Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. 100
    The balance between the powers, the factions, the troops, and the monsters lends the game tremendous depth and replay value.
  2. Appealing to both the intellect and the imagination, it presents itself vividly and audaciously, leaving little doubt that it intends to be a complete experience in every possible way.
  3. Stylistic RTS ambrosia, mana from heaven and a cornucopia of gameplay and replay value. This one is fit for the gods.
  4. 100
    It's certainly the closest I've ever gotten to a perfect gaming experience with an RTS game.
  5. With its streamlined interface and modern makeover, AoM is itself a mythical beast: a sequel that's simultaneously deeper and more accessible than its predecessor. [10 Jan 2003, p.76]
  6. The game looks, plays, and feels splendid! This game will not leave the player's CD-Rom for a long time, since it has such an astounding replay value.
  7. Drives the gameplay stake through the heart of this genre, and keeps on stabbing. [Jan 2003, p.116]
  8. Combining a great storyline, great gameplay, great graphics and an enjoyable multiplayer experience, Age of Mythology is guaranteed to delight RTS fans everywhere.
  9. Among the best in the Valhalla of strategy gaming.
  10. 93
    A fantastic complete package. It's a real ornament for the genre and a benchmark that won't soon be surpassed.
  11. 93
    AoM takes what makes both the "Age of Empires" series and the "Warcraft" series great, and blends it all together into a tasty frappe, and the end result is simply divine.
  12. Plays remarkably well. Featuring lots of interesting, inventive design decisions, plenty of fun-to-use units, and tons of variety, Age of Mythology is the last real-time strategy game you'll need for a long time.
  13. Without a doubt, the gameplay, graphics and sound all add up for a spectacular RTS title that you will be able to play for hours upon hours without getting remotely bored.
  14. The best Age game yet, featuring frightening fantasy units without all the bearded baggage. [PC Gamer UK]
  15. Games feature furious battles over centrally located resources, enormously powerful mythological units wreaking havoc, and players competing for the favor of ancient gods. The result is fantastic, fun.
  16. It's just so frickin' wild and cool. You can get whole forests to come to life and attack your enemies, build huge monsters like the Hydra (yes, it grows more heads as it takes damage), and pound the enemy city into a crater with meteor storms.
  17. 90
    Polished, intuitive, balanced, and fun, this is one of the best RTS games ever made, but if you’re bored with the genre this isn’t going to suddenly make you a believer again.
  18. The unit AI is good enough that you can give broad orders without worrying about your men and monsters doing too many dumb things. [Jan 2003, p.60]
  19. The storyline is as good as - if perhaps better than - "Warcraft 3" in parts, and the various multiplayer modes and the strategy of the different sides combined with the various gods add up to a good deal of longevity.
  20. It’s managed to make ostensibly the same game as it always has, but with just a little bit of lateral thinking has revolutionised its own formula. Bring on Age of Bomber Jackets, already.
  21. Felt tired in its singleplayer campaign – though it was still far better than "WarCraft III."
  22. Regrettably, most of AoM's missions suffer from one recurring, frustrating problem: a severe case of "build base-itis." [Holiday 2002, p.68]
  23. 83
    While AoM sports the best single-player campaign in any "Age" game, it's still no award-winner. [Jan 2003, p.66]
  24. 83
    While AoM sports a new graphics engine and three unique factions, on the whole it plays very much like its predecessors. Too much like its predecessors, if you were hoping for a truly different game experience.
  25. Just don't expect anything new. Like the myths themselves, AoM's gameplay has been passed down from generation to generation for many, many years.
  26. As rich, inspiring and epic as strategy games get, and (save for Blizzard's "Warcraft III") it's possibly the most immersive strategy game we have seen in quite some time... [Yet]the AI could've been better.
  27. "Warcraft III" is very innovative and has production values higher than just about any game ever released on the PC, while Age of Mythology is simply a worthy successor to an excellent series.
  28. Not since "Zeus: Master Of Olympus" have the gods smiled so benignly on RTS worshippers, and for new adorers and regular acolytes alike, Age Of Mythology is a revelation – this is a must for followers and atheists alike.
  29. I'll still marvel at the design and balance of the game. But deep in my heart, I'll still be waiting for something new to make me excited about RTS games again. [Jan 2003, p.98]
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 407 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 62
  2. Negative: 4 out of 62
  1. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    favorite game of all time, played the campaign multiple time, and LAN it with friends almost every weekend. the graphics still look amazing. 8favorite game of all time, played the campaign multiple time, and LAN it with friends almost every weekend. the graphics still look amazing. 8 years later still the best looking RTS in my opinion. gameplay is perfectly balanced soundtrack is outstanding there is so much content in the game, it could last me forever. it is so good i have bought it 4 times and 3 times was for myself. Full Review »
  2. WilliamS
    Jul 26, 2009
    10
    This rts game is one of the easiest to play for how much fun it is. My first game i struggled to survive god powers from the enemy, attacked This rts game is one of the easiest to play for how much fun it is. My first game i struggled to survive god powers from the enemy, attacked them with a massive army, lost and then cut out their resources after almost losing my base. The point is it was a roller coaster as were all my other games with the hear pounding defensive maneuvers to the triumph of fortifying crucial resources. All of the aspects are amazing. The selection of gods won't keep you bored. The only thing that is bad is the cinematic mode which you might want to use because you want to see a jackal fighting alongside a spear wielding greek soldier. This game will keep you satisfied, and all the maps will shake it up a little if you somehow become bored with this near perfect rts game. Full Review »
  3. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    Simply one of the best RTS games and one of the best games of all time! It is fantastic! Great graphics, perfect balance and really, reallySimply one of the best RTS games and one of the best games of all time! It is fantastic! Great graphics, perfect balance and really, really fun gameplay! It has a fun and long singleplayer campain which is rare today and an awesome multiplayer with almost no lags or errors, also the game is 99.99% free of bugs! Full Review »