Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Mar 8, 2012
    91
    Arguably the best compliment I can give Alan Wake is that it is a console-to-PC port done right.
  2. Mar 1, 2012
    90
    Alan Wake is a superb game that will satisfy anyone looking for a slight twist of horror blended into their third person shooters.
  3. Feb 23, 2012
    90
    It might seem that Alan Wake is essentially the same game that was released on Xbox 360 two years ago. Nothing could be further from the truth. Remedy has worked hard to adapt the psychological thriller to a platform that should never have waited so long. Better graphics, 3D support, and additional content including DLC. The only excuse for not buying Alan Wake for PC is that you already got bored of it on console. Even if so... you should give it a try.
  4. Feb 22, 2012
    90
    The mix between intriguing storytelling and near-perfect game design elevates Alan Wake to an extraordinarily finely crafted experience. Even if should you shelf it after its 10-15 hours and never take it out again: This one playthrough will be a lasting experience. Alan Wake is something special that enriches the world of gaming.
  5. Feb 20, 2012
    90
    It has been a long wait, but Alan Wake is finally available on PC and it comes with better graphics and a gorgeous collector's edition that includes both DLCs and some very interesting extras for a bargain price.
  6. Feb 17, 2012
    90
    The real Alan Wake has come. A great game not only from the narrative prospective but also from technical one, without weakness of the previous version.
  7. Feb 15, 2012
    90
    Though the camera can cause issues and the supernatural story that's more interested in asking questions than answering them, it's a tough game to put down once you've started. Remedy's done a great job of mixing elements of written work, television, and videogames to create an experience full of scares, laughs, and thrills that's just as fun to play as it is to watch.
  8. Feb 20, 2012
    89
    Good things come to those who wait - Alan Wake on the PC may show up very late but it is visually a clear improvement over the Xbox 360 version, plays better with a mouse and brings the excellent atmosphere and gripping story to a whole new audience. No couches needed.
  9. Apr 3, 2012
    87
    More than just a port, Alan Wake for PC is a must-have.
  10. Mar 13, 2012
    87
    Excellent PC translation is better than the original. Not for the vastly better graphics, but because you can hide the HUD and the game is a game, not a computer assisted interactive experience. [March 2012]
  11. Mar 12, 2012
    87
    The alpha and the omega of the game is the chilling mood. A man from the city, unaccustomed to dangers and hazards, is asked to survive in the middle of nowhere, alone versus all. It is an exemplary drama and as such, the psychological pressure on the protagonist manages to affect us, as well. It's like living the whole thing, like actually being there. [April 2012]
  12. Mar 21, 2012
    86
    It took its sweet time, but it's still a genuinely skin-twitching survival game with an original twist to the combat. [May 2012, p.78]
  13. Feb 10, 2012
    86
    Finally! Alan Wake arrives on PC almost two years after it hit consoles. Was it worth the wait? Yes! Does its age hurt your eyes? No! Should you play it? Definitely! Alan Wake is one of the most creative and thrilling story-adventures we've seen so far – but you shouldn't buy it if you are expecting an action game.
  14. Mar 15, 2012
    85
    The game just gets weirder and weirder, as you keep playing, and it's an all-in move from Remedy to just keep pushing its story to its absolute limit of insanity. It reaches its zenith of crazy by the last episode of the game, and it's just such a great culmination of everything that's happened before, that if there were such an award as Best One Hour of a Game, Alan Wake would take the prize.
  15. Feb 28, 2012
    85
    Killer storytelling and creative demon slaying make the haunting Alan Wake one for the books.
  16. Mar 12, 2012
    83
    Alan Wake comes to the PC and brings his paranormal curse with him, completely intact. The same defining horror experience is here, occasionally marred by outdated graphics and quirky character animation, but everything else works like a charm. The extra DLC chapters are also included, so book your trip to Bright Falls today...you won't soon forget it.
  17. 82
    Yet as a finished result and, finally, as a product with an interactive purpose, Alan Wake suffers enough from trying to mix so many influences, ending very close to the "you love it or hate it" model. Eventually, maybe these are just the "pains of childbirth" for something more complex or for something else as deserving as interactivity, a new „species" that needs to be judged less for its interactive aspects and more for the ones that regard its style.
  18. Feb 23, 2012
    82
    You won't find any ingenious plot moments. On the other hand, the story itself is decent enough to keep you playing for some time.
  19. Feb 15, 2012
    82
    Indeed, it grieves me that Remedy has placed the survival horror passages comparatively unloving and exhausting in the game, but anger quickly fades behind the the fantastic story. Other developers may gladly follow its example.
  20. Mar 22, 2012
    81
    Alan Wake is an amazingly good PC port, all things considered, with a fair price point and prepackaged DLC so you get the complete experience without breaking your wallet.
  21. Apr 5, 2012
    80
    "A gripping rollercoaster ride." - Stephen King. [Apr 2012, p.52]
  22. 80
    Alan Wake is not a flawless game. The combat system is entertaining at first but its magic is killed by unnecessary and numerous action segments. Still the game is a very atmospheric adventure of a very rare kind. [March 2012]
  23. Mar 13, 2012
    80
    An example of a perfect console-to-PC port – we got a complete game with two DLC's that looks better than the original X360 version. The loading times are very short, mouse and keyboard controls are perfect and even an old PC is enough to enjoy Alan Wake. [April 2012, p.56]
  24. Feb 27, 2012
    80
    The long road for the PC with Alan Wake was not in vain. It brings an excitement, fear, anxiety, enthrallment and alleviation. Those are the feelings you will experience all by yourselves directly from the young writer. And that's definitely worth it.
  25. Feb 23, 2012
    80
    The tense atmosphere aged well and still delivers exciting moments two years after the 360 release, while the explosive action is still better than most of recently released shooters.
  26. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    Alan Wake is a game that can guarantee 10 hours of spooky shootings to survival horror addicts. The gameplay is not the revolution that Remedy promised in the age of hype, when "next-gen" was still synonymous of hardware innovation, but for 20 bucks you can be sure that all the issues and the aging of the game have been already discounted.
  27. Feb 18, 2012
    80
    The gameplay feels more like an action game jammed into a horror story. It's a good action game, but it never quite feels like it belongs. Don't let the moments of monolithic combat or the lack of terror throw you off, though. The strengths of Alan Wake's narrative outweighs shortcomings that need to be mentioned, but can't ruin the experience.
  28. May 5, 2012
    70
    Alan Wake is a decent port with a few console-characteristics that cause a few annoyances. But PC-gamers finally have the option to enjoy Alan Wake's unique and gripping story.
  29. Feb 20, 2012
    70
    As it is, you've got an above average third person torch-'em-up that's still got issues and will take some getting used to with the old mouse sensitivity issues.
  30. Feb 17, 2012
    60
    The PC version of Alan Wake includes the two mildly interesting special episodes that debuted on Xbox 360 post-release as DLC. Continuing from the end of the main game, these gritty episodes delve deeper into the psyche of Alan after his adventure in Bright Falls, but rehash themes and environments seen in the first six episodes. They're worth playing if you just can't get enough of Alan and the darkness swirling inside his noggin, just don't expect new environments or a clear resolution to the character's fate.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1174 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 244
  1. Jun 23, 2012
    3
    I am certain Alan Wake will garner many positive reviews that focused on the story and its "unusual" style and presentation. I admit, it is interesting and would make an excellent book or movie. The problem is that even the best novel can be turned into a bad computer game and that is essentially what has happened here.

    The story unfolds over the coarse of 20 hours as you run from one well lit area to the next, fighting waves of the exact same 4 monsters, using the exact same 4 weapons and the exact same strategy all the way to the end. The Enemy AI is rudimentary. The soundtrack is non-existent. Alan Wake will occasionally narrate and explain a new revelation, or what he is feeling or what you need to do next.

    The game lacks tradition incentives to keep you playing. There are no choices, no dialogue trees, no weapon upgrades, no level-ups. Even Alan Wakes own survival is tied to the plot and thus never seems to be in question. The game thrusts you into the action without spending sufficient time on character development and then tells you that you need to do X, Y and Z if you wish to save various people you don't care about. This might work in a book or movie were we are simply spectators along for the ride, but it is asking a lot in a game where players must invest 20 hours of their own time to progress the story. I constantly found myself asking the question, "Do I really care about these people? Do I even care what happens to Alan Wake? Why do I need a key to open this door when I have a shotgun in my hand?" As a result, it is easy to lose interest. This is one of the few games I have played in my life that I have had to force myself to finish. Somewhere along the way, Remedy lost that balance between making a game with a good story and a game that is still fun to play. People invest in computers and pay top dollar for games because they want more than books or movies can offer. My advice: Buy BioShock or replay Indigo Prophecy. You can skip this one.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 16, 2012
    4
    poor pc performance even on top end rigs
    no crosshair, must aim with flash light
    off-center camera angle is awful
    there is a delay to initiate
    shooting and no focused/zoom mode specifically for shooting

    probably works better on xbox (because it has auto aim, and probably runs smoother.) no reason for a nearly 2 old xbox game to not run 60fps on top end rigs.

    the camera also sucks, if you try to have a centered camera view - you run crooked; you have to have a crooked camera view to run straight.


    probably will automatically get good reviews from fan boys and people that were paid to review the game. maybe it was good on xbox, but playing it on pc is like paying $30 to willingly handicap yourself.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 20, 2012
    8
    When I saw this was a microsoft game. I honestly reset my expectations to expect something a very linear and probably quite corny. However, I was very pleasantly surprised by AW. The game has some enhancement for the PC. Things like the crippling FOV you see on many console ports are not a problem here. The game is enjoyable and atmospheric. It is very linear but then due to the nature of the game this is to be expected, the linear nature of the game is not to the point where you dont feel in control and it plays very well. The location are is good although the game could bear some better textures it is generally very pretty. I have seen many complaints here and on steam about poor performance but I play using a quadfire so have not experienced this problem. However, I have encountered a stonking great bug in the final episodes of the game which prevent me from completing the game. Basically the script seems to have broken down. Required taken dont spawn and an event which is required for progression will not start. A very disappointing end to a game I was enjoying immensely. (Playtime approx 20-25 hours.) Overall, I would say a bit short but due to the atmosphere, story and environment in general I would say this would have been a very good buy for the 20 Euro I paid on steam if it didnt have this cataclysmic bug in my save game. Full Review »