Aarklash: Legacy PC

Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. CD-Action
    Nov 14, 2013
    75
    This game has a very simple structure – we travel from one cutscene to another slaying groups of monsters wandering around. But the strength of Aarklash Legacy lies in its deep system of tactical combat. [12/2013, p.46]
  2. Nov 2, 2013
    70
    There was no single-player RPG title with party-based cooperation of the same importance as it is in this game. Aarklash brings magically elaborated combat system, however, many things around this feature should have been made in much better fashion.
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 28, 2013
    80
    Devoid of plot, yet highly recommended on the strength of its combat. Beautifully balanced, complex and challenging. [Nov 2013, p.96]
  4. Oct 21, 2013
    75
    Aarklash Legacy is a good strategy RPG with a fascinating narrative component, but with a structure that is not always convincing.
  5. Oct 11, 2013
    60
    While I consider myself a veteran of strategic RPGs, frequently I found myself frustrated by Aarklash and annoyed by the lack of depth to many of the systems that support the combat - looting and equipping characters has ever felt so much like a chore, while the puzzles you'll face are an unwelcome obstacle, lacking entirely in originality or ingenuity.
  6. Oct 9, 2013
    80
    Aarklash: Legacy offers superb tactical combat in the style of classics like Baldur's Gate. It's a game with combat and little else, but if you fancy yourself an armchair tactician you owe it to yourself to give it a go.
  7. Oct 7, 2013
    60
    Aarklash: Legacy is not without its moments, but it is too sadistic to be any fun.
  8. Sep 24, 2013
    80
    Aarklash: Legacy can take these criticisms holding its head up high. Its combat is among the most fun I have had in a party-based Action RPG in a long while and its art direction and visual fidelity are way, way up there.
  9. Sep 22, 2013
    70
    Aarklash: Legacy takes the player back to the world of the tabletop RPG known as Confrontation in a second attempt to propose its fantasy universe to PC gamers. The game in itself is a good, party-based RPG, with a nice combat system and many interesting ideas. Unfortunately it’s not a masterpiece and, after a while, the hybrid turn mechanics become a little boring. Dedicated to the fan of the genre who are in search of a fantasy game at a budget price.
  10. Sep 18, 2013
    70
    The combat system works pretty well, but we have to deal with a quite linear experience. On the top of that is quite hard, so if you are ok with being linear and you are looking for a challenge, it definitely deserves a try.
  11. Sep 18, 2013
    78
    While lacking some secondary elements, Aarklash: Legacy is a solid tactical experience that the fans of its genre will surely enjoy.
  12. Sep 17, 2013
    75
    Despite some limitations in party managing and world interactions, Cyanide has made ​​its best title ever. Aarklash Legacy is a good example of tactical GdR with an isometric view and many hardcore gamers will love it.
  13. Sep 13, 2013
    70
    The gameplay of Aarklash Legacy, between Baldur's Gate and Demon's Soul, is a little bit repetitive, but it is very good. The universe, characters and graphics are also interesting. But the game is really aimed at hardcore gamers, who are not afraid of "Game Over" screens.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Inq
    Sep 12, 2013
    9
    Okay, so, I just created an account to review this game (and I'm using Metacritic to check Game Scores for over a year now, so that shouldOkay, so, I just created an account to review this game (and I'm using Metacritic to check Game Scores for over a year now, so that should tell you something) and I just have to say, this is SO good.

    The combat is genuinely interesting and challenging (make sure you play on Hard or Impossible for full effect), the directional heals are a cool idea, as are most of the skills (except for a few generic ones, but can't have any RPG without a Direct Damage Melee Skill, right?).

    Basically you control a party of 4, 1 Tank, 1 "Healer" and 2 "DPS", notice I'm using Healer and DPS loosely here, because some DPS classes (you get more Characters later on) are better used CCing enemies or even healing as well. The Main Healer has kind of a blood mage thing going on where he can't heal without leeching the life of allies and the Tank uses HP for his abilities and these aren't all of the interesting mechanics.

    Anyway, this game has decent-enough graphics, decent-enough sound, a good story, questionable voiceover but incredible mechanics, for the price it's being sold it I can recommend it to everyone who likes gripping tactical combat that requires you to actually think for a change. Great stuff.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 12, 2013
    8
    Aarklash Legacy is probably the most challenging game ive played in a while, even on normal difficulty it takes a while to figure out theAarklash Legacy is probably the most challenging game ive played in a while, even on normal difficulty it takes a while to figure out the attack patterns of enemys, plan a strategy and a good portion of calmness, because otherwise you'd die pretty quickly.

    I dont have the time for a full review so ill just do a quickie.

    Pros:
    Price
    Great, challenging combat system
    Interesting skills
    Random loot

    Okays:
    Gfx
    Story

    Negs:
    Level design
    Voiceovers
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    It takes a lot for me to make a nineteen dollar leap without many reviews to gauge a game's quality, but this leap of faith was surprisinglyIt takes a lot for me to make a nineteen dollar leap without many reviews to gauge a game's quality, but this leap of faith was surprisingly rewarding. Don't buy this for graphics or voice work or even story, although the latter is relatively interesting. Buy Aarklash because you remember Icewind Dale or ToEE and crave that sweet tactical goodness that has been seemingly lost these many years. With a myriad of finely crafted encounters and skill based (read aiming/timing) abilities, Aarklash offers a relatively hardcore experience hearkening back to the good old days. Give it a try if you have the cash; it's a lot of fun. Full Review »