Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Oct 28, 2011
    90
    Modern Combat 3 looks great, no question, but it's the smaller details like animations and the occasional slow-motion kill shot that really draw the eye.
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    74
    Once again, Gameloft made a compilation of the best moments from other studios' first-person shooters.
  3. Nov 7, 2011
    100
    I can safely say that this is the best shooter yet on iOS and if you're in any way a fan of the FPS genre, particularly if you own an iPhone 4S or iPad 2, this should be on your list of Apps to own.
  4. Nov 7, 2011
    90
    A great game on so many different levels, and is another fantastic title to show off the visuals possible on iOS, especially on the A5 processor.
  5. Nov 3, 2011
    90
    Packed with tons of improvements, including sharper visuals and even more players in their outstanding multiplayer offering, Fallen Nation bring the iDevices even closer to emulating their console brethren.
  6. Oct 27, 2011
    100
    While Modern Combat 3 doesn't feel anywhere near as revolutionary as the previous title, it still manages to up the ante with an exciting campaign and online multiplayer that's compelling enough to keep coming back for more.
  7. Dec 4, 2011
    90
    Modern Combat 3, with a well balanced multiplayer and a solid single player, is probably the best portable shooter ever made.
  8. 90
    Gameloft takes their Modern Warfare-clone and improves on everything. A good singleplayer campaign complements the awesome multiplayer mode. Lots of perks, killstreaks and great variety in the maps (which this time around are much larger end better designed). This is truly Gameloft's finest game yet, and the best shooter on iOS!
  9. Dec 17, 2011
    83
    Modern Warfare 2 would be a lot to ask for on a mobile device, but the similarly titled Modern Warfare Combat gets as close as any game has yet. [Jan 2012, p.95]
  10. Oct 31, 2011
    60
    An unfortunately mixed bag. It looks and sounds great, but the writing seems haphazard, the gameplay feels clunky at best (and buggy at worst) and its online reliability is sporadic.
  11. Nov 1, 2011
    85
    A huge, intense, and polished shooter. Modern Combat 3 is the best FPS on mobile devices, especially if you're a multiplayer-minded gamer.
  12. Oct 27, 2011
    80
    Suffers from the same problems that plague many 3D mobile games, but its drool worthy graphics, enjoyable firefights and wealth of multiplayer options make it an obvious favorite, as well as a welcome addition to any virtual warrior's digital library. Oorah.
  13. Oct 31, 2011
    90
    With better graphics, a more compelling campaign and a tremendous multiplayer, Modern Combat 3 is definitely the best FPS on App Store.
  14. Nov 26, 2011
    100
    Modern Combat 3 is absolutely brilliant, and I find myself continually playing the online multiplayer everyday. The single player is also quite robust and diverse, giving Modern Combat 3 a well-balanced gameplay between shooting bad guys and mini-games, such as shooting soldiers on an AC-130.
  15. Oct 27, 2011
    70
    Modern Combat 3 is the best attempt at recreating Call of Duty on mobiles so far, but it still has a long way to go when it comes to the finer points of the FPS genre.
  16. Oct 28, 2011
    100
    Buy Modern Combat 3 for the multiplayer mode, not the by-the-numbers campaign.
  17. Nov 26, 2011
    100
    In short, MC3 is a game that, while slightly muscle-headed in its approach to character development, more than delivers when it comes to gripping, relentless and spectacular gameplay.
  18. Nov 1, 2011
    90
    If you want to play first person shooters on your iOS device, Modern Combat 3: Fallen Nation is a must-buy game, so start making room for it.
  19. Oct 31, 2011
    90
    Thanks to Modern Combat 3's fantastic multiplayer, not only will I be able to reclaim my right as a gamer to blow people up at 3 in the morning, but because we're now in an era where this is all possible on my phone, any location in the world is open to me and my underpants.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    Game is amazing. Maybe the best on the app store. DEFINATELY the best shooter of all time on the app store! You will spend hours upon hours in it's competitive 10 player multiplayer with the ammount of leveling and unlcoking of weapons. Thankfully, the killstreaks are balanced. And can be countered. And when you're not connected to internet on the go you can always play offline in it's well written, ok acted, and excellently written 6-8 hour campaign. Not to mention the graphics in this game are stunning for a iOS game almost console worthy. DEFINATELY early Xbox 360 worthy. Astonishing ammount of content for a low price. This gives plenty of games a run for it's money. Full Review »
  2. Nov 3, 2011
    6
    I tried to enjoy this game and found a few things enjoyable but for the most part it just wasn't fun. Some things I think the game got right are: graphics which look great for an IOS game presentation which I feel is above all other games on the platform and its multiplayer which supports up to 12 players which is cool. I didn't like the controls however and that is ultimately what ruined my experience the controls were clunky and hard to work out making the game unenjoyably at most times some may disagree however but this is my opinion of the game. Overall if you can get the controls to work for you it can be a satisfying experience but i just couldn't Full Review »
  3. Dec 27, 2013
    7
    For iOS this is a great game. I love the graphics and the story is very deep. The campaign has adrenaline filled fun levels, but, the game sometimes dives into deep frustration and the game sometimes suffers from bugs. The multiplayer is like any other FPS multiplayer but with gamecenter it is great because you can play with your friends easily. Sadly, about the multiplayer, the server might bug out and not let you on 1 out of every 5 times. Overall the game is good, but bugs and a sometimes frustrating campaign keeps it from being it's best. Full Review »