Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 467 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ace of Spades is a unique and retro-looking, intelligent shooter which deftly blends all the imagination and creative freedom of voxel-based gaming with the mayhem and excitement of competitive, team-based multiplayer first person shooters.

    The game offers players complete strategic and
    creative freedom over a constantly evolving battlefield which, when combined with an extensive and ever growing weapon set, four diverse classes, a host of destructible maps and endless multiplayer experiences for 8 to 32 players, promises to breathe new life into the first person shooter genre. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 6 out of 13
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    63
    There might be some good ideas in there somewhere but Ace of Spades has no game in it. In the Minecraft it was the beauty of it, but concept doesn't work if you will try to make a FPS. [March 2013]
  2. Feb 18, 2013
    62
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Jan 8, 2013
    60
    The idea unfortunately is not as well executed as It could be: a nice concept but a not so great game!
  4. Dec 20, 2012
    50
    Ace of Spades attempts to be many things, while achieving none of them. It isn't as creative and wondrous as Minecraft and it isn't as strategic or entertaining as Team Fortress 2. Hell, it isn't even as good as the beta version!
  5. Feb 11, 2013
    45
    Ace of Spades contains some good ideas and tries hard to ape its influences, but it lacks their charm and stability.
  6. Feb 25, 2013
    40
    On paper it sounds like it could be a winning combination, and perhaps this will improve as the game evolves, but in practice the play styles don't mesh well together, seemingly diametrically opposed at times.
  7. Jan 29, 2013
    30
    Ace of Spades has all the components of a decent multiplayer shooter: stylish graphics, gameplay inspired by Team Fortress 2 and Call of Duty, destructible environments… But the sum of these parts feels like a bad parody of popular games.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 182
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    I am shocked at how many negative reviews there are.
    You should be looking at the game as it is alone, not comparing it to the old game and
    giving it a 0 because you like the old game better
    this game is still passing through some updating
    also Jagex is trying to incorporate the old game wit modes like classic ctf
    I think before blurting out anything you need to look at how far this game can go and how far this game is going to go
    Lastly I think all of this users should play this game with a few friends on steam voice chat and realise the elements of this game and how fun it can be with your friends
    I think you guys are really missing out give Jagex 3 5 months and I think this game is going to get much better
    Expand
  2. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    EVERYBODY PLEASE READ THIS: I have no idea where these reviews are coming from. Okay, there are a few bugs, and you cannot create your own server- but the game is FUN. The game is extremely fun, and has many modes to keep you interested. The initial launch was a disaster- but now that they fixed the major problems, this is a really great game. This game is not a 10- It is more like a 7.5- but with all these awful reviews from irrational people- I need to average this out. Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    The game is great, I love it!
    The things that I find disappointing are simple: In the trailer (Steam) you can see some 'Maps' that are
    'deleted' from the game....(??) Very disappointing..
    The fact that people cannot host a private server is very disappointing as well.... A new figure or something like that would be cool as well!
    If those things would be fixed/improved the game would be awesome!!!
    Now the game is great as well, but it could be better.
    Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    4
    At first I was very impressed with this game. It was Minecraft Call of Duty. I would say the first few weeks were fun times in this game, but once Jagex continued to update the game until it was flawed and over/under balanced, I found it repulsive Expand
  5. Dec 15, 2012
    2
    I told players in the forums before it was out: "don't knock it till you tried it". Well, I've tried it for a few days now and here is my impression of the game broken down into points.

    The game feels and looks as if it was made by a European toy company. It looks like Legos with guns aimed at a demographic of 8-12 year olds. It seems like a rushed production where the goal was to make it look attractive, promote it the same way you would toys, and sell as many copies as possible right after launch. They even use reviews from video game review websites/companies such as IGN, before a proper review could be made, leading to my suspicion, that as always, these sites/companies were paid for a positive review. IGN for example has been suspected many times of being paid to give a game a positive review.

    The maps were made by artists and not level designers. In fact, level design seems to be non-existent in the maps. It feels more like artists took inspiration from levels from other games and made an attempt to make maps like them. With no destructible terrain, the maps might be half decent. No one that worked on the levels took into account how destructive the classes/weapons are and did not use that knowledge in designing. However, those who designed the levels themselves do not seem to have either the knowledge or experience to design proper maps. For example, the map: London Bridge, has spawn points for both teams somewhat perpendicular to the orientation of the bridge. In other words, rather than facing eachother from opposite sides of the bridge and thus the bridge would become a key element in map control, the bridge is nothing more than useless eye candy. Both teams spawn practically on one side of the bridge and face eachother over a curving part of river. Both teams also spawn on one side and corner of the map, rather than exactly opposite eachother.

    Lastly, I understand at launch, every game has bugs in it that eventually get fixed. Ace of Spades 1.0 however not only has shoddy netcode, but it also seems to suffer from many memory leaks. The clientside to server side updating is some of the most horrible I've ever seen. Sometimes, it seems like the server can't decide if you hit an enemy or haven't or where you really are on the map. I can't count how many times I warped back and forth between 2 coordinates. The memory leaks are noticeable from the graphics. Even at the lowest settings on a fast system with a new card, more than adequate ram, high end processor, the FPS is still all over the place and gradually degrades as you play the game. From a programming perspective, I'm starting to be suspicious that they took the original engine and layered all the new elements in the game on top of it and hoped that it would be able to handle a heightened graphic level and many more effects such as increased particle effects. If this is true, the original engine is getting bogged down by all the extra work and was not originally designed to handle so much.

    In summary, like I said, if feels like it was made by a toy company for the sole purpose of immediate profits. It really does look and feel like someone took Legos and weapons and threw them into pot and then pushed the digital version of that pot out the door as fast as possible. And I'm saying that while trying to be straightforward and give an honest opinion without hate or any negative intent.

    I think it's going to take Jagex a lot of work to fix the list of problems with their game, if they would like to continue to make money off of it. I support any company that wants to sell a game. Game making is very hard work and takes a lot of resources. However, quality is what makes or breaks a game. Time will tell. Buyer beware. Buy the game if you feel that there is still promise there and that they can still improve to a point of being a quality game. Thanks for reading,

    --Snow
    Expand
  6. May 20, 2013
    1
    So I got into this game after having done a little of the old ace of spades. If you played the previous one and haven't seen the train wreck yet, I'd avoid it.

    Jagex wants to turn this into a cash cow like call of duty. That was clear with all their DLC plans. They didn't give it a month before trying to spring the valentines day stuff on people. Segregating maps almost instantly for those who bought it and those who didn't.

    Its a class based shooter thats trying to be fast paced, Its minecraft with explosions, its trying to be a modern fps styled title, It really wishes it was tf2 in minecraft. (seriously just play the minecraft maps if you want that kinda fun).

    The problems with this game are the following: Destruction is too easy, you can build but why bother when a single rocket can destroy an entire structure if fired right. Matches become almost instantly leveled and leave some classes at a supreme advantage: snipers, rocketeers.
    Snipers have been nerfed, this is largely due to the fact that spawns are locked, if your team is losing and getting spawn camped, you have no method of avoiding damage.
    Regarding the sniper issues, maps are asymmetrical most of the time. Meaning that one side will usually have a distinct advantage over the other.

    Gone are the stealthy digging and listening for a tunnel in the first one, classic mode is a joke. Its barely even the classic mode from the original. Some may disagree, but prebuilt maps with interesting geometry kinda defeats the entire point of the build and shoot aspect.

    Finally, Their servers are complete and total trash. East coast servers on east coast even with good ping is like 100+ms, anyone outside of that is going to get several hundred more. No private server hosting either, they have plans for players to pay a small moderate fee however, so you may be able to rent custom server space in this turd of a game.

    1/10 Jagex once again smothers a game with desperate attempts to leech money in non subtle ways.
    Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2013
    0
    This game has potential but since the last Updates it became worse. I want the game back that i played 143 h. The graphic and especially the colors look ugly now. The system of the servers is bad (depends on the point of view). Some classes now have not their old gear and/or have a lower shooting-rate.

    Pls make the game this what it was once.
    Excuse my english.
    Expand

See all 182 User Reviews