• Publisher: DotEmu
  • Release Date: Sep 27, 2012
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Oct 3, 2012
    100
    The Last Express may still be burdened by the click-through navigation that defined much of the genre in the past, but the marriage of gameplay and storyline remains pitch-perfect in this iOS adaption.
  2. Oct 3, 2012
    100
    The Last Express is just one of those games that adventure fans, or just fans of a good story, need to play. This iOS port isn't perfect, but it's still a pretty faithful translation of one the best tales ever told in a videogame.
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    90
    The biggest compliment I can give this game is that the story has completely hooked me.
  4. Oct 9, 2012
    90
    The Last Express is a game I want my toddler to play in about a decade, and I have renewed hope that he'll get the chance.
  5. Sep 27, 2012
    90
    It's an exceptional value and a fascinating story.
  6. Nov 12, 2012
    86
    Mechner's earlier dreams of being a screenwriter are evident in the Last Express : it's an engrossing tale of war, espionage, personality clashes. In fact, unsurprisingly, it would make a great movie. Despite its age, It makes a pretty good game as well.
  7. Oct 15, 2012
    83
    Evocative and fascinating, The Last Express is a great and absorbing adventure with shamefully awful controls.
  8. Oct 21, 2012
    80
    It's a piece of videogame history and a shining example of what can be done to create an experience so much more immersive than the Heavy Rains of today. I just can't rate the port as highly as I'd rate the core experience itself.
  9. Sep 27, 2012
    80
    A brilliant point-and-click adventure that's let down by its pointing and clicking, The Last Express is still worthy of your undivided attention.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    The Last Express on iPad plays naturally and really well. After 15 years this game finally gets at least part of the attention it really deserves. This 1st person adventure game (cutscenes and fights are 3rd person) taking place on 1914 Orient Express is clearly labor of love. Detailed and beautiful environment, real time, more than 30 characters with high AI etc. If you are experienced TLE gamer, you can turn off not only tutorials, but also displaying of controls (arrows) and play it with touch/hold controls showing only. Hint system and biographies of characters, as well as blueprint of the train are nice additions to the original game. Inventory and save system work fine, too. During my gameplay I found no flaws or imperfections. Pure pleasure. Full Review »
  2. Oct 12, 2012
    9
    Brings over a classic PC adventure game from 1997 to the ios platform from the creator of Prince of Persia Mechener. It's a good point and tap adventure with an an intriguing story. Only negative is a bit of frustrating moments traversing the train with the controls Full Review »