• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Sonic Dash Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Play as Sonic the Hedgehog as you dash, jump and spin your way across stunning 3D environments. Swipe your way over and under challenging obstacles in this fast and frenzied endless running game for iPad, iPad mini, iPhone & iPod touch.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Mar 9, 2013
    100
    By combining the breakneck endless pace of games like Temple Run with Sonic’s old school sense of speed, Sonic Dash manages to champion two things quite well; taking an existing formula and bettering it, and developing a Sonic game that’s finally worthy of the hedgehog’s good name.
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    80
    Sonic Dash is a quick automatic runner that harnesses the essence of the franchise in a great way. Perfect for both a five-minute break, and a lazy evening in the sofa.
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    78
    It's hard, eventually hard and well designed. There's nothing outstanding, but everything is correct. However, we don't really understand why it's so focused on in-app purchases when we have already paid for it.
  4. Mar 7, 2013
    70
    A perfectly playable endless runner, Sonic Dash is entertaining enough, but highlights how far the series has come since its glory days.
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    61
    The game plays it too safe – there is nothing here that hasn’t been done before. This combined with its pay-to-win leaderboard environment makes Sonic Dash an unexceptional experience.
  6. 60
    Sonic Dash takes the tried and tested formula of Temple Run and adds a solid control scheme that doesn't involve tilting your device. But with close to a gazillion endless runners on the market it fails to impress. It is an enjoyable take on the genre, and has great graphics, but we have seen it all before. Buy it if you absolutely love Sonic, but do not expect anything new to the formula.
  7. Mar 12, 2013
    40
    Sonic the Hedgehog seems like a perfect fit for an endless runner, but Sonic Dash fumbles the fundamentals and aggravates with heavy-handed in-app purchases.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Review of Sonic Dash

    I have been a huge Sonic The Hedgehog fan since day one. From the good old days of the Sega Genesis and Sonic The Hedgehog 3 & Knuckles, to the systematic anal rape of Sonic in the ass and the sad thing is, we are all used to Sonic being a used up icon. He for all intended purposes was dead and buried already in most gamer's minds, they could not continue playing Sonic knowing he was wasting away, emaciated by Sonic Team, the very team that made Sonic legendary now destroying everything that was ever or ever has been good about the Sonic franchise. Sonic was on life support friends, hanging as a franchise on the brink of death. he was used up after Sonic Heroes, the last really good Sonic game before the Holocaust and the Dark Years and and cold bitter nights of Shadow the Hedgehog, Sonic The Hedgehog for the Xbox 360 a game so utterly abysmal, so horrifyingly horrendously underdeveloped and glitch ridden that Sonic was dug his own grave by his own Sonic Team. Recovery to the once legendary status as worldwide Sega Genesis icon seemed utterly implausible, impractical and impossible.

    But good Sonic games still exist my friends, and Sonic Dash for Android

    This Sonic game is what Sega should have done 10 years ago simply put. The control?Flawless. Tap Up and Sonic Jumps, Tap Down Sonic Spin Dash Attacks, Tap to preform special actions and interact with objects around Sonic.

    The final and most important new edition to the Sonic The Hedgehog franchise is the Dash Meter, For the first time in a Sonic game, collecting rings is more than just a means to an end to keep Sonic from death. Every Ring you collect gets Sonic a boost of power. Collect 100 rings for an extra life. And if you get 200 rings and collect all the Chaos Emeralds?

    Touch Super Sonic

    I just sold this for you. Sonic The Hedgehog is back baby.
    Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2013
    9
    Simplemente me Fascina este juego, pero no por eso no voy a ser Objetivo. A decir verdad me parece un excelente F2P (un Endless Runner para ser mas precisos),sus gráficas son buenas, la nitidez de sus imágenes esta muy bien cuidada y detallada, su música es buena y como plus puedes jugar con varios personas de la franquicia, ademas de que al día de hoy puedes conseguir varios objetos que hacen del juego una experiencia muy divertida y adictiva como todo F2P debe ser en mi opinión. Tal vez el aspecto mas "débil" seria la jugabilidad ya que a pesar de ser buena casi no varia de personaje en personaje y si no fuera por los cambiantes escenarios creo que el juego se volvería monótono bastante rápido. En conclusión estamos ante un genial F2P desarrollado por un estudio que aspiro con ansias ver que mas pueden darnos en el futuro y espero también poder probar pronto la versión para Android. Expand
  3. Jul 14, 2014
    9
    A new beautiful sonic game but this time on the iOS system , the game is free , so i strongly recommend you to download it from the App store , but beware from addicting on this game . Expand
  4. Feb 11, 2014
    7
    It's an endless runner. If you find them boring after awhile, then you can expect to find the same results here. I for one enjoy the way the obstacles are set up in Sonic Dash, really requiring focus and finesse. There are a few spots where it's very tricky, but learning how to evade them becomes relatively satisfying. SEGA is usually pretty good about keeping the action going with regular global challenges, puzzle piece collection, and other assortments to allow you to gain access to most anything.

    There are boatloads of IAP, and it is frustrating that how aggressive they are, but the global challenge, the prize wheel, and the puzzle collections, in addition to the various missions, should allow you to collect everything without purchasing them.

    Plus the game gives SEGA's various characters at least a little love, and the score enhancers and improvements over the years that this game has been on the app store has made it better, though I wish there was more music, a wider variety of environments and more boss type encounters, but it's an endless runner, I can't expect too much.

    Ultimately, it's Temple Run coated with Sonic. There are some things that are unique to Sonic Dash, but aside from that, if you're sick of Temple Run, don't be surprised that you don't enjoy Sonic Dash.
    Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2013
    5
    Pretty decent game, but running into random objects that come out of nowhere ruin the experience a bit for me. It's definitely a bit better than Temple Run, but I still think subway surfers has it beat. Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2014
    5
    One of the main things to remember about any game is "if you can cheat to win...cheat". Unfortunately that doesn't apply to games developers who decide to play dirty with players. Some obstacles are totally impossible to dodge. Nice jump, oh that was a close one, buff | ...unavoidable thing right around the corner.
    Sega have clearly invested quite a bit on the app as The graphics are good. You can even play as tails or knuckles..assuming you have a handful of red stars. But that will cost you in real cash as it can take a miracle to earn just a couple of them while playing the game. Sega could've made this the best runner game on ios but chose not to. Wasted opportunity. 5/10
    Expand
  7. Apr 10, 2013
    4
    This game is boring. I like how they implemented the turning but everything is just like subway surfers and temple run. Plus you must PAY for this game that is worse than subway surfers which is FREE. Collapse

See all 9 User Reviews