Aliens vs. Predator PC

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1001 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    4
    A very buggy and unpolished game, even after several patches. I could list 100 things wrong with it, but for the sake of not reminding myself how badly developed this game was, I'll stick with just a few pet hates. 1. Marine get's a magic pistol with unlimited bullets, even though he has a melee ability.
    2. Marines weapons magically disappear at the end of a level to be replaced by
    A very buggy and unpolished game, even after several patches. I could list 100 things wrong with it, but for the sake of not reminding myself how badly developed this game was, I'll stick with just a few pet hates. 1. Marine get's a magic pistol with unlimited bullets, even though he has a melee ability.
    2. Marines weapons magically disappear at the end of a level to be replaced by defaults. 3. Incredibly cliche and uninspired story stuck on a heavily linear and scripted single player, e.g don't bother trying to save your marine buddies, most are meant to die by design. Alien attacks conveniently dry up once you finish some random objective as the game waits for you to move to the next section. 4. Incredibly repetitive npc marine chatter. "Don't relax just yet marines" heard constantly on each campaign.
    5. Sometimes ingame triggers fail to activate, leaving you having to kill yourself to return to an earlier checkpoint, e.g sometimes when hacking something as a marine, it'll never actually finish hacking. 6. Pressing e to do a killing move seems cool at first, and provides initial entertainment, becomes incredibly boring once you've seen it dozens of times and will go out your way to just beat enemy npc's to death to avoid seeing the same drawn out animation again. 7. Awful menu system with rubbish options. 8. Buggy sound system. 9. Poor amount of multiplayer maps. 10. Npc's are pretty dumb and easy to exploit the weaknesses in the A.I to easily kill anything on any difficulty.
    Expand
  2. PhillipB.
    Feb 28, 2010
    4
    Game lacks any substance at all. There are so many times when you anticipate being able to do something totally awesome and then you are completely let down. The plot is okay, but otherwise, the game itself lacks any staying power, and forget multiplayer--I've never seen anyone playing.
  3. Serraphyn
    Mar 29, 2010
    1
    I only give a 1 for the decent graphics. This game is such a disappointment to AVP game fans. THere is little to no character development really, wow you get a new gun or you have more health. There is no customization of your characters in single or multiplayer mode. The 'skin' idea is a joke, give real new classes not just random crap skins. there should be more then just I only give a 1 for the decent graphics. This game is such a disappointment to AVP game fans. THere is little to no character development really, wow you get a new gun or you have more health. There is no customization of your characters in single or multiplayer mode. The 'skin' idea is a joke, give real new classes not just random crap skins. there should be more then just sprint/walk/jog modes in this game. What happened to sitting, crawling or crouching? This game is probably the most lazy excuse I have seen in a LONG time for a game. If Rebellion wants a real developer leader to help with gaming ideas, get a hold of me. There are some other games out there that are free and have better game mechanics then this one. A true disappointment, wow I'm a pred, alien, or human, nothing special to it. Old games Like Doom had more substance to them then this one. Honestly, unless they do some major patches to fix and update game, I'd suggest taking the 60$ you pay and buy some other game with same quality, take the other 55$ and buy someone you love a dinner out. AVOID THIS GAME. Expand
  4. MonolithR
    Mar 7, 2010
    1
    I give it a one for the dark atmosphere and the ambient sounds in the game. The rest is total junk. This is what happens when SEGA a producer of console games gets a hold of a PC franchise. Lets build a game for the console then map out the same controls onto a keyboard and mouse because we dont want to take the extra time (money) required to make it work better on a PC. If you bought a I give it a one for the dark atmosphere and the ambient sounds in the game. The rest is total junk. This is what happens when SEGA a producer of console games gets a hold of a PC franchise. Lets build a game for the console then map out the same controls onto a keyboard and mouse because we dont want to take the extra time (money) required to make it work better on a PC. If you bought a really nice rig and dont wish to cheapen it by playing a console like game on a computer then dont buy this game. Not enough weapon selection, marine movement is restricted to say the least, you cant even crouch. It feels like I am walking through quicksand and the jump is hilarious, or those sparks I see everytime my feet land? No wonder I cant jump, I have steel boots on lol!! No class weapons are you kidding me? You mean in multi I have to compete with 17 other players for a smartgun and grenades that respawn every 5min? Huge bullet lag, I squeeze the trigger and a half second later a bullet strikes the wall not but 1 ft ahead of me. No wheel up and down for weapon, again its for console with the pc as an after thought this also probably explains why crouch doesnt exist. Not enough buttons on the controller, forget computers have a keyboard. Wow you mean I cant even toggle wall walk off/on for aliens I guess that too would also require another button that a keyboard has but a 360/PS3 doesnt. The pred weapons are boring to say the least they all do the same thing nothing really unique about them, the trophy kills get boring quick and who wants a one hit button spam fest in multi anyway. The melee system is a joke, you auto hit people when in range of melee because rebellion thought it looked better (more realistic) than if you just have a hit box ahead of you and that you hit anything in that area you swing aim at. SEGA needs to leave the more complicated games alone and stick to sonic the freakin hedgehog. Rebellion sold out and this third bomb will cost them their reputation I hope they stick with console games because Rebellions PC venture will more than likely be a dead venture for a long time. Sega capitlized off of a pc franchise, ruined it with this pile of dung but made a ton of money on preorders due to the game being cheaply made and of course taking advantage of us PC people who were waiting 9 years for the next installment of a once untarnished franchise. Even the maps are really basic, whatever happened to being able to hide someplace away from aliens and preds?This game cant even hold a candle to AVP2. If you liked AVP2 then you will hate AVP. It is missing all the things that make a FPS a classic, but hey the graphics are neat who cares about play control right... right? Expand
  5. jm
    Mar 7, 2010
    0
    Where do you start? I think the fact that steam activation is required got my goat from the start. You have to have steam running and it took ages to install. Only during the never ending installation did I notice the disclamer on the back of the cover, about size 2 font, that it required steam. After Half-Life 2 I vowed never to purchase another steam game. Well years later I have been Where do you start? I think the fact that steam activation is required got my goat from the start. You have to have steam running and it took ages to install. Only during the never ending installation did I notice the disclamer on the back of the cover, about size 2 font, that it required steam. After Half-Life 2 I vowed never to purchase another steam game. Well years later I have been stupid enough to relent. I was looking forward to the game cos I enjoyed the AvP and AvP2 so much. The mulitplayer mode in 2 was particularly fun. This new version has not only taken a step back but turned around and run as fast as it can in the opposite direction. The overall impression that the game leaves me with is of lazy console design. The maps are poor, small and have a clunky feel. The menus are a nightmare to use. The multiplayer matchup is unseable. As for the gameplay? Lucy that I've only played as the alien, as it was most fun in the earlier games, Its just plain broken and poor; the switch to wall walking works badly, dropping from wall walking throws you off in a stupid direction every time...C'mon a simple drop and orient you upwards would have sufficed...no crouch? who thought that up?...the vents are stupid and unnecessary...th AI is the worst I've seen in 10 years...I'm starting to get bored of writing anymore about it its that bad. On the plus side it has taught me to read a game cover before I buy it as I will not give another steam game the chance to steal hours of my life for an installation and advert infested spy software to monitor my gaming. It deserves about 2, maybe 1 but gets 0 to bring its score down to something that might warn gamers off a poor title. Expand
  6. Alex
    Mar 11, 2010
    0
    I had huge expectations about this game and I was dissapointed. This game is nothing I had immagined. Story sucks and so does rest of singleplayer. This game has the worst A.I I've ever seen in modern games. The only savin grace is multiplayer, which stays fun for while, but it could have been much better. It's heartbreaking to say that this game is nothing compared to AVP 1999 I had huge expectations about this game and I was dissapointed. This game is nothing I had immagined. Story sucks and so does rest of singleplayer. This game has the worst A.I I've ever seen in modern games. The only savin grace is multiplayer, which stays fun for while, but it could have been much better. It's heartbreaking to say that this game is nothing compared to AVP 1999 and AVP 2. I will give 0 because I have never had so high expectations for a game and I have never been so dissapointed. Expand
  7. LarryW
    Mar 13, 2010
    0
    One of the biggest dissapointments in gaming history---PERIOD! I am really surprised that Rebellion would put their name on this game----it could ruin them. Read all the ratings folks and then decide if you should waste money on it.. What Rebellion obviously counted on was getting as many pre-orders as possible before the release, so that when the game was finally available they had their One of the biggest dissapointments in gaming history---PERIOD! I am really surprised that Rebellion would put their name on this game----it could ruin them. Read all the ratings folks and then decide if you should waste money on it.. What Rebellion obviously counted on was getting as many pre-orders as possible before the release, so that when the game was finally available they had their money before the ratings appeared. It's a dark and dismal game which lacks many FPS functions (such as crouch). There is absolutely nothing new about this game and it even lacks a workable multi-player experience. It's atually not as advanced as the FIRST AVP game! It is so very obvious that this game was created as fast as possible with as little creative talent as possible to save on paying high wages. Just create a lousy game and sell it using the success of the first Aliens vs Predator as the marketing tool. The AVP series is now officially DEAD. What a shame and I was really looking forward to this game. I finished all three missions in one 8 hour sitting and uninstalled this piece of junk game. Spend your money on a GOOD game---not this farce. Expand
  8. TravisS
    Feb 19, 2010
    3
    What happened to freedom of movement and direct line of sight and why are the marines so limited in the future? A far cry from its original series. It looks like a console game without thought for PC and is serious limited when it comes to the imagination. Sorely disappointed.
  9. johns
    Mar 6, 2010
    1
    I really didn't want to give The new AVP a low score, but i couldn't Help it Because i'm so feedup with Hosts leaveing while we're playing, Because we lose the whole XP. their losers when they lose they leave and it messes up the whole Game i'm sooooo Feedup with it SEGA please sort out this it's become stupid i've lost loads of XP Becuase the host I really didn't want to give The new AVP a low score, but i couldn't Help it Because i'm so feedup with Hosts leaveing while we're playing, Because we lose the whole XP. their losers when they lose they leave and it messes up the whole Game i'm sooooo Feedup with it SEGA please sort out this it's become stupid i've lost loads of XP Becuase the host leaves total Nightmare somen Time i feel i want to smash the keyboard and shout at the screen but that won't do any good Because the Host won't hear me it's really getting stupid i'm going back to AVP2. PLEASE SEGA DO SOMETHING FAST PLEASE PLEASE. Expand
  10. adm
    Apr 25, 2010
    3
    I really enjoyed the predator campaign (but only for a short time), massive jumps, invisibility, cool sounds, i felt like i would be the one to liberate Schwarzenegger's head from his body. Unfortunately the mixture of good graphics and a really really really bad story line made for a pretty disappointing time. NO character development! No real interesting goals or plot points!...and I really enjoyed the predator campaign (but only for a short time), massive jumps, invisibility, cool sounds, i felt like i would be the one to liberate Schwarzenegger's head from his body. Unfortunately the mixture of good graphics and a really really really bad story line made for a pretty disappointing time. NO character development! No real interesting goals or plot points!...and where the hell is crouch?? This could have been an awesome game :( All in all well done on the sound effects, the predator 'idea' was there but the rest of it was NOT fun. Expand
  11. Andrew
    Apr 14, 2010
    0
    This game was complete garbage for $49.99. Of all the FPS games out there that have crouch where you "wouldn't really need it," I would say that this game needs it. One of the predators trademark positions is being cloaked and minimialized in an elevated positon. The first two AVP games had crouching, why go a step back? Why leave out options and leave plenty of buttons unused? This game was complete garbage for $49.99. Of all the FPS games out there that have crouch where you "wouldn't really need it," I would say that this game needs it. One of the predators trademark positions is being cloaked and minimialized in an elevated positon. The first two AVP games had crouching, why go a step back? Why leave out options and leave plenty of buttons unused? Second of all, I can't even make it through a campaign because this is so unstable. It's worthless trying to do it regardless of technical issues because the campaigns are just so boring and have nothing to grab you. Multiplayer is crap due to it's lackluster layout and I don't like the avp game community anymore because they continue you support this juvenile attempt at entertainment. Why defend the leaving out of crouching? Expand
  12. TomI
    Feb 22, 2010
    4
    Rebellion messed the bed on this one. I loved 1 & 2 so I got really excited for this. Unfortunately I, like thousands of others, have been pleading for a patch from day one. The multiplayer is hopelessly broken and borderline unplayable. The ironically labeled "Quick Match" takes up to 10 minutes to connect to a server with pings hovering around 1200. We've had no concrete word on a Rebellion messed the bed on this one. I loved 1 & 2 so I got really excited for this. Unfortunately I, like thousands of others, have been pleading for a patch from day one. The multiplayer is hopelessly broken and borderline unplayable. The ironically labeled "Quick Match" takes up to 10 minutes to connect to a server with pings hovering around 1200. We've had no concrete word on a patch or supposed dedicated servers. Yes, I'm aware 360 players are having a blast along with 3 or 4 very vocal apologists who bought it on Steam. But the rest of us feel ripped off. Unlike some others however, I don't mind the DX9 Unreal 3 graphics. I think they're just fine. And the Marine's SP mission is an entertaining diversion. It gets a solid 4. Expand
  13. JayJay
    Feb 20, 2010
    2
    A low quality execution of a beloved franchise just makes it that much more painful. Why does such a promising brand have to be consistently saddled with mediocrity in execution? Also I find it interesting how of the 8 Critics reviews, the four highest ones are all from sites that can't even bother to proofread what they write. Really takes away from their credibility. And then the A low quality execution of a beloved franchise just makes it that much more painful. Why does such a promising brand have to be consistently saddled with mediocrity in execution? Also I find it interesting how of the 8 Critics reviews, the four highest ones are all from sites that can't even bother to proofread what they write. Really takes away from their credibility. And then the lowest scores coming from big, well-known sites that are sometimes accused (however incorrectly) of over-rating games? That really says it all: This game is simply not worth buying if even the big guys can't find a reason to rate it 80+ points. Expand
  14. RichardB.
    Feb 18, 2010
    3
    Rebellion released a broken and incomplete game, hoping people would buy it based of of the success of an outdated game. The single player is boring and redundant, and the multiplayer, which should have been the strongest point of the game is untested, broken, and never very much fun. Rebellion should be embarrassed to release this kind of crap under their name, but I don't think Rebellion released a broken and incomplete game, hoping people would buy it based of of the success of an outdated game. The single player is boring and redundant, and the multiplayer, which should have been the strongest point of the game is untested, broken, and never very much fun. Rebellion should be embarrassed to release this kind of crap under their name, but I don't think they care; they released something barely playable, and screwed at least some people out of their money. I was fairly excited over the release of this game and was extremely disappointed. What was to be a promising game was killed by an over advertising budget and an unenthusiastic dev team. There is NOTHING you can get in this game that you can't get from better-done free mods for Half-life 2. I wasted my money; don't waste yours. Expand
  15. JamesD
    Mar 4, 2010
    4
    There is so much potential lost in the game. Single player is awesome beyond measure but multiplayer is a lost cause. Huge wait times for finding servers and to top it off. You cant even see the servers only hit the quick match button. Without dedicated servers your at the mercy of all the morons out there as well. The attack seems to home in on the target even if its too far away for a There is so much potential lost in the game. Single player is awesome beyond measure but multiplayer is a lost cause. Huge wait times for finding servers and to top it off. You cant even see the servers only hit the quick match button. Without dedicated servers your at the mercy of all the morons out there as well. The attack seems to home in on the target even if its too far away for a melee hit. Also the weapons/ classes are not balanced due to the predators arsenal vs the humans one hit and dead life pool. Teh guns are spread way too far out and have huge respawn timers unlike the predators gear. I am not happy with the multiplayer but single player makes it a must have. Expand
  16. Dmitry
    May 17, 2010
    4
    Good visuals, lots of gore. That's all this game can offer. Boring gameplay and storyline are not worth it. I wouldn't buy it even for 10 bucks. Better get AvP Gold and AvP 2.
  17. RoflcakesInternet
    Apr 20, 2010
    0
    I.W.M.M.B I Want My Money Back!!! this is the biggest rip off iv ever bought the graphics are the only flashy thing about it the online play is run around pressing E and the single player is the exact same thing. The story was so dull that i have marks on my head from banging my head on the keyboard saying "I dont care! get to the game already!!!"
  18. RyanB
    Mar 2, 2010
    0
    i only vote zero to help bring down the score to something more useful to anyone who considers buying it! i would give it a 4 for looking so damn pretty and then downed it to a 3 for the pretty cutscenes being buggy and crashing my computer after watching half of them! Looks is all this game has done well tho, probably (as someone said) using the AVP films as their main inspiration i only vote zero to help bring down the score to something more useful to anyone who considers buying it! i would give it a 4 for looking so damn pretty and then downed it to a 3 for the pretty cutscenes being buggy and crashing my computer after watching half of them! Looks is all this game has done well tho, probably (as someone said) using the AVP films as their main inspiration source. im a huge fan of the aliens and predator series and if you are a fan also who just hasnt bought this game yet...DONT! its just not worth it! i did not experience the overly dark screen problems some other gamers have had but i think i might darken my screen more to get some element of fear out of playing a marine! its just not scary! they have ruined it by having the aliens move so slow and giving them too much health, these aliens are morbidly obese im guessing!! less health more speed please! the combat in the avp 2 game was a total adrenaline rush! So very many awful choices have been made in this games creation! no crouching!? seriously!? predators can only use a powerfull jump by "focusing" to find glowing jump way points!...why restrict the players movement so much!? a marine holding his arms up will not stop a lunging aliens teeth and claws!! his arms would quickly be removed! so who thought that would be a good idea!? The marine campaign was supposed to be the best i heard but was very quickly ruined for me by the bad combat and lack of fear! also why does it take 3 head shoots to kill an alien on normal!? in the aliens film their head burst like ripened water melons on one or two shots!. i guess they had to do that as they had to give their extremely unfit, needs to go to the gym style aliens need some sort of advantage! predator campaign impressed me with the first little combat trial thing at the start, along with the hulking feel they gave to being a predator!predators and aliens stopping each others attacks i can understand but the marines should be very weak in that area! the enemy marine ai was obviously awful right from the start! also they broke the predator by giving him virtually no energy storage and no way to restore it without draining some marine tech, also gave him med kits......AVP2 had it better. and why has the amazing multi vision predator mask just turned in to thermal goggles?! where are the other visions?! AVP had 4 i was expecting more from this installment! I haven't even started the alien campaign as ive heard its the worst and may spare myself the dissapointment and just uninstall it. add to the awful game play choices the many errors and bugs many people have had, and it becomes questionable why they released this game in the state its in. So overall, i was expecting much more from this installment! It is a horrendous disappointment to realize i have waited so long for a new AVP game and this is what im presented with, combined with the thought that this sequel means there is no chance of a good version being released any time soon and i may have to wait another decade for something to beat AVP2, unless a mod that fixes the game is released. Expand
  19. SD
    Mar 18, 2010
    0
    I would have voted this game as a 6, but seeing the bizarrely high average score here I decided to try and bring it down a bit. Firstly, Rebellion have committed a cardinal sin by aligning their story with Paul Anderson
  20. MikeB.
    Feb 18, 2010
    0
    In my 25 years or so of gaming I have never been more disappointed in a game.I have both previous releases with the expansion(s).In the games defense,I AM 54 years old and don't have the best eyesight in the world but,after playing some 537 games on 6 different platforms I have never seen a more poorly lit or buggy game on release.This is also the first time I have ever written a In my 25 years or so of gaming I have never been more disappointed in a game.I have both previous releases with the expansion(s).In the games defense,I AM 54 years old and don't have the best eyesight in the world but,after playing some 537 games on 6 different platforms I have never seen a more poorly lit or buggy game on release.This is also the first time I have ever written a review of a game so,it has to reek large.If you have a 3D 120 Hz monitor it might be worth a look.With an Alienware and a Viewsonic it looks like crap.The AI for the marine mission bites a hard nugget and half the time I couldn't see where or how no matter what settings I used.....absolutely rediculous.I really hate feeling this way,also being a great fan of the movies and the games.It is a shame and a waste of 50 bucks. Expand
  21. PongoK
    Feb 19, 2010
    1
    Horrible waste of money...... Where are the mod tools ? Where are the old classic bot modes no bots ? wow rebellion thats a nice fund pushout shame shame. I would like a refund the only way i will keep this title is if they release mod tools.
  22. SteveM
    Feb 25, 2010
    4
    Whereas I had very high hopes for this game, when purchased I was sorely disappointed. The gameplay itself seems very dated and the controls are very clumbsy at times, verging on terrible. You will be even more unhappy if you were hoping to have a decent solo-player gaming experience, the campaigns are short and detatched from each other and overall game play is poor, due to the non Whereas I had very high hopes for this game, when purchased I was sorely disappointed. The gameplay itself seems very dated and the controls are very clumbsy at times, verging on terrible. You will be even more unhappy if you were hoping to have a decent solo-player gaming experience, the campaigns are short and detatched from each other and overall game play is poor, due to the non existent AI. The multiplayer is where the game has its redeeming features, although the slow servers and relativly poor controls pull this element of the game down as well. I look forward to when some dedicated servers come into play. A game that had such potential does not pull it off. If it didn't have the AvP franchise attached to it, people would be investing in better FPSs, for whihc there are plenty out there Expand
  23. TCC.
    Feb 25, 2010
    4
    Lacking basic features standard in most modern FPS like crouch, team balancing, dedicated servers, vote kick, and game play modes more interesting than variations of death match. Don't bother buying this until it is patched.
  24. C.R.
    Mar 19, 2010
    3
    -2 for buggs and poor preformance -5 playability I loved the first avp and know these games have NOTHING to do with the movies. I got the game for the title but was only able to finish it for my new sli setup. The marine camp. was just fine for the most part but the alien one was ruined by lack of challenge and poor finishing moves. The predator has been given a sever downgrade and i am -2 for buggs and poor preformance -5 playability I loved the first avp and know these games have NOTHING to do with the movies. I got the game for the title but was only able to finish it for my new sli setup. The marine camp. was just fine for the most part but the alien one was ruined by lack of challenge and poor finishing moves. The predator has been given a sever downgrade and i am really bummed out. (i hope you like fighting with claws cuz thats all you get) Aside from some clumbsy and quickly expendable "special" weapons you get claws and a catcall. 2 thumbs down After attempting the multiplayer and getting a feel for how the game is being treated i found myself putting this game on the shelf. Expand
  25. Landon
    Mar 21, 2010
    3
    Why can't I crouch or take cover like my opponents? Strafing to avoid fire or enemies doesn't feel as immersive as the stellar graphics and recycled story try hard to lend you. Overall the game was fair, but lacking in content. I beat the game at a slow pace in 12 hours. Considering the price-tag, there are other games that can provide more than quadruple the amount of game time Why can't I crouch or take cover like my opponents? Strafing to avoid fire or enemies doesn't feel as immersive as the stellar graphics and recycled story try hard to lend you. Overall the game was fair, but lacking in content. I beat the game at a slow pace in 12 hours. Considering the price-tag, there are other games that can provide more than quadruple the amount of game time per dollar invested. Especially considering all the maps/levels are basically used 3 times. The "replays" with the other species don't really draw you in after you have played your first; save for the ability to try out new toys and finishing moves. I have played far worse but far better. The game didn't really provide me the experience it's predecessor(s) did 10 years ago. The multi-player is little less intriguing than the games recycled plot. It almost seems the publishing studio put out the game with the recent buzz for the series in response to the movies. The series enthusiasts will enjoy slaying and surviving at any capacity, but the hungry gamer will be left feeling lacking after completing all 3 campaigns. Expand
  26. davids
    Mar 21, 2010
    1
    I can't believe how bad this game is - I have never felt the urge to write about a bad game before but this one is truly so awful that the word needs to go out. I was a major fan of the first and second avp games and was excited to see this new installment but believe me when I say the gameplay is truly terrible. In my book it only gets points on the visuals but even they become I can't believe how bad this game is - I have never felt the urge to write about a bad game before but this one is truly so awful that the word needs to go out. I was a major fan of the first and second avp games and was excited to see this new installment but believe me when I say the gameplay is truly terrible. In my book it only gets points on the visuals but even they become repetitive after a while. Jeez...so disappointed - im going to send an email to Rebellion to let them know that i will never purchase another game from them and that they should be embarrassed for releasing this horrible horrible game. Expand
  27. TomN
    Mar 22, 2010
    3
    This game is literally a half finished, totally unpolished game. If Rebellion considers it a finished game, I'd give it a 0 instead of a 5. Everything it does, aside from graphics, seems to be totally incomplete and still in concept phase. Predators and marines have a horrid weapon selection, No one can crouch. Alien controls are sloppy and unrefined, totally unlike the first AvP This game is literally a half finished, totally unpolished game. If Rebellion considers it a finished game, I'd give it a 0 instead of a 5. Everything it does, aside from graphics, seems to be totally incomplete and still in concept phase. Predators and marines have a horrid weapon selection, No one can crouch. Alien controls are sloppy and unrefined, totally unlike the first AvP 2000 alien. The sound effects are aweful, the smartgun sounds like a BB gun and the pred vision modes are a heartbeat instead of the traditional sounds.. (heartbeat wtf?) Im not sure weather its incompetence or just unethical purely money decision based game making but this game is lacking completely. Aside from a few very promising aesthetic touches -like aliens comming out of the walls just like in the movies - the overall Level design is wantonly short, simple, not scary, asinine and uninvolved. The voice acting is also mundane and aweful. Not only that, but the levels are recycled throughout the campaigns and you literally play thru them backwards from species to species. The menu has no music like the original games and multiplayer is just an aweful die constantly to extremely speedy insta kill spammer alien nightmare. What is really bad too, is the fact that they recycled some parts of their levels and just put them out as a "map pack" that costs 7 dollars. Its like who do these criminals think they are? they're just milking all the sheep for what theyre worth with a terrible, underdeveloped, talent lacking game, and its such a calamity! Expand
  28. adamw
    Mar 27, 2010
    0
    Let me first say that I loved the game aliens vs predator 2, in fact just pulled that one out and played it recently, much better game than this one, of course it was developed by a different company. Gave this game a 0 to help the overall review for the game be more realistic, pretty sure the only people giving this game a high review are getting paid to do so. This game was supposed to Let me first say that I loved the game aliens vs predator 2, in fact just pulled that one out and played it recently, much better game than this one, of course it was developed by a different company. Gave this game a 0 to help the overall review for the game be more realistic, pretty sure the only people giving this game a high review are getting paid to do so. This game was supposed to be a multi player game and you can see that in the single player, however there are no dedicated servers, so if you're lucky enough to even find a game then you'll have to deal with the horrible ping and constant drops. If you are dead set on playing this game in multi player make sure you have some friends that are willing to get this as well. Even then however the multi player is uninspired and pretty boring. One of the more irritating aspects of the game is the focus on melee combat and cinematic kills, once you figure out the melee mechanics it's not as annoying, but having to stand around for a few seconds to either stealth kill or trophy kill someone will irritate the shit out of you if you missed someone, who can literally stand next to you and shoot you until the animation is done, of course you'll be dead well before that, granted they are pretty cool, but get old after you've seen them all. Going to wrap this up even though I could go on with some other flaws. If you like the aliens and predator genre buy AVP2, you'll get a better game and save alot of money. If you want a good multiplayer game, get Left 4 Dead 2. Expand
  29. cody
    Mar 29, 2010
    0
    Horrible crap, low standard, rebelion has gone from a niche game company (sniper elite scored a 9 from me) to a panderer of uwe boll proportionate crap. This game has the dramatic mastery of Jamie Kennedy and the gripping suspense of every piece of crap you've seen on the SYFY channel at 11am. This is one of the worst put together and obviously rushed publisher cash cow's ever, Horrible crap, low standard, rebelion has gone from a niche game company (sniper elite scored a 9 from me) to a panderer of uwe boll proportionate crap. This game has the dramatic mastery of Jamie Kennedy and the gripping suspense of every piece of crap you've seen on the SYFY channel at 11am. This is one of the worst put together and obviously rushed publisher cash cow's ever, Jim cameron had better keep you freaking nuts clear of avatar, lest in 2 decades its only a laughable shadow of what it once promised. ALL in all i DO NOT know whats worse, the game, or the integrity lacking employees whom have made sure to agree with the most senior executives in the room, al the way to the unemployment line. DO yourself a favor and omit your portfolios of 2009. Expand
  30. Archeastor
    Mar 6, 2010
    4
    I loved AvP, I gobbed up AvP2. I am still a fan of the genre, but sadly Rebellion fell way short with this. The campaigns were short and the gameplay was a little rough. The graphic I thought were pretty, but being pretty doesn't cut it for gamers these days. I had hoped for a new AvP, but this is a disgrace, maybe should not have followed the movies as they sucked so much. I will I loved AvP, I gobbed up AvP2. I am still a fan of the genre, but sadly Rebellion fell way short with this. The campaigns were short and the gameplay was a little rough. The graphic I thought were pretty, but being pretty doesn't cut it for gamers these days. I had hoped for a new AvP, but this is a disgrace, maybe should not have followed the movies as they sucked so much. I will hope for a new AvP, but this is a waste of money for most gamers and even die hard AvP fans will find themselves hard pressed to enjoy this game. Need a better story line, or maybe just work on it for longer time period before slapping it together. Work on the character balancing, at very least remember that aliens are very dangerous but also very fragile (more speed, less health as someone else here mentions), Better AI it is suppose to be hard to be an Alien or a Predator, not just a Marine. All in all I was expecting something and Rebellion did not deliver. I am not happy with this. Expand
  31. PatT
    Mar 3, 2010
    0
    Alien vs Predator is the worst game I have ever played
  32. D-Fence
    Mar 4, 2010
    3
    This game could have been brilliant. The emphasis is on could. Here is what is positive: + Graphics + Ambience + Singleplayer + Multiple game modes And here is what is negative: - Alien controls. The camera keeps moving around like crazy as soon as you move f.e. from wall to ceiling or run over a little rock. Causes nausea. - Matchmaking system. More later. - Slight balance issues (imho. This game could have been brilliant. The emphasis is on could. Here is what is positive: + Graphics + Ambience + Singleplayer + Multiple game modes And here is what is negative: - Alien controls. The camera keeps moving around like crazy as soon as you move f.e. from wall to ceiling or run over a little rock. Causes nausea. - Matchmaking system. More later. - Slight balance issues (imho. for example the Predator's disc is way overpowered as it uses no energy and is a one-shot kill). - The map Pyramid. Dear God is it annoying. It's basically full of people who got lost running around wildly, Aliens get nausea because of the camera issue, Predators can just spam the Disc in the narrow tunnels and Marines just hope to hit whatever comes straight at them. - Scoring in Infestation. Why do only Aliens score in a game mode which humans win by staying alive??? The Matchmaking system. What is wrong with it? Well, first of all, when playing ranked, you select f.e. you want to play a Deathmatch. After hours of searching it finally finds a game you join. After more waiting, the game starts. When it ends, the game mode switches from Deathmatch to something else like Infestation. Which is just stupid. As well, there are fixed class limits, so you might be forced to play some class you don't like. Over and over again. Oh and you can't join ingame, so when you play a team deathmatch and your mates leave, well bad luck, you are alone and noone can join into the empty slots. As well, the game relies on players hosting, but allows people with the worst possible lines to host a 18 people game - who doesn't like 1000ms pings? Dedicated Servers are currently being beta-tested though, but not for ranked games.... Summary: This game has/had potential, I hope they patch it, otherwise it is a waste of money. Expand
  33. JakeF
    Mar 6, 2010
    0
    A new AvP game has been a long time coming, and it looks to be even longer. I am not sure what sort of joke this is, but it's a bad one. This game is the worst game I have played in a long time. I wouldn't play this game if it was free. I would seriously consider not playing this game if you paid me to play it. Where do I begin? Singleplayer is horrible (words cant describe how A new AvP game has been a long time coming, and it looks to be even longer. I am not sure what sort of joke this is, but it's a bad one. This game is the worst game I have played in a long time. I wouldn't play this game if it was free. I would seriously consider not playing this game if you paid me to play it. Where do I begin? Singleplayer is horrible (words cant describe how bad it is), Lag is awful, multiplayer matchmaking is worse than awful, the visuals are mediocre at best, the hit detection (perhaps due to the crippling lag) is awful, VOIP is so filled with static it's impossible to understand, there is no crouch button (what game doesn't let you crouch?), no flares for humans (even though there was supposed to be). You just die randomly, you spawn, you immediately die, rinse and repeat. The maps are the worst maps since the first avp. This is nothing more than a horribly flawed console port that should never seen the light of day. These shysters just want to dupe unsuspecting rubes into coughing up cash just because the name of the game has alien and predator in it. I say we take off and nuke the site from orbit. It's the only way to be sure. Expand
  34. Bor
    Mar 16, 2010
    0
    The Best Game!!!
  35. KB
    Mar 24, 2010
    1
    Same old tired story with no imgination or freshness. Very restricted Marine movements-NO crouch, NO leaning left or right, pathetic jumping ability. NO aiming down the sights *iron sights". NO new weapons or features. Todays 21st century soldiers have more advanced weapons than Spaced Based Marines hundreds of years in the future--Go Figure. Pathetic flashlight. Pathetic Flares Some sort Same old tired story with no imgination or freshness. Very restricted Marine movements-NO crouch, NO leaning left or right, pathetic jumping ability. NO aiming down the sights *iron sights". NO new weapons or features. Todays 21st century soldiers have more advanced weapons than Spaced Based Marines hundreds of years in the future--Go Figure. Pathetic flashlight. Pathetic Flares Some sort of pathetic night vision. OVERALL a PATHETIC first person shooter. Expand
  36. RusselN
    May 5, 2010
    0
    Aliens vs. Predator 2 is a far better game. The graphics aren't as good, but nobody loves a game just for its graphics! All the hype around this and they blew it. Fox seems determined to strangle every last penny out of the Alien vs. Predator story arc and they are killing it in the process.
  37. ChrisG
    Feb 22, 2010
    0
    I must say, this is one of the worst games I have ever played. Or rather, attempted to play. Multiplayer is a waste of time, I sat in a "lobby" for 10 minutes, waiting to find 7 more players. Once I got in, the game was so laggy that it instantly dropped me. Subsequent attempts were just as bad. Single player is just as buggy. I tried the Marine campaign first, as I figured it'd be I must say, this is one of the worst games I have ever played. Or rather, attempted to play. Multiplayer is a waste of time, I sat in a "lobby" for 10 minutes, waiting to find 7 more players. Once I got in, the game was so laggy that it instantly dropped me. Subsequent attempts were just as bad. Single player is just as buggy. I tried the Marine campaign first, as I figured it'd be easiest to play. Barely 10 minutes into the game, it crashed. Second attempt, crash in the same area. Third attempt, crash. Annoyed, I tried the Alien campaign. Same bloody thing. Definetely would NOT recommend this game to anyone. Expand
  38. Jul 31, 2012
    4
    I found this game extremely mediocre. To be fair, I was never a big fan of the Aliens universe to begin with, but the story did nothing to change my mind. It never really felt like immersing me. The marine campaign actually started the game off really for me. The atmosphere was tense and the action was enjoyable and well paced. The Predator and Alien campaigns, however, were not quite asI found this game extremely mediocre. To be fair, I was never a big fan of the Aliens universe to begin with, but the story did nothing to change my mind. It never really felt like immersing me. The marine campaign actually started the game off really for me. The atmosphere was tense and the action was enjoyable and well paced. The Predator and Alien campaigns, however, were not quite as well designed and tended to be fairly bland and ultimately unsatisfying. My experience of the multiplayer was one of frustration. It was difficult to find a match, and then when I finally got in, the action was kind of disappointing and some of the mechanics just felt really unfair. Overall, an unsatisfying experience. Expand
  39. DK
    Mar 19, 2010
    1
    I was really looking forward to this game, but I stopped booting it up after a week of wasted effort trying to get a decent multiplayer game going. The controls for the marine are terrible (no aiming down the rifle and no changing your posture) which makes the whole game feel wrong from a PC players perspective. Graphics and sounds are good but a little buggy at times, but most new games I was really looking forward to this game, but I stopped booting it up after a week of wasted effort trying to get a decent multiplayer game going. The controls for the marine are terrible (no aiming down the rifle and no changing your posture) which makes the whole game feel wrong from a PC players perspective. Graphics and sounds are good but a little buggy at times, but most new games are full of bugs these days. I would recommend buying this game when it is in the bargain bin on steam, but dont pay anymore that £15 for it. Expand
  40. JamesJ.
    Mar 14, 2010
    4
    Well big laugh, it's alright but the support sucks Big Time, i so wish the multiplayer would be better Because the amount of Hosts who leave when the match has nearly finished has to be sorted out NOW. SO YES BASICLY THEY ALL LEAVE WHILE THE MATCH HAS STARTED AND LOSE YOU'RE XP and i can't believe their isn't no servers half the Time, where has all the dedciated Well big laugh, it's alright but the support sucks Big Time, i so wish the multiplayer would be better Because the amount of Hosts who leave when the match has nearly finished has to be sorted out NOW. SO YES BASICLY THEY ALL LEAVE WHILE THE MATCH HAS STARTED AND LOSE YOU'RE XP and i can't believe their isn't no servers half the Time, where has all the dedciated servers gone strange. Expand
  41. TedC.
    Feb 26, 2010
    4
    Game lacks the features and polish needed to be a good game. No team balancing during matches, no vote kick, laggy matchmaking, only 6 maps, short uninspired single player, marine motion detectors distinguish friendlies from enemies making predator hunt less fun. Dedicated servers implied at launch, but in reality they are about to enter a closed beta test on the dedicated server software.
  42. EmilR
    Feb 19, 2010
    0
    Well bought the game getting all exited, installed the game all exited, tried to play the game. GAME WONT WORK as advertised, constantly have to verify game intregrity, because apparently the game Random corrupt's.. In the 48 hour ive had this game, ive played a little over 9 hours total, in 20 minute's pices as the game constantly crashes or forces the PC to restart, or the Well bought the game getting all exited, installed the game all exited, tried to play the game. GAME WONT WORK as advertised, constantly have to verify game intregrity, because apparently the game Random corrupt's.. In the 48 hour ive had this game, ive played a little over 9 hours total, in 20 minute's pices as the game constantly crashes or forces the PC to restart, or the screen just goes black.. Nice game, bow im trying to get my money back from the Online shop i bought the game from.. I hope i have better Luck with Napoleon Total war.. Expand
  43. Dec 3, 2011
    4
    The graphics are amazing and the storyline can be scary at times (as all AvP games are) but the lack of dedicated server support for multi-player killed this game for me. I don't think I've seen anyone just kill the potential for a game like this.
  44. May 20, 2012
    0
    Nice Design, Good looking game... Predator was such a Downgrade from
    Predator in Aliens Vs Predator 2... when you play a game with Predator
    and Marine you feal like you are just a slow retarded idiot... Dont get me started on how people block predator claw with there gun everytime! this is not Mortal Kombat FFS. Very boring game. I did not even try as Alien. Predator in AvP 2 had so much
    Nice Design, Good looking game... Predator was such a Downgrade from
    Predator in Aliens Vs Predator 2... when you play a game with Predator
    and Marine you feal like you are just a slow retarded idiot... Dont
    get me started on how people block predator claw with there gun everytime!
    this is not Mortal Kombat FFS. Very boring game. I did not even try as Alien. Predator in AvP 2 had so much weapons his secondary atack with claw
    was not automatic you could hold it as much as you want it and it would only
    hit when you let go mouse button 2, and he had so much more weapons. When
    you play with him in this game you are just to weak and doing a auto jump then not crouch and jump just like in AvP 2 just lol.
    What about glass botles, when you shoot them they bounce off! come on
    soo lazy... haha epic fail.
    Expand
  45. GmanH
    Feb 26, 2010
    2
    What can I say. I played the demo which was seriously messed up, but made the mistake of thinking I could see the potential lurking beneath. Then I played the game, and realised that rebellion would insure I would never get to see that potential fullfilled. The game is unfinished, and a complete mess. There are numerous bugs which will cause you problems even getting the game started. What can I say. I played the demo which was seriously messed up, but made the mistake of thinking I could see the potential lurking beneath. Then I played the game, and realised that rebellion would insure I would never get to see that potential fullfilled. The game is unfinished, and a complete mess. There are numerous bugs which will cause you problems even getting the game started. Once you get it started you are faced with a multiplayer system which currently lacks the dedicated servers announced before launch. (They have only just started to work on building them, so it could easily be months before the game has functional D/S support). The player match system lets you browse for lobbies and lobbies only. You cannot join a game which is allready in progress. The player match system lists lobbies with no info on ping. In every single player match I have tried, my ping, and that of everyone else in the game except the host, has been 500 -1000. Ranked games...well you can use them if you want, but then you will run into yet more issues. If the host gets pissed off and quits, the game is over and you return back to the menu to look for another game. You will often join a game, and thanks to the messed up mellee system, and the tiny size of all 6 maps (yes, you read that right; this is a multiplayer release which comes with a grand total of 6 maps), the games will often end in under 2 minutes. Considering it may well have taken you 5 minutes to get into the game, thats a problem, especially when combined with the fact that when the game ends, you are again returned back to the main menu, where your pain starts all over again. Expand
  46. CraigD.
    Feb 18, 2010
    4
    You can tell that the developers working on this didnt truely love the Alien, Predator universe. This game could have been alot better and alot more polished. the story line and cut-scens are thin, not much story to be had to be honest, very poor. What i dont get also is why do dead people, creatures, predators sill produce a heat signiture? The still glow red/orange/white, even though You can tell that the developers working on this didnt truely love the Alien, Predator universe. This game could have been alot better and alot more polished. the story line and cut-scens are thin, not much story to be had to be honest, very poor. What i dont get also is why do dead people, creatures, predators sill produce a heat signiture? The still glow red/orange/white, even though they are dead when using Pred vision instead of being black/dark blue or slowly turning that color if you just killed them like the Scorpion in the original Predator film? Most of the AVP films, predator films and alien(s) films happen at night or in the darkness of space but for some reason only the first part of he marine mission is in building full of dark corridors, once you get outside its day time and kills the atmospheres that was so great in the first portion. I was really looking forard to this game and i have been really let down, sure the multi-player may be decent for those who love multi-player and think they own everyone else but for me it was the single player stories that would make/break this game and unfortunately its been downright demolished. The game is buggy and slightly broken also, atleast the PC version, for instance as the predator i was trying to jump onto a piece of land below me but the cursor just wouldnt let me do it, it wouldnt change to the "open" position, i then tried to "distract" someone to that place, again wouldnt work, yet a piece of land further away would allow me to do this. Also the "acting" is bad or badly scripted, for example one of the marines is talking about the "creatures" after them, its not only aliens they have to worry about he says "why does everything hear hate our guts", come on its an 18 game "hate our guts"? He should say things "why is it everything on this goddam planet is trying to kill us" or "why is everything trying to fucking kill us man". They should have taken most of their inspiration for this from the film "Aliens" with more dialogue like the colonial marines in that, they kind of do but get it seriously wrong by trying to emulate Vasquez as a female soldire called "Tequila"... They should have tried to emulate Hudson, Hicks. the Sargeant at the start shows promise but you only see him very briefly at the start and then the next time you see him you have to kill him because hes been impregnated, they should have allowed you to interact with him more, even fight along side him. They throw you into solo play far too quickly also and the way they do that isnt even with a good story because you get knocked out as pretty much right away in the drop ship and from then on only see semi blacked out fragments of whats happening, very very lame. Seems instead of using the Aliens as a reference they used one of those crappy AVP films, i know its an AVP game but they could have incorporated the Aliens story/vibe, which they do, but only briefly and not that well. poor poor poor effort, even the decent graphics cant make up for a poor storyline. Sad, lets hope Colonial Marines gets released and they learn from the mistakes/shortfall of this game or have a better team on it to begin with. Expand
  47. SmoerbleS
    Mar 2, 2010
    3
    It's an "ok" game. What is not so good: boring story, very bad animations compared to other new games (models act like 5 years ago), in general the game has no "wow" effect, if you played some other games in the last 3 years. I expected more athmosphear (the first AvP had a better "pressure" athmosphere), I expected better animations, I expected a real story and missions (it's It's an "ok" game. What is not so good: boring story, very bad animations compared to other new games (models act like 5 years ago), in general the game has no "wow" effect, if you played some other games in the last 3 years. I expected more athmosphear (the first AvP had a better "pressure" athmosphere), I expected better animations, I expected a real story and missions (it's "just go there to get off the planet"). Last point: the missions are totally static, you don't have secondary routes or possibilities (except as alien, you can use vents, wow, how impressing), so it has no surprises or nice ideas at all :(. Most players will think, it's "ok", but today a lot games show more unique ideas and better stories. Expand
  48. YII7-
    Mar 3, 2010
    4
    Total waste of money .... this title is not worth its cost. single player is almost a replica of the first AVP movie and its quite short , gameplay wise... Although you get some moments of challange overall its just offers buffed up graphics.Nothing exiting or interesting made with the plot. Multiplayer is a total let down, no dedicated servers... since you get a message saying its only Total waste of money .... this title is not worth its cost. single player is almost a replica of the first AVP movie and its quite short , gameplay wise... Although you get some moments of challange overall its just offers buffed up graphics.Nothing exiting or interesting made with the plot. Multiplayer is a total let down, no dedicated servers... since you get a message saying its only in beta.... And player servers constanly drop crash or leave games in the middle because some players dont like to lose or dont want to play marines.... and even if your lucky to start a game (after a very long loading time), you see you ping is above 170 since theres is no connection information on the lobby. All you have left is unplayable Multiplayer. And what do you get on a succesful Ranked match Xp, which opens up new skins.... its not a modeling contest its AVP..... it should have been something useful. Im really sorry I wasted my money on this. Expand
  49. PerusA
    Feb 19, 2010
    1
    I know this going to be hard to believe but,some of us couldn't care less about multiplayer.that said.....the SP experience is disgusting,you can't see the screen in half the levels,even the easy difficulty surprises you with random stutter bugs.Even with experimenting with monitor settings,drivers,etc there is no change.I still play the first 2 games an both are much prettier I know this going to be hard to believe but,some of us couldn't care less about multiplayer.that said.....the SP experience is disgusting,you can't see the screen in half the levels,even the easy difficulty surprises you with random stutter bugs.Even with experimenting with monitor settings,drivers,etc there is no change.I still play the first 2 games an both are much prettier and more fun.What we have here is another worthless Gears look alike.If I wanted the games I play to look like Somalia on a bad weekend I would visit Beirut naked with a rose in my teeth.Waste of money and time. Expand
  50. AngrySquirrel
    Feb 21, 2010
    2
    what a step backward from AVP 2. Here's a quick breakdown of the problems with this game: Marines - can't crouch. no night vision. can't lean around corner. Basically you stand in front of your enemy blasting away and see who falls first. Wheres the correct smart gun sound? How about including the mini gun from AVP 1? Predator - recharge your system through a power outlet? what a step backward from AVP 2. Here's a quick breakdown of the problems with this game: Marines - can't crouch. no night vision. can't lean around corner. Basically you stand in front of your enemy blasting away and see who falls first. Wheres the correct smart gun sound? How about including the mini gun from AVP 1? Predator - recharge your system through a power outlet? Did rebellion even watch the movies? Alien power cell is in his frikkin arm pad. It has the power of a nuclear reactor? Why would you need to recharge? Using energy for mines? They're not energy powered. They are MINES. Did rebellion play avp2? You can't melee with combi stick? You can only throw it? Retards. Where is the predator net? Where is the spear gun? Where is the pred pistol? Did they do any research on the characters before making the game? Jeesh. Did they speak with Lance Hendrickson or just tell about the series or did they tell him to just read some lines? The energy for the pred would recharge over time. And where is the freedom of movement for the pred? He's only limited to jumping to certain designated areas?? Aliens - only ones who can break glass or lights? Physics only applies to them? They can only crouch all the time? They can't stand (well the bots in single player can stand but you can't - that is just bizzare). You have to go through some kind of wierd combination to do a head bite. You can't evolve like in avp 2. Wheres the pred alien? Where's the pretorian? Miscellaneous - human bots can detect cloaked aliens like nobodys business but can't seem to see aliens hiding in the dark. However, androids cannot detect cloaked predators better than humans even though some of them can actually cloak themselves. what's up with a double barrel shotgun? Single pump action or semi auto Remington shotgun. Where's the 3 round burst for a marine pistol (not in movies). There are more problems but I'm just getting pissed writing this review so I'm going to stop here. What a total waste of money. IMO the avp 1 (the first one) was the best game to capture the aliens movie. The developers claim they did a lot of research and took feedback from users as to what they liked best about the prior avps and would incorporate those features into the new avp game. They didn't. These morons just don't get it. Flashy graphics do NOT make a good game. Average graphics with attention to game play and details is what makes a good game. Originally I was going to give this game a 3 but now it's down to a 2 because of all the lies and hype customers were fed before this game came out. For those of you who gave this game high ratings, I invite you to play the previous games and make your rating off of them, keeping in mind that the earlier game are almost 8 years old now. Expand
  51. DanJ
    Feb 22, 2010
    0
    I found the marine was most fu nto play altho it needs a second game just to clear up the ending. Predator nothign to get excited about it was however much better to me fro mthe previous games. Alien has been destroyed. it's pretty much useless. If the game mariens used motion trackers and looked up you'd be killed, you run in to a pred it can melee kill you from behind. I was I found the marine was most fu nto play altho it needs a second game just to clear up the ending. Predator nothign to get excited about it was however much better to me fro mthe previous games. Alien has been destroyed. it's pretty much useless. If the game mariens used motion trackers and looked up you'd be killed, you run in to a pred it can melee kill you from behind. I was really enjoying single player until I got to the aliens campaign where it's just ruined them, predators have better and faster melee and ranged attacks. Alien can't even jump (you just bounce between floor, ceiling and walls) the wall walking is annoying as you can run up somewalls but then you have to hold a button down to turn a corner or get over a light/vent fitting. Also they released the game without dedicated server files and with huge bugs i nthe system, every 5 minutes you get lag in SP. HOW CAN SP LAG? and because they haven't even commented or spoek to the community since it was released we're getting nothing from Rebellion which after producing a half arsed game just shows huge disrespect from all the gamers. I would strongly advise agaisnt buying this game! Expand
  52. ajc.
    Feb 25, 2010
    0
    No dedicated servers. crashes. bugs. voip issues. no one plays it online. it takes forever to find a game via match making. match making when you find a ga me only goes on to be a laggy experience. visit the game's steam or sega forums you will only see people racing to find refund options. DO NOT BUY.
  53. AlexS
    Feb 25, 2010
    3
    I have been a big fan of this franchise for many years until it turned bad with the AVP series of movies. I was a big fan of the original AVP game, but this is nowhere near as enjoyable. The graphics are crap (my PC will only do up to direct X 10 - this game can only be played with either direct X 9 or 11), the aliens weave all over the screen to the point where you are so outmatched by I have been a big fan of this franchise for many years until it turned bad with the AVP series of movies. I was a big fan of the original AVP game, but this is nowhere near as enjoyable. The graphics are crap (my PC will only do up to direct X 10 - this game can only be played with either direct X 9 or 11), the aliens weave all over the screen to the point where you are so outmatched by aliens in terms of their movement that u wonder how you would ever survive with a pulse rifle. In short if you are hoping for an enjoyable fps experience look elsewhere. This game is tedious to the xtreme. I enjoyed left for dead far more ... the playability of l4d is far superior to this poor excuse of a game. Unfortunately they are now doing with the games what they have done with the movies...cutting corners and paying as little attention to detail and quality as their budget sheets allow. It is a shame to see such an incredbile franchise be subjected to profit over quality. But can you really balme them when people keep on buying in the vain hope that there will be a quality product made at some point? My advice to everyone: the next aliens, avp etc title that comes out, play it pirated first and if its good buy it. I wish I had not wasted my money on this one. PS I agree with all the negative reviews on this forum so far. Expand
  54. Dec 14, 2014
    3
    I've played through this multiple times and I have finally come to a conclusion.

    Artificial Intelligence The marines are beyond stupid, they show no recognition of each others existence and they show no emotion when they discover that one of there comrades has mysteriously and violently died. The Alien AI is also pretty stupid, they run directly towards you or they run up a wall only
    I've played through this multiple times and I have finally come to a conclusion.

    Artificial Intelligence
    The marines are beyond stupid, they show no recognition of each others existence and they show no emotion when they discover that one of there comrades has mysteriously and violently died. The Alien AI is also pretty stupid, they run directly towards you or they run up a wall only to jump back down again.

    Marine Campaign
    The Marine campaign consists of walking around empty corridors and reaching marines moments after they die proving that the AI is so unbelievably stupid that the developers have to kill them all off using scripted events, there's no point going into detail about the Marine campaign because its really really generic. If you were looking for a Colonial Marines Squad experience you're out of luck because you spend the entire campaign on your own. Also a fellow Marine called Tequila talks into your ear for most of the game and she will annoy the hell out of you.

    Alien Campaign
    The Alien Campaign starts off quite promising but quickly goes downs hill when you meet the mentally retarded Marines who have no knowledge of each others existence, so you spend the entire campaign scuttling about killing off Marines one by one until the game tells you that you've won.

    Predator Campaign
    The Predator Campaign is really really boring, you simply jump about killing off mentally retarded Marines and having the occasional fight against a group of Aliens using disorientating melee attacks.

    Multiplayer
    The multiplayer is a tiny tiny tiny little bit better than the singleplayer but not something I would pay money for. The multiplayer maps are really small and most of them are recycled from the singleplayer. The multiplayer is almost dead and the only gamemode played is Team Deathmatch.

    Overall
    I can't believe that people are calling this the best game ever because its awful compared to its predecessor Alien vs Predator 2. If you want a real AvP experience then go play Alien vs Predator 2 because its a fantastic game that has stood the test of time.
    Expand
  55. Mar 25, 2013
    4
    i was reading the back of the game and it sat 3 campains so i thouhgt nice.
    when i begon playing it was over so soon 3 campains with no story voices and short.
    the only fun campain was that one of the marine. and the one of the preditor is first person too you tount got any gun so you only have nives you. the alien campain i playt like 1 hour and is just made do destroy your pc to
    i was reading the back of the game and it sat 3 campains so i thouhgt nice.
    when i begon playing it was over so soon 3 campains with no story voices and short.
    the only fun campain was that one of the marine.
    and the one of the preditor is first person too you tount got any gun so you only have nives you.
    the alien campain i playt like 1 hour and is just made do destroy your pc to fast first person and very ****.
    the multiplayer is just the worst ever made.
    Expand
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. A good campaign, the marine one, and some variety in gameplay mechanics provide a quite fun experience. Unfortunately some ideas lack polish and the other two-thirds of the single player are just not as good as they were supposed to be.
  2. Aliens Vs Predator is a standard First Person Shooter, but thanks to the Predator's and Xenomorph's campaigns, it entertains old and new players. Even the multiplayer mode is funny and well structured, but the graphics engine is not that good.
  3. The controls for Predators and Xenomorphs may be a bit tricky and the AI sometimes doesn't show any "Intelligence" at all, but nevertheless: AvP is a most-have for fans of the movies, as well as the games - especially if you're into absolute multiplayer-mayhem and dont mind "some" gore.