Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 40
  2. Negative: 12 out of 40
  1. Oct 8, 2011
    49
    Genesis thus toys with a promising twist on the real-time strategy formula, but its shortcomings nevertheless manage to repel both audiences it seeks to attract.
  2. Oct 18, 2011
    45
    A franchise as big as A Song of Ice and Fire deserves a big and popular game. Instead, Genesis is a not so interesting strategy game with a very slow gameplay. The fights aren't impressive and you can't even save during a mission. The multiplayer is one of the only good parts, making Genesis only interesting for people who want to know more about the backstory of 'A Song of Ice and Fire'.
  3. Oct 16, 2011
    45
    There's room for a good videogame based on A Song of Ice and Fire, but while A Game of Thrones: Genesis is the first of its name, it never becomes more than an incestuous child born from both media parents.
  4. Oct 25, 2011
    42
    Sure, each faction has a special unit but nothing stands out to make this game feel like a game based on Martin's works and that's something that , more than anything else, many fans will have a hard time accepting.
  5. Oct 21, 2011
    40
    A poor adaptation of Martin's famous novel that tries to "cash-in" from the success of the TV show. Genesis is a monotonous, bland and uninspired strategy game.
  6. Oct 13, 2011
    40
    A big disappointment that is ruining one book series' reputation. It's also killing nice aspiration to revive RTS genre by its fatal design faults. This is clear proof that only good intentions aren't enough, and sometimes they lead straight to hell.
  7. Oct 10, 2011
    40
    Unfortunately, enjoyable multiplayer modes and what feels like a fresh approach are negated by restrictive gameplay, dull presentation and poor combat.
  8. Oct 7, 2011
    40
    Much of Genesis' desert dry tedium would evaporate if it was just a turn-based title. You wouldn't have to spend what feels like an eternity manually sending units to check on every little thing. As is, though, this Game of Thrones feels more like a game of musical chairs set to elevator music: slow, devoid of charm, and utterly lacking in payoff.
  9. Oct 4, 2011
    40
    If you've just come from a literary binge of A Song of Ice and Fire, or just had a marathon of HBO's high production TV show you might be tempted by the lure of Cyanide's A Game of Thrones - Genesis. However if you're that invested in George R. R. Martin's epic fantasy universe you're likely to be left pretty angry, whereas newcomers like me leave feeling just dazed and confused.
  10. Oct 4, 2011
    40
    With A Game of Thrones Genesis, Cyanide tackles too large a task for its own means, so disappointment ensues. Despite that, it's still the perfect licence to introduce fresh and new boardgames mechanics, and that helps to make it a nice multiplayer experience. But it still suffers from poor production values, ugly graphics, a lack of ambition, and unclear or insufficient visual cues as to what exactly is happening.
  11. Dec 4, 2011
    30
    Revisit the Stupid Ned Stark meme instead. It's much more entertaining. [Christmas 2011, p.68]
  12. Oct 6, 2011
    30
    There are too many strategy games out right now to warrant giving A Game of Thrones: Genesis a try. With games out there like Starcraft 2, Civilization V, and Total War: Shogun 2 it just isn't viable to play Genesis when it feels stale and unfinished. Even for fans of the books or show it just isn't a good enough game, even in the fan service perspective, to go out and spend $40 on. Do yourself a favor and read the books, then go play a better strategy game.
User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 47
  2. Negative: 30 out of 47
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    2
    Some people here must be joking. Cyanides own forums is teeming over with people who are literally pissed off at this game for not deliveringSome people here must be joking. Cyanides own forums is teeming over with people who are literally pissed off at this game for not delivering what it promised.
    Basically what it is, is a very shallow world, if we take the HvH mode. No location or city or town got any names assigned to them. Your own capital town is called Feudal home. Very rich, very immersive. The game itself bases around gathering 100 presige points, which you have many ways to get but many fewer ways to lose. Generally speaking a game is rather short, since 100 prestige points isn't hard to achieve. When you've got them you won, game's over byebye cya next time. The only reason they label it "Brute military force is not the only way to win" is because brute military force can't win the game. By the time you get to tedious wars, the game is over. The game is really a capture the node game. Start with a base, send out envoys, noble ladies, spies and god knows what, and "ally" surrounding towns to gain income. You send out a peasant to manage the fields and 1-2 merchants to every town and gold mine to gain money. Essentially it's just a capture the node game dressed up and labelled as something creative. Unfortunately they failed to deliver. There are no hotkeys, no way to assign armies, the minimap is rubbish and the instructions and information is either wrong or contain typos. Unlike my review, their text should be flawless, the least to expect from a company. Nonetheless it's not. You can find "loose" instead of "lose" along with information that the minimap is on the left side while it's on the right. It could've been done so much better. In fact with a lot of tweaking it's a promising concept, just drop all the focus on the neutrals and increase the diplomacy and underhanding with the other houses. Give it a decent combat system, not combat focused, but you should atleast be able to fight your way through a game if you'd like that. Add more options. For heavens sake there's not even a way to change the victory requirements in HvH.
    No spend your money elsewhere and don't let those "I rank this game 8 because I've never played any other strategy game and I think this is kind of good" fool you. There's a flood of better Strategy games out there. Europa Universalis 3, The Total War series, Civilization etc etc.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 29, 2011
    2
    Gameplay that would feel right at home in the early 90's are the most forgivable of this games many faults. The campain and skirmish modesGameplay that would feel right at home in the early 90's are the most forgivable of this games many faults. The campain and skirmish modes lack all that made the books so great. The ai is terrible, the political and underhanded side of the game is insulting after reading what the devs/publishers had to say...I know this sounds stunted and isn't much of a review but this game actually made me angry, that's how bad it is the graphics match the 90's gameplay and yet the load times are terrible. The skirmish mode's victory conditions can't be altered so you will lose over and over again for no apparent reason often related to your kingdoms "prestige" stat...bah just don't buy it it's awful. Not only because it plays and looks bad but because the books deserve far far better. hopefully someone makes a total war nock off with the promised deep political system that cyanide would have us believe is in this game, now that would be worth $40. Full Review »
  3. Oct 1, 2011
    0
    SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!! I downloaded this via Steam hoping to find an exciting RTS based on the wonderful Song of Ice and Fire story. What ISAVE YOUR MONEY!!!! I downloaded this via Steam hoping to find an exciting RTS based on the wonderful Song of Ice and Fire story. What I received was a snooze-fest of a game. My roommate also played the game and we are in full agreement it sucks on a massive scale. First off I've seen better graphics on my smart phone. The character movements are extremely slow. The first few missions make me feel like I am Bill Murray in Groundhog's Day. Send envoys, send spies, send assassins and repeat... ZZZZzzzzzz. My roommate suggested I wait for a professional review and game play footage before purchasing, damn I wish I would have listened to him. I thought how bad could it be? I wasn't expecting cutting edge graphics and I was fine with that as long as it had a cool storyline and decent game play. I strongly suggest that you do not purchase this game. The graphics are very poor, the characters are absolutely tiny even when fully zoomed in. There is little sound effects or music during game play. I can't believe I just blew $40 on this game. The graphics somewhat remind me of Age of Empires II which came out almost 10 years ago. The only upside to this game is that you may catch up on sleep. If the sheer boredom of the game does not send you into unconsciousness the ridiculous load times will. My roommate is a huge fan of the series of books that this game is supposedly based on and he is as disgusted with it as much as I am. That being said don't expect good graphics, good story, or good game play. Do expect less money in your pocket and a frown on your face. Full Review »