Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Jun 10, 2013
    72
    A great improvement over the original Anomaly, but the game still lacks scale. More free expansions, please! Or, better yet, give us a mission editor!
  2. Aug 1, 2013
    70
    An interesting change of pace for fans - or, on the flipside, it could be just the thing to get you interested. [Aug 2013, p.91]
  3. May 31, 2013
    70
    Multiplayer has within it the seeds for fine gameplay, but with some iffy design decisions, lacking a serious tutorial, no AI to play with, and few other people to play against, it turns what should have been the game’s best piece into its greatest disappointment.
  4. May 27, 2013
    70
    The improved visuals (useful when attempting to toggle between distinctly marked unit types), lush new locations (Rio's rendition of the Statue of the Redeemer, for instance), well-implemented buffing units (there's one to make your convoy invisible and another to boost your commander's powers), and the depth of strategy to be found in a single, diverse mission, all demonstrate that this anomaly is no mistake.
  5. May 21, 2013
    70
    Anomaly 2 is a fresh coat of paint on the tower defense genre without being all too new or disruptive at the same time. It's a well done and refined version of what came before, adding a multiplayer mode. If part one was to your liking, you're not doing anything wrong with this.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. May 24, 2013
    7
    I have edited my review based on an additional 20 hours of gameplay.

    My original score was a 5.4. I don't play and am not interested in
    I have edited my review based on an additional 20 hours of gameplay.

    My original score was a 5.4. I don't play and am not interested in multiplayer.

    The game retains a difficulty and learning curve that is steeper than the original. You might not become proficient until you beat it once. After doing so, you will have learned that the skill of anticipating what is coming and thinking through what skills to use is more important in Anomaly 2 as compared to the original.

    In the first game, my playthrough was on hardcore. It went relatively smoothly. Playing through this game on your first try on hardcore will prove exceedingly difficult. But once you understand how to properly use your arsenal, often changing your arrangement mid-level, it becomes much easier and more fun. I played through on casual, then on professional; which should tell you something about how important it is to know the maps, and optimize your navigation.

    Each unit at your disposal is useful. There is no "one" setup to win. Of course, much of professional difficulty involves "abusing" the range of your cannons and cycling in a circle to snipe pesky towers, it is not as one-sided as the first game where one setup, and one setup is the best for 98% of situations. So, what is challenging at first becomes rewarding over time. This is an improvement.

    A recent patch has addressed the Behemoth issue of firing while turning towards a decoy, which significantly de-cheap-a-fies the gameplay. I have become used to the new front-end layout, although it is not as good as the original.

    Some of the original criticisms still stand about lack of detail, launch bonuses and style, but I am prepared
    to amend my 5.4 to a 7.4. If you have 10 dollars, and go into this game without to many presumptions about how it should play relative to the last game, with some patience you will enjoy yourself in the long run.
    Full Review »
  2. May 16, 2013
    9
    This is a wonderful sequel. Not only does the single-player campaign feel more organic and approachable, with a much more involved tutorialThis is a wonderful sequel. Not only does the single-player campaign feel more organic and approachable, with a much more involved tutorial segment, but the voice acting and storyline are both vastly improved. The addition of multiplayer is just garnish, although it is fun. Full Review »
  3. Jun 19, 2015
    6
    A lot of people compare the Anomaly 2 with Tower Defence but...Anomaly 2 it is not an anomaly because it is not a Tower defence.There areA lot of people compare the Anomaly 2 with Tower Defence but...Anomaly 2 it is not an anomaly because it is not a Tower defence.There are differences between these two games namely that anomaly 2 is a offensive game and not a defensive game like Tower defence,the graphics are much better and is more fun. Full Review »