Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Aug 5, 2011
    90
    Bearing in mind that the constant frame rate drops do hamper the fun of Tactics, I would still recommend the game to anyone looking for a long form and satisfying RPG on iOS.
  2. Aug 9, 2011
    85
    A noteworthy game that has been adapted well for the iPhone, except for some framerate issues. The major problem is the price, one of the most expensive of the App Store.
  3. Aug 9, 2011
    80
    The first decision you have to make when considering Final Fantasy Tactics is, "Do I have the spare time for something like this?", if yes then consider yourself lucky to be able to experience such a deep and provoking tactical RPG, if not then you can rest knowing that you can still pick it up for your PS1 or PSP (should you have access to them).
  4. Aug 7, 2011
    80
    You just can't charge this kind of money for an iOS port of a PSOne game, especially one that's not graphically optimized for the iPad. What's worse, if I didn't already own this game on the PSP, I could buy it new right now for $10 at Amazon.com and have a better overall experience.
  5. Aug 7, 2011
    75
    If your access to the PlayStation family of systems is limited and you're dying for a good turn-based strategy game, Final Fantasy: War of the Lions is a must-buy. If, however, you own a PSP and aren't broken up over forfeiting the convenience of a great strategy game on your iPhone, jump on your Chocobo and ride away.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Aug 12, 2011
    8
    Been looking forward to this a hella long time. Sadly not as good as I hoped, it's pretty laggy on my iPhone and some of the fonts are blurry.Been looking forward to this a hella long time. Sadly not as good as I hoped, it's pretty laggy on my iPhone and some of the fonts are blurry. Still, it's FFTA, so can't really complain. Full Review »
  2. Jun 8, 2013
    8
    Since the most recent update, this game is immensly better than its previous incarnation. Still not exactly worth the full price but if youSince the most recent update, this game is immensly better than its previous incarnation. Still not exactly worth the full price but if you can pick it up while it's half off, it is definitely still worth having this classic on your iPad Full Review »
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    6
    Lots of hate for the iPhone version, and that doesn't surprise me. In the ipad this game is truly excellent though . If it was a littleLots of hate for the iPhone version, and that doesn't surprise me. In the ipad this game is truly excellent though . If it was a little cheaper it would get a nine from me. Gameplay is as good as it ever was. Full Review »