Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A sci-fi noir adventure in the tradition of "Blade Runner" and "Beneath a Steel Sky."

    Azriel Odin, ex-assassin, arrives on the rain-drenched planet of Barracus. When things go horribly wrong, he can only seek help from the very criminals he used to work for.

    Meanwhile, across the
    galaxy, a man called Delta-Six wakes up in a hospital with no memory. Without knowing where to turn or who to trust, he vows to escape before he loses his identity completely.

    As fate brings these two closer together, we discover a world where life is cheap, identities are bought and sold, and a quest for redemption can change the fate of a whole galaxy.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Apr 22, 2013
    100
    Gemini Rue was excellent at its PC debut, and it’s a must-buy addition to your App collection.
  2. Apr 17, 2013
    100
    A superb blend of classic point & click and neo noir, Gemini Rue is among the best adventuring choices on iOS.
  3. May 2, 2013
    90
    Those with any love for the genre should play Gemini Rue for the story and to delight in the nostalgia of a simpler time before eye-popping HD graphics, light bloom and the Unreal Engine.
  4. May 3, 2013
    85
    That said, if you like graphic adventures and poor controls are not generally a dealbreaker for you, don't let that one issue stop you from trying Gemini Rue. It's got logical puzzles that require thought but don't have a lot of red herrings to guide you away from the correct path, great voice acting that complements a worthwhile story from start to finish, and just the right atmosphere.
  5. Apr 14, 2013
    80
    When Gemini Rue was released on PC it was a wonderful throwback to the heyday of adventure games with new sensibilities and a fantastic narrative. The translation to iOS has not changed any of this.
  6. Apr 19, 2013
    80
    It may not take the genre into uncharted waters, and occasionally stumbles into cliche, but Gemini Rue is an accomplished homage that rivals the very titles that influenced it.
  7. Jun 10, 2013
    80
    A strong, smart, moderately lengthy adventure game. [July 2013, p.84]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Jun 30, 2013
    7
    If you are a fan of old school adventure games, you should get this game. Is not a perfect game by all means and you might figure out the plot but you will enjoy the ride thru the story and the fact that the pure adventure games are back. Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2014
    2
    I am officially out of touch with what passes for a great adventure game these days.

    Picked this up based on the rave review score here at
    Metacritic.

    Was immediately disappointed by the graphics and gameplay/controls.

    Where Sword and Sworcery pulled off heavily pixelated artwork beautifully, this game just looks bad, old bad.
    Navigating was horrible and the animation half-assed (the box moving animation made me cringe).

    It definitely IS a blow back to the roots of adventure gaming the likes of the original King's Quest, which is to say it fails to take advantage of any of the advances, improvements and innovations (Ghost Trick anyone?) in adventure games over the past 30 years that make them actually fun and not just tedious.

    The script and voice acting were so bad/exaggerated that I assumed it was a poorly translated Japanese game from 20+ years ago that got a bare bones port without any updating in an attempt to cash in on the nostalgic factor.

    Interacting with the environment is both frustratingly boring and annoying. You have to tap an object and then decide whether to look at it, touch/use it, talk to it, or "foot" it. Partly due to the fact that 80% of the game takes place in the same locations (No less than 3 people you are looking for coincidentally live in the exact same apartment building), figuring out what to do to advance the story line is often easy, but due to the horrible game controls actually carrying it out is choppy and often (again) tedious. There are times where your character dies easily (and is sent back to an auto save point from which you have to play through the same boring set of events AGAIN) due mostly to the sluggishness/lack of responsiveness of the characters movements or the Stone Age gun fight controls.

    And yet for all of my vomitous negativity, most people LOVED it, apparently. I really really don't get it.

    I get nostalgia, I would play King's Quest again because I have memories of playing it when I was in junior high school, not because I actually want to play games with terrible graphics and controls.

    Could not recommend this game less.
    Expand
  3. May 28, 2013
    0
    This is a gawdawful game with too many adventure game diehards praising it. I was duped into playing it from one of those best adventure game lists. It's basically a very simple and cliche memory erasing and reconditioning, existentialist plot with a very predictable ending. The dialogue is poor, and its basically a 1 hr game dragged into 10 times its length because of horrid pacing and super clunky mechanics and gameplay. A game that's only been a few years old that uses super low grade blocky graphics and terrible mouseover detection. You'll spend 90% of your time just moving your mouse over random blocks of color, hoping they are useful objects to use. For an adventure game, the item usage is also clunky and terrible. The production values and writing are gawdawful and amateurish, with lots of spelling errors, bad logic, really bad directing, plot design, game design. It was like a lazy game made for a school project and done in a few weeks. If this is the sort of game quality that should be expected from the best adventure games around, I think the genre is already dead as we know it. Collapse

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013 Image
    Published: December 22, 2013
    Here are the highest-scoring games released for iOS this year.