User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 367 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 65 out of 367

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 1, 2010
    5
    The game itself is very good. Intelligent and tactical teamplay at it's best. Good idea is ruined by bad game engine that causes hundreds of game breaking bugs and glitches. Only 3 different weapons to choose from isn't helping either. After a lot of patching and updating this game can be something great.
  2. Jun 26, 2011
    5
    It's a great game!!! ... if you can get it to work. You will resort to swearing to relieve the stress this game will bring you. But, i must say, once its going, the complexity and familiarity (to relevant aa2 and previous aa players) will keep you captivated. One of the better mechanically accurate shooters out there. This is realism at it's finest. Short of actually strapping on VR gear, you can't get better because it will really feel like you are playing. The matches are spaced out so you don't get exausted and often leave you time to get a drink or take care of something while you wait for the next match. It's very even and the fact that you play the same team, America, each time leaves you with a familiar team experience you can't find with other games that somtimes leave you wondering who the bad guy is, or when you get auto switched to balance out, you end up attacking the wrong team. None of that with this game which is a good thing.

    If the game's developers would put more time into bug checking and they spent some more quality programming time on it, it would be okay. Its almost there but it just seems like they are never finished and it takes a while to get a simple update out. With that being said, its probably a hard beast to tame, but hats off to them for the game they got so far.

    Even with all the bugs, users still come back, put up with it, work around it, and seem to generally not care so much as they have a dedicated user base where regulars spend a lifetime playing away. Most of the time you can play with the mic on and not get annoyed but like any game there are still a group of crazy people who just want to create chaos. Thankfully it lets you block users by a user basis which is as easy as clicking a mute icon on their name. Very fun to call out enemies and coordinate attacks. You can get into quick 5 second fights that will leave your heart pounding, or a whole 2 minute defensive pin down where you hold off a team by yourself. Teamwork is key here and the game really plays into that. If you complete the training, which takes place accurately in Fort Benning, Georgia, you are allowed medic abilities, sharpshooter abilities, and other accurate to life abilities like shooting a smokeshell to cover your team. Persistence seems to pay off when both playing and trying to get the game going as bugs seem to come and go. For the price of free though, one can't complain. Its a really in depth look at what could potentially be the most popular must have shooter for PC. Especially if they allowed the user community to submit developments and changes, this game would be epic.
    Expand
  3. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Lots of teamwork (even on public servers), decent graphics, intelligent level design (steep learning curve - immersive environments), weapons feel realistic (you're forced to use iron sights and control your breathing if wish to hit anything that isn't close range), realistic damage/medic system... I love this game; I've been playing AA since 2004. Sure, it took a little getting use to (I miss SF Hospital, Urban Assault, bunny hopping, the ragdoll effects, the perceived straight-forwardness of AA2), but once you get use to the new feel of AA3, you'll be rewarded with an amazing experience. Expand
  4. Nov 6, 2011
    3
    It is really bad. The graphics are terrible, and the game is so laggy. There are also lots of cheats. Do not bother getting it - just a waste of space on your computer.
  5. Jan 31, 2012
    7
    When a friend of mine suggested AA3 to me, I was like "Meh, I'll try it, just to see what it was like." At first, I didn't understand the game much, and it was very complex. However, with such complexity and realism, it gives you a wide range of control that lets you adapt well. It reminds me of counterstrike, but smaller, slower, and free. The only issue I have with this is on a particularly uncrowded server you can be sitting out for a VERY long time, waiting to spawn. There are also only 2 or 3 guns in the game, but last I heard the developers were planning on adding more (Shotguns, smg's, etc) The game has very good graphics, and is an incredible deal. You usual don't expect to see quality in a FTP game. Allover great game, but very confusing and slow-paced. Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    5
    It is a great game, the gun's shoot like they so, good recoil. I love this game, but I can't give it more than a 5, it has everything COD/BF series missed, realism. If you die, your gone for that round. It has great community. Only one problem, the lack of updates makes the game look old, at max settings my humble rig rocks a unprecedented FPS that made me almost cry it was far pass 60 fps somehow! So if you like games like Call of Duty, and Battlefield, you will love this, if it got a good graphic update my score would jump considerably. Expand
  7. May 10, 2012
    5
    This game is very interesting. It uses the unreal engine and was commissioned by the US government. The game is also used as a military simulator apparently according to wikipedia.

    This game is heavily focused on tactics and reasonable decisions. You can't rush at the enemy and soak up bullets. Die once in a round and you are out and when you get hit by a bullet you're hit by a bullet.
    You fall to the ground dead or suffer a crippling injury. If you die you don't respawn but are out for the round. Depending on the round this can become only a couple of minutes or longer than half an hour. I enjoyed the game but it kind of discouraged me from joining the armed forces... because I died alot. Expand
  8. Jul 30, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is a fantastic, FREE game. I do not understand why people are complaining about bugs, it is true that there are obvious bugs to be fixed, but the gameplay, realism, and tactics make up for it. Expand
  9. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    For those giving Below Yellow you either, don't have the game or you were looking for a first person shooter that was similar to COD or BF3. If you ever played COD you know it takes almost no skill to play then BF3 takes some skill to play and then AA3 takes a lot of skill to master it. Seeing a pattern? The more realistic games take more skill to master, again i am not talking about graphics wise but game play. As you might see COD almost has no recoil, the guns go up maybe 2 center meters then stay at that level. Just because you die a lot doesn't mean you should give a bad review which i hope non of you did. When you die a lot you tend to look at the bad aspect of the game. Like JustinW said AA3 gets an incredible small fraction of money that BF3 gets of COD. Iv heard that they only get 12 million a year where BF3 spent 900 million on advertising alone. And everyday i choose AA3 over COD and BF3 which i have right downstairs. I'm not saying there bad games just less realistic but better graphics. BTW the game is a lot better if you have a mic and play with high level players! Hope this helped. Expand
  10. R0Y
    Nov 30, 2011
    10
    A bit dated graphics (compared to last 2011 games) and some bugs but still the best fps compared to the other popular titles.
    Amazing gameplay and physics and awesome teamwork game.
    I suggest to give it a try.
  11. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    This game is a very one of a kind game. It is a hard game. It has a fairly steep learning curve, and on many times has frustrated me enough to quit playing, but it has given me a sense of teamwork and success like no other shooter has. The difficulty and intensity of the matches is awesome and exciting. I wouldn't recommend any COD or Halo fan try this game just because it is so vastly different, the hit system and medic systems are so much more realistic. If you have a mic and you are interested, give it a try but be patient with it. Expand
  12. Jan 6, 2013
    0
    The worst game to ever take up space on my hard drive. Firstly the gameplay is horrific, it attempts to create a serious realistic war experience and fails incredibly. There are many in the game such as sprinting whilst reloading and fiddly movement with the weapon which makes the game terrible to play. The graphics are ugly and i think everyone should avoid this game despite the free to play tag. Terrible game. Expand
  13. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    This game tries to be a new cod style game, but fails in every facet. The older version (aa2) was much better at keeping players busy. This version kept players away with bugs and poor execution in every possible way.
  14. Jul 21, 2013
    4
    A bad interface, however that can not be a reason for a bad review and you're right, however having to wait 20 minuits to join a game and when you finally enter seeing terrible graphics and again WASD controls for an azerty keyboard is enough reason for me to delete this game directly from my pc.
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. America's Army 3 can be really good if you have a good connection to the server and if you can find other motivated and cooperative players. But it can take hours until you are able to find that combination. The US army should fix the problems if they want to make a good impression.
  2. 84
    This is a shooter that's more intelligent than most and that requires more teamwork and coordination, but that makes the rewards of success that much more enjoyable.
  3. A realistic, but relatively bland title that's part recruitment poster and part tame FPS. [Sept 2009, p.62]