Castlevania Nintendo 64
  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Dec 31, 1998
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 24
  2. Negative: 6 out of 24

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 19, 2014
    8
    this game is SOOOO underrated. Trust me this game is AMAZING. Do not listen all of these castlevania fanboys who say this game is sucks. First, it's the castlevania with the best atmosphere, the music are greats, two playable characters (Reinhardt and Carrie) with exclusive levels for each, alternative endings depending on your actions and unlockable costumes. But don't be fooled by thethis game is SOOOO underrated. Trust me this game is AMAZING. Do not listen all of these castlevania fanboys who say this game is sucks. First, it's the castlevania with the best atmosphere, the music are greats, two playable characters (Reinhardt and Carrie) with exclusive levels for each, alternative endings depending on your actions and unlockable costumes. But don't be fooled by the first level of the game (forest of silence), the game gets better thereafter. However, the game suffers of problems of camera, the platform sequences are sometimes difficult due to the camera and the lack of checkpoints within levels and levels are often labyrinthine so you will be often lost. But these problems are nothing compared to these great qualities and do not listen to people who tell you that this game is bad, IT IS NOT THE TRUE. Greatly underrated Expand
  2. May 27, 2012
    8
    This game used to piss me off so much, but when I played it again when I was older I realized it was actually a pretty good game with a great atmosphere
  3. Nov 2, 2011
    8
    i liked this game it had dark atmosphere the characters had personality, even though it had severe camera problems and bad implemented platforms the action and the story were fun enough to keep you interested
  4. PenningtonP.
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    I love this game to me it is a must have. litterly. the graphics are pretty good the game is good and the characters are awesome like reinheardt and his whip carrie is an awsome magison and malus well he just freacks me out more than the maze but hes cool I really suggest it.
  5. LandonC.
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    Personnally, I think that this game is underrated. Sometimes yes the camera angles get in the way, and the graphics aren't what some people may expect, but I picked it up for looks and I loved it! You can't just say the game sucks. The storyline is prettymuch 80% of what makes a game good and this game is going to make me buy castlevania from now on and I am very glad someone Personnally, I think that this game is underrated. Sometimes yes the camera angles get in the way, and the graphics aren't what some people may expect, but I picked it up for looks and I loved it! You can't just say the game sucks. The storyline is prettymuch 80% of what makes a game good and this game is going to make me buy castlevania from now on and I am very glad someone made a game like this because all of the other vampire books suck and this is one of my favorite games. Thanks Konami! Expand
  6. IsraelH.
    Nov 2, 2003
    10
    It is a good game when you get to the end you jack@$$e$.
  7. May 27, 2012
    0
    This game used to piss me off so much, but when I played it again when I was older I realized it was actually a pretty good game with a great atmosphere
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. A refreshing change of pace from most of the cutesy games that come out for the N64. It's a fun ride, and as the first 3d game in the series, it shows the versatility of the series.
  2. The first attempt to bring the Belmonts to 3D was, for its time, an excellent one. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  3. If you're prepared to overlook, or at least work around, the faults, Castlevania is well worth considering. The only thing that old hands at Castlevania will be left wondering is why you can't swing with the whip.