America's Army 3 PC

America's Army 3 Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 369 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Download AA3 Today and Become a Member of the elite America's Army Team! Start playing America's Army 3 today. America's Army fans and new players alike can now experience America's Army 3, the official U.S. Army game, which has more authentic military elements including training,Download AA3 Today and Become a Member of the elite America's Army Team! Start playing America's Army 3 today. America's Army fans and new players alike can now experience America's Army 3, the official U.S. Army game, which has more authentic military elements including training, technology, weapons, and audio than any other military game. Built on Unreal Engine 3, AA3 delivers stunningly realistic characters, environments, lighting effects, animations, and team-based experiences. In the game where Every Detail Counts, players are bound by Rules of Engagement (ROE) and gain experience as you navigate challenges in team-based, multiplayer, force-on-force operations. With 15 different map/mission combinations and exclusive advanced training that allows you to unlock new abilities and customize your gear, you'll experience Soldiering in the U.S. Army like never before. Find strength like no other in a game like no other. Start your mission now! When you play AA3 on Steam, you'll earn Steam Achievements, ranking up among your friends as you earn distinguished status, badges, medals and ribbons. With AA3 on Steam, you can also save your keyboard bindings to the Steam Cloud - just login to your Steam account and fire up AA3 on any PC to utilize your custom settings. [Steam] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. 84
    This is a shooter that's more intelligent than most and that requires more teamwork and coordination, but that makes the rewards of success that much more enjoyable.
  2. America's Army 3 can be really good if you have a good connection to the server and if you can find other motivated and cooperative players. But it can take hours until you are able to find that combination. The US army should fix the problems if they want to make a good impression.
  3. Total PC Gaming
    70
    A decent online FPS - provided you can find a player slot, that is. [Issue#23, p.57]
  4. PC Gamer
    65
    Lovers of real-world ballistics, cautious tactics and persistent stats will be eager recruits. [Nov 2009, p.80]
  5. PC PowerPlay
    50
    A realistic, but relatively bland title that's part recruitment poster and part tame FPS. [Sept 2009, p.62]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 89
  2. Negative: 25 out of 89
  1. JustinW
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    As a game designer I know that I have higher standards than that which is cost effective. I rated the game's gameplay, realism, physics, As a game designer I know that I have higher standards than that which is cost effective. I rated the game's gameplay, realism, physics, graphics, sound, interface and player-base. I scored each area compared to other popular fps titles. Overall it came in first-place. But when I broke it down certain aspects could definitely be worked on. The scores I see by critics and by other users appear to extremely biased. Their scoring only shows lack of knowledge of the game and how to play it. The training and a few other features are designed to give people a feel for what to expect from joining the army. It also is a great way to intro the controls and weapon systems. If you pay attention to the training you can actually learn something. The new AA3 training system scored 1st place compared to other games with similar systems. Now for many people coming into America's Army they are used to the run faster with a knife tactic. Yes, you would run faster armed with a knife than an assault rifle. But, the fact remains that you got all the rest of your gear equiped at the same time. Also, just because you technically could run faster with all that gear on doesn't make it strategic to. The running system is designed to match that of a trained soldier. They use realistic distant that an average soldier could repeat throughout a battle without becoming unctrollably winded. The tactics required for maximum affectiveness in the game are applicable for real-world combat situations. Due to this, AA3 ranked 1st in realism. Gameplay typically relates to how the game is played out. With AA I focused alot on its 1 life per round, team tactics, scenarios, and communication system. The run and gun tactic will quickly annoy the victims and afflictor. 1 life makes staying alive more precious. Depending on the skill of the server and your personal ability to fight as a soldier you can be spectating up to 90% of the time. For people like this, the game is quickly discarded. To survive you must understand proper team tactics. The game is designed to create as many tactical scenerios as possible. The gameplay allows a squad to pin and create confusion among OpFor. This allows for teams to flank the position. The game provides a battle planner that the squad leader is able to coordinate attacks among the fire teams. Although AA3 has quite a realistic gameplay it a few titles had better system for increasing playing time for everyone. It came in 3rd with related FPS styled games. The graphics are great. It is hard to determine opfor from friendlies. It takes a trained eye to identify threats and neutralize them. Other games you can lower the graphics and easily identify and target enemies. The graphics received 1st place. Through UT3 and few other titles receive honorable mention due to the artistic details visible in the gameplay. While AA2 had become overwhelmed with hackers and everyone got mad at everyone. AA3 has a revolutionary system to forgive unattentional Friendly Fire. This system creates alot more peace among players and people are most readily available to provide medical aid to fallen comrades. Going from Army of One to Army strong takes a change of mindset. But, once you learn the concept the game is alot more rewarding and enjoyable. I hope everyone learns how to play the game. and I hope to see you all on the battlefield. Hooah! Expand
  2. NunoC.
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    this is a great game!!! Real sounds, nice graphics and a very nice gameplay with new features like health system, at this moment i have this is a great game!!! Real sounds, nice graphics and a very nice gameplay with new features like health system, at this moment i have almost 90 hours played. HOOAH Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2017
    9
    I really like this game and has a good amount of difficulty to it. I thought voice actors for the generals were so realistic and the tutorialI really like this game and has a good amount of difficulty to it. I thought voice actors for the generals were so realistic and the tutorial made me feel like I was at boot camp. I was just disappointed that there was no external controller support but with the accuracy of the shooting, I don't think it could have been done any other way. Good Luck Serving Your Country!!!! Expand
  4. MilesR.
    Feb 18, 2010
    8
    This game is probably the most realistic I have played, but there are many glitches and few weapons. At this point, I'm just waiting This game is probably the most realistic I have played, but there are many glitches and few weapons. At this point, I'm just waiting until they can fix the glitches. A great game, though. Definitely get this game when there is news of fixed glitches. Collapse
  5. NikolaN
    Aug 21, 2009
    6
    Even after the update that fixed the ton of problems this game has, it still doesn't live up to the hype. While the game does look Even after the update that fixed the ton of problems this game has, it still doesn't live up to the hype. While the game does look pretty good, the gameplay just doesn't live up to the great America's Army gameplay. Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2013
    4
    A bad interface, however that can not be a reason for a bad review and you're right, however having to wait 20 minuits to join a game andA bad interface, however that can not be a reason for a bad review and you're right, however having to wait 20 minuits to join a game and when you finally enter seeing terrible graphics and again WASD controls for an azerty keyboard is enough reason for me to delete this game directly from my pc. Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2013
    0
    The worst game to ever take up space on my hard drive. Firstly the gameplay is horrific, it attempts to create a serious realistic warThe worst game to ever take up space on my hard drive. Firstly the gameplay is horrific, it attempts to create a serious realistic war experience and fails incredibly. There are many in the game such as sprinting whilst reloading and fiddly movement with the weapon which makes the game terrible to play. The graphics are ugly and i think everyone should avoid this game despite the free to play tag. Terrible game. Expand

See all 89 User Reviews