The Sims FreePlay iOS

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
Stream On
  1. Dec 15, 2011
    100
    FreePlay takes everything that's great about The Sims 3 and twists it into a new freemium shape, without relying on the changes to the formula that took place in the series earlier freemium iteration. Kudos to EA. This is one of the best games of its kind.
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    80
    The best Sims game on iOS, particularly if you're playing on iPad. It's just as addictive as the other good freemium titles out there (Tiny Towers, Smurfs Village) even if it does take a bit of grinding to get anywhere.
  3. Dec 21, 2011
    80
    Here's the rub: simoleons and lifestyle points are expensive. The smallest simoleon packs you can buy are $4.99, and give you about enough cash to buy one shop in town. You can do it all yourself instead, but it's going to be a long grind to buy homes to unlock all 16 Sims, open all the shops and build all the workplaces.
  4. Dec 21, 2011
    80
    The Sims Freeplay offers plenty of hours of fun. Some in one big dose, while other sessions are in shorter drop in sessions as is common with the freemium model. In each case, it makes The Sims Freeplay a worthwhile download at an excellent, non-existent, price.
  5. Jan 4, 2012
    75
    The Sims gameplay holds up well, but the slow pace and repetition keeps this freemium game from being the best in its class.
  6. Dec 31, 2011
    45
    The Sims Freeplay is not free and honestly is not even "play". Indeed you actually can't play it if you don't want to spend money for getting all the actions complete. We found this slow gameplay really frustrating and we hope that EA will listen to the users.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. May 12, 2014
    0
    of course ea would do this! they're ea! it takes like forever to do anything! I do not wait a week to fulfill a sims needs! This game sucks so much!!!
  2. Jun 9, 2015
    0
    This game is horrible. Very bad animated, full of bugs, the Sims are ugly, the things are in real time, you have to wait 8 HOURS just for yourThis game is horrible. Very bad animated, full of bugs, the Sims are ugly, the things are in real time, you have to wait 8 HOURS just for your Sim come from work, you can't speed up the game, and you have to BUILD the things, not only create a Sim and move it. HOR-RI-BLE. Full Review »
  3. Apr 30, 2014
    0
    This game is starting to border on the ridiculous. 1st...it freezes up and my tasks NOT completed and if I use LP...ie, baking a cake, theyThis game is starting to border on the ridiculous. 1st...it freezes up and my tasks NOT completed and if I use LP...ie, baking a cake, they are lost. Also,. the ridiculous fire pole goal.Neighbors have staris...no fire pole. Or, a 'functional fire pole'...no stairs. THEY ALL COST TOO MUCH!!!!!! AS DOES THE SECOND FLOOR. Also, how many times do you do a goal over and over???? Teens learning to drive...6 hours. I am on my 10th TRIP EACH FOR 2 TEENS!!!! Ridiculous. Tasks that take OVER and hour and cost OVER 25,000.00 Simoleans are ridiculous. Also, supposed to ride an inflatable pool toy at a neighbors house (and you are wrong...myself and several friends have to COMPLETE The joyride. It does NOT give it to you as soon as you get on!). I have done the 4 min ride.....twice. The 60 minute ride...twice. The joyride....AGAIN!!!! Still says it is a task....???? What started out as a fun gun game is NO LONGER as fun....sad to say. Toying with quitting...for the 2nd and FINAL time. Also, my tasks are NOT color coordinated for age groups as you mention. Also, what is the deal with the teen sign and the island places???? Sims Free play with it's exhorbitant pricing...too long time limits and constant freezing should be called "Maybe Play Definitely Not Free Sims'. Absurd! Full Review »