Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Jul 3, 2012
    70
    Technical issues aside, The Amazing Spider-Man is still a very entertaining game. It captures the spirit of being able to swing from building to building admirably and there's a ton of places to explore. It's that rare treat of a fun movie tie in game.
  2. Jul 2, 2012
    80
    In spite of the frustrating combat, The Amazing Spider-Man still has more than enough going for it to recommend.
  3. Aug 24, 2012
    64
    Finishing feels like hard work. [Oct 2012, p.92]
  4. Jul 11, 2012
    70
    The free roaming aspect of The Amazing Spider-Man is very well done, but once you find an enemy you have to fight, and that's the moment the game really fails to deliver, with frame drops and cumbersome camera controls.
  5. Jul 6, 2012
    40
    For seven bucks you could purchase a handful of objects that instill the same sense of simple, gleeful play that The Amazing Spider-Man evokes at its very best, without any of the baggage. Like a an action figure. Or a jumping-jack.
  6. Jul 1, 2012
    75
    The Amazing Spider-Man is a mostly successful open-world take on Spidey.
  7. Jul 2, 2012
    60
    If you want an open-world Spider-Man title, The Amazing Spider-Man delivers a decent experience along with a slew of flaws. However, if you're simply looking for a smooth Spidey adventure, stick with Total Mayhem.
  8. Jul 6, 2012
    60
    The Amazing Spider-Man doesn't live up to Gameloft's previous efforts when it comes to the cocky webslinger, but those who begged for an open-world system finally have it (for what it's worth).
  9. Jul 1, 2012
    60
    It seems like Gameloft fell in love with their swinging mechanic a little too much and forgot about making the movement on the ground fluid. Since combat does not take place in the air, this decreases the quality of the game significantly. It is not a bad game, but it certainly is not as good as I had initially hoped.
  10. 60
    Take Gameloft's Gangstar games and add Spider-Man, Lizard and lots of web swinging in a huge sandbox then you have their latest Spider-Man game. Not as great looking as Total Mayhem and graphic wise really dependant on which iOS unit you use. Fun at times, laggy quite often but still Spider-Man. Not an amazing Spider-Man but a decent one.
  11. Jul 2, 2012
    60
    Despite The Amazing Spider-Man's ambitions, the game's imprecise controls aren't suited to letting players do whatever a spider can.
  12. Jul 1, 2012
    80
    Amazing Spider-man is a surprisingly good attempt at bringing an open-world web-slinger game to iOS. While the game engine can't always handle the task without the occasional hiccup and controls aren't always responsive in the heat of battle, it still feels as if this is the game Spider-man fans have waited for.
  13. Jul 8, 2012
    80
    While it is a paymium title, like many of Gameloft's recent releases, The Amazing Spider-Man manages to provide a sense of freedom from both the in-app purchases, and the natural laws of physics as well.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Aug 29, 2014
    10
    Epicness, that is all I need to say, the challenge the webslingin across an entire city while fighting criminals and saving the day, you have also a lvl and tu that lvl you grow stronger and newer enemies come to fight you, right now I am fighting powerful lizards and chasing big trucks full of stolen cash in a fee amount of seconds , it is addicting and fun to play, didn't play the second one yet but am just about now ;) Full Review »
  2. Jun 30, 2014
    1
    The Amazing Spider-Man is a sad clone of Grand Theft Auto III, just much more boring, more sluggish and not very pretty.

    issues with the
    game:

    - Boring missions. Almost all missions is go here kill that, go there kill this. When this is not the case it gets even more boring, like missions to swing Spidey through circles in the street or hide on the sides of a slowmoving bus too avoid enemies seeing you while the bus slowly traverse through the city streets.
    - The cars and people in the city is basically not to be interacted with. It's like GTA just you can't interact with people or cars. Fun.
    - City feels dead and empty. There is basically nothing to do in the city besides the story missions. Sometimes you'll spot cirminals on the streets, but this is just the same everytime: spot some criminals, kick them to death. There is no interesting missions like a bankrobbery etc.
    - Some of the missions are so horribly scripted that you'll fail all the time because you do not follow the strict way the developers wanted you to play the game. Fall of the building during the mission fight? Fail the mission. Why? You are Spiderman why can't I just crawl/swing up a gain?! Fail to press the correct QTE button when the game tells you? Fail the game. Much of this scripted crap makes playing the game feels like a chore. Oh and finishing the game feels like a chore, so while there is an end battle (and I think I can say that without spoiling anything), don't expect it to be fun or great.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 22, 2012
    7
    I actually managed to squeeze some fun out of this game. I love Gameloft and many of their original mobile games, but their movie tie-ins have been as satisfying. The Amazing Spider-Man was no exception, as Manhattan was large enough of an area to swing and play around in. It still felt like a Spider-Man game, yet it didn't exactly score any points with me in the fact that it was a paymium game. However long I played it, though, this game kept me entertained no matter how much lag my iPod went through. Full Review »