18 Wheels of Steel: American Long Haul Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Awaiting 3 more reviews What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: North America’s open roads await! You ain't working for the Man any more! You're the owner of your own trucking business and you call the shots. Build your empire one rig at a time to dominate the roadways and outbid the competition. Can you handle the pressure? Your American Dream startsNorth America’s open roads await! You ain't working for the Man any more! You're the owner of your own trucking business and you call the shots. Build your empire one rig at a time to dominate the roadways and outbid the competition. Can you handle the pressure? Your American Dream starts behind the wheel of your own big rig. Bid – May the best man win. Do you take what the company is bidding for a job or do you move on and lose valuable time? Remember – Profit is King. Haul – Start behind the wheel transporting 45+ types of cargo including livestock, chemicals, and mobile homes, cross country to bring in the big bucks. Handle – These beasts don’t drive themselves! Back up to loading docks, manage your fuel, and maintain your trucks in peak condition. Dominate – Move it better and faster than your competition. Build your reputation coast to coast as you long haul across 48 states, Canada and now Mexico! Grow - Build your business and add rigs to your fleet. Own up to 37 mammoth machines and trailers. [ValuSoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. PC Gamer UK
    75
    I'd like to have seen more impressive rendering of the incredible geography of the continent, but nevertheless: 18 Wheels of Steel, you are weird and brave. We salute you. [Apr 2008, p.79]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 10 out of 24
  1. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    This game is very detailed and has good graphics for it's date of making. American long haul has to be one of the best of 18 wheels of steel,This game is very detailed and has good graphics for it's date of making. American long haul has to be one of the best of 18 wheels of steel, I am in state of thought that it is nice to have a game that's not based on a different countries trucking tradition. I would also like to state that the trucks in this game are based on real trucks and that this games has a great selection of American brand semi rigs. Thanks Expand
  2. BrandonE.
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    Slightly better than Haulin!
  3. ThomasS.T
    Mar 24, 2008
    9
    Great game, but as already mentioned, the graphics could have been much better :/ AND the handling of the trucks is somewhat weird, like just Great game, but as already mentioned, the graphics could have been much better :/ AND the handling of the trucks is somewhat weird, like just like that you loose about 90% of your grip! Expand
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    5
    18 Wheels of Steel: American Long Haul is a game that is some fun for the first 5 hours of play. I liked the open feeling to the game and the18 Wheels of Steel: American Long Haul is a game that is some fun for the first 5 hours of play. I liked the open feeling to the game and the career, and the missions themselves aren't that bad either. The problems start after you play for a while and begin noticing some things. You get fined for not stopping along the route, but there are no places to sleep. The distribution of fuel is scarce, and after you hire a new driver, you don't have to play the game any more, just watch the cash flow in. This game is fun for a while, but once that wears off, you begin to rethink playing it. Expand
  5. ShaneS.
    Feb 20, 2008
    4
    Painfully boring. Lacks many important details such as trucking laws. You repeatedly get fined for driving too many hours yet nothing in the Painfully boring. Lacks many important details such as trucking laws. You repeatedly get fined for driving too many hours yet nothing in the game tells you what is allowable. The detail is poor and missions are long and boring. Expand
  6. gilads
    Aug 4, 2009
    2
    at first i would give this game a 9 but after seeing euro truck simulator
    this game seems not that good.
    if you could make the game bigger
    at first i would give this game a 9 but after seeing euro truck simulator
    this game seems not that good.
    if you could make the game bigger like include all of canada and all of mexico.
    also add more types of cargo
    and most important add missions and feats and unlockable cities like in euro truck sim
    i need a game with a purpose and a goal to achieve.
    also make contracts available for me as well ant not only to hired drivers.
    contracts assigned to me can be completed only after i transport every kind of cargo the company has to all the company docks in all the cities.
    also give challenges like reach 99999999 on the distance meter or something
    you know
    make it really long and difficult to finish
    give me a challenge
    and maybe whoever manages to actually complete the game will win your next game for free.
    Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2013
    0
    Hello Metacritic, I had 18 Wheels Of Steel on my old computer,but it messed up so I got a new one.I went to get 18 WOS again so I did but itHello Metacritic, I had 18 Wheels Of Steel on my old computer,but it messed up so I got a new one.I went to get 18 WOS again so I did but it has been a week and I still cant play it.I payed for it but I cant play it.Did I do something wrong? Expand

See all 24 User Reviews