Organ Trail: Director's Cut Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Organ Trail is a retro zombie survival game. Travel westward in a station wagon with 4 of your friends, scavenging for supplies and fending off the undead. Members of your party might die of dysentery or you might have to put them down yourself when they get bit. Faithfully recreated it asOrgan Trail is a retro zombie survival game. Travel westward in a station wagon with 4 of your friends, scavenging for supplies and fending off the undead. Members of your party might die of dysentery or you might have to put them down yourself when they get bit. Faithfully recreated it as if it were on the Apple 2, Organ Trail offers amazing 16 color art and retro beeps and boops. Packed full of zombie mechanics, themes and references; this is a must have for any zombie survival fans.Created by a small indie team in Chicago, The Men Who Wear Many Hats are very excited to launch with this game as their first commercial product, funded by our Kickstarter fans.-Name your party after your friends and watch them die slowly-Hours of gameplay-Get dysentery and 9 other diseases-Scavenge for supplies while you fight back the undead-Manage your food, ammo, fuel, medkits and more in your struggle to survive-Put down infected party members who might turn on you-Stop at towns to trade, take jobs and fix your car-Car upgrades-Fight off bandits-Zombie boss fights-"Choose-your-own-adventure" style encounters on the road-A weather system and day night cycle-Huge soundtrack and delicious Apple 2 pixel art-28 Achievements-Survivor leaderboards-400 community written tombstones Expand
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 20, 2012
    100
    An engrossing survival simulator which you may or may not survive.
  2. Aug 15, 2012
    100
    Despite its inspiration lying in classic games, Organ Trail can really stand on its own with a tricky resource management, mini-games well suited to touch control and a bitingly witty sense of humor.
  3. Aug 15, 2012
    90
    A weird, wonderful and almost surprisingly expansive experience that will both infuriate and enchant.
  4. Aug 15, 2012
    90
    Virtually every aspect of Organ Trail: Director's Cut oozes style and cleverness.
  5. Hyper Magazine
    Oct 8, 2012
    90
    Manages to nail the sense of dread inherent in all good zombie fiction. [Nov 2012, p.29]
  6. Aug 20, 2012
    70
    Organ Trail is immensely fun to play a couple of times, but after that the fun vanes.
  7. Feb 15, 2013
    50
    Try to play it seriously and only anger and frustration awaits. It’s lovable in attitude for a short while but once you begin repeating cycles it soon runs out of fuel. Much like the car now abandoned on that highway.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. May 25, 2013
    10
    I bought this game looking to recoup some of those Apple II memories from my elementary school computer lab days... and boy did it bring meI bought this game looking to recoup some of those Apple II memories from my elementary school computer lab days... and boy did it bring me back. The game isn't just a parody, but an excellent resource management game in and of itself. Awesome sense of humor, loads of replay-ability, and just a genuinely FUN game. You can't get more for less than this game. Easily the most fun I've had in a long time. Expand
  2. Mar 29, 2016
    10
    My favorite game. Great music. Pixel Graphics. Fun gameplay. Costs less than a cheeseburger. Go buy this now. Expansion packs adds 2x theMy favorite game. Great music. Pixel Graphics. Fun gameplay. Costs less than a cheeseburger. Go buy this now. Expansion packs adds 2x the content and is only $5 combined for both. Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2013
    9
    I beat the game twice with 9 hours of playtime. The game was extremely entertaining. For gamers who played FTL recently and enjoyed it, I feelI beat the game twice with 9 hours of playtime. The game was extremely entertaining. For gamers who played FTL recently and enjoyed it, I feel like this game is a relatively similar experience. There's enough content for at least two playthroughs, I may go through it a couple more times. In addition to the campaign and its very difficulty settings, there's also "Endless Mode" which gets harder and harder. Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2014
    8
    Organ trail is a great game to play with friends! Naming your crew after your friends and watching them die from breaking their arm in the carOrgan trail is a great game to play with friends! Naming your crew after your friends and watching them die from breaking their arm in the car is hilarious! The tasks (mini-games) that you can do on the road become a bit repetitive with only 3 jobs and occasional boss fights, but the humorous style of the game is worth the price. Expand
  5. Gid
    Oct 8, 2013
    8
    This is a very clever RPG game. One which had me hooked for hours on end. As a play on Oregon Trail, this uses the same mechanics but in aThis is a very clever RPG game. One which had me hooked for hours on end. As a play on Oregon Trail, this uses the same mechanics but in a zombie apocalypse setting. This was definitely an open space in the market, as most of the zombie games nowadays just require shooting and shooting until they're all dead, not many people realized the potential in a zombie apocalypse setting. It's about management of your party, how basic resources are restricted, how, when society breaks down, unspeakable actions become necessary routines. The management is played out perfectly well in this game. It gives you responsibilities and lets you decide your priorities. This allows you to come up with different ways to tackle situations. For example, I found myself stockpiling on scraps and waiting until I came across an area where they could be sold for a high price. When an RPG game finds the user working out these kinds of tactics, it means it's a success.

    Though things may get repetitive, and the game can, at some points, outstay it's welcome, this is definite win if you're a fan of the RPG genre.
    Expand
  6. Jul 9, 2013
    7
    Excellent game to have some fun with. Took about 3 hours of my time to play through. I could not see myself playing through this game moreExcellent game to have some fun with. Took about 3 hours of my time to play through. I could not see myself playing through this game more than once, but the three hours I spent playing I had a blast. Expand
  7. Mar 3, 2013
    6
    For those who were around back in the good old days of monochrome graphics (yeah, there was something worse than 8-bit), you almost certainlyFor those who were around back in the good old days of monochrome graphics (yeah, there was something worse than 8-bit), you almost certainly know The Oregon Trail. A bunch of dolts pile into a wagon and go trundling off to Oregon, breaking the wagon, hunting for food, and getting dysentery. Ah, the good old days. Well, they're back with a twist: The Organ Trail has opened. The zombie apocalypse has lurched onto the scene. You and four others pile into a classic station wagon in search of a safe zone. You're not hunting food now; you're scavenging and trying to stop from being food for roaming zombies. Survivor colonies are there for trading, work, and upgrading your car. And, yep, watch out for dysentery and typhoid. It's a game with great throwback graphics, a cool premise, good implementation, and overall a lot of fun in a small package. So what am I doing giving it a six? Doesn't it deserve like a nine? Yeah, it does, except there are some long-standing bugs that still haven't been fixed, the worst of which is a disappearing gunsight that renders you effectively unable to defend yourself or scavenge (which means your only recourse is reset). If that could be fixed, this would be a nine with ease. Here's hoping. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2012

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2012 Image
    Published: December 20, 2012
    Find out which iOS titles finished the year as 2012's best in our annual look at the top games for Apple mobile devices.
  2. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for August 2012

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for August 2012 Image
    Published: August 30, 2012
    A zombified take on Oregon Trail and a port of The World Ends with You are among the past months best-reviewed games for iOS.