Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jul 27, 2012
    100
    Walking Dead: The Game is Telltale's best adventure game debut on iOS. It blurs the lines between a game and a movie more effectively than any other series.
  2. Aug 6, 2012
    90
    With terrific visuals, impressive voice acting, an engaging story, and choices with long-ranging effects, you'd be hard-pressed to find a more intriguing mobile adventure title than this apocalyptic tale.
  3. Jul 27, 2012
    90
    If you're fond of The Walking Dead and want to play something that takes that source material seriously, and tells a great story while it does it, this game is definitely it. If you're looking for something much more involving from a joystick perspective, you might want to look elsewhere.
  4. Jul 27, 2012
    90
    If you're a fan of The Walking Dead, then this game is simply a must-have for your iPhone or iPad.
  5. Jul 27, 2012
    90
    It's more like an interactive comic book, with believable characters, solid voice acting, attractive cell-shaded graphics and buckets of blood. In all, a thoroughly entertaining undead romp.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    I played the playstation 3 version fist and I was very impressed with the port. It was brilliant. Character development was great and emotional. It really connected you to the game and made me genuinely care about clementines well being. Full Review »
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. "The Walking Dead: a Telltale Game Series" is a new take-on in "The Walking Dead" Franchise, and Episode 1 A New Day begins this 5-part season. But what do I think of it, let's find out. When I went into "The Walking Dead" for the first time, I played as Lee Everett, a convicted man who's been given a second chance in life to redeem himself as a good man when a zombie apocalypse breaks out and fate puts him in the care and bond of a little girl named Clementine. This game has such an amazing storyline and amazing characters that you meet and bond with who are solid written characters. Why? Because the story adds an emotional touch to it that made me feel like a real person and gives you a better experience in a Telltale game and gives you a more compelling relationship between Lee and Clementine. It makes you relate these characters to yourself and your loved ones. While progressing through the Episode, you meet new people such as a reporter named Carley and a farmer named Hershel (you might be familiar with this character if you are a general fan of The Walking Dead). After meeting with these characters, you feel a lot like you're friends trying to stay together after an apocalyptic break out. Now, the game-play. The game-play is simply amazing, even though this is Telltale's classic point and click format but The Walking Dead in general adds choices to the game. Here is a sequence in the game that allows you to make the choices. When you are in the pharmacy, you have the choice to either save a man named Doug or Carley. If you save Carley, you leave Doug to die and it's the same result when you choose to save Doug instead of Carley. These choices allow for a lot of replay value to see what are the consequences that you have to face after you make these choices. So to recap on the pros, the storyline is amazing due to it's emotional touch, the characters are solidly written and the game-play was great. Now onto the cons of the game. The only complaint I had was that the game has a few goofy moments like when the radio is not working, Carley doesn't know that there are no batteries in the radio. But overall, I highly recommend you play this Episode or the stand alone game on any platform. My final verdict is a 9/10. If there were no goofy moments, this game would be perfect in my opinion but I can't wait to play the 4 remaining episodes on my iPod and play the stand alone game on the PS3. Full Review »
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    3
    I bought this game for my iPhone 4S I never usually pay for my apps so shelling out £2.99 was a big deal for me, I read the reviews and the game sounded wicked, don't get me wrong it was ridiculously fun. The MASSIVE problem I have with it is the length, £2.99 for an iPhone game is pretty ridiculous anyway considering you can get tonnes of brilliant games for 69p. Walking dead provides you with about an hour and a half game play and then you have to buy the next episode for another £2.99! I am seriously peed off, so peed off infact that I created this account just to rant about it and I never review things. £2.99 seriously get over yourselves yeah walking dead is the in thing right now but stop ripping people off, I wouldn't even mind paying £2.99 for the first episode then 69p for the others but noooooo the game makers are too greedy. F you motherFrs. Not happy grrr. Full Review »