America's Army 3 PC

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 369 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 65 out of 369

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JustinW
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    As a game designer I know that I have higher standards than that which is cost effective. I rated the game's gameplay, realism, physics, graphics, sound, interface and player-base. I scored each area compared to other popular fps titles. Overall it came in first-place. But when I broke it down certain aspects could definitely be worked on. The scores I see by critics and by other As a game designer I know that I have higher standards than that which is cost effective. I rated the game's gameplay, realism, physics, graphics, sound, interface and player-base. I scored each area compared to other popular fps titles. Overall it came in first-place. But when I broke it down certain aspects could definitely be worked on. The scores I see by critics and by other users appear to extremely biased. Their scoring only shows lack of knowledge of the game and how to play it. The training and a few other features are designed to give people a feel for what to expect from joining the army. It also is a great way to intro the controls and weapon systems. If you pay attention to the training you can actually learn something. The new AA3 training system scored 1st place compared to other games with similar systems. Now for many people coming into America's Army they are used to the run faster with a knife tactic. Yes, you would run faster armed with a knife than an assault rifle. But, the fact remains that you got all the rest of your gear equiped at the same time. Also, just because you technically could run faster with all that gear on doesn't make it strategic to. The running system is designed to match that of a trained soldier. They use realistic distant that an average soldier could repeat throughout a battle without becoming unctrollably winded. The tactics required for maximum affectiveness in the game are applicable for real-world combat situations. Due to this, AA3 ranked 1st in realism. Gameplay typically relates to how the game is played out. With AA I focused alot on its 1 life per round, team tactics, scenarios, and communication system. The run and gun tactic will quickly annoy the victims and afflictor. 1 life makes staying alive more precious. Depending on the skill of the server and your personal ability to fight as a soldier you can be spectating up to 90% of the time. For people like this, the game is quickly discarded. To survive you must understand proper team tactics. The game is designed to create as many tactical scenerios as possible. The gameplay allows a squad to pin and create confusion among OpFor. This allows for teams to flank the position. The game provides a battle planner that the squad leader is able to coordinate attacks among the fire teams. Although AA3 has quite a realistic gameplay it a few titles had better system for increasing playing time for everyone. It came in 3rd with related FPS styled games. The graphics are great. It is hard to determine opfor from friendlies. It takes a trained eye to identify threats and neutralize them. Other games you can lower the graphics and easily identify and target enemies. The graphics received 1st place. Through UT3 and few other titles receive honorable mention due to the artistic details visible in the gameplay. While AA2 had become overwhelmed with hackers and everyone got mad at everyone. AA3 has a revolutionary system to forgive unattentional Friendly Fire. This system creates alot more peace among players and people are most readily available to provide medical aid to fallen comrades. Going from Army of One to Army strong takes a change of mindset. But, once you learn the concept the game is alot more rewarding and enjoyable. I hope everyone learns how to play the game. and I hope to see you all on the battlefield. Hooah! Expand
  2. ANgeloC
    Dec 4, 2009
    8
    Slow Paced, ultra intelligent, team based strategy shooter.. love it for its realism. If you like Run and Gun games, this isnt for you.
  3. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Lots of teamwork (even on public servers), decent graphics, intelligent level design (steep learning curve - immersive environments), weapons feel realistic (you're forced to use iron sights and control your breathing if wish to hit anything that isn't close range), realistic damage/medic system... I love this game; I've been playing AA since 2004. Sure, it took a little getting use to (ILots of teamwork (even on public servers), decent graphics, intelligent level design (steep learning curve - immersive environments), weapons feel realistic (you're forced to use iron sights and control your breathing if wish to hit anything that isn't close range), realistic damage/medic system... I love this game; I've been playing AA since 2004. Sure, it took a little getting use to (I miss SF Hospital, Urban Assault, bunny hopping, the ragdoll effects, the perceived straight-forwardness of AA2), but once you get use to the new feel of AA3, you'll be rewarded with an amazing experience. Expand
  4. JohanD
    Sep 6, 2009
    9
    It's a very good realistic war/fpsgame that simulates how it could be/are in the real world. Good graphics, realistic sound. Not so good is that the communicationspanel can be a bit hard to use from time to time and some minor bugs ingame. Otherwise a very good game and a free game with this kind of caliber is a job well done
  5. NicholasB
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    This game is a fantastic, FREE game. I do not understand why people are complaining about bugs, it is true that there are obvious bugs to be fixed, but the gameplay, realism, and tactics make up for it. If you love playing COD on the easiest mode, just running and gunning everything down or burning stuff, then this is NOT the game for you.
  6. Tooluka
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    Really impressive tactical shooter and it's free. In v.3.0.5 the majority of bugs are solved, only real trouble are strange weapon freezes. They happen rarely (I've seen it only once) and people say that is side effects of hacking software.
  7. MilesR.
    Feb 18, 2010
    8
    This game is probably the most realistic I have played, but there are many glitches and few weapons. At this point, I'm just waiting until they can fix the glitches. A great game, though. Definitely get this game when there is news of fixed glitches.
  8. JayJ.
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    AA3 is the most realistic FPS Game there is. No other FPS game adds the realism of breathing when Firing, catching your breath when running, maintaining correct sight picture with no aiming sight like I did in RL and realistic weapon travel when firing a weapon. No Game is like RL, but this one comes closer then any other FPS I have played.
  9. JohnDoe
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    Great game! Free Game! What more could you ask for!
  10. NKremer
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    Really great game, and its coming a long way. The thing about AA3 is that it brings a lot of longevity and replayability. There are always going to be new patches and content, as well as new players and maps. AA3 is an ongoing project, and you can be sure that you will enjoy yourself from training to instense close quarters combat!
  11. RossD.
    Jul 4, 2009
    8
    Overall a fun game, much better than AA2. I like the teamwork aspect, and if you have VOIP it makes it even more fun as you can communicate with everyone in your squad giving you an adaptive strategy. As of now it's still a little buggy, but I'm hoping in a month or two that will all be sorted out.
  12. -CFH-Sycholic
    Sep 4, 2009
    9
    Ive read all the prior reviews its funny more then anything Ive found that allmost all of the complaints about this game I dont suffer from, Im running this on a AMD 2800+ Athlon XP yes a 5 year old 32 bit system.. and it pretty much runs flawlessly. and 2 days download? sorry took me less then 3 hours on cable including all patches. Ive played AA2 for a long time, and this is just Ive read all the prior reviews its funny more then anything Ive found that allmost all of the complaints about this game I dont suffer from, Im running this on a AMD 2800+ Athlon XP yes a 5 year old 32 bit system.. and it pretty much runs flawlessly. and 2 days download? sorry took me less then 3 hours on cable including all patches. Ive played AA2 for a long time, and this is just totally thrown this up to another notch. Its free. Yes it has bugs but you know what its a redone with a whole new engine. The Unreal 3 engine which even supports physX! The realism factor is top notch. Ive played alot of FPS games and soon as they come out with some more bug fixes this game imho will be a total 10. As for propoganda? What propooganda? It gives you the feel of going thru BT (which btw you dont even have to do if you dont want) Only beef I have is that its truely hard on older machines, but if you dig into some of the settings there is ways to help that issue. Even at its most basic level of graphic settings it still looks insane. This game has only one way to go and that is pushing to the top and I truely see that happening. Considering the cost I cant see why people should complain, take those issues report them and help the Dev's fix them. Lets make this game rock. Expand
  13. BAR_gun
    Sep 5, 2009
    10
    The Best game so far, I really wouldn't care about the things that most people brag about the game but, Its better than the AA 2.0 without a doubt. all i got to say is that its still not Perfect. needs few tweaks around... So we better give the devs some time to Solve the problem.
  14. Vytautas
    Sep 9, 2009
    9
    Not a bad game by any means. Really can live up to it's predecessors and surpass them. All we can do is wait. Right now the 3,0,6 patch is coming out and it is addressing A LOT of bugs. Just like with the previous installments we have to just wait and see. As I've mentioned: it has great potential and with such trouble with the devs, it's actually doing good (wasn't canceled).
  15. PiergiorgioS
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Awesome game! Team based strategy shooter, very realistic! I love it
  16. BlueH
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    It is a good game becuse yit got nice grafik and you can win things on it like badgets and steam archivments :P
  17. PatrickA.
    Nov 30, 2009
    9
    America's Army was originally and still is designed to be used as a recruitment tool. So people can say what they want to about the propaganda, but it's what paid the bill. It's free, but yet everyone expects it to be like a Modern Warfare or something. It's been built to be as realistic as you can get. Right down to the gravity affected bullet drop to the fact you America's Army was originally and still is designed to be used as a recruitment tool. So people can say what they want to about the propaganda, but it's what paid the bill. It's free, but yet everyone expects it to be like a Modern Warfare or something. It's been built to be as realistic as you can get. Right down to the gravity affected bullet drop to the fact you can't run any faster with one weapon or the other, (you still are carrying ALL the weight), so like in real combat it don't change. I, like some of my other real Army buddies had problems with the added realism in the beginning, but the fact that I'm using a flat screen helps..LOL If you are wanting a game..Go spend your coin and buy one, you want to see what a soldier deals with...stick around.... Expand
  18. JustinD
    Nov 8, 2009
    9
    This game is the best realistic tactical simulation I have ever seen! The controls are wonderful, the gameplay is very fun and the game looks good. Granted, there are some bugs (as in every game) but you can get over them and I'm sure future updates will rectify them.
  19. ChrisM
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best games ever produced. Clear vision and mission with the game and followed by consequent implementation.
  20. LauriK
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    Absolutely awesome game! Very realistic, but could have smaller requirements.
  21. ClausR.
    Oct 23, 2009
    8
    First of all the game is free... Yes there are bugs but the devs are working on it and the game is getting better.
  22. Yangd.
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    1. sure there WAS a lot of glitches at the start, but now there are barely any, and dismiss those who give this game a 0 because it doesn't work for them. That's a problem on their side, not the games 2. factor in the the fact that this game is FREE. 3. This game is good, very few glitches NOW, and these reviews need to be updated, this game deserves a 8.5 -9.2 in general.
  23. DanielH.
    Oct 27, 2009
    9
    I think this new version of AA3 is awesome and has nice new features. Yes it has a few bugs like any new game but with a few patches this will turn out to be great game play. If you want realistic, this is it. If you want team play for success this is it. I think the graphics are a little weak as I think the Unreal engine runs great but is not that pretty and it could use more maps but I think this new version of AA3 is awesome and has nice new features. Yes it has a few bugs like any new game but with a few patches this will turn out to be great game play. If you want realistic, this is it. If you want team play for success this is it. I think the graphics are a little weak as I think the Unreal engine runs great but is not that pretty and it could use more maps but these things come with time.. Best game play on the market for sure. With CoD MW2 not having any dedicated servers this game will overtake the first spot for serious FPS gamers. Expand
  24. TangoD.
    Oct 8, 2009
    9
    Honestly, this game is not where I would like it to be right now. However, I really like what I see of the philosophy of the developers as far as gameplay, incorporating teamwork, and UI functionality/back-end stats etc. I wish there were less post-release bugs but when those things are smoothed out this game will deserve the high rating.
  25. JohnF
    Jul 15, 2009
    9
    One of the single most amazing multi-player games out there, not to mention its FREE. That in itself is a 5. It has stellar graphics for people who can run it well (essentially, if you can run IV on minimal/moderate specs, you can run this highest specs available with next to no FPS drops below 30), and amazing gameplay. Several things knock this to an 8, however. 1) No text-based chat, One of the single most amazing multi-player games out there, not to mention its FREE. That in itself is a 5. It has stellar graphics for people who can run it well (essentially, if you can run IV on minimal/moderate specs, you can run this highest specs available with next to no FPS drops below 30), and amazing gameplay. Several things knock this to an 8, however. 1) No text-based chat, 2) Heavily bugged release, and 3) An incredibly confusing game to get the hang of the controls for. Other than that, stellar job US Army! Expand
  26. PW
    Jul 18, 2009
    10
    It's a really good game. Bugs are still in the game, but the Dev's are working on it. The game has only been released a month. For this set time of period, it's an amazing realistic game! All stuff that there is not a cheat protection has been solved. Like before PB allready worked, but you see it in your screen now! Stop complaining and play yourself! Oh and btw. Lag is It's a really good game. Bugs are still in the game, but the Dev's are working on it. The game has only been released a month. For this set time of period, it's an amazing realistic game! All stuff that there is not a cheat protection has been solved. Like before PB allready worked, but you see it in your screen now! Stop complaining and play yourself! Oh and btw. Lag is mostly made by a player that has amazingly high ping! Not by servers! Expand
  27. TylerT
    Aug 16, 2009
    9
    This "Recruitment Game" has so much potential and could be much better then it already is, so far the U.S. Army's game developers are releasing many patches to fix many of the problems. I have noticed that their are less bugs then what people bicker about, and is now having another patch being tested to cover up more bugs and finally re-release the Training Missions. The game's This "Recruitment Game" has so much potential and could be much better then it already is, so far the U.S. Army's game developers are releasing many patches to fix many of the problems. I have noticed that their are less bugs then what people bicker about, and is now having another patch being tested to cover up more bugs and finally re-release the Training Missions. The game's mix of fast cooperative play and insane realism will let it go off with a boom when the game is finally cleared of bugs (people remember that it was recently released this year and WILL have bugs). The bullet dynamics are insane and realistic, most FPS' you have to shoot right at the person to hit them no matter how they move, and this one you actually have to shoot in front of the person in order to hit them if they are running, (Very similar if you were to shoot someone in real life might I add). Overall the game is great for anyone looking for a fun and cooperative play with military tactics (as of this date because some bugs are cleared and you will not crash often anymore). Expand
  28. MadhanS
    Sep 11, 2009
    9
    America's Army 3 is a good game. It has lot of bugs in the first release but it managed its game in patch 3.0.6.I read the comment of Justin G , I think you have to review after the game was played.**** stop commenting game doesnt play on my computer,becuz your computer is not good.America's Army should provide a lot of maps.
  29. MikeTheeck
    Sep 10, 2009
    9
    It is a great game and some graphics are amazing, others look like anti-aliasing just isn't working. The Army had contract problems which left it in an unfinished state, but it is being updated more and more (huge 1.24 Gb update today). The game takes intelligence and teamwork, don't like that? Don't whine, just go play CoD4 with the other fan boys....
  30. LWout
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    Outstanding game providing you have an up to date system and a decent ISP. Those who experience the most problems have neither. It takes a higher level of maturity to be able to play and understand your role and taking the time to do basic training is a must.It took under an hour to download and set it up unlike others claims of two day download.
  31. MattR
    Sep 2, 2009
    9
    oh please, 7.1 and a 6.1? go back to grand theft auto and get a hooker or something, its a free game with good graphics and good game play. granted it had a solid start, the game is now stable and playable, more stuff will be added with each new patch. its sad to think "new" games like grand theft auto with the lovely boxy graphics are getting high ratings while a free game with better oh please, 7.1 and a 6.1? go back to grand theft auto and get a hooker or something, its a free game with good graphics and good game play. granted it had a solid start, the game is now stable and playable, more stuff will be added with each new patch. its sad to think "new" games like grand theft auto with the lovely boxy graphics are getting high ratings while a free game with better graphics gets a lower rating. but people say it screams army propaganda... WTF are you an idiot... you have to be... it was MADE BY THE US ARMY, must be too realistic for other people with gravity effecting bullets. most bugs have been fixed and others are being worked on, this game is worth it... these reviews now seem old and out of date, which is sad to say the least. if your anti government and anti military... DONT PLAY IT... you must be slow.... get over it and dont play it... most reviews are miss leading and sad... boo. Expand
  32. BryceCh
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    The potential in this game is amazing... with the next patch coming out withins a few days it will ramp up this game to be the leading FPS in the coming future... thats not to mention how it compliments my system running with a fraction the glitchs of most people i have fun and have spent over 200 hours playing this game
  33. SamB
    Jan 17, 2010
    9
    Fix the bugs and give us more maps and i'll give it a solid 10
  34. KaiserR
    Jan 19, 2010
    9
    Its a pretty good game ive followed it since the 1st patch and it has been getting better and better but if this keeps up.. users will have to buy a really good graphic card just for this game xD
  35. nipelinoNicolas
    Jan 25, 2010
    9
    I find that game and is too well done but I want the graphics and all the weapons are a little better, but I still would play a se is too cool
  36. JacobD
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    An amazingly realistic FPS! This shooter will put yo in the boots of a soldier. With realistic graphics, great animation, tense action, and lots of shooting stuff up (for a tactical game, that is). I cannot express how much I like this game. Come on and join the AA3 community, we need more players!
  37. NunoC.
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    this is a great game!!! Real sounds, nice graphics and a very nice gameplay with new features like health system, at this moment i have almost 90 hours played. HOOAH
  38. BenW
    Nov 4, 2009
    8
    Not as good as the FPS competitors, but good enough to make you want to keep playing. No blood or brain splatter, and no awesome airstrikes and helicopters like in COD4. However, the teamwork incorporated in this game has a bright future. No more will people split up and run around like crazy. Waypoints your own peers set and strategies you come up with can make it onto the battlefield. Not as good as the FPS competitors, but good enough to make you want to keep playing. No blood or brain splatter, and no awesome airstrikes and helicopters like in COD4. However, the teamwork incorporated in this game has a bright future. No more will people split up and run around like crazy. Waypoints your own peers set and strategies you come up with can make it onto the battlefield. Everything from squad ranks to fire team roles to patching up a fallen comrade. If a little more work is done on it, this game could really rock. Oh, and if you are usually a sniper person, its really hard to ever get a slot because everyone hogs it :D Expand
  39. DougT
    Dec 14, 2009
    9
    For a free game it is awesome. Originally designed as a training tool, it has been moved to our world and can be a lot of fun to play. It's only drawback is that it does require a good internet connection and better than average graphics card.
  40. ChrisT
    Dec 3, 2009
    9
    Great game had bugs at first but got fixed fairly fast, has a great graphics engine for free game way better than AA2, and im a AA2 veteran used do competitions and all , love it , addictive and fairly close to the real thing for a game since i know what the real thing is anyways 2 thumbs up
  41. AaronF.
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    Pretty good game, works pretty well on my PC, and for those of you saying it can't play on my PC upgrade then, because my other computer has the same problem. VERY realistic
  42. MaximeG
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    I played this game, and like it, if you like teamwork, and realistic games, play this.
  43. NARVELW.
    Nov 27, 2009
    9
    This game will suck for anyone who only played it when it first came out ..or their computer sucks...but i'll tell you right now ..they've come along way in a short period of time...once they get a hand on the racism if possible ?...they will surpass all online gaming.
  44. Jul 30, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is a fantastic, FREE game. I do not understand why people are complaining about bugs, it is true that there are obvious bugs to be fixed, but the gameplay, realism, and tactics make up for it. Expand
  45. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    For those giving Below Yellow you either, don't have the game or you were looking for a first person shooter that was similar to COD or BF3. If you ever played COD you know it takes almost no skill to play then BF3 takes some skill to play and then AA3 takes a lot of skill to master it. Seeing a pattern? The more realistic games take more skill to master, again i am not talking aboutFor those giving Below Yellow you either, don't have the game or you were looking for a first person shooter that was similar to COD or BF3. If you ever played COD you know it takes almost no skill to play then BF3 takes some skill to play and then AA3 takes a lot of skill to master it. Seeing a pattern? The more realistic games take more skill to master, again i am not talking about graphics wise but game play. As you might see COD almost has no recoil, the guns go up maybe 2 center meters then stay at that level. Just because you die a lot doesn't mean you should give a bad review which i hope non of you did. When you die a lot you tend to look at the bad aspect of the game. Like JustinW said AA3 gets an incredible small fraction of money that BF3 gets of COD. Iv heard that they only get 12 million a year where BF3 spent 900 million on advertising alone. And everyday i choose AA3 over COD and BF3 which i have right downstairs. I'm not saying there bad games just less realistic but better graphics. BTW the game is a lot better if you have a mic and play with high level players! Hope this helped. Expand
  46. R0Y
    Nov 30, 2011
    10
    A bit dated graphics (compared to last 2011 games) and some bugs but still the best fps compared to the other popular titles.
    Amazing gameplay and physics and awesome teamwork game.
    I suggest to give it a try.
  47. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    This game is a very one of a kind game. It is a hard game. It has a fairly steep learning curve, and on many times has frustrated me enough to quit playing, but it has given me a sense of teamwork and success like no other shooter has. The difficulty and intensity of the matches is awesome and exciting. I wouldn't recommend any COD or Halo fan try this game just because it is so vastlyThis game is a very one of a kind game. It is a hard game. It has a fairly steep learning curve, and on many times has frustrated me enough to quit playing, but it has given me a sense of teamwork and success like no other shooter has. The difficulty and intensity of the matches is awesome and exciting. I wouldn't recommend any COD or Halo fan try this game just because it is so vastly different, the hit system and medic systems are so much more realistic. If you have a mic and you are interested, give it a try but be patient with it. Expand
  48. Jun 18, 2017
    9
    I really like this game and has a good amount of difficulty to it. I thought voice actors for the generals were so realistic and the tutorial made me feel like I was at boot camp. I was just disappointed that there was no external controller support but with the accuracy of the shooting, I don't think it could have been done any other way. Good Luck Serving Your Country!!!!
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. America's Army 3 can be really good if you have a good connection to the server and if you can find other motivated and cooperative players. But it can take hours until you are able to find that combination. The US army should fix the problems if they want to make a good impression.
  2. 84
    This is a shooter that's more intelligent than most and that requires more teamwork and coordination, but that makes the rewards of success that much more enjoyable.
  3. PC PowerPlay
    50
    A realistic, but relatively bland title that's part recruitment poster and part tame FPS. [Sept 2009, p.62]