Anna PC

  • Publisher: Kalypso
  • Release Date: Jul 11, 2012
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Jul 29, 2012
    72
    Beyond defects Anna is a valuable work of art that deserves to be played from start to finish.
  2. Jul 25, 2012
    70
    Even with some minor imperfections, the game is well developed and entertaining, enthralling with good storytelling and an nicely designed environment, enhanced by the excellent audio recordings.
  3. Jul 24, 2012
    65
    Even debutants could have done a better job, but still Dreampainters' game is engrossing and does so without much trouble – if you become annoyed by a puzzle and leave the game for a while, soon enough you will find yourself trying again. Anna has a great, scary atmosphere – and there are no cheap jump scares, the game slowly makes you have goosebumps. Unfortunately, there are flaws: occasional lack of logic or a fairly short story.
  4. Sep 18, 2012
    60
    This Italian indie game doesn't live up to our expectations, but it is in a position to deliver some interesting adventure/ horror moments and can offer some great replay value.
  5. Jul 27, 2012
    60
    Flawed, but does just enough right to be worth a purchase if it sounds like it's up your alley.
  6. CD-Action
    Aug 29, 2012
    55
    Too short and underdeveloped, Anna is an interesting experiment that won't reach a wider audience but shows Dreampainters' potential. [10/2012, p.74]
  7. Jul 24, 2012
    55
    Anna manages to create a few blood-chilling moments throughout its story, but most of the fear factor is neutered after you realize nothing can harm you.
  8. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 11, 2012
    50
    Design and technical implementation issues mar a promising adventure. [Oct 2012, p.83]
  9. Jul 24, 2012
    50
    'Wasted opportunity' is a phrase that keeps rearing its head, whether it's thanks to the garbled translation, a broken hints system, or completely absent puzzle logic. Anna has some great ideas, but it's the game's carelessness that'll stay with you, not its moments of inspired horror.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 6 out of 13
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    5
    I picked this up on Steam when it was released as it seemed like an interesting concept, however there are a few problems with it that areI picked this up on Steam when it was released as it seemed like an interesting concept, however there are a few problems with it that are hard to get over.

    Firstly the character walks very slowly, and while early on this isn't a problem it becomes annoying during the later segments that have large areas you need to keep backtracking through.
    The Graphics are visually fine but nothing exceptional, some low res textures here and there and some models are quite blocky.

    Horror wise it isn't too bad, a few paranormal events happen every now and again when you're in an area too long which are quite nice, sort of like what Underhell did during the House segment.

    My main issue though is the almost random tasks and the hint system, the game suffers from the typical adventure game problem of having illogical tasks and solutions and the game has a hint system, unfortunately that hint system often doesn't tell you what you need to do on a certain task or is very vague, there is also no way of checking the tasks so I would often be wandering around only to find there was an item I missed picking up.
    There is also problems with using some items on certain areas, you may use the item on the object but you often have to click just in the right area for it to work.

    If you like point and click games or art games you might like Anna, and it's probably worth playing if you see it cheap, however it's quite short and gets let down by the vagueness of the tasks.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 22, 2012
    0
    I cannot play this game. I bought the Steam version, put in my CD key, but that's not enough. I also had to register an account with KalypsoI cannot play this game. I bought the Steam version, put in my CD key, but that's not enough. I also had to register an account with Kalypso Media which requires activation through an email that they send. I'm still waiting on that email and am disappointed that I cant play something I purchased hours ago. I filed a ticket with Kalypso, registered for a Metacritic account (which also used email activation), and wrote this review all while waiting for the account activation. Meanwhile there are probably pirates who didn't pay that are already playing it. If you don't like DRM, avoid this game! Full Review »
  3. Sep 22, 2012
    3
    This isn't a game, it is an interactive music video. There is a blatant agenda, by some clever and arguably talented composers, to exploit aThis isn't a game, it is an interactive music video. There is a blatant agenda, by some clever and arguably talented composers, to exploit a popular genre of game via high-traffic distributors like steam in effort to sell music which otherwise had little to no hope at all of being marketed by a major record label. I have played the game to completion, if anyone is wondering. I gave it a very generous 3, because at 2 hours long, the game never pretended to be anything other than what it blatantly is, a desperate attempt to get people interested in some hippie music. Full Review »