User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 584 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 584

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    One cannot help but compare Majora's Mask to Ocarina of Time as it is a direct sequel. Naturally, this was extremely hard to live up to and that is the most likely reason for the more negative opinion. Personally I found the game absolutely brilliant. As a sequel to Ocarina of Time it took the basic features of it and enhanced and twisted them into a darker and more perilous setting -One cannot help but compare Majora's Mask to Ocarina of Time as it is a direct sequel. Naturally, this was extremely hard to live up to and that is the most likely reason for the more negative opinion. Personally I found the game absolutely brilliant. As a sequel to Ocarina of Time it took the basic features of it and enhanced and twisted them into a darker and more perilous setting - Termina. Right from the beginning we can see that the game is darker, with the enigmatic travelling mask salesman and the mystery surrounding Majora's Mask. The whole mask concept is really what makes the game stand out, adding a multitude of side quests and new gameplay as well as making the game feel a lot more dark and mysterious. As many other reviews have said, the game was hard but for me that' part of what made it so great - the increased difficulty not only adds to the challenge but makes the game feel more dark and twisted when compared with Ocarina of Time. Overall I just feel that Majora's Mask captured the feel of Ocarina of Time and put a unique take on it making the game feel very fresh and just plain awesome. Expand
  2. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In many ways this game is a definite improvement upon Ocarina of Time, because, though it is much shorter, there is a much greater reason to actually go around and explore, while in Ocarina of Time it was more like a luxury. The story is much darker and can even be disturbing. The maniacal, and somewhat sadistic villain in this one leaves your character in a world doomed to be destroyed by a grotesque moon, and throughout the game you have to find a way to prevent that moon from dropping - which you have three days to do. Time travel is, like in Ocarina of Time, heavily incorporated and from the beginning you know you can't accomplish what you can in 3 days, so you rely on your Ocarina in this more than you do in the previous game. Another improvement is that the new fairy, Tatl, is far less annoying and has more personality than Navi ever had. The game, like OOT, has its own lore, and though it can be related to OOT, it is also extremely different because it takes place in another universe or dimension (or whatever you want to call it). You can discover more about the world though the side-quests and exploration - by talking to others. In this game, many of the characters, unlike in OOT, will say different things to you after you've talked to them multiple times. The only way to really hear what they say again is to go back in time and start the 3 day cycle again, otherwise, unless it's really important info, they won't repeat it. You can affect just everyone's future in this, and that's probably one of the most well-thought out parts of this game. During the Kafei Quest, you can end up with so many outcomes, it's ridiculous - most of which are very sad, and only one is happy, but still is followed by inevitable sadness. Also this game is very surreal through its visuals and its levels, and also the fact that you can loop things over and over again adds to this effect. The levels are also constructed amazingly, and, as a player, it is hard to lose interest, and the puzzles are also improved upon from OOT. This game is perfect in its own way, and therefore is definitely worth at least trying. Expand
  3. May 9, 2011
    10
    I love Majora's Mask...I Love how fantastic a game it was...The music, the scenery...Every single character had a purpose, everyone had a personality.

    You came to know those 3 days back to front, look, there's Kafei come to deliver that letter to Anju...She'll never understand. A world of depressed people, and your goal is to give them joy....Some of the saddest and happiest moments of
    I love Majora's Mask...I Love how fantastic a game it was...The music, the scenery...Every single character had a purpose, everyone had a personality.

    You came to know those 3 days back to front, look, there's Kafei come to deliver that letter to Anju...She'll never understand.

    A world of depressed people, and your goal is to give them joy....Some of the saddest and happiest moments of videogaming are in this game.

    It's so....dark, amazingly so for a Nintendo game of 2000.... So many characters, some literally suicidally desperate and lonely. The simplest things, making their day, making their life...I know it's a game....but They felt like real people, I pitied them.

    And it hides away, behind the shadows of Ocarina of time, Wind Waker and Twilight princess.

    The Easter eggs, secrets, puzzles, mysteries, lore, character depth....It's like a dozen books crammed into a game....Yet...Nothing is forced or rushed or ignored, the attention to detail....no corners were cut.

    I listen to the music every now and then, The Song of healing....It serves it's role so perfectly....

    If you fail...It's not game over, there's no simply sad melody and a "Do you want to continue?" You die. Everyone dies. Everything is destroyed...and you get to watch....you watch as the game shows you why you must not fail again, why you must rewind time and start over.

    But it wasn't all dark....There were moments that made me smile, that make me happy to this day. There were stupidly amusing parts, Shoving the dignified princess into a bottle, then dumping her on her father's lap and demanding a reward....

    When people tell me games aren't getting worse, and that I'm too nostalgic....sometimes I believe them....Then I play Majora's Mask again......Maybe games aren't getting worse, but I don't think they will ever be that good ever again....

    I'm half asleep, but I just wanted to help make the worlds most underrated game in history slightly more widely acknowledged. I consider it to be the greatest game ever made...

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XDX4ZwUeOok

    Believing in your friends and embracing that belief by forgiving failure. These feelings have vanished from our hearts.~ Igos du Ikana

    Or, if that quote's too sissy and stupid for you;

    "I would trade all of the PS2 launch titles for one copy of Majora's mask. Period. 100/100" ~ Nintendojo
    Expand
  4. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    ou know what? I'll just put this game in wits with Ocarina of Time. BOTH games are two sides of a wonderful coin. While Ocarina of Time was a grand, epic adventure with a lighthearted atmosphere, Majora's Mask is a life and death mission going against a clock, like an episode of 24. Dark and unsettling, Ocarina of Time is slightly better on overall gaming experience but Majora's Maskou know what? I'll just put this game in wits with Ocarina of Time. BOTH games are two sides of a wonderful coin. While Ocarina of Time was a grand, epic adventure with a lighthearted atmosphere, Majora's Mask is a life and death mission going against a clock, like an episode of 24. Dark and unsettling, Ocarina of Time is slightly better on overall gaming experience but Majora's Mask actually has perks that makes it equal or sometimes even better than Ocarina of Time to a certain point. MM pretty much has the most unique story set up in all of the Zelda game; save a town from a falling moon in 3 days. No princess or other important people to save, no Ganondorf. Just save a town from doom. The gameplay is actually a tad better with improve jump and combat mechanics and though the map is smaller, it has more life. The 3 day clock system is pretty much genius, making the gameplay more interesting and fun. Last but not least is the dark and disturbing atmosphere and satisfyingly difficult gameplay, adding with the 3 day clock system makes a very tense experience. Going back on going between MM or OoT, I suggest to buy and play BOTH of these games. Both games are the best the N64 has to offer. Expand
  5. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Legendary. This is my favorite game of all time. For its time, its graphics were stunning, but the STORY. GOD THE STORY! It was so intricate, and powerful. If you like Zelda games, YOU MUST own this one.
  6. Aug 17, 2011
    9
    The graphics are improved, the storyline is tighter if somewhat less epic in scope. All in all, Majora's Mask is a worthy sequel to Ocarina of time. A must-play for all Legend of Zelda fans, and really for anyone who owns an N64.
  7. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    When I beat the first game, I had no idea that there was a sequel! I only found it out when my friend on the bus ride to school told me about Majora's Mask. I said stuff like, "WHAT? There's a sequel?! WHAT? The masks can actually change your form?! WHAT? There's only four temple's and not ten?! That's AWESOME!!! Boy, was my friend right. Being a kid, I liked the fact that there was onlyWhen I beat the first game, I had no idea that there was a sequel! I only found it out when my friend on the bus ride to school told me about Majora's Mask. I said stuff like, "WHAT? There's a sequel?! WHAT? The masks can actually change your form?! WHAT? There's only four temple's and not ten?! That's AWESOME!!! Boy, was my friend right. Being a kid, I liked the fact that there was only four and not ten dungeons because I thought that I could beat it easily. I was wrong. There may be only four of them but they were hard! I could get through them, but they were hard! But when I discovered the song of soaring, I was fine for a while. It was nice of the developers to offer me a challenge. Because back then, YouTube didn't exist so I couldn't look at a walk-through and cheat the right way. I had to figure out everything on my own, and all of this on the shoulders of a nine-year old was a little sadistic. But I eventually did get through the entire game 100%! This game, I'm glad to say is a great sequel to a great game series. I only have one complaint, looking back now, I don't like how it was so short! Beat this guy, beat this guy, beat this guy, beat this guy, and now to the final boss. Just too short! But other than that, it's one of my favorite games of my childhood. When I beat Majora's Wrath, I may have had nightmares for a week, but I didn't care, I thought it was one of the greatest accomplishments of my childhood. I highly recommend you at least try it. Expand
  8. Apr 5, 2011
    9
    Often when people play Majora's Mask they can't help but compare it to the nostalgic, Enticing and memorable Ocarina of time it was inevitable to happen just as the past games that tried to up one on the game before them. The hype was high expectations when released as people had high hopes for this game being based off the well know Ocarina of time. The main result for this I believe isOften when people play Majora's Mask they can't help but compare it to the nostalgic, Enticing and memorable Ocarina of time it was inevitable to happen just as the past games that tried to up one on the game before them. The hype was high expectations when released as people had high hopes for this game being based off the well know Ocarina of time. The main result for this I believe is the fact that the game play is so different compared to previous Zelda games. It was new and scary because people didn't understand just how it worked and I admit some puzzles can be rather difficult but not impossible. The game presents a more dark story line compared to the typical Save the princess and the world I find it was rather refreshing not to mention the mask concept changing things up giving you various abilities. However I believe when I say this genuinely with passion for the Zelda series that some games had it's ups and downs some where appealing than others but I think people where to quick to judge this game. Those whom have only played Ocarina of time and tried Majora's mask have yet to try the many other classic games in the series. I admit some Zelda games I wouldn't think of playing a second time such as the Zelda game that allowed you to play as Princess Zelda... but even so it doesn't make it horrid just because it wasn't as smooth as the other games before and after it's time. Although if the story line did not appeal to ones interest I understand we all have various tastes but if one where to merely judge upon its game play after only trying the game for maybe an hour more or less then perhaps they shouldn't be ones to judge if they've never beaten the game to begin with. Also if people judging the graphics.. and random aspects of the game.. For it's time the graphics where good this is an old game you can't compare games like this to games more up to date like the new FPS or Final Fantasy game or whatever you wish to compare it to. As for the random aspects that make people feel un easy a lot of games have these sort of qualities such as psychonauts this game was under appreciated but the story line and game play was wonderful but because it was so different and random compared to most games people where turned off from it. I think if people just gave Majora Mask a chance and played through the game fully then maybe just maybe they'd like it. Collapse
  9. May 26, 2011
    9
    I was actually annoyed by playing Deku Link at the first few minutes of the game, but I got over it, because I was drawn in by excellent graphics, trippy characters, and a good story. But people who get scared easily, beware: this is EASILY the most haunting and disturbing Zelda title ever released. Now, if you'd excuse me, I need to have a nightmare of those Bombchus.
  10. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    You really feel for the characters, and you will do anything you can to save them from the moon that will inevitably (or so they think) crash into the earth and destroy everything that they know and love. Nintendo took a huge gamble with the 3-day-system, a gamble that has without a doubt paid off, it's one of the most innovative things I've seen in a game in well, ever.
  11. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    While Ocarina of time was regarded as revolutionary for molding what would become the action rpg adventure game, Majora´s Mask feels more as an independant story filled with a more mature, depressing and creepy world. It is true that you have to rush against time... but there are plenty of ways around for the players who have the brains to work the game´s mechanics. One has toWhile Ocarina of time was regarded as revolutionary for molding what would become the action rpg adventure game, Majora´s Mask feels more as an independant story filled with a more mature, depressing and creepy world. It is true that you have to rush against time... but there are plenty of ways around for the players who have the brains to work the game´s mechanics. One has to praise Nintendo to give each character in Termina their own story, because for three days, they are fully alive. Expand
  12. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    It's neigh impossible to describe my feelings toward this game and I have almost no nostalgia for it. Almost everything is absolutely perfect. A direct improvement of everything in ocarina of time excluding length. The best game of all time. Period.
  13. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Although I love the game and it being one of the darker Zelda games, (Bested only by Twilight Princess) I found it slightly confusing and frustrating to have to keep jumping back in time and losing all you items. Not to mention disorienting when you talk to a person you just did and they don't recognize you. And not to mention the way they administer the story is also extremely confusingAlthough I love the game and it being one of the darker Zelda games, (Bested only by Twilight Princess) I found it slightly confusing and frustrating to have to keep jumping back in time and losing all you items. Not to mention disorienting when you talk to a person you just did and they don't recognize you. And not to mention the way they administer the story is also extremely confusing and you jump around quests that don't make sense. It may sound like I'm being harsh but I still consider it one of the better zelda games. Expand
  14. Oct 7, 2012
    10
    My favorite tied with Wind Waker. The dark atmosphere is great, the sidequests felt the most wholesome out of the entire series and, aside from the save system, this game is perfect to me. As someone who doesn't like the original Pikmin because of the time limit, this game did it perfectly! You can slow down time and reset it when necessary, giving you more than enough time to completeMy favorite tied with Wind Waker. The dark atmosphere is great, the sidequests felt the most wholesome out of the entire series and, aside from the save system, this game is perfect to me. As someone who doesn't like the original Pikmin because of the time limit, this game did it perfectly! You can slow down time and reset it when necessary, giving you more than enough time to complete each dungeon and get all the stray fairies in a single run. The mask system I found unique and entertaining and the villain is one of the best I've ever seen. If this game does get a remake on the 3DS I recommend they fix the save system by causing the game to bring up a menu to save every 12 hours. In conclusion, while this game isn't for everyone, I highly recommend it for anyone who likes a unique and challenging game. As for those of you who call this a cheap Ocarina of Time ripoff: This game is as much of a ripoff of OoT as Call of Duty is of Earthbound. Expand
  15. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    I played Ocarina of Time first and had never seen anything like it, it blew me away. Then I played MM which still stands today as my favorite Zelda game and in something like a 6 way tie for my all time favorite video game and no I am not just saying that. this game is really something don't get me wrong I see why OoT is hailed as one of the greatest games of all time but to over lookI played Ocarina of Time first and had never seen anything like it, it blew me away. Then I played MM which still stands today as my favorite Zelda game and in something like a 6 way tie for my all time favorite video game and no I am not just saying that. this game is really something don't get me wrong I see why OoT is hailed as one of the greatest games of all time but to over look MM just because it has the same graphical style and similar mechanics is a huge mistake. I know why many like OoT better too, and when I first played OoT I couldn't imagine a Zelda game being better, however that was before I got my hands on MM the day it was released and saw that (for me, not everyone) I enjoy a darker and more ominous game (The Last of Us, Bioshock, Metro 2033), one of the things i remember most from my childhood is the day I got MM was turned into a deku scrub which was clearly devastating to link, met the "happy" mask salesman, and then was thrust into the world of termina with that as a kid anyway extremely scary looking moon making its way towards clock town to crush and kill its inhabitants. People will say MM copied OoT's graphics, this I do not understand, it was a game made by the same company, in the same time period, on the same console, with the same engine, but this was on purpose, this was not a cash grab like fallout new vegas this was something truly original but made on the same hardware. I don't hear you new gamers saying, oh modern warfare 2 copied modern warfares graphics, or black world at war copied modern warfare 2's graphics, or black ops copied world at war's graphics, or modern warfare 3 and BO2 copied all of the aboves graphics (all true) because it is one franchise on one console, why shouldn't they use a tried and true engine that works well. This being said clock town is head and shoulders above the castle town in OoT with its pre rendered environments which gives the appearance of walking on a painting like a PSX final fantasy game. Not to mention the masks? Come on the mask system is one of my favorite things from any game not just the transformation masks you come across on your main quest but the many many others that make for some great side quests and mini games. People complain about the 3 day system as well which I very much enjoyed, it's not that bad guys play the inverted song of time and you will have plenty of time to get a lot done in these 3 days. I loved how certain things happen on certain days and if you miss it you have to wait until the next go around. Anyway not saying I don't have an enormous amount of respect and love for the classic Ocarina of Time, but way more side quests, transformations, a cool and ominous storyline, a darker and more twisted world and characters. These things make MM my all time favorite Zelda game and one of my all time favorite video games to date. I wrote this review not to disprove the nay sayers, but to state my opinion and hopefully inspire some younger gamers who have a Wii or Wii U to use that virtual console feature and experience one of gaming's best titles. Expand
  16. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Majora's Mask takes the cake as my favorite game of all time. While the main quest may be a little short, the story is flawless. The dungeons are all perfect and very difficult, the bosses are great as well, but this game makes you feel for all the characters in the beautiful world of terminal. Reliving the same moments over and over again is interesting and you can physically see yourMajora's Mask takes the cake as my favorite game of all time. While the main quest may be a little short, the story is flawless. The dungeons are all perfect and very difficult, the bosses are great as well, but this game makes you feel for all the characters in the beautiful world of terminal. Reliving the same moments over and over again is interesting and you can physically see your progress when you do something good. 10/10 Expand
  17. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask can be thought as the odd one out of the Legend of Zelda series. It had a radically different dark and twisted plot than the others. The differences from Ocarina of Time being that Termina is much more vast. Also, sidequests are much more crucial. The whole mask idea puts an interesting spin on the gameplay. The character may be different, but they allThe Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask can be thought as the odd one out of the Legend of Zelda series. It had a radically different dark and twisted plot than the others. The differences from Ocarina of Time being that Termina is much more vast. Also, sidequests are much more crucial. The whole mask idea puts an interesting spin on the gameplay. The character may be different, but they all seem to be familiar in some way. It is hard to compare which is actually better because of the difference, but I like this one slightly better than Ocarina of Time. What I like about it is that the worlds are varied and the items are new. The graphics are slightly better. The whole game was colorful and amazing. The time travel added a familiar twist on the game. There are some negative aspects though. I never like having to buy add-ons to any game, but honestly, a $10 expansion pak to improve the graphics a bit. If I wanted a graphics change, I would have bought a PlayStation at the time! Also, Link and the Mask Salesman are both tools. Link uses everyone to get what he wants and then goes back in time and leaves them. The Mask Salesman will pretty much kill himself if he doesn't get his precious mask back, but he apparently needs it in three days! When he gets it back, he just leaves without giving you anything after you just risked you life over and over again for him! The three days feature drove me crazy sometimes. Also, the game can be slightly overwhelming. Overall, great game with an even better ending! Expand
  18. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    Ben Drowned............................................ but then why does he still haunt the game?.................JK creepypasta is all. good game. best zelda and most unique. so good that it ruined "Ocarina of Time" i thought it was especially creepy how the moon had like a really pist off face
  19. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    I still find this to be the best Zelda game. It took the system that Ocarina of Time set up and improved it in every way. The combat is better, the puzzles are interesting, the game is FULL of side quests which is great for this style of game, you play as multiple characters, the world is larger but more compact (more ACTUAL gameplay, not just filler material), it has the most interestingI still find this to be the best Zelda game. It took the system that Ocarina of Time set up and improved it in every way. The combat is better, the puzzles are interesting, the game is FULL of side quests which is great for this style of game, you play as multiple characters, the world is larger but more compact (more ACTUAL gameplay, not just filler material), it has the most interesting characters / iterations of characters, the best story, the best lore... Why are you still reading this? Go play it. Expand
  20. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    As an art form, video games bring something new to the table: game play. As opposed to movies, books or other types of art, you are merely a spectator, however with video games, you get a direct involvement that is incapable in other forms. Perhaps the best example of this involvement is Zelda: Majora's Mask. The game has two different aspects that make it unique from not only otherAs an art form, video games bring something new to the table: game play. As opposed to movies, books or other types of art, you are merely a spectator, however with video games, you get a direct involvement that is incapable in other forms. Perhaps the best example of this involvement is Zelda: Majora's Mask. The game has two different aspects that make it unique from not only other zeldas but other video games. The three day aspect: you continuously play the same three days over and over, as well as the mask aspect: you can don masks that either have specific jobs or transform you into the soul of someone who comes from the world that you inhabit. In the game, you play as not only "Link" the main character, but inhabit a Deku Scrub, a Goron, and a Zora. With the Deku, you enter into an established role in a world that unfamiliar to you. Deku scrubs are obviously second class citizens. You can't go in some buildings, you can't join clubs and you are generally treated like dirt. Its different with the other two. The goron is a hero of his people and when you become him, you take on the cares and problems of his people. With the zora its similar, you need are part of a band and take on some of the problems of the zora people. The involvement in this story is what makes this game so great. Through experiencing the various people's lives in this game you experience what gives the game its amazing personality. You see the ups and downs and are compelled to change the things that are bad.

    Theres so much more in this game to talk about: the ever present Moon that hangs above head, with a constantly sad look on its face, the beautiful and sad stories that are constantly appearing in the game, the games villain, The Skull Kid, who's only crime was looking for new friends. Its a hard game that is so wonderfully artful and amazing. It will remind you why video games are an art form worth fighting for.
    Expand
  21. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    This is a masterpiece of a video game. Personally my favourite of the Legend of Zelda series. A dark, twisted, scary, and sad story paired with creative masks and transformations make this easily one of the most original games I've ever come across. The difficulty was a nice step up from Ocarina of Time and the dungeons were designed very creatively, without the typical Earth/Fire/WaterThis is a masterpiece of a video game. Personally my favourite of the Legend of Zelda series. A dark, twisted, scary, and sad story paired with creative masks and transformations make this easily one of the most original games I've ever come across. The difficulty was a nice step up from Ocarina of Time and the dungeons were designed very creatively, without the typical Earth/Fire/Water dungeons you usually come across in Zelda. The way the saving system works and the repetition of the three days allows you to get really involved with the NPC's. It may have a smaller number of dungeons, but the sidequests keep it from being too short. All in all, a truly beautiful and emotional piece of work. Expand
  22. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    A nearly flawless game, it perfectly balances atmosphere, gameplay, and story, while still fun and challenging. It is much darker than any other Zelda game before or after it, and it has more depth and complexity than any other game of it's time. In short, a masterful work of art, greatly under-appreciated by many. And as for the whole timte limit thing, I felt it just added more of aA nearly flawless game, it perfectly balances atmosphere, gameplay, and story, while still fun and challenging. It is much darker than any other Zelda game before or after it, and it has more depth and complexity than any other game of it's time. In short, a masterful work of art, greatly under-appreciated by many. And as for the whole timte limit thing, I felt it just added more of a sense of urgency. You're given a HUGE amount of time, considering you have...about two hours per dungeon, if you slow down time and restart at every chance. Personally, I think this is possibly the finest game ever made. Expand
  23. Jun 26, 2011
    9
    Majora's Mask is not perfect, by any means. The biggest flaw by far is the save system, which, while experimental and unique, didn't quite work. But it was an interesting concept, ruined by terrible execution. That's my only problem with Majora's Mask. Other than that, it is an amazing, challenging, inspired game that rivals Ocarina of Time as one of the best Zelda games ever made. ComeMajora's Mask is not perfect, by any means. The biggest flaw by far is the save system, which, while experimental and unique, didn't quite work. But it was an interesting concept, ruined by terrible execution. That's my only problem with Majora's Mask. Other than that, it is an amazing, challenging, inspired game that rivals Ocarina of Time as one of the best Zelda games ever made. Come on, it's a Zelda game: they don't make bad Zelda games! Expand
  24. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    i remember playing this game when it first came out, on preorder, i actually got it in the mail a day early for some reason and was one of the first non-nintendo personel to play the game. the first thing i remember the moment i started the game and saw Link riding his horse slowly through the forest, was how outrageously amazing the graphics were, no game rivalled those graphics fori remember playing this game when it first came out, on preorder, i actually got it in the mail a day early for some reason and was one of the first non-nintendo personel to play the game. the first thing i remember the moment i started the game and saw Link riding his horse slowly through the forest, was how outrageously amazing the graphics were, no game rivalled those graphics for years, the next time i was ever astonished by graphics was when i started up Twilight princess 6 years later. the storyline also was a massive contribution to the game's overall epicness. it was one of the first videogames to ever introduce a truly dark storyline and it turned zelda games into something for adults, not just kids. the game is so immersive that i actually almost cried the first time i failed and the moon fell into the city and killed everyone, it felt almost as if the game characters were real, so well developed. the number of underlying stories was also incredible, almost every single character in the game had a secret, and there were hundreds of characters.
    the most touching moment in the game was when you reunite anju and kafei during the final hour, while the ground is shaking and the moon is burning a hole through the atmosphere. they run to eachother and hold eachother close, then look out the window, waiting for the moon to kill them both, to send them to a place where they can be together forever.
    No game, ever, has given off emotion like that, the moment i see 'Dawn of the First Day, 72 Hours Remain' i completely forget who i am, i dim the lights and forget that i am in my basement confined by concrete walls, looking at pixels on a plasma screen TV. for a few hours, i can be Link, and i can save the world from certain doom. this game, to me, was a small taste of what videogames could have been, if someone truly tried to make something emotional again, something not just fun, but something that could make you experience every emotion, anger, sadness, fear. maybe in a few years they will figure out what Majora's mask did that no other game could, but right now, Majora's mask and its big brother 'ocarina of time', hold a special place in the memories of my childhood, something that i really wish could be repeated, something that makes me feel those emotions again. i'm sorry, i thought ocarina of time would be the only game i gave a 10/10, ever, but majoras mask was just too brilliant, i couldnt give it anything less.
    -Robert Siegfried
    Expand
  25. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    this game is amazing, what actually a sequel has to be, improved visuals, difrnt more complex gameplay , darker story...and totally compatible with oot i still prefer oot cause was way more revolutionary in terms of innovation but still a true masterpiece.... ah i nearly forgot to say all the h8rs Fk you go n play cod online and leave true gamers enjoy real games
  26. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    My favourite game of all time. Truly the greatest Zelda game ever created.
    The dungeons are challenging, the bosses are awesome, the characters are deep, and what really shines through is the atmosphere. I've never played a game before or since that has managed to create the incredible sense of doom that Majora's Mask creates. You really feel for the characters, and you will do anything
    My favourite game of all time. Truly the greatest Zelda game ever created.
    The dungeons are challenging, the bosses are awesome, the characters are deep, and what really shines through is the atmosphere. I've never played a game before or since that has managed to create the incredible sense of doom that Majora's Mask creates. You really feel for the characters, and you will do anything you can to save them from the moon that will inevitably (or so they think) crash into the earth and destroy everything that they know and love. Nintendo took a huge gamble with the 3-day-system, a gamble that has without a doubt paid off, it's one of the most innovative things I've seen in a game in well, ever. I wish more developers would try out drastic new things like Majora's Mask did, because you never know, it could end changing gaming forever.

    I can't recommend this game enough, if you're tired of the same old zelda formula, or the formula video games in general tent to follow, then pick this up on the Wii shop or emulate it, you wont regret it.
    Expand
  27. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    My favorite zelda title to date. i know some people dislike the game because the flowing time made them feel rushed, but by playing the song of time backwards you can slow down time to 1/3 the normal rate. With this I always had plenty of time to spare when trying to meet a deadline, and never once felt pressured. I've been playing for years and still find myself discovering new things.My favorite zelda title to date. i know some people dislike the game because the flowing time made them feel rushed, but by playing the song of time backwards you can slow down time to 1/3 the normal rate. With this I always had plenty of time to spare when trying to meet a deadline, and never once felt pressured. I've been playing for years and still find myself discovering new things. This game is a true masterpiece. Expand
  28. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    It lives up to the standards of its previous game in the series in a strange yet amazing way. The plot and music were my favorites parts because they were so memorable and amazing. In a way its not as good as Ocarina of Time but also its better than Ocarina of Time, altogether. But these two games were both classic masterpieces which brings back so much melancholic nostalgia for me.
  29. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    Zelda fans should stop arguing about the quality of Majora's mask and Ocarina of Time because it hurts both games reputation but instead realize that the Zelda franchise as a whole includes two of the greatest games ever made that simply both deserve perfect scores.
  30. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    This is the best game ever. Idc what anyone says. Mm is an OoT improvement. Dark original story, amazing emotional music, very unique temples and bosses, a brand new beautiful world, character depth, tons of Sidequests, lots of awesome masks to collect, plenty of mini games, lots of enemies, really cool sub bosses, best gameplay of any Zelda game, just so freakin amazing. Like I said, bestThis is the best game ever. Idc what anyone says. Mm is an OoT improvement. Dark original story, amazing emotional music, very unique temples and bosses, a brand new beautiful world, character depth, tons of Sidequests, lots of awesome masks to collect, plenty of mini games, lots of enemies, really cool sub bosses, best gameplay of any Zelda game, just so freakin amazing. Like I said, best game ever. Expand
  31. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Majora's Mask is a challenging, dark and unique sequel to the masterpiece Ocarina of Time. The game brilliantly executes a time focus gameplay system. Players are given 3 day cycle to save the world from a demonic moon crashing into it. This game shows that Nintendo can elevate a masterpiece, showing off a game with depth, complexity, and flawless execution of a unique and innovativeMajora's Mask is a challenging, dark and unique sequel to the masterpiece Ocarina of Time. The game brilliantly executes a time focus gameplay system. Players are given 3 day cycle to save the world from a demonic moon crashing into it. This game shows that Nintendo can elevate a masterpiece, showing off a game with depth, complexity, and flawless execution of a unique and innovative approach. The inevitable is that we must see a remake of this game on the 3DS! Expand
  32. May 26, 2012
    10
    In my opinion this game was better than Ocarina of Time and people just never gave it a fair chance because it was late in the cycle of the N64 and because it was just different than OoT. The game mechanics were refined, the storytelling and character development were impeccable , and the 3 day clock was just genius adding an extra level of depth and challenge to the game. While its trueIn my opinion this game was better than Ocarina of Time and people just never gave it a fair chance because it was late in the cycle of the N64 and because it was just different than OoT. The game mechanics were refined, the storytelling and character development were impeccable , and the 3 day clock was just genius adding an extra level of depth and challenge to the game. While its true that compared to the first game the main story takes a bit more of a back seat in this game the amount of side quests and alternate story lines give this game an amazing amount of replayability, and I should know (I replay this game at least once a year). Expand
  33. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    A graphical amazement when it came out in 2000, Majora's Mask was a childhood staple and still has a place of honor in my game box. It's dark, it has an emotional story and characters, it reaches into your chest and tears out your heart. For the first time, I felt something while playing a video game. I wanted to win and prevail because I cared about all those characters. I wanted them toA graphical amazement when it came out in 2000, Majora's Mask was a childhood staple and still has a place of honor in my game box. It's dark, it has an emotional story and characters, it reaches into your chest and tears out your heart. For the first time, I felt something while playing a video game. I wanted to win and prevail because I cared about all those characters. I wanted them to live, to prosper, to have happy lives. The masks allow new ways to play the game, to access new features and abilities. Undoubtedly the best Zelda game ever created because it was the first one to make your heart skip. It wasn't a cardboard slash and hack, it was a story. It was a world full of people. Characters have daily schedules and the world moves on, with or without you. How it moves, exactly, is up to you. While the boss battles are admittedly lacking, the game still manages to rise above even Ocarina of Time, although it is usually forgotten at the feet of its older brother. Expand
  34. May 5, 2013
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time. Not only because of begin a Zelda game and a sequel to Ocarina of Time, but think about it.. A game with a pretty good and also creepy story, characters that are actuality funny, and the gameplay of Ocarina of Time plus the mask transformations....It's a perfect game. Kids nowdays enjoy COD and Battlefield which to me seens wrong... I played this as aOne of my favorite games of all time. Not only because of begin a Zelda game and a sequel to Ocarina of Time, but think about it.. A game with a pretty good and also creepy story, characters that are actuality funny, and the gameplay of Ocarina of Time plus the mask transformations....It's a perfect game. Kids nowdays enjoy COD and Battlefield which to me seens wrong... I played this as a kid and i could do something. The game actuality could guide me and i had not many questions of where to go. This game is surly a masterpiece and it deserves more love and attetion guys.. Expand
  35. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    This is my favourite console game of all time...nothing other than ocarina of time comes close to this masterpiece. The story and everything in this game is just plain genius. This is the game you play after you beat Ocarina of time. It basically picks up the difficulty where OoT left it, it feels like the best expansion pack ever made only it's a full fledged game. It felt like they tookThis is my favourite console game of all time...nothing other than ocarina of time comes close to this masterpiece. The story and everything in this game is just plain genius. This is the game you play after you beat Ocarina of time. It basically picks up the difficulty where OoT left it, it feels like the best expansion pack ever made only it's a full fledged game. It felt like they took the engine that ran OoT and maxed out its potential and then invested every other second focusing on this amazing story and gameplay. I dare someone to come up with a game with a story as complex as this one is. All the work that had to be put into making this time system and all these events line up....it's just a masterpiece. I'm giving OoT a 10 also, but Majora's mask is my personal favourite. Expand
  36. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    This game is an utter masterpiece and is a great sequel to Oot and I can't explain why but i recommend that you search on youtube Game theory is link dead and you will understand way I gave this game such a high mark
  37. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    Absolutely amazing, Nintendo really gave the game a dark feel witch most people from all ages would enjoy. Also sometimes you can relate to characters story's and that makes a good connection with the audience. For example: If you had a lonely child hood or not many friends, you can relate to skull kids story.
  38. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    Easily one of the best games of all time! There's nothing not to love about it. Being able to see all the characters of the world live out their lives over the three days really immerses you in the world.
  39. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    Nothing could match up to ocarina's greatness. This game sold very poorly because of how unique Majora's mask truely was. Getting the short amount of negatives out of the way. If ocarina of time was a Hollywood blockbuster then Majora's Mask would be one of those independent films that gets many awards for content and directing but 20 people actually go and see. It sold very poorly whichNothing could match up to ocarina's greatness. This game sold very poorly because of how unique Majora's mask truely was. Getting the short amount of negatives out of the way. If ocarina of time was a Hollywood blockbuster then Majora's Mask would be one of those independent films that gets many awards for content and directing but 20 people actually go and see. It sold very poorly which is a shame for how amazing this game is and very well deserves the title of it's franchise. Looks deceive as this game sticks out like an artsy fartsy indie flick. But to the positives this game is a cult classic. Over time this game has grown in many people's hearts for it being the darkest installment of any zelda game. This game is like a work of art where you can make various interpretations really. It's a game of more mature topics. did you suffer a loss as a child or are you afraid of losing your friends, than skul kid's stort may speak to you. Even though this game is based mainly on side quests more than the actually plot and storyline. You develop a deep connection with each character who has suffered a loss and you either saving and helping them. Or putting them to rest fulfilling there dying request. For the full review goto The youtube channel JaredHipfn for a full Majora's mask review thanks for reading Expand
  40. EdwardH.
    Nov 5, 2001
    10
    This game is the best Nintendo 64 game I have ever played!
  41. Wiseman
    Aug 12, 2002
    10
    An excellent followup to the greatest adventure game ever. The expansion pak's work on the graphics is noticable and keen. Anyone who owns N64 owns this game. Its a rule.
  42. JesseR
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    After Ocarina of Time was released, no one thought that any Zelda title could possibly live up to it. Its direct sequel Majora
  43. KBD
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    a perfect balance of everything that makes a game great - though not everyone will appreciate it.
  44. RossP.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    My personal favorite game in the series. At first, I completely abandoned the game because I could not deal with the whole time reset/save thing. After completing OOT, I came back to this game to give it another chance. As I rediscovered the new ways to explore and interact with the land. I was completely enamored. You can't say you have beat the game without completing everything My personal favorite game in the series. At first, I completely abandoned the game because I could not deal with the whole time reset/save thing. After completing OOT, I came back to this game to give it another chance. As I rediscovered the new ways to explore and interact with the land. I was completely enamored. You can't say you have beat the game without completing everything 100%. And that may take a while, because it has the MOST side quests/collectibles out of any Zelda game. And the amazing thing is that the little things never get worn out, tired, or boring. Absolutely NOT a OOT rehash. This is by far the most original Zelda title. It could be considered a whole other series. If you have doubted this game before, try it. I dare you. Expand
  45. ColbyS
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    How can you not love Majora's Mask. It retains all of the great elements of OoT and made a wildly original and new game. This is truly a great game for hardcore Zelda fans in its more difficult dungeons, three day time limit, and extensive side quests. In my opinion that is how it succeeds OoT, in difficulty and originality.
  46. SamJ.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    Words cannot due this game justice. It's simply amazing how Nintendo could take one side question from Ocarina of Time and turn it into a fully fledged game.
  47. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    naturally, this being the best zelda game ( but its hit n miss, 3 day cycle...) it gets a 9, as it has the same flaws as oot, but slightly better story, and generally more likeable, and gets a 92%... almost flawless
  48. Joostdeman
    Feb 14, 2003
    10
    This game really ruuuuuuuuuuuulez. it is really great!!!!!!!!
  49. ZiggyStardust
    Aug 14, 2002
    8
    While i appreciate the complexity, it's really a tough game to get into. the beginning is rather difficult. especially since it's time limited. my 1st game was not enjoyable at all since i felt pressured to complete the rather difficuly early objectives. personally i'd prefer to leisurely explore the zelda environments.
  50. [Anonymous]
    Mar 1, 2003
    9
    It's not as bad as some people think it is. I really couldn't get past some of the parts w/out the help of a walkthrough. It really was hard. I think that most of it is allright some parts are kinda boring, but then i started to like it a bit after i got most of the stuff. It's not too bad but it's not all that great. I'm an Ocarina of Time fan, that game was the bomb.
  51. TimeS.
    Apr 8, 2006
    10
    Majora's Mask was and is my favorite game of all time. To me it took nearly everything about OoT, made it better and more complex, and added a ton of ideas that I wonder if they will ever be used in any game ever again. That is all.
  52. DanielA.
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    This game is every bit as exciting, interesting, fun and brilliant as Ocarina of Time, which, in my opinion, is beyond any doubt the greatest video game ever made.
  53. ThisGameRules
    Aug 3, 2006
    10
    Hard, but amazing.
  54. DonaldB.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    A fantastic work of art, so similar to its predecessor, yet so different. Sure, it may not receive the best marks, but this game is worth playing.
  55. HarrisonS.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    OMG... the 3 day cycle was incredible, the story and characters more involving, the amazing side quests, the shapeshifting.... so amazing. i'll never forget this game.
  56. LinknCork
    Jun 20, 2007
    10
    Perhaps the greatest game ever made. Even when you think your done with it you aren't. Has anybody ever tried to accomplish everything in one cycle? I know there is a hidden cutscene at the end of this game....hands down the best. Pure genius.
  57. Jole
    Mar 20, 2005
    10
    I seriously cannot see how people can decide between MM and OOT.
  58. Casper
    May 29, 2006
    10
    what can i say it was absolutely flawless
  59. JamesF.
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    Ha! This game is one of the best games ever released... ever. It even, IMHO, surpasses Ocarina of Time. It doesn't involve Ganon, for once (who, I had to admit got a bit boring), and is a fine game indeed. Those who say that a mask growing unskinned muscles and doing a russian dance across the rainbow arena is bad, think logically. IT'S FUNNY! Such an amazing game, so Ha! This game is one of the best games ever released... ever. It even, IMHO, surpasses Ocarina of Time. It doesn't involve Ganon, for once (who, I had to admit got a bit boring), and is a fine game indeed. Those who say that a mask growing unskinned muscles and doing a russian dance across the rainbow arena is bad, think logically. IT'S FUNNY! Such an amazing game, so underrated. Better than Majora's Mask. period. Expand
  60. Kelly
    Feb 23, 2007
    10
    Concluding that everyone describes this game as a cheap imitation of Ocarina need to be slapped. The game seems to be the only Zelda game which steps away from the cliche Gannon-Zelda ordeal. Not only does it NOT involve those characters, but it brings to life creatures that normally would be considered side-jobs. The temples were unique. The temples felt nothing like the previous Ocarina Concluding that everyone describes this game as a cheap imitation of Ocarina need to be slapped. The game seems to be the only Zelda game which steps away from the cliche Gannon-Zelda ordeal. Not only does it NOT involve those characters, but it brings to life creatures that normally would be considered side-jobs. The temples were unique. The temples felt nothing like the previous Ocarina temples. The bosses were different in appearance and fight. The temples, though there only being four, were extreme time consumers. I could find myself on the verge on the three-day limit still trying to complete Stone Tower. Want to step away from the original plot and experience Zelda in a new, more haunting form? Check out Majora's mask, it will leave you actually feeling sympathy and remorse for the sobbing, pitiful characters as they mourn over their pending doom. Expand
  61. AdamF.
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    What is amazing about this sad, melancholy storyline is how much you really care about the world and the fate of the characters in it. Oh, the rest of the game is the best Zelda ever offered; dungeons, overworld, items, everything.
  62. MjRAMjRa
    Apr 19, 2010
    10
    Awesome! I love this game more than Orcarina. Not only do you get A LOT of masks to play around with, but you also get to control time with your orcarina. Which by the way needs to make a comeback! Buy it on the Virtual Concole for the Wii. RECOMMENDED
  63. AliciaH.
    Dec 28, 2002
    10
    The graphics were really awesome even though the story line wasnt that good eveything else was!
  64. DougryL.
    Apr 28, 2002
    10
    I would add up all of the hours I spent playing this game. And then I would divide that figure by the number of letters in the name "Link." With the dividend I would order a feast the likes of which no one could remember and I would invite my friends to indulge in fatness.
  65. BradyU.
    Nov 7, 2004
    10
    This Game Rocks Ya, it is a VERY distorted OOT But still my fav game. Any one notice the Path to the southern swamp is the deku tree.
  66. Prognosticator
    Sep 23, 2005
    10
    This is one of those games that you actually have to play to like, but once you do, it's one of the best games you've ever played. I used to think that this game sucked, but once I actually got into it and tried to play it, I loved it. It can't be compared to OoT, because they're essentially two completely different genres, but if you put aside all past prejudice of This is one of those games that you actually have to play to like, but once you do, it's one of the best games you've ever played. I used to think that this game sucked, but once I actually got into it and tried to play it, I loved it. It can't be compared to OoT, because they're essentially two completely different genres, but if you put aside all past prejudice of how terrible this game "will be" and actually *try* to play it, it won't be "too complicated," and will surely be one of your favorites. Expand
  67. AaronG
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    Majora's Mask is where Zelda stops being simply a game and starts being true art. A magnum opus of the best kind. If you're looking for a Zelda game to get for the Virtual Console, this is the one you're looking for.
  68. JackP.
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    WAY better than OOT this one was surreal, how can you compete with that.
  69. Legendarylugi
    Oct 6, 2006
    8
    "Poor story line and redone Ocarina dungeons make Majora's Mask nothing but a cheap Ocarina of Time remake!" What are you talking about? The dungeons completely defied the groundwork OoT set up for it. The Water Temple was pure genius in concept (but a bit to hard in practice I will admit).
  70. SamP.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    I love timed games. Best in the series :P This game was always my favourite over OOT. Better than the rest. Plus refighting the bosses alone made it rock.
  71. alyc
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    I love this game! i havent beat it yet but I play it alot. its very challanging and hrd but I cant stop! Zelda games rock!
  72. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    This game is the best Nintendo game I have ever played!.
  73. MichaelM
    Apr 14, 2010
    8
    I do love the story line in Majora's Mask; the sinister moon's descent down to the doomed Termina is one of the best Zelda story concepts ever. I also like how it feels like a warped version of OOT, right down to the recycled character sprites with new, more twisted agendas. What I don't like, however, is how the game gives you ZERO indication as to what to do next. I I do love the story line in Majora's Mask; the sinister moon's descent down to the doomed Termina is one of the best Zelda story concepts ever. I also like how it feels like a warped version of OOT, right down to the recycled character sprites with new, more twisted agendas. What I don't like, however, is how the game gives you ZERO indication as to what to do next. I don't care what people say: if you are not using a strategy guide of some sort to play Majora's Mask, you are lying. Period. Expand
  74. Link
    Jul 28, 2001
    9
    Very good, but just a bit short.
  75. MichaelL
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    The only game I can say is better with real confidence is ocarina of time. I look at OoT and MM as opposite sides of the same coin. Where Ocarina focused on dungeons and bosses, Majora's Mask was strong in side quests and character interaction. Collecting all the masks is brilliant. The only real disappointment to me playing this game right after OoT was going from a game with 10 The only game I can say is better with real confidence is ocarina of time. I look at OoT and MM as opposite sides of the same coin. Where Ocarina focused on dungeons and bosses, Majora's Mask was strong in side quests and character interaction. Collecting all the masks is brilliant. The only real disappointment to me playing this game right after OoT was going from a game with 10 dungeons to one with 5. Yet, the game feels just as long, and with all the side stuff, I feel fairly certain the game has more gameplay. Expand
  76. ZacharyD
    Mar 20, 2009
    10
    This game is was of the best Zelda games. I keep talking to Zelda fans who never played it. Everyone MUST play this game, that is, if you're a true Zelda Fan.
  77. AngeloB
    Mar 30, 2009
    9
    This is an AMAZING game all the little details and sidequests you get your money's worth and on top of that you get an AMAZING game and quest. Truly one of the best Zelda games in the series! It may not come close to OoT but it comes so damn close!
  78. LoganR
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    Linea K. gave it a4: It was simply to bizzare for my tastes. The bosses were just plain weird. When a giant mask grows limbs of un-skinned muscle and starts doing a russian dance across the rainbow-colored arena, I turn the game off. The sidequests, however were numerous and well done. So you hate it because the bosses are wierd? If you're going to judge a game based on it's Linea K. gave it a4: It was simply to bizzare for my tastes. The bosses were just plain weird. When a giant mask grows limbs of un-skinned muscle and starts doing a russian dance across the rainbow-colored arena, I turn the game off. The sidequests, however were numerous and well done. So you hate it because the bosses are wierd? If you're going to judge a game based on it's normalcy instead of gameplay, you seriously need to grow up! This game is awesome! Expand
  79. JordanG
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    In my view this game is up their with Ocarina of Time as the greatest game ever. The 3 day concept and use of masks add enough originality to make it feel well unique in the series and the challenge, although frustrating in places, is incredibly engaging.
  80. calebr
    Feb 10, 2010
    10
    Honestly, this is the best zelda ever. some of you may say you hate and that oot was better, well oot was FIRST but not at all better. this took oot (which was an AMAZING GAME) and made it so much better. and all of you guys hating that "you only 3 days to beat the game" you honestly didnt even play for longer than 20 minutes. I mean seriously once you return to human form which should Honestly, this is the best zelda ever. some of you may say you hate and that oot was better, well oot was FIRST but not at all better. this took oot (which was an AMAZING GAME) and made it so much better. and all of you guys hating that "you only 3 days to beat the game" you honestly didnt even play for longer than 20 minutes. I mean seriously once you return to human form which should take no less than 20 minutes if you dont suck at gaming (as most of the childish reviewers her do) you will realize how amazing this game is. oot didnt have sidequests like this. oots plot was no where even close as complex as this was. this game here is the best zelda game of all time (followed by oot, than alttp, than spirit tracks, than ww and then the rest are amazing but the ones i listed are the best). Expand
  81. OliverL
    May 18, 2010
    9
    I think the game is HIGHLY underestimated. First of all, I'm very picky when it comes to game music, all of the Zelda games so far have epic music. Majora's Mask have great side-quests, I mean, It's hard to gather all the masks. The idea of having masks overall is very nice, since you wont only use these old weapons, (The weapons themself are good aswell. But I don't I think the game is HIGHLY underestimated. First of all, I'm very picky when it comes to game music, all of the Zelda games so far have epic music. Majora's Mask have great side-quests, I mean, It's hard to gather all the masks. The idea of having masks overall is very nice, since you wont only use these old weapons, (The weapons themself are good aswell. But I don't want to see them to much repeated) Bosses are fun aswell as temples. I liked this game alot and it is a great contribution to the Zelda series! If you havn't already, go play it. Expand
  82. DanielB.
    Jun 28, 2003
    10
    This game relly kicks ass and so does other N64 games!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  83. SeanB.
    Jul 15, 2004
    10
    Goldeneye is to Perfect Dark as Ocarina of Time is to Majora's Mask. MM is one of the greatest sequels of all time.
  84. BrianD.
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    Though the characters may have been reused it is a completely different game.However, it is not a game for the weak or simple minded. It is a second masterpiece no matter what any crying sony fanboy tells you.
  85. WillersS.
    Nov 27, 2005
    10
    better than Ocarina of Time. easily one of the top 3 or so games EVER created. this game controlled my life for a perioid of months when it came out. what i loved about this game so much was its dark and hanuning atmosphere compared to all the other zelda games. the plot is totally different too. the story is incredible and often frightening and it is a one of a kind experience most better than Ocarina of Time. easily one of the top 3 or so games EVER created. this game controlled my life for a perioid of months when it came out. what i loved about this game so much was its dark and hanuning atmosphere compared to all the other zelda games. the plot is totally different too. the story is incredible and often frightening and it is a one of a kind experience most likely never to be repeated again. Expand
  86. ChrisM.
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    One of the most under-rated games ever. Even though OoT is better, this game is still amazingly fun. Collecting masks = best sidequests ever.
  87. BrandonL
    Apr 13, 2009
    10
    This game was great for many reasons. It has difficulty with its time system, which is something that I, as a hardcore Wii and Xbox 360 gamer, admire. Too many games are too easy, and this game will present you with a challenge. The time system also allows you to develop a personal relationship with characters. You have to make your "appointments" on time; and when you don't, you This game was great for many reasons. It has difficulty with its time system, which is something that I, as a hardcore Wii and Xbox 360 gamer, admire. Too many games are too easy, and this game will present you with a challenge. The time system also allows you to develop a personal relationship with characters. You have to make your "appointments" on time; and when you don't, you feel plain awful about it. Best Zelda game for this reason. Even with dated graphics, the story does enough to immerse you. Expand
  88. RM
    May 15, 2008
    10
    One of the things I found most gripping about this game was it's atmosphere. It was a lot of fun, there was plenty of humour and pleasant activities, but it was also a seriously dark and sad tale, where you got the impression a lot of things/people were in disarray. The idea of going back in time and all the problems start over again. Not to mention some of the peculiar, random, One of the things I found most gripping about this game was it's atmosphere. It was a lot of fun, there was plenty of humour and pleasant activities, but it was also a seriously dark and sad tale, where you got the impression a lot of things/people were in disarray. The idea of going back in time and all the problems start over again. Not to mention some of the peculiar, random, pyschedelic stuff they put in (like the paradise of a moon where you taled to the child before taking on the last boss - who asks "shall we play"). A very strange and eerie game - the last computer game I think I ever really enjoyed. Expand
  89. AdamT.
    Nov 28, 2001
    9
    Supoib.
  90. RobertC.
    Dec 22, 2004
    9
    This games rocks but its not as good as oot!!
  91. FranklynT
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    One of my all time favorite games. One of the hardest Zelda games (Adventure of Link just isnt fair), and one of my favorite N64 games of all time. I still treasure my gold cartridge edition, and still hate the water temple. A Zelda classic, that I plan on giving my children as one of their earlier video games.
  92. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    Majoras Mask, Is a game that tops Ocarinia of Time in so many ways. In it's mechanism (time and masks), in its Game-play, Story and dungeon design. The game is most probably the darkest and grittiest game zelda game. Just because you play as young link doesn't mean its all happy, vibrant, instead there is a gritty feeling, a constant feeling of the inevitable death as you race against theMajoras Mask, Is a game that tops Ocarinia of Time in so many ways. In it's mechanism (time and masks), in its Game-play, Story and dungeon design. The game is most probably the darkest and grittiest game zelda game. Just because you play as young link doesn't mean its all happy, vibrant, instead there is a gritty feeling, a constant feeling of the inevitable death as you race against the evil Looking Moon, to save the world.

    On a graphical side, so much more could had been done, if the team had more then a year to make this game, blurry textures, some of which don't quite make sense, and the use of repeated assets from OoT. It makes you think if the out-world design could had also been better with some more time in the oven. Dont get me wrong there is nothing wrong with the out-world design, it rivals this of Oot, but you cant stop thinking that the Giant looming Cactai looking structure in the horizon just looks out of place and weird. This is a game I don't know what to rate, on one hand it surpasses Oot which would make it a perfect 10 but on the other-hand, the lack of polish and strange design design and reused assets clearly shout "this game should had been in the oven a bit more". 9/10
    Expand
  93. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Great game!!! Easily the best zelda game ever. Great story, mechanics, characters, graphics, sound, gameplay, music, price, system, coding and boss battles.
  94. May 18, 2012
    10
    Not everyones cup of tea. But my god this game is just so magical and dark and special, I feel like I'm 10 years old again when I play this.

    10/10
  95. Sep 3, 2012
    6
    I am surprisingly going to make this short and sweet just like my play time in this game, well except for the "sweet" part. I find myself saying "I don't know what it is about Zelda MM, but I just don't seem to like it." Then I remind myself why. The moon and the whole 3 day in-game cycle. I personally cannot stand this aspect of Majora's Mask and this really turned me off from the title.I am surprisingly going to make this short and sweet just like my play time in this game, well except for the "sweet" part. I find myself saying "I don't know what it is about Zelda MM, but I just don't seem to like it." Then I remind myself why. The moon and the whole 3 day in-game cycle. I personally cannot stand this aspect of Majora's Mask and this really turned me off from the title. I know I am going to get flammed, but I just don't like being timed, especially 24/7 in a Zelda game. I also did not like a majority of the masks or characters, they seemed kiddish to me. I am really sorry guys but this is just one die hard Zelda fan for whom this game just doesn't fly. I will admit I did not play through the whole game, I am sure there are some fun parts like there have been already playing half-way through, I just do not have the enthusiasm needed to complete it. Expand
  96. LeonA.
    Sep 15, 2007
    10
    This Zelda is is decidedly different from the rest of the series, but that is what makes it so great. Instead of some standard epic adventure, Majora's Mask explores the truth of the human mind through a sad, dark, and almost fairy tale-ish storyline. Everything is so strange and mysterious that it will have you pondering it's true meaning for weeks to come. Truley one of the This Zelda is is decidedly different from the rest of the series, but that is what makes it so great. Instead of some standard epic adventure, Majora's Mask explores the truth of the human mind through a sad, dark, and almost fairy tale-ish storyline. Everything is so strange and mysterious that it will have you pondering it's true meaning for weeks to come. Truley one of the deepest and most thought-provoking games made so far, aside from having everything that makes the Zelda series so incredibly awsome. Expand
  97. JohnE.
    Jan 27, 2008
    10
    By any terms, it would be impossible to live up to OoT, but this comes as close as possible, while still giving a fresh game to all of us gamers. The atmosphere is incredibly well-constructed, the music and the gameplay itself are nothing short of captivating.
  98. SteveE.
    Jul 10, 2004
    9
    Great, but not as good as OOT.
  99. TylerD
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    Quite an amazing game. Earlier votes attempt to compare OoT with MM and to be quite frank, you can't compare the two. They're both totally different genre's of games, and both have their own amazing style that give the Zelda name the amazing reputation it has. They both live up to expectations. For those who still disagree, MM is an amazing game because of it's complex Quite an amazing game. Earlier votes attempt to compare OoT with MM and to be quite frank, you can't compare the two. They're both totally different genre's of games, and both have their own amazing style that give the Zelda name the amazing reputation it has. They both live up to expectations. For those who still disagree, MM is an amazing game because of it's complex storyline, deviation from the norm, deep and complex side-quests, and great game play that holds to the Zelda name. OoT was amazing because of it's creation of a new genre, implementing the true shell of what Zelda games were soon to become, showing off an amazing storyline with complex temples, and a great new feel. They both had their differences. If I was to choose, I would personally pick MM because of it's three day system and it's complexity. It surpassed OoT in that aspect greatly. Great game, and let the argument rest. Expand
  100. May 24, 2012
    10
    Without a doubt the most masterful game of all time. Every aspect of this game is fabulously perfect and the atmosphere is perfect for an apocalyptic setting. Tons of content and a mass variety of activity. A must play for anyone who claims to be a gamer.
  101. Apr 5, 2011
    0
    Often when people play Majora's Mask they can't help but compare it to the nostalgic, Enticing and memorable Ocarina of time it was inevitable to happen just as the past games that tried to up one on the game before them. The hype was high expectations when released as people had high hopes for this game being based off the well know Ocarina of time. The main result for this I believe isOften when people play Majora's Mask they can't help but compare it to the nostalgic, Enticing and memorable Ocarina of time it was inevitable to happen just as the past games that tried to up one on the game before them. The hype was high expectations when released as people had high hopes for this game being based off the well know Ocarina of time. The main result for this I believe is the fact that the game play is so different compared to previous Zelda games. It was new and scary because people didn't understand just how it worked and I admit some puzzles can be rather difficult but not impossible. The game presents a more dark story line compared to the typical Save the princess and the world I find it was rather refreshing not to mention the mask concept changing things up giving you various abilities. However I believe when I say this genuinely with passion for the Zelda series that some games had it's ups and downs some where appealing than others but I think people where to quick to judge this game. Those whom have only played Ocarina of time and tried Majora's mask have yet to try the many other classic games in the series. I admit some Zelda games I wouldn't think of playing a second time such as the Zelda game that allowed you to play as Princess Zelda... but even so it doesn't make it horrid just because it wasn't as smooth as the other games before and after it's time. Although if the story line did not appeal to ones interest I understand we all have various tastes but if one where to merely judge upon its game play after only trying the game for maybe an hour more or less then perhaps they shouldn't be ones to judge if they've never beaten the game to begin with. Also if people judging the graphics.. and random aspects of the game.. For it's time the graphics where good this is an old game you can't compare games like this to games more up to date like the new FPS or Final Fantasy game or whatever you wish to compare it to. As for the random aspects that make people feel un easy a lot of games have these sort of qualities such as psychonauts this game was under appreciated but the story line and game play was wonderful but because it was so different and random compared to most games people where turned off from it. I think if people just gave Majora Mask a chance and played through the game fully then maybe just maybe they'd like it. Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Where Majora rises to the top is its concept – three days to save the world. The execution of the idea is flawless: time means everything and the player always has to be aware. The save system is absolutely perfect, letting players feel comfortable in controlling time but still keeping them on the edge of their seats when things get hairy.
  2. Stunning, optimized graphics; immersive, rich sound; refined, complex, and deep gameplay; and a mature, gripping plot make it a game that you won't want to miss.
  3. Da Graphics: To say nothing short of astonishing is an understatement.