Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Feb 12, 2011
    85
    Fruit Ninja is fun, fun, fun. It's an instant pleasure and one you can find yourself hooked to, determined to post the highest fruit-murdering scores on OpenFeint or Facebook.
  2. Feb 12, 2011
    80
    It's cheap, it's undemanding, and it's perfectly suited to the platform it's on.
  3. Feb 12, 2011
    80
    It's simple, fun and best of all challenging.
  4. Feb 12, 2011
    80
    Fruit Ninja is the sort of game that has come to typify the rising dominance of quick, simple and most of all additively fun gameplay that's great value for your iDevice.
  5. Feb 12, 2011
    80
    The game is fast-paced and simple (the only way to fail is to miss three fruits or accidentally slice a bomb), and the inclusion of online global leaderboards adds a little extra incentive to boot up the game when I'd otherwise be bored.
  6. Feb 12, 2011
    75
    Next time you're waiting for a haircut, cut up some fruit while you wait. It probably did something to deserve it.
  7. Feb 12, 2011
    75
    Fruit Ninja is the perfect casual game that I thoroughly enjoyed. While there are minor problems I stated above, it's an overall solid appearance on the App Store and one that casual gamers shouldn't miss.
  8. Feb 12, 2011
    70
    Perhaps the best part is that this game isn't even complete. A whole new game mode is expected to be released sometime in the near future, so you're in fact investing in the game, which already costs practically nothing.
  9. Feb 12, 2011
    69
    Fruit Ninja is a really fun and immediate "sword simulator", with two game modes and lots of fruits to cut in mid-air. Due to a very repetitive gameplay, however, you could get bored soon.
  10. Feb 12, 2011
    60
    It's stupidly moreish, and we're kind of recommending it, despite the fact that there's not really much of a game here. [Aug 2010, p.100]
  11. Feb 12, 2011
    60
    Unfortunately, there's only one mode, making Fruit Ninja a one-trick pony. But considering the price of the game and those advanced online features, we'll let it slide. Clearly, the best type of app is the one you can't resist playing and/or can easily play any time, and that being said, this game is worth every penny.
  12. Feb 12, 2011
    50
    As simple and fun as Fruit Ninja evidently is, it feels like a Wario Ware game isolated for a single release.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    5
    "Fruit Ninja" is very fun and enjoyable....for a brief period of time; it gets too repetitive like "Angry Birds".
  2. Oct 19, 2014
    2
    What is the bloody point of this? Its boring and repetitive of fruit nonetheless? Most phone games I just can't understand. its like phone game devs say "Hey people are stupid and will play anything and we'll rake in money in ads" Its just not a very well developed game. Its only good appeal are children and casuals. Full Review »
  3. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    "Fruit Ninja" is a simple and addictive game for young and old. It doesn't have levels or such so you can probably won't get bored as you can repetitively play as much as you want. Full Review »