Temple Run Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the makers of the award-winning best-seller Harbor Master® comes the most exhilarating running game on the App Store. Test your reflexes as you race down ancient temple walls and along sheer cliffs. Swipe to turn, jump and slide to avoid obstacles, collect coins and buy power ups, and see how far you can run!You've searched the world for the precious idol and finally found it in the mysterious temple that rises from the murky waters - but the idol is cursed! You have awoken the demon guardians of the temple, and now you have to escape from their deadly pursuit! FEATURES* Simple swipe and tilt controls that are easy to use and just feel right * Level up your character and use crazy powerups* Original 3D running mechanic combining turning, jumping, sliding and tilting - the first of its kind!* Crisp high quality Retina Display graphics * Game Center Leaderboards and Achievements to compete with your friends* Incredibly fun, just one more time, endless game play! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jan 11, 2012
    100
    All told, if this game isn't on your phone, you're doing yourself a huge disservice.
  2. Aug 12, 2011
    100
    It matches the sheer thrill and intensity of Canabalt, but with a completely new theme and perspective. We've all wanted to be Indiana Jones at some point, and now's your chance.
  3. Jan 23, 2012
    90
    The "endless running" genre consists of many excellent titles, with the likes of Tiny Wings, DoodleJump and Grim Joggers receiving high acclaim. Temple Run goes above and beyond, offering gamers a superb, addictive experience throughout.
  4. Oct 7, 2011
    76
    Temple Run is a very good running game with accurate touch controls, frenetic action and lots of achiements and power-ups to unlock. It's simple and fun, and it's free. What are you waiting for? Go download it now.
  5. Aug 17, 2011
    75
    A fast and frenzied iPhone experience. The combination of swiping and tilt controls gives each session a frantic feeling. Right now the package feels a little basic and derivative, but still quite fun.
  6. Aug 11, 2011
    70
    A solid take on the endless running genre that doesn't add anything, but is still fun all the same.
  7. Aug 8, 2011
    60
    My big qualm with Temple Runner lies in the fact that the majority of the game's scenery looks the same. Yeah, the scenery does change here and there, but most of the time, gamers are running through ruined, temple pathways that look consistently the same. It all starts to blur together after a while.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    Temple Run is probably the most addictive App Store game you can buy. Even though it is a simple idea, there is a great amount of strategic work involved.Buy it! Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    Best free Game out there. It is so much fun and very challenging. There are tons of unlocks and perks to help boost your character. I play this game everyday. It's not a game you can play for hours, it's one you will play for a long period of time, but only like 10 minutes here and there. Expand
  3. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Awesome game... It was very fun and addictive...Best free game I played, the best part is to achieve the objectives in the game and the extra powers we have in the game. Expand
  4. Feb 5, 2012
    6
    This game is fairly well done but... 1) it isn't cute or even nice looking, 2) the sound is quite poor (especially the coin gathering feels "flat"), 3) missions are not stressed enough (and there is only one mission per run so you don't have any choice). The feeling of running is well delivered, gameplay is smooth but it's the psychology that differs this game from Jetpack Joyride.... well this and couple of hundreds of thousands sold units... Expand
  5. Mar 18, 2014
    6
    The things i like about this game is the different things they give you as you play it more nad more i mean as yiu go further like as yoy go with the high scoure it gives you out different things to get your speed high and get your running skills powerfull . Temple Run is probably the most addictive game i have ever played. Best free Game out there. It is so much fun and very challenging. There are tons of unlocks and perks to help boost your character. I play this game everyday.great game of running jumping and swiping which becomes addictive. the thing i do not likeabout this game is teh sound i think its abit weird they could have good music for their game and also some of the tasks are very easy to play. Once you got to know the game it is very easy for someone to play at the begining when i first start playing i find it very hard but when i have like played it about 3 times i find it very easy, if one game is easy yiou are less interested in the game to play so i think the game could have nice music and hard tasks for someone to play. Expand
  6. May 5, 2013
    5
    Fairly enough, this game fairs worse than its sequel. You really need to look closely people. This game may be addictive but all you do is swipe on barely ANY obstacles. Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2013
    2
    Now, i like skill games but not skill games like this because this game is always the same when running, making this game very boring. It's average, on the first play, however as i said before it gets longer and boring er. This game is rarely updated even when it is updated it isn't that good. This game has been copied a lot of times and I would say they are better. Even thought this game is free, i still wouldn't recommend it. Collapse

See all 16 User Reviews