Plants vs Zombies 2: It's About Time iOS

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 208 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The zombies are coming… back. It’s about time! The sequel to the hit action-strategy adventure with over 30 Game of the Year awards is here. Join Crazy Dave on a crazy adventure where you’ll meet, greet and defeat legions of zombies from the dawn of time to the end of days. Amass an army ofThe zombies are coming… back. It’s about time! The sequel to the hit action-strategy adventure with over 30 Game of the Year awards is here. Join Crazy Dave on a crazy adventure where you’ll meet, greet and defeat legions of zombies from the dawn of time to the end of days. Amass an army of powerful new plants, super charge them with Plant Food and power up your defenses with amazing new ways to protect your brain. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Aug 15, 2013
    100
    Plants vs. Zombies 2 is everything you could have wanted, or expected, from the sequel to one of the greatest casual games of all time. It’s safe to say this one was well worth the wait, and then so much more.
  2. Aug 15, 2013
    93
    Plants vs. Zombies 2 gives serious strategy players and casual mobile gamers a lot to love.
  3. Aug 15, 2013
    90
    The comedic army of undead make placing your aggressive plants in every level a party. The tried and tested gameplay of defending your base continues to be interesting thanks to the right amount of variation at the right time. Plants vs. Zombies 2: It’s About Time was definitely worth the wait.
  4. Aug 18, 2013
    88
    Compared to the original one, there's more content and fun, even though being free to play is something not everyone will like. However, it lives up to the expectation, and does deserve a try.
  5. Aug 19, 2013
    85
    Plants vs. Zombies 2: It's About Time keeps the fresh gameplay and the sense of humor from the first game and offers new funny situations to its tower defense formula; and all that just for free.
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    80
    The core Plants vs Zombies gameplay is still as strong as ever, so there is still tons of fun to be found in the sequel. But after the first game's carefully crafted difficulty curve, Plants vs Zombies 2's grinding can make it feel like a more inconsistent experience.
  7. Aug 21, 2013
    60
    There's a creeping sense that [the game] cares less about the player, and more the clinking in their coffers. [Issue#138, p.111]

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 64
  2. Negative: 33 out of 64
  1. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    The only reason the user reviews are so low is because PvZ 2 was delayed in the USA so that they would not have any server issues like SimThe only reason the user reviews are so low is because PvZ 2 was delayed in the USA so that they would not have any server issues like Sim City had. I am sure that when it comes out in just a few days it will be fantastic. If you are in Australia or New Zealand, you are enjoying it right now. Love the original game! Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    A fun game for kids, it has a potential to be a blockbuster. There are some glitches but overall it is a great tile. Good job devs i 9 starsA fun game for kids, it has a potential to be a blockbuster. There are some glitches but overall it is a great tile. Good job devs i 9 stars goes to you. Expand
  3. Jul 7, 2014
    7
    I played the first three worlds and I loved it, so much. Addictive, at that time. But, at the moment, as new worlds come out, I am starting toI played the first three worlds and I loved it, so much. Addictive, at that time. But, at the moment, as new worlds come out, I am starting to lose interest in the game, maybe because there are not really something changed and I have to wait a lot to play a new world... Expand
  4. Oct 31, 2014
    4
    Makes the switch to free-to-play and loses it's soul. The gameplay is still largely the same. You still place out different types of plants inMakes the switch to free-to-play and loses it's soul. The gameplay is still largely the same. You still place out different types of plants in order to fend off waves of zombies in a unique take on the tower defense genre. However it doesn't take long to realize that the game is constantly making grabs at your wallet.

    The difficulty here is much harder than the original, and not in a good way. It's clearly just an attempt to get you to spend money on power-ups or some of the better plants available. They even made the sunflowers practically useless. It takes them forever to pump out sunlight, so really I just relied on harvesting it without them. Really shameful stuff.

    The free-to-play model really does ruin it. Not to mention it's not that different of a game than the original. You're better off replaying that one for what is probably the umpteenth time. It really is a shame to see the series turned into this. Rather than providing an entertaining experience, it's more interested in nickel and dimming you to death. Just skip it.
    Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2013
    3
    This games ok but they had to ruin it with one thing that makes this game not so fun to play. FREEMIUM You have to buy different plants toThis games ok but they had to ruin it with one thing that makes this game not so fun to play. FREEMIUM You have to buy different plants to make it through hard levels. Now I know most of you can beat this without paying a dime but what about the rest? EA why did you have to ruin another franchise why?? I hope in the next installment (if there is another one) They just make it where you buy the game and that's it you play. Expand
  6. Apr 21, 2014
    2
    And, once again, someone jumps on the freemium bandwagon. Apparently, the developers seem to think that people like to pay to play less, whichAnd, once again, someone jumps on the freemium bandwagon. Apparently, the developers seem to think that people like to pay to play less, which seems to be working out for them. All the same; I do not agree, and find it an insult to my intelligence to provide a 'cheat' option. Expand
  7. Aug 3, 2015
    0
    greedy free to play cash in from those sellout greedy rat bastard thieve moneywhores at EA the plant can be as much as an obscene 5 dollars!greedy free to play cash in from those sellout greedy rat bastard thieve moneywhores at EA the plant can be as much as an obscene 5 dollars!

    the game is diffcult as hell and rigged to ****
    Expand

See all 64 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for July 2013

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for July 2013 Image
    Published: July 31, 2013
    Looking for a few new time-wasters, or something more involved? Our list of the best new iOS games has something for every type of gamer.