Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jun 25, 2012
    85
    I had just as much fun with the new iPad version as I did with the PC and console versions--perhaps even more so.
  2. Jun 30, 2012
    90
    Magic 2013 is one of the best iOS games I've played this year. Hands down.
  3. Jun 30, 2012
    90
    A superb strategy game that offers up a complete package of single-player and multiplayer card combat.
  4. Jul 24, 2012
    90
    New cards are a big attraction, but this year it's the multiplayer that shines. [Sept 2012, p.101]
  5. Jun 26, 2012
    90
    This is out of doubt the best Duels of the Planeswalker released on the market from the start of the series. The interface works well and there are enough contents to keep the players playing for a long time.
  6. Jul 5, 2012
    80
    Hands down the best card collecting game available. The rules have been revised, the decks balanced, and the new collection will delight fans. Its iOS adaptation is great.
  7. Jun 24, 2012
    100
    Regardless of whether you've been vaguely curious about Magic the Gathering or an experienced player, you need to try Magic 2013 on the iPad. For us veterans of the game, it'll also serve as a cruel tease and horrid reminder of how badly Magic Online needs an iPad port.
  8. Jul 1, 2012
    100
    Wizards of the Coast has done a phenomenal job of bringing the tabletop game to the iPad. The gameplay, despite a few small problems, is incredibly well done and we honestly can't think of a better way to do it.
  9. Sep 11, 2012
    80
    Magic The Gathering Planeswalker 2013 is a great start for the brand on iPad and probably the best version on the market.
  10. Jul 10, 2012
    100
    Magic: The Gathering - Duels of the Planeswalkers 2013 has long since set itself up as a prototypical 'yearly' franchise, but for long-time fans this is nothing new and the iPad version of the latest title lends itself perfectly to the series thanks to visceral touch controls.
  11. Jun 24, 2012
    90
    There's no denying that tablets offer a unique opportunity to both breathe new life into the genre, as well as open it up to a new audience. Certainly Magic 2013 is the best game of its kind that we've played on the iPad.
  12. Jul 4, 2012
    80
    While my iPad 1 struggled with some of the more demanding scenarios (more than two players usually crashed me out of the game), the iPad platform, generally speaking, is perfect for this sort of game.
  13. Jun 28, 2012
    100
    Magic 2013 is awesome. You can get a good chunk of the game for free to see if it is for you, and then unlock the rest for $9.99. It is literally the most fun I have ever had playing ag ame on my iPad, and it is almost flawless in execution. Seriously, just get the game now.
  14. Jan 15, 2013
    70
    Yes there are a couple of niggles but for the most part Magic: The Gathering - Duels of the Planeswalkers 2013 is still very much the same, albeit cut down, game I fell in love with back in the day.
  15. Jul 8, 2012
    80
    Having challenges and other game modes to play is a nice change from the standard fare that I normally play, and I'm especially enjoying the Two-Headed Giant mode (a team battle) from the Custom Games option.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Jun 24, 2012
    5
    Back in high school I plaid quite a lot of Magic, but stopped later due to lack of playing partners. When I saw that a Magic: The Gathering game is coming for iPad I knew I had to get it. Sadly the part I used to enjoy most, deck building, is the part the game doesn't allow you to do. You can make some modifications to pre-made decks, but that's it. For me that takes a huge part of the fun and the motivation away, since I always enjoyed making new decks with interesting strategies much more than actually playing the game. I am surprised that this doesn't seem to be an issue for any commercial reviewers.

    The interface of the game looks quite beautiful, but has some flaws. As pretty as some of the animations look it get's annoying to have to watch the 1-2 second tapping animation so often. That doesn't sound like much but sums up. Want to attack with you pack of 10 wolfs? Well you will have to wait for every tapping animation to finish before you can tap the next creature. This alone wouldn't be that bad, but it contributes to to make the game feel very slow. This behavior also makes the interface feel wonky at times, because slow starting animations like tapping, don't give immediate feedback and needs some getting used to.
    Most other board and card games are much faster in the computer versions. Not so with this game. You have to wait for a timer for every phase of the game to finish, even if there is no action that possibly could be taken. This makes especially the first few round feel unnecessary slow.

    Overall it's an OK game, but could have been so much more. Just a little interface polish and the option to build you own deck (which Magic is all about) and this could be one of my favorit games.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 12, 2014
    4
    Easily the worst balancing ever in any game. The AI cheats like mad to compensate for the fact that it would otherwise be completely inept, even on lowest difficulty. AI always draws the right card at the right time (e.g. playing 3 identical fire spells at the same time? Seriously?) No variety in deck building except for paying $4 dlcs. The mulligan system is fundamentally flawed, and when they implemented it into this iOS version, each hand that's drawn is so blatantly rigged that it's not even funny. Over half if not most of the time, the player will either have too few lands or too few spells. Not uncommon at all to draw 5 or 6 cards in a row without drawing a single land.

    The only redeeming factor is the fact that it's on iPad, which is portable. Only if you have absolutely nothing better to do, or if you're on the go, is it by all means an OK game. It really does the actual card game no justice.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 2, 2012
    8
    Great game. Some aspects are missing like custom deck building, at this point you can only make changes to pre made decks. Some animations are kinda slow on my iPad 2 too. But overall a very nice game. Hope they fix those issues on next updates. Full Review »