever played. It might cost $20 but for how much content it advertises it's an amazing deal. It also has 8 heroes instead of just 4 and they level up differently and can get 5 exclusive jobs to there set of warriors (those being the 4 heroes of Light and the 4 heroes of Darkness). Not only that but the game has tons of summons to find and defeat. Tons of dances and songs, ultra powerful weapons, and great challenge. The game is excellent if you don't believe me get the prelude for free and play through the opening. Expand
  3. Jun 3, 2013
    7
    Decent game, especially for a phone. Generic Final Fantasy story, seems like IV and V had a baby. I always like the Final Fantasy job system as it gives depth to the characters, although i felt a little to overpowered by the end of game. It was money well spent considering i spent 50 hours on it.
  4. Sep 14, 2012
    9
    This is such an amazing experience for fans of the older, arguably superior final fantasy games from the SNES days. The music (battle them in chapter 1!) keeps getting better and I swear it sounds like Uematsu did the score. Battles use the same ATB system from FFIV while adding the specific jobs of III and V, giving you an unbelieveable amount of depth for your two teams of characters. The story is your standard FF fare, with the world being split in different dimensions. Controllilng two different parties of 5 really helps make this game seem different, while at the same time familiar themes such as crystals pop up throughout the game. I particularly loved the character introduction bits when each major character is introducted, a la FFVI. Unfortunately, it\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'s not perfect, but it\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'s mainly due to the limitations of the iPad rather than the game. The controls take a ton of getting used to, no matter which scheme you use. The default tends to work the best, but just be prepared for some tough controls when navigating the world map or various dungeons. The random battle rate is also obnoxiously high at times, but this IS old school, so that is probably understandable and gives you more time to play with the new abilities. You will definitely want to turn auto battle on at times to get through areas with easy enemies, but make sure to turn it off when you run across enemies that require any strategy beyond ATTACK! All in all, this is such a fantastic game that I can\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'t recommend more. You get what you pay for on the App store, and this is one of those rare gems that I thought the U.S. would never get the chance to enjoy, but here it is. Go get over the price and if you have the money to spare (I am cutting out energy drinks for 2 weeks), buy the game and enjoy a timeless classic that will remind you of the ones that came before it. Collapse
  5. Sep 14, 2012
    0
    This is such an amazing experience for fans of the older, arguably superior final fantasy games from the SNES days. The music (battle them in chapter 1!) keeps getting better and I swear it sounds like Uematsu did the score. Battles use the same ATB system from FFIV while adding the specific jobs of III and V, giving you an unbelieveable amount of depth for your two teams of characters. The story is your standard FF fare, with the world being split in different dimensions. Controllilng two different parties of 5 really helps make this game seem different, while at the same time familiar themes such as crystals pop up throughout the game. I particularly loved the character introduction bits when each major character is introducted, a la FFVI. Unfortunately, it\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'s not perfect, but it\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'s mainly due to the limitations of the iPad rather than the game. The controls take a ton of getting used to, no matter which scheme you use. The default tends to work the best, but just be prepared for some tough controls when navigating the world map or various dungeons. The random battle rate is also obnoxiously high at times, but this IS old school, so that is probably understandable and gives you more time to play with the new abilities. You will definitely want to turn auto battle on at times to get through areas with easy enemies, but make sure to turn it off when you run across enemies that require any strategy beyond ATTACK! All in all, this is such a fantastic game that I can\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'t recommend more. You get what you pay for on the App store, and this is one of those rare gems that I thought the U.S. would never get the chance to enjoy, but here it is. Go get over the price and if you have the money to spare (I am cutting out energy drinks for 2 weeks), buy the game and enjoy a timeless classic that will remind you of the ones that came before it. Collapse
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Oct 24, 2012
    80
    A knowing homage to JRPG times of yore, though a nasty price point holds it back. [Dec 2012, p.92]
  2. Oct 2, 2012
    75
    Dimensions has the key components that comprise a classic Final Fantasy game, like crystals, airships, and chocobos. But without the spark to bring all those pieces to life, it feels more like an inert imitation than a return to the glory days.
  3. Sep 27, 2012
    70
    With a 40 hours long story and a really deep job system, Final Fantasy Dimensions is absolutely massive for a mobile JRPG. Unfortunately the lack of personality and a poor plot drag the game down in anonymity.