Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Stream On
  1. Aug 15, 2012
    90
    Virtually every aspect of Organ Trail: Director's Cut oozes style and cleverness.
  2. Aug 15, 2012
    90
    A weird, wonderful and almost surprisingly expansive experience that will both infuriate and enchant.
  3. Aug 16, 2012
    90
    Has managed to turn the concept into something that's both enjoyable and downright addictive. It's an absurdly hard, unforgiving game, but that's a big part of what makes it so fun.
  4. Feb 15, 2013
    50
    Try to play it seriously and only anger and frustration awaits. It’s lovable in attitude for a short while but once you begin repeating cycles it soon runs out of fuel. Much like the car now abandoned on that highway.
  5. Aug 20, 2012
    100
    An engrossing survival simulator which you may or may not survive.
  6. Aug 20, 2012
    70
    Organ Trail is immensely fun to play a couple of times, but after that the fun vanes.
  7. Aug 15, 2012
    100
    Despite its inspiration lying in classic games, Organ Trail can really stand on its own with a tricky resource management, mini-games well suited to touch control and a bitingly witty sense of humor.
  8. Hyper Magazine
    Oct 8, 2012
    90
    Manages to nail the sense of dread inherent in all good zombie fiction. [Nov 2012, p.29]
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. May 25, 2013
    10
    I bought this game looking to recoup some of those Apple II memories from my elementary school computer lab days... and boy did it bring meI bought this game looking to recoup some of those Apple II memories from my elementary school computer lab days... and boy did it bring me back. The game isn't just a parody, but an excellent resource management game in and of itself. Awesome sense of humor, loads of replay-ability, and just a genuinely FUN game. You can't get more for less than this game. Easily the most fun I've had in a long time. Full Review »
  2. May 13, 2013
    8
    The original Oregon trail with zombies. You can watch your party die slowly as you play endless or campaign mode. Progress too far in endlessThe original Oregon trail with zombies. You can watch your party die slowly as you play endless or campaign mode. Progress too far in endless and your aiming dots are gone. It is NOT A BUG. Random events, easy controls once you learn them, and more will keep you occupied. It might get repetitive for some, but for me the fun hasn't died it out. Full Review »
  3. Gid
    Oct 8, 2013
    8
    This is a very clever RPG game. One which had me hooked for hours on end. As a play on Oregon Trail, this uses the same mechanics but in aThis is a very clever RPG game. One which had me hooked for hours on end. As a play on Oregon Trail, this uses the same mechanics but in a zombie apocalypse setting. This was definitely an open space in the market, as most of the zombie games nowadays just require shooting and shooting until they're all dead, not many people realized the potential in a zombie apocalypse setting. It's about management of your party, how basic resources are restricted, how, when society breaks down, unspeakable actions become necessary routines. The management is played out perfectly well in this game. It gives you responsibilities and lets you decide your priorities. This allows you to come up with different ways to tackle situations. For example, I found myself stockpiling on scraps and waiting until I came across an area where they could be sold for a high price. When an RPG game finds the user working out these kinds of tactics, it means it's a success.

    Though things may get repetitive, and the game can, at some points, outstay it's welcome, this is definite win if you're a fan of the RPG genre.
    Full Review »