• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Sonic Dash Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Play as Sonic the Hedgehog as you dash, jump and spin your way across stunning 3D environments. Swipe your way over and under challenging obstacles in this fast and frenzied endless running game for iPad, iPad mini, iPhone & iPod touch.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Mar 9, 2013
    100
    By combining the breakneck endless pace of games like Temple Run with Sonic’s old school sense of speed, Sonic Dash manages to champion two things quite well; taking an existing formula and bettering it, and developing a Sonic game that’s finally worthy of the hedgehog’s good name.
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    80
    Sonic Dash is a quick automatic runner that harnesses the essence of the franchise in a great way. Perfect for both a five-minute break, and a lazy evening in the sofa.
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    78
    It's hard, eventually hard and well designed. There's nothing outstanding, but everything is correct. However, we don't really understand why it's so focused on in-app purchases when we have already paid for it.
  4. Mar 7, 2013
    70
    Playing it safe, Sonic Dash is a fun if unremarkable Endless Runner that owes much of its gameplay to other games within the genre.
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    61
    The game plays it too safe – there is nothing here that hasn’t been done before. This combined with its pay-to-win leaderboard environment makes Sonic Dash an unexceptional experience.
  6. 60
    Sonic Dash takes the tried and tested formula of Temple Run and adds a solid control scheme that doesn't involve tilting your device. But with close to a gazillion endless runners on the market it fails to impress. It is an enjoyable take on the genre, and has great graphics, but we have seen it all before. Buy it if you absolutely love Sonic, but do not expect anything new to the formula.
  7. Mar 12, 2013
    40
    Sonic the Hedgehog seems like a perfect fit for an endless runner, but Sonic Dash fumbles the fundamentals and aggravates with heavy-handed in-app purchases.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. sdc
    Apr 5, 2015
    10
    A very nice twist on the Sonic formula, with the endless runner style. Simple, intuitive, how far can YOU run with the world's fastest thingA very nice twist on the Sonic formula, with the endless runner style. Simple, intuitive, how far can YOU run with the world's fastest thing alive? All I can say is that this game could really cut down red-ring prices and needs, or at least make red rings more abundant. Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Review of Sonic Dash

    I have been a huge Sonic The Hedgehog fan since day one. From the good old days of the Sega Genesis and Sonic The Hedgehog 3 & Knuckles, to the systematic anal rape of Sonic in the ass and the sad thing is, we are all used to Sonic being a used up icon. He for all intended purposes was dead and buried already in most gamer's minds, they could not continue playing Sonic knowing he was wasting away, emaciated by Sonic Team, the very team that made Sonic legendary now destroying everything that was ever or ever has been good about the Sonic franchise. Sonic was on life support friends, hanging as a franchise on the brink of death. he was used up after Sonic Heroes, the last really good Sonic game before the Holocaust and the Dark Years and and cold bitter nights of Shadow the Hedgehog, Sonic The Hedgehog for the Xbox 360 a game so utterly abysmal, so horrifyingly horrendously underdeveloped and glitch ridden that Sonic was dug his own grave by his own Sonic Team. Recovery to the once legendary status as worldwide Sega Genesis icon seemed utterly implausible, impractical and impossible.

    But good Sonic games still exist my friends, and Sonic Dash for Android

    This Sonic game is what Sega should have done 10 years ago simply put. The control?Flawless. Tap Up and Sonic Jumps, Tap Down Sonic Spin Dash Attacks, Tap to preform special actions and interact with objects around Sonic.

    The final and most important new edition to the Sonic The Hedgehog franchise is the Dash Meter, For the first time in a Sonic game, collecting rings is more than just a means to an end to keep Sonic from death. Every Ring you collect gets Sonic a boost of power. Collect 100 rings for an extra life. And if you get 200 rings and collect all the Chaos Emeralds?

    Touch Super Sonic

    I just sold this for you. Sonic The Hedgehog is back baby.
    Expand
  3. Jul 14, 2014
    9
    A new beautiful sonic game but this time on the iOS system , the game is free , so i strongly recommend you to download it from the App storeA new beautiful sonic game but this time on the iOS system , the game is free , so i strongly recommend you to download it from the App store , but beware from addicting on this game . Expand
  4. Feb 11, 2014
    7
    It's an endless runner. If you find them boring after awhile, then you can expect to find the same results here. I for one enjoy the way theIt's an endless runner. If you find them boring after awhile, then you can expect to find the same results here. I for one enjoy the way the obstacles are set up in Sonic Dash, really requiring focus and finesse. There are a few spots where it's very tricky, but learning how to evade them becomes relatively satisfying. SEGA is usually pretty good about keeping the action going with regular global challenges, puzzle piece collection, and other assortments to allow you to gain access to most anything.

    There are boatloads of IAP, and it is frustrating that how aggressive they are, but the global challenge, the prize wheel, and the puzzle collections, in addition to the various missions, should allow you to collect everything without purchasing them.

    Plus the game gives SEGA's various characters at least a little love, and the score enhancers and improvements over the years that this game has been on the app store has made it better, though I wish there was more music, a wider variety of environments and more boss type encounters, but it's an endless runner, I can't expect too much.

    Ultimately, it's Temple Run coated with Sonic. There are some things that are unique to Sonic Dash, but aside from that, if you're sick of Temple Run, don't be surprised that you don't enjoy Sonic Dash.
    Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2015
    6
    Windows 8 Phone Version:

    Yet another Sonic racing game, if there wasn’t enough already, but now this time the Windows 8 users get a chance
    Windows 8 Phone Version:

    Yet another Sonic racing game, if there wasn’t enough already, but now this time the Windows 8 users get a chance to be the worlds fastest hedgehog in Sonic Dash, will it get set ‘n’ go to be a sure fire winner or will it get fried like an egg …. man? , here is our review

    Sonic seems to be everywhere, on every console and now it would seem on every mobile device and gadget, so if your a fan of the Temple Run series or you just like Sonic the Hedgehog then you have most likely already downloaded this and gave it a go or if you haven’t yet why haven’t you, its a good game and you should give it a ‘Spin’.

    The game itself looks beautiful, with lots of colours and smooth graphic but that’s that goes in the way of being pretty the rest is more annoying than anything on the Windows phone (using a HTC Windows 8s Phone).

    Gameplay

    The idea of the game is to dodge oncoming objects and make it to the goal, so that means jumping over baddies or using your spin attack or just moving from side to side to collect rings, the more rings you collect the more ‘Dash’ you will build to do a speed dash which is kind of like the Sonic Boot from the other Sonic games which gives you a short burst of speed, this will take out the objects in your way so its useful to collect as many rings as you kind.

    Moving from left to right by swiping your finger in the direction on the phone screen to collect the rings / power-ups, by swiping up will make Sonic jump or swipe down will duck under objects or do a roll attack to take out the baddies, sometimes you will need to jump and tap the screen to attack an enemy, there is moments where you are asked to swipe the direction shown on the screen in mid air after a jump to collect extra rings.

    On the Windows Phone (HTC Windows 8s Phone) the game really struggles, which means at times you swipe the screen and Sonic doesn’t respond which means you will lose you rings or lose an life which can be very annoying, the game lags during the jump sky moments where quick time events (QTE) are needed, you swipe the screen and just sit there and Sonic doesn’t do anything, just spend half the time swiping a number of times to move the blue hedgehog.

    Graphic

    Outstanding graphic for a smart phone, with no pop ups and good draw distance with the graphic I cannot fault a thing, bright colours and clear level designs, which keeps Sonic true to the more recent Sonic game levels.

    The character design also is really good as you progress through the game you can unlock other characters, these are Sonic’s friends and foes from over the years which are all every detailed.

    LifeSpan

    Due to the issues outlined above with the gameplay sadly Sonic Dash wont last much longer on my Windows Phone, its a shame but if the phone could handle the game a lot better the lifespan would be prefect, as there is some much that will keep you coming back each and every day to unlock rewards / daily challenges and also collect free rings to purchase powerups or enable you to unlock more characters, like many games if gives you the game for free but to unlock many powerups and items you will need to pay your hard earned cash but I wont be adding my card details anytime soon.

    There is also a number of daily tasks or things which you could do which could earn you more coins/points to unlock extras, sadly the Facebook login / invite friends doesn’t work on the Windows 8s phone, it allows you to login then takes you back to your phones home screen.

    Overall

    With all that said it is a good game, it has been enjoyable but the negative factors out weigh the positive factors but as the game is free I would say to give it at least a go, if you have a more powerful smart touchscreen phone / PC or tablet the game may run a lot better than what it does on the HTC Windows 8s .

    Full Review @ItsMuchMore
    Expand
  6. Mar 7, 2013
    5
    Pretty decent game, but running into random objects that come out of nowhere ruin the experience a bit for me. It's definitely a bit betterPretty decent game, but running into random objects that come out of nowhere ruin the experience a bit for me. It's definitely a bit better than Temple Run, but I still think subway surfers has it beat. Expand
  7. Apr 10, 2013
    4
    This game is boring. I like how they implemented the turning but everything is just like subway surfers and temple run. Plus you must PAY forThis game is boring. I like how they implemented the turning but everything is just like subway surfers and temple run. Plus you must PAY for this game that is worse than subway surfers which is FREE. Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews