User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 50
  2. Negative: 14 out of 50

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    This game is very detailed and has good graphics for it's date of making. American long haul has to be one of the best of 18 wheels of steel, I am in state of thought that it is nice to have a game that's not based on a different countries trucking tradition. I would also like to state that the trucks in this game are based on real trucks and that this games has a great selection of American brand semi rigs. Thanks Expand
  2. Aug 18, 2011
    1
    This game was horrible. There is no real tutorial to teach yourself what you are doing, and the controls are horrible. Graphics are none all that good either. It wasn't worth the 2.50 or whatever it was on the steam sale.
  3. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    great game! im a huge fan of the 18 wheels of steel series and they really out did themselves with this one by adding mexico and some new cargo. i highly recommend this game if you just like to drive and have fun on the open road. PROS: great graphics, descent geography, and very little glitches, and realistic physics and you run out of gas
    CONS: the AI is extremely stupid and frustrating,
    every once in a while there will be a random tree in the middle of the road, handling of the trucks is a little hard if you use a key board, and the crash generator is poor, as in you can get damage but it's not really visible unless you get it high enough then your axles bend and you loose performance. other than those problems it's a great game and i really enjoy playing it. Collapse
  4. Oct 6, 2012
    5
    Its a good game but graphics are better in haulin and pedal to the metal and if that is it for the series it is only a drivin simulator. the driver never eats and never goes to a hotel
  5. Apr 15, 2013
    5
    18 Wheels of Steel: American Long Haul is a game that is some fun for the first 5 hours of play. I liked the open feeling to the game and the career, and the missions themselves aren't that bad either. The problems start after you play for a while and begin noticing some things. You get fined for not stopping along the route, but there are no places to sleep. The distribution of fuel is scarce, and after you hire a new driver, you don't have to play the game any more, just watch the cash flow in. This game is fun for a while, but once that wears off, you begin to rethink playing it. Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    6
    This is a good game. It can be boring. Hauling cargo across America can be boring but it lives up to it's name. To me, the only thing that keeps it from getting a 9 or 10 is the fact that the difficulty levels are screwed up. Easy is so easy it's not even fun. Medium is a bit more difficult, but still fairly easy. Hard is almost unplayable. You start in a starter truck (good) with a day-cab (no sleeper). This isn't so good seeing how Hotels aren't plentiful. So you wind up dozing and perhaps damaging your truck and/or cargo. All levels should start in a sleeper, but with the basic engine (truck with trailer won't go over 55 unless it's going over a cliff) and maybe some moderate damage to the truck on the Hard level requiring servicing to get the full potential out of it which would require you to deliver some cargo to get the money for the repairs.
    All in all a good game, but it's got a few holes in it.
    Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2013
    0
    Hello Metacritic, I had 18 Wheels Of Steel on my old computer,but it messed up so I got a new one.I went to get 18 WOS again so I did but it has been a week and I still cant play it.I payed for it but I cant play it.Did I do something wrong?
  8. Sep 23, 2014
    0
    the game is a buggy mess that needs to be fixed can't use the patcher if you have the steam version because it requires the cd it self also its just boring and very repetitive i cannot recommend this at all.
  9. Jun 17, 2011
    0
    great game! im a huge fan of the 18 wheels of steel series and they really out did themselves with this one by adding mexico and some new cargo. i highly recommend this game if you just like to drive and have fun on the open road. PROS: great graphics, descent geography, and very little glitches, and realistic physics and you run out of gas
    CONS: the AI is extremely stupid and frustrating,
    every once in a while there will be a random tree in the middle of the road, handling of the trucks is a little hard if you use a key board, and the crash generator is poor, as in you can get damage but it's not really visible unless you get it high enough then your axles bend and you loose performance. other than those problems it's a great game and i really enjoy playing it. Collapse
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 1 Critic

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. I'd like to have seen more impressive rendering of the incredible geography of the continent, but nevertheless: 18 Wheels of Steel, you are weird and brave. We salute you. [Apr 2008, p.79]