User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 817 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarissaD.
    Jul 6, 2008
    5
    The graphics are great, the music is great, the combat is OK. They have no customer support, in game or out. Missing content, and bugs over shadow the things that are good about this game. AOC had great potential, and so far it has not shown me any of it. Funcom should be embarrassed it took them 5 years to come out with this game in it's current state. The release should have been The graphics are great, the music is great, the combat is OK. They have no customer support, in game or out. Missing content, and bugs over shadow the things that are good about this game. AOC had great potential, and so far it has not shown me any of it. Funcom should be embarrassed it took them 5 years to come out with this game in it's current state. The release should have been put off a while longer. It does have potential, when will it happen, is the burning question. Expand
  2. KreeB.
    Jul 7, 2008
    5
    Great potential and an amazing first 20 levels on the Island of Tortage are not enough to overcome the lack of interesting, engaging, and challenging content past level 50. This game is broken and should be avoided. If it survives for a year it might be worth another look.
  3. TedE.
    Jul 21, 2008
    7
    Don't listen to the haters or the fanboys. The game is neither groundbreaking nor abysmal. I applaud the mature content, active combat, and beautiful graphics (provided you have the hardware). But points have to be taken away for pretty much everything else. Right now, the only thing to do in the game is grind out quests because almost nothing else works as it should. There are no Don't listen to the haters or the fanboys. The game is neither groundbreaking nor abysmal. I applaud the mature content, active combat, and beautiful graphics (provided you have the hardware). But points have to be taken away for pretty much everything else. Right now, the only thing to do in the game is grind out quests because almost nothing else works as it should. There are no social activities to speak of - no real reason to interact with other people unless you're sharing a quest. I started on a PvE server but switched to PvP due to the boredom. And now, I'm getting bored of that as well, as PvP essentially means "ganking" in this game. And as much as they claim to be focusing on PvP rewards and punishments, nothing exists as of yet. I would suggest buying the game and using the first 30 days free to play through the rather enjoyable Tortage Island (levels 1-20) with a few characters. Then cancel your account, because after that, the bad outweighs the good (for now). Expand
  4. ChristianD.
    Jul 22, 2008
    5
    Bought Collectors Edition and played early access and first month. Unfortunately the basis of the game is very flawed. The combat system ist simply put broken. They will never come close to balancing the classes due to the combo system for melee classes. On top of this there are tons of bugs. Its a shame as the funcom art team once again showed that their designs are just great. But the Bought Collectors Edition and played early access and first month. Unfortunately the basis of the game is very flawed. The combat system ist simply put broken. They will never come close to balancing the classes due to the combo system for melee classes. On top of this there are tons of bugs. Its a shame as the funcom art team once again showed that their designs are just great. But the game as is, is not worth playing once the awe about the grafics or the newness factor are gone. Expand
  5. JayL
    Sep 7, 2008
    6
    If your looking to expand your character by combining different builds and talents - this game isn't for you. The talent trees and class balances are absolutely terrible. The skills are a real blast to use and the combos are fun but its seriously watered down by the fact you have a class specific tree then a general tree. I wouldn't really waste your time with this one.
  6. DarrellJ.
    Jun 4, 2008
    5
    First off, i was really hoping this game would be in a state i could handle to hold me for a while. Unfortunately i was pretty let down upon release. I do not like the combat system at all. Although it is different and i give them credit for trying something new, jousting and seeing who can put out more white damage(coming from a melee perspective) is just not my idea of fun in pvp. First off, i was really hoping this game would be in a state i could handle to hold me for a while. Unfortunately i was pretty let down upon release. I do not like the combat system at all. Although it is different and i give them credit for trying something new, jousting and seeing who can put out more white damage(coming from a melee perspective) is just not my idea of fun in pvp. Travel is HORRID. Quests. I'm not a big quest fan. If you don't like questing this game will probably do you in. If you do like questing, then the first 40 levels should be easy sailing. Ease of use/playability - I think this game is fairly demanding on resources and somewhere in the middle as far as compatibility with all rigs. Many users have configurations it just doesn't like or work well with. It most likely will require tweaking and adjustments on the part of the user to run good fps. Graphics - I give it pretty good marks on graphics. I'm more a fan of these type of graphics than WoW style graphics. I think they did a good job on the looks. Stats don't work, class abilities are bugged, class imbalance is pretty bad(somewhat expected), and hiding/perception seem broken. You can't be attacked by melee in the water. Just a huge list of odd problems that i don't have room to go into. In closing i would say the game is unpolished, unfinished, and just didn't grab me. I'll be setting my hopes on warhammer and giving that a try when it comes online. I hope my 50 bucks helps pay for some coding and fixes so that the die-hards that stick with AoC get some enjoyment out of it. Unfortunately the cash didn't buy me much in the way of fun. -Typhoid Expand
  7. NickS
    May 23, 2008
    7
    Good, but not great. This MMO could go either way; it could end up being mind-blowing, or die out quickly.
  8. LukasC.
    May 23, 2008
    5
    Amazing graphics, but thats not what is important about in MMO. World is looking great, but for me PvP is the real thing. And PvP at this stage is so unbalanced and bugged that it is PATHETIC. Spawn kills, unballanced classes... siedges that they are so proud of where not even tested ONCE during beta and i can see those chokepoints in cities and catapult abuse. To sum up if you dig pve Amazing graphics, but thats not what is important about in MMO. World is looking great, but for me PvP is the real thing. And PvP at this stage is so unbalanced and bugged that it is PATHETIC. Spawn kills, unballanced classes... siedges that they are so proud of where not even tested ONCE during beta and i can see those chokepoints in cities and catapult abuse. To sum up if you dig pve and only pve its for you and its great, but if you are at least a BIT interested in pvp then that game is going to be a big dissapointment for you. Expand
  9. HoustonM.
    May 30, 2008
    5
    Great graphics, about it. About a tenth of the content advertised is missing (DirectX 10, PvP ranking), half is broken (quests, instances), and the other half is sub-par to the hype (PvP, sieges, guild cities, crafting). Yet another MMORPG that bit off more than they could chew.
  10. Nils
    Jun 20, 2008
    6
    AoC is - An advanced graphics engine combined with a - very basic questing system featuring a - BAD, but refreshingly different, melee combat for 50% of the classes. There is not much to do at max level and you it is very easy to get to max level. This MMO will basically be replayed by the next one. The only hope there is are the millions FunCom made because of the advertising (that AoC is - An advanced graphics engine combined with a - very basic questing system featuring a - BAD, but refreshingly different, melee combat for 50% of the classes. There is not much to do at max level and you it is very easy to get to max level. This MMO will basically be replayed by the next one. The only hope there is are the millions FunCom made because of the advertising (that spread lies!). Expand
  11. Greg
    Oct 20, 2008
    7
    This game will have you loving it one day and absolutely hating it the next. It is NOT a game where you can sit down with a half hour and have a good time.... There is bloody gore and excitement to be had..at a price... and sometimes a very costly one at that. The graphics are amazing.. sometimes..and incredibly boring at others.. The views are breathtaking.. occasionally.. if it is the This game will have you loving it one day and absolutely hating it the next. It is NOT a game where you can sit down with a half hour and have a good time.... There is bloody gore and excitement to be had..at a price... and sometimes a very costly one at that. The graphics are amazing.. sometimes..and incredibly boring at others.. The views are breathtaking.. occasionally.. if it is the right time of the day.. the rest of the time you will struggle to see in the gloominess not unlike you would have to if you were living in that era. Adjust your monitor and be blinded by a blindingly white sky. See the sky in the splendor of its natural hues and struggle to make out the path in front of you. Get lucky and find out where your supposed to go... the rest of the time could be spend in endless travel. Travel 50 miles to deliver this.. then walk back. Get rewarded at lvl 40 w/ the almighty mount.. if you can scavenge 1000's of pieces of loot and sell it to vendors for pennies on the dollar. On to the good: Happen across another traveler in the vast world of Hyboria and have bashing time cutting through enemy after enemy. Combat is quite satisfying.. IF you can figure out a satisfactory control set up. Final Recommendation: Not for beginners. Good times to be had... also expect some frustrations. Expand
  12. ScottA.
    May 22, 2008
    6
    Great graphics, great concept from storyline to fighting. Wicked terrible lag ... and I more than meet specs for this game. They fix these issues and I will gladly up my vote ... until then mediocre at best.
  13. JoeD
    May 24, 2008
    6
    Great graphics, sound and gameplay. Downside is if you order the Collectors Edition you may have problems getting into the game in the first place as they shipped with bad codes. Service support was good on launch day (Friday) but non-existant on Saturday, which is pretty poor for a new title being released on Friday.
  14. JohnC.
    May 26, 2008
    5
    Its ok. The leveling is very tedious, and once you hit the main cities you don't really know where to go or what to do. A little direction would be nice. The PVP system is different, but gets boring after a while. Make sure you have a decent PC before you play this. Also, world PVP is very annoying, there is lots of corpse camping as you have to resurrect in a static place. Its ok, Its ok. The leveling is very tedious, and once you hit the main cities you don't really know where to go or what to do. A little direction would be nice. The PVP system is different, but gets boring after a while. Make sure you have a decent PC before you play this. Also, world PVP is very annoying, there is lots of corpse camping as you have to resurrect in a static place. Its ok, but it doesn't break any boundaries. Expand
  15. BrianS
    May 27, 2008
    5
    Way too much pre-game hype from folks that don't really look for depth in their MMOs. This game has zero depth beyond leveling. The loot is mediocre, the leveling curve is extremely simple (there were level 80s within 3 days of release) and whats more theres nothing much to do other than grind resources and build guild cities that can't even be attacked yet because battle keep Way too much pre-game hype from folks that don't really look for depth in their MMOs. This game has zero depth beyond leveling. The loot is mediocre, the leveling curve is extremely simple (there were level 80s within 3 days of release) and whats more theres nothing much to do other than grind resources and build guild cities that can't even be attacked yet because battle keep sieges aren't active yet. The top level of AoC looks awesome, its when you start looking underneath the hood and looking for important dynamics like social content, variable adventuring lines, quest rewards and world drops that give you a sense of accomplishment....when you start noticing what an unfinished project this game is. The combat system is good, but seriously it gets very old after about the 4000th time your character does the exact same fatality animation its done the other 3999 times. Just don't accept the top level reviews, people that haven't played this game past Tortage really don't start getting a feeling for the massive failures in this games concepts. Expand
  16. BriboB.
    Jun 15, 2008
    7
    The graphics are really the only revolutionary thing in the game. The combat system is something that belongs on a playstation not a PC MMO. Quests are decent, but there's not enough of them. Overall it's nothing new, it's just a new game that will pass pretty quickly. The world is painfully small for an MMO and all instanced.
  17. MrKanga
    Jun 2, 2008
    6
    You will need a decent PC to run this Dual or Quad, with a good amount of RAM and a fairly recent graphs card, unless you want it to look naff and run slow. The game starts off mainly solo for the first 20 levels and doesn't do a bad job, I have played upto level 44 so far ( cap is 80 ) and found it enjoyable but also very annoying at times. The game is still in its infancy, even You will need a decent PC to run this Dual or Quad, with a good amount of RAM and a fairly recent graphs card, unless you want it to look naff and run slow. The game starts off mainly solo for the first 20 levels and doesn't do a bad job, I have played upto level 44 so far ( cap is 80 ) and found it enjoyable but also very annoying at times. The game is still in its infancy, even after 5 years of production we are seeing memory leaks, broken quests amongst other things. The combat as a melee character is fun, it can turn the tide of a fight should you get the combo wrong, quests are fun but the grouping lets itself down as you cannot see party members until they are very close to your position ( if you can't see them at all make sure you are in the same instance )., though is fun when it works. The developers have thus far ignored a lot of players complaints never replying to them despite threads going on for over 40 pages. If you are entering this and favour the caster expect nothing different from lotro or wow, its still target and click, bar the healers who tend to cast an AoE heal. The game has real potential not only in PvE but PvP with player built cities and insane combat it could rule the roust, but as it stands its a buggy mess and no end of nice graphics, heads flying off and boobs will change that, give it 6 months and this could be a winner. Expand
  18. AlB.
    Jun 8, 2008
    5
    Just wasn't ready. They must have run out money and pushed it out the door unfinished. Basic things like grouping and buffs are broken. It is too bad because graphically and sound-wise they did a great job. But they will never be able to "fix" it because of some basic faults in design. The instancing makes it feel more like a single player game. Zones are not fleshed out and not even Just wasn't ready. They must have run out money and pushed it out the door unfinished. Basic things like grouping and buffs are broken. It is too bad because graphically and sound-wise they did a great job. But they will never be able to "fix" it because of some basic faults in design. The instancing makes it feel more like a single player game. Zones are not fleshed out and not even bound by believable edges. You can walk to the edge of each zone and just see a raw edge and void. The 'minimum system requirements' are way off. You need a substantial box to even get acceptable frame rates. It is just all around disappointing. Expand
  19. Karhu
    Jul 5, 2008
    7
    This could have been "the WoW killer" and a great MMO. Too bad it fails, as previous reviews say there are tons of bugs, big performance issues and PvP is surprisingly pretty f'd up at the moment. This is fun game to some point but then the frustrations sets in. Crash, server crash, lag spikes, bugged quests, FPS drops, priest class' overpower... There's a lot of work done This could have been "the WoW killer" and a great MMO. Too bad it fails, as previous reviews say there are tons of bugs, big performance issues and PvP is surprisingly pretty f'd up at the moment. This is fun game to some point but then the frustrations sets in. Crash, server crash, lag spikes, bugged quests, FPS drops, priest class' overpower... There's a lot of work done in Funcom but I'm not renewing my sub soon. But I hope they get their stuff fixed and maybe we get to enjoy excellent MMO in future. Expand
  20. RyanM.
    Aug 11, 2008
    6
    A beautiful looking game, with combat as bloody and vicious as Mr. Howard would have wanted it, beyond that? Bugs, crashes, stats that don't do anything, and a character that looked the same for 30 levels make me say Eh. I feel like I bought a car that was still being built.
  21. collapsedknee
    Aug 7, 2008
    6
    This game showed so much promise but later levels prove to be to much of a grind to stick with it. There is little to no end game (60+) PvE content. 2 months after release there is still no PvP system and no DX10 (even though pre-release this was plugged heavily). Its quite clear the game was rushed to market before it was finished. Its such a shame. The underlying mechanics (combat) were This game showed so much promise but later levels prove to be to much of a grind to stick with it. There is little to no end game (60+) PvE content. 2 months after release there is still no PvP system and no DX10 (even though pre-release this was plugged heavily). Its quite clear the game was rushed to market before it was finished. Its such a shame. The underlying mechanics (combat) were exciting and refreshing but that cant be expected to carry the whole game and it doesn't. Expand
  22. ToddY.
    May 21, 2008
    5
    Found the game to be nice as far as the graphics for the environment. Interface was weak, but I enjoyed the game play. I hope they end up tweaking the UI a little bit or mods for it will start to show up. Also a little dissapointed in the starting area, whereas WoW for example set's up areas for you to quest in which is appropriate to your level for people interested in maybe just Found the game to be nice as far as the graphics for the environment. Interface was weak, but I enjoyed the game play. I hope they end up tweaking the UI a little bit or mods for it will start to show up. Also a little dissapointed in the starting area, whereas WoW for example set's up areas for you to quest in which is appropriate to your level for people interested in maybe just doing the PVE thing, AoC doesnt do that and getting lost in your first few minutes or dying can easily get frustrating for someone new to the game. Great concept, poor execution. Expand
  23. JimL.
    May 22, 2008
    5
    Still trying to wake up from the lenght of time it takes to zone in and out of places. Also lose you r pet each time you zone in and out and when you climb ladders. No buy back when you sell items if your tired and make a mistake. Sorry was hoping this game was going to be different from others but it is not needs a lot of work. I would not buy this game.
  24. CoreyG.
    May 22, 2008
    6
    It's feels like the open beta of Burning Sea. That's not a compliment in case your wondering. This game feels unfinished, unpolished and lacks a real difference from other failed mmos. It's a good game, but not a great game. It reminds me of Guild Wars. And you don't have to pay a subscription fee for that sub par game, this one.. you do. Pass on it for at least six months.
  25. AndyK.
    May 22, 2008
    5
    After a few hours the novelty of the combat system wears off and starts to be more annoying than it is immersive. After that you're just playing every other fantasy MMO made in the last five years, except it's prettier. Same grind, different game. The PVP is somewhat redeeming, except that virtually every class has an optimal attack pattern, and once you figure it out it's After a few hours the novelty of the combat system wears off and starts to be more annoying than it is immersive. After that you're just playing every other fantasy MMO made in the last five years, except it's prettier. Same grind, different game. The PVP is somewhat redeeming, except that virtually every class has an optimal attack pattern, and once you figure it out it's really just a matter of who can do it faster. Expand
  26. JeffJ.
    May 26, 2008
    5
    Over Hyped and not worth playing for any extend period. The game won't have any legs.
  27. CJ
    May 26, 2008
    5
    Graphics are ok, but where is the mature content? Outside of a couple veiled adult references this varies little for any other fantasy mmorpg. The battle system is pretty lame. I'm canceling my account and going back to WOW and EQ2.
  28. J
    May 26, 2008
    5
    Looks pretty and cool for the first few days, but once you get to the "meat" of the game, it's clear Age of Conan is horribly buggy and unfinished. Another case of beta software being sold in stores.
  29. DanC
    May 26, 2008
    5
    Like most software AoC seems as if it was rushed out the door. Many bugs and drops are inappropriate for the level (actually too high a lvl) . Interface graphics are 5 years or more behind the times but world graphics are OK. Game bluescreened after install but then played OK. Got caught in a quest loop cinematic that eventually worked itself out but I had to end task multiple times then Like most software AoC seems as if it was rushed out the door. Many bugs and drops are inappropriate for the level (actually too high a lvl) . Interface graphics are 5 years or more behind the times but world graphics are OK. Game bluescreened after install but then played OK. Got caught in a quest loop cinematic that eventually worked itself out but I had to end task multiple times then restart the game. I hope it gets better and I expect it will. The lack of being able to find vendors is frustrating in the early lvl island but I'm hoping this gets better when I finally get to a major city. The quest toons voice cinematics are nice. The game has potential but it's not there yet. Expand
  30. JJ
    May 27, 2008
    7
    Theres a whole lot to like about AoC, and some things to not like. Pros: immersive world, very nice graphics, combat is fun and has great nuances, good voice acting, great animations of players and creatures, cool magic, lots of levels to advance through, PVE and PVP, a myriad of quests, lots and lots of variety in the world including towns and different themes, great artwork, fantastic Theres a whole lot to like about AoC, and some things to not like. Pros: immersive world, very nice graphics, combat is fun and has great nuances, good voice acting, great animations of players and creatures, cool magic, lots of levels to advance through, PVE and PVP, a myriad of quests, lots and lots of variety in the world including towns and different themes, great artwork, fantastic architecture. What I more want to talk about are the cons: the game is a MMO, yet a big part of playing the game is doing quests with NPCs so its a hybrid single player / multiplayer game. Yes others can join you in your quests but only if they have the prerequisite quests completed. Most other players are on different quests, too, so they don't want to join you usually. For PVE gameplay, this is a single player game with other people running around in it. In my opinion, it's not a truely focused multiplayer game for PVE (player vs environment). The game user interface needs improving. Also my character targets group members and not the hostiles, which is stubborn to get him to target back onto the foes. Also you'll see really great looking equipment being worn by NPCs that you can't get or use. Maybe that will change with new patches and updates by Funcom. Right now the servers are experiencing hacks that affect everyone connected. I think this is their top priority. Another con to this game is that the quests send you back and forth in the same area so much that seeing the same scenery over and over gets old. There are no dynamically or randomly created areas like dungeons so the scenery in this game gets stale. If you like MMORPGs then you certainly need to check out AoC, yes! But it has problems and I'm currently questioning its longevity. The first few days I played this I was in awe but that is now wearing off because I don't like seeing the same place over and over and over again. Just to advance out of the starting town (Tortage), you must complete one specific quest (Destiny) but there are many quests to do. Its not clear which quest you must do to escape Tortage. I think you must do the Destiny Quest in single player but I'm not sure. After 35 hours of gameplay in Tortage just trying to escape it, the town felt like a prison. I used a hidden quick-escape quest to get out of Tortage and I don't want to go back. Potentially AoC is a legendary game, but I don't think its there yet. Time will tell. Its a rather linear game for being a MMO. Is this linear and quest based gemplay a decision by funcom so that they can bring it to the masses on the x360? I don't know for sure. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. This game marks the next generation of MMOs in many ways. It looks good, is very entertaining and plays very well. This is a journey well worth taking.
  2. It won't put WoW out of business, but then again, nothing will for a long time, and that doesn't mean this isn't a great game with tons of appeal and a hopefully more mature audience
  3. 80
    Age of Conan going forward should become a delightfully savage second home for plenty of howling on-line barbarians.