• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Sorcery! Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An epic adventure through a land of monsters, traps, and magic.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. May 6, 2013
    100
    If you have any kind of interest at all in fantasy fiction or role-playing games, you simply must play Steve Jackson's Sorcery! It really is just that good.
  2. May 13, 2013
    90
    When the four-book work is finished, Sorcery! is likely to be one heck of an impressive gamebook experience. Inkle's groundwork is fantastic, making for an unusually vibrant piece of interactive fiction. It's a bit like a prologue at the moment, but every journey has to start somewhere. This one gets off on the right foot.
  3. Jun 26, 2013
    90
    An utter essential. [Aug 2013, p.79]
  4. 80
    Sorcery! is one of the best games that this reviewer has played on the iPhone and iPad, offering a plethora of options and an excellent story.
  5. Jun 10, 2013
    80
    It's short and perhaps too forgiving for some, but Sorcery is a fun romp that respects your decisions. [July 2013, p.83]
  6. May 15, 2013
    80
    The worst thing you can say about Sorcery! is that this first book feels short. But when you are enjoying a thing, that often tends to be the case. The best thing is that if it stays true to the books, it is only going to get better.
  7. May 21, 2013
    70
    A wonderful novelty, Sorcery! exists to serve a niche group of users and will struggle to find a captivated mainstream audience.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    I've played like every iOS game, and this game is excellent. Captures the D&D essence (not necessarily the rules) better than any game on the ipad, The writing is good, the art is good, that combat is fun, the spells are interesting, the amount of choices you get to make in the game are stressful in a good way and overwhelming. My only complaint is its too short, but I heard the next one is quite long so that should make up for it. Expand
  2. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This is simply one of the best interactive story/game you will ever find on smartphones. Be warned though, this is not a kids game. This is for a mature audience only.
    The story is fantastic. You really don't know what to expect. 1 wrong move could be your doom or could make you loose a valuable asset for your journey. This game really accomplishes to get you deep into your character and it's world.
    Each choice you make has a tremendous consequence in the game. In this land of deceit and unexpected consequences, you have to think twice before making a movement, and this is one of the aspects I like the most. Nothing is black or white but gray, just like life itself.
    The game is filled with challenging puzzles and simple, but challenging, melee combat. Often you can use magic to avoid fights or to bypass some puzzles, but it costs stamina which is your HP and your requirement to use most magic spells so you have to be careful.
    I really can't find any big flaw on this game. It has no bugs, the few music it has is fantastic, it's perfect! The only flaw I could think of is the duration of the game, which some people find very short. I personally don't. I take an entire afternoon to complete a single walkthrough.
    Also have in mind that this is the first part of a 4 part story. Each part will be a different game, and will be sold separately. Your choices will be passed on to the next game via icloud.
    Buy this game. You won't regret it.
    Expand
  3. Sep 13, 2013
    9
    Hah! I just completed the game on my very first go, without dying once! But enough with the self-satisfaction.
    Sorcery is just a great game.
    If this becomes part of the future of mobile gaming, instead of just the endless horde of match-3-crap, physics puzzlers and enless runners, the future looks very bright indeed, my friends.

    The presentation is absolutely gorgeous, with a simple but beautiful 3D-map taking up most of the screen time, engrossing ambient sounds, wonderful music, and beautiful illustrations. The game is truly about storytelling, which has pros and cons. On the one hand you've got excellent writing, scenes that keep your interest, and a tale that really takes you along for a ride, instead of bothering you with all the statistics "under the hood". On the other hand, the game is still very much a book: if you've made your choices in a certain scene, that scene is over and the story moves on. Don't expect to revisit villages you've been to before, or walk back to a certain weapon's dealer. So while the story itself and the vivid descriptions of what's happening, including your own mental and physical state, truly immerse you in this world, the way the game unfolds still has its boundaries. Still, I was strangely okay with that: being in a gameworld where everything matters brings much more significance to your actions and choices, compared to just roaming some sandbox RPG.

    There were just two gripes I had with this game.

    One, it's too forgiving. I get that some gamers will be pleased to be able to go back to every decision they made in the game, just to see what the unchosen path might have brought. But in my opinion this seriously decreases the aforementioned feeling of significance: nothing really matters, because in one tap you can "re-choose" another way. I seriously advise new players to stick with their decisions. Trust me, it'll make your experience so much better, and your sense of accomplishment so much greater (Did I tell you I finished the game in my very first go without dying once? I did? Sorry...)

    Two, it's really short. Maybe I should have waited for all four books to have been released on iOS, like I did with the Walking Dead game, so I could have had a more continuous experience. Then again, the sense of yearning to find out what happens next is the biggest compliment a storytelling game can get.

    Highly recommended!
    Collapse

Related Articles

  1. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for May 2013

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for May 2013 Image
    Published: May 29, 2013
    Check out the best new game apps released for Apple's mobile devices over the past month, from casual titles to games for fans of hardcore strategy.