Star Fox 64

Nintendo 64
Star Fox 64 Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 205 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Lylat system has been invaded! Join Fox McCloud and his Star Fox team as they fight to save the galaxy from the clutches of the evil Andross. Travel to many different 3-D worlds. Battle the enemy in the air and on the ground and listen in as Fox McCloud interacts with a cast of characters.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Monster Hunter Generations - Star Fox Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 100
    Furious flying, controller-melting action, gorgeous graphics, and weird adversaries launch StarFox 64 into the stratosphere.
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    91
    A very pretty reprise of the original Star Fox story, but with new stuff. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  3. Starfox 64, while being a solid title, has one major flaw, length. Although there are separate paths, the game still isn't long enough. Within an hour of booting it, I finished the game, within the next half hour, I completed one of the alternate paths, etc.
  4. 87
    Takes the never-say-die shooter genre to new levels of complexity, sleek design, and gameplay control. StarFox 64 represents the next leap in the evolution of Nintendo games.
  5. The only thing that really kept StarFox 64 from taking off was its lack of difficulty. The game was insanely easy, almost to the point of amazement.
  6. Several interesting twists on the classic arcade shooter bring this game up a few notches.
  7. This game surpasses the 16 bit original in more ways than graphics. Overall, a strong game with some serious flaws.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 41
  3. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Ghostbuddy
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    Star Fox was a great achievement. Everything from its addicting gameplay, to its ridicious but memorable dialouge makes this a great game. Star Fox was a great achievement. Everything from its addicting gameplay, to its ridicious but memorable dialouge makes this a great game. This was the first game that I played that had multiple plot paths and multiple endings. This was the first game I played like crazy. But it certainly wasn't the last. It has been 11 years since I played this game as a young child. But I still remember this game fondly. Collapse
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    You will never find a greater game than this. If you plan on getting playing on the Nintendo 64 ever and you haven't played this, you areYou will never find a greater game than this. If you plan on getting playing on the Nintendo 64 ever and you haven't played this, you are missing out on one of the greatest 64 games conceived. Memorable characters and lines (Do a barrel roll!), fun combat, and replayibility up the whazoo. Expand
  3. AxewhipeS.
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    Classic game. One of the Top Nintendo 64 games The game plays great, The Music is epic, The Story is memorable, The Voice acting is good but Classic game. One of the Top Nintendo 64 games The game plays great, The Music is epic, The Story is memorable, The Voice acting is good but repetitive ( "Do a barrel roll!" ) & Once you beat the game you can beat it again in a totally new way. There is even a multiplayer option which isn't as bad as people tell me. I find the multiplayer fun, It's no Super Smash Bros. but still fun. Overall the new missions will keep you coming back & It is so much fun you will play the old & new missions & you may play so much you may get to know the voice acting by heart. Expand
  4. BenjaminB.
    May 10, 2007
    9
    Actually I don't like these kind of games, but when I played star fox 64 I was overwhelmed. it has a great gameplay, an absolutely fair Actually I don't like these kind of games, but when I played star fox 64 I was overwhelmed. it has a great gameplay, an absolutely fair and balanced difficulty, a great atmosphere and (for the 64) great graphics. the only problem is that it's just too short. Expand
  5. Apr 19, 2016
    9
    Star Fox es divertido, rectifico, MUY divertido. Es un videojuego en toda regla que vicia y te invita a repetir una y otra vez los nivelesStar Fox es divertido, rectifico, MUY divertido. Es un videojuego en toda regla que vicia y te invita a repetir una y otra vez los niveles prácticamente sin cansarte y consiguiendo que te los aprendas de memoria para conseguir la máxima puntuación.
    La unica pega que le doy es la historia que es sencilla y muy corta. Aunque tiene cierto encanto a la hora de saber un poquito del padre de Fox. Pero sin profundidad.
    En cuanto a música, gameplay y gráficos es una maravilla.
    Expand
  6. Apr 20, 2013
    9
    One of the greatest games I've ever played and very close to being the best N64 game of all time. Replayability is practically endless and theOne of the greatest games I've ever played and very close to being the best N64 game of all time. Replayability is practically endless and the game's challenging and varies enough for you to want to keep playing. Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2011
    2
    I was so disappointed by this game that I registered on this site just so that I can warn other people, because this game has yet to receiveI was so disappointed by this game that I registered on this site just so that I can warn other people, because this game has yet to receive an honest review. What we have here is a turd wrapped in gold. As a big fan of Starfox for the SNES, as well as Starfox 2 for the SNES, I thought it would be perfectly natural for me to enjoy Starfox 64 for the N64. Ooh how naive I was. This is easily not only the worse Starfox I have ever played, but also the worse N64 shooter that I have played as well. Honestly, I am still in shock over how absolutely awful this game turned out to be.

    You see, the worse thing about this game is all of the hype and praise that surrounds it. You get the impression that not only is this a fantastic N64 game, but one of the best! At first, it is a very good game. However, once you get into it, you realize how this is a video game that is clearly a victim of genuinely terrible game design. Everything is way too easy at first, it's dead obvious. So how did the game designers fix this? You would be right to think that they simply made it more challenging later on, but sadly this is not true. The route that the designers chose to make this game more challenging was to simply make it cheap, and cheap as hell. That's right, you will not lose due to your own skill, no, if you lose, it will be due to some poor and/or cheap design choice. To top it all off, the final boss is nothing but a giant, detached, floating monkey head with giant, detached, floating hands. I think that pretty well explains the story for this game as well.

    With the 3DS coming out soon, and a 3DS version announced, I got this game to see what the hype is all about. Please, don't buy into the hype. There is nothing good and/or special to be found here.
    Expand

See all 41 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

4
3
#3 Most Discussed N64 Game of 1997
2
#2 Most Shared N64 Game of 1997