Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 155 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Threatened by an unknown enemy, the Earth's governments unite to form a secret paramilitary organization, known as XCOM, to combat this extraterrestrial attack. As the commander of XCOM, you control the global defense team and its resources in a battle against the terrifying alien invasion.Threatened by an unknown enemy, the Earth's governments unite to form a secret paramilitary organization, known as XCOM, to combat this extraterrestrial attack. As the commander of XCOM, you control the global defense team and its resources in a battle against the terrifying alien invasion. XCOM: Enemy Unknown is a reimagining of X-COM, the classic strategy game from 1993, and developed by the award-winning creators of Civilization. You will control the fate of the human race by creating and managing a fully operational base, researching alien technologies, planning combat missions, and controlling soldier movement in battle. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Jul 30, 2013
    100
    Everything that we knew about the console version has been brought over with love, affection and a true knowledge of how to use the touch-screen, as well as the sheer power of the iPad, to its absolute potential...XCOM: Enemy Unknown isn’t just one of the best iPad games available, it’s one of the best games available, full stop.
  2. Jun 24, 2013
    100
    XCOM: Enemy Unknown is an absolute must buy that officially has changed the entire iOS platform, and our expectations going forward.
  3. A game that looks very nearly as good as did on my Xbox 360 and in some ways plays even better, thanks in large part to intuitive touch screen controls that prove a fine fit for the game’s turn-based action.
  4. Jun 20, 2013
    90
    Not only is XCOM: Enemy Unknown one of 2012s best strategy games, it's also one of the most faithful iOS ports I've ever seen.
  5. Jul 29, 2013
    86
    A fantastic strategy sci-fi blast sumptuously, if not gracefully, ported to mobiles. [Sept 2013, p.80]
  6. Jun 24, 2013
    85
    Even without the multiplayer or DLC features, it offers more depth than you'll find in most, if not all, other strategy titles in the App store.
  7. Jun 30, 2013
    80
    Despite the lack of multiplayer (we expect this to be added in future updates) XCOM: Enemy Unknown offers an astronomical amount of content, spanning more than one genre. Having said that, the game is not without problems. Game-breaking bugs are frequent and frustrating when they befall you during important missions.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 3 out of 25
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    This is the way X-COm should be played. With touch controls, retina graphics for detailed maps and characters, and quicker loading times. TheThis is the way X-COm should be played. With touch controls, retina graphics for detailed maps and characters, and quicker loading times. The 19.99 price is justifiable for all the work that has been done on the console version and for the successful iOS port. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    Having a big price and huge GB taken away from your ios device, XCOM enemy unknown is simply the best game ever made for the ios platform.Having a big price and huge GB taken away from your ios device, XCOM enemy unknown is simply the best game ever made for the ios platform. Stunning visuals, great graphics and engaging sci fi story lives up to its merits. Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    A Fantastic port of a fantastic game.

    Other than a few crash issues (which I'm sure will be ironed out with an update) there's nothing
    A Fantastic port of a fantastic game.

    Other than a few crash issues (which I'm sure will be ironed out with an update) there's nothing negative to say about this game. I was initially hesitant to buy this App because of my screen size (I'm playing on a 4S) but as soon as I booted it up and got into my first encounter my concerns were allayed.

    So, get this game.
    Expand
  4. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    Fantastic game. This is XCOM.
    But there is the conterminous issue of the "fatal crash error" that arises on some iOS platforms. My iPad mini
    Fantastic game. This is XCOM.
    But there is the conterminous issue of the "fatal crash error" that arises on some iOS platforms. My iPad mini being one of them. I have found that you must restart your device, clearing the driver, before the game will function properly. I still have occasional issues, but for the most part I can enjoy the game.
    This game is so big, that Apple tech can't handle it.
    Collapse
  5. ERB
    Aug 3, 2013
    8
    Hey guys why do you hate this game?I think it is fun and awesome and actually I think it is one of the best iOS game I've everHey guys why do you hate this game?I think it is fun and awesome and actually I think it is one of the best iOS game I've ever played.Seriously I think you should try playing It.It is fun. Expand
  6. Jul 4, 2013
    7
    The game features multiple difficulties, but even the easiest option can be unforgiving. There is no way to revive soldiers who die. Combat isThe game features multiple difficulties, but even the easiest option can be unforgiving. There is no way to revive soldiers who die. Combat is about careful strategy, not run-and-gun action. AppsGoer has got an in-depth review on this game. Expand
  7. Oct 16, 2013
    0
    Fantastic game, but completely unplayable. Paid $20 for it on my iPad and it crashes constantly. Erases all your data to your last save point,Fantastic game, but completely unplayable. Paid $20 for it on my iPad and it crashes constantly. Erases all your data to your last save point, and makes you watch a 90 second intro that you cannot skip. When it crashes at least once every 10 minutes, making you lose all saved data, and watch the same long intro for the 100th time that day, the game is frustratingly and unbearably unplayable. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013

    The Best iPhone and iPad Games of 2013 Image
    Published: December 22, 2013
    Here are the highest-scoring games released for iOS this year.
  2. 10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for June 2013

    10 Best iPhone/iPad Games for June 2013 Image
    Published: June 27, 2013
    Is this the month that iOS became a serious gaming platform? Acclaimed ports of "XCOM: Enemy Unknown" and "Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic" top our roundup of June's best iPhone and iPad games.