Anomaly: Warzone Earth PC

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 166 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 166
  2. Negative: 15 out of 166

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 31, 2016
    4
    Un principe a priori séduisant que ce Defense Grid à l'envers où l'on incarne de la chair à canon devant une chiée de tourelles extra-terrestres... personnellement je préfère être du côté de celui qui fabrique des tourelles, car si Anomaly fonctionne assez bien au demeurant via son système d'ordres (bonus et capacités de son escouade) il s'avère finalement aussi lourdaud que casse-burnes.Un principe a priori séduisant que ce Defense Grid à l'envers où l'on incarne de la chair à canon devant une chiée de tourelles extra-terrestres... personnellement je préfère être du côté de celui qui fabrique des tourelles, car si Anomaly fonctionne assez bien au demeurant via son système d'ordres (bonus et capacités de son escouade) il s'avère finalement aussi lourdaud que casse-burnes.

    On ne peut que modifier et planifier l'itinéraire sans jamais arrêter son convoi, ce qui nuit à la prise de décision. Par ailleurs, il faut en vérité distribuer les ordres dans certaines situations plus vite qu'à la vitesse-lumière comme dans une sorte de STR ou MOBA pour Coréens sur le point de passer l'arme à gauche. La moindre erreur dans ces missions scriptées vous renvoie au point de sauvegarde précédent et trop de recommencements soûlent énormément.

    Dans un souci de varier ses objectifs, Anomaly abuse de ses scripts énervants qui ajoutent à la "mise en scène" et tentent de pallier des mécaniques qui deviennent forcément répétitives de par leur nature même.

    De façon surprenante, la réalisation pour un indé est très soignée, le jeu est joli et parfaitement fluide ; effets sonores et musique sont au diapason, y compris les voix (en anglais évidemment).

    On ne peut recommander cependant cette Anomalie sérieusement malgré ses quelques qualités : il est décidément trop limité et rigide pour convaincre.
    Expand
  2. Dec 12, 2015
    8
    A pretty nice game idea, playing like a reverse tower defence game, where instead of setting up towers and fighting off waves of enemies, you're navigating a small force of tanks and other vehicles into an enemy territory.

    There's a lot of strategy involved here, as you must choose your routes carefully and to engage just enough towers at a time so not to get overwhelmed, whilst using
    A pretty nice game idea, playing like a reverse tower defence game, where instead of setting up towers and fighting off waves of enemies, you're navigating a small force of tanks and other vehicles into an enemy territory.

    There's a lot of strategy involved here, as you must choose your routes carefully and to engage just enough towers at a time so not to get overwhelmed, whilst using abilities such as smoke screen and decoys to mislead enemy towers and protect your allies in the process. There are several different enemy towers, and each one can pose a serious threat if you don't approach it with good strategy. And in addition to encountering various tower setups, the game often throws other challenges your way too, such as needing to get across a bridge in the area before it gets destroyed, or having to evade powerful area artillery strikes from the enemy, and so on.

    The game is really fun if you like tactical gameplay, but it's also pretty relentless and hard, even on Casual difficulty. If you're looking for a casual, relaxing game, you won't find it here. But if you're seeking a challenge, you'll be right at home. Unfortunately the game's checkpoint system can sometimes work against you. If you happened to reach a checkpoint when you're low on ability supplies and your vehicles are in poor shape, you might find yourself unable to make progress past the next area, and returning back to the previous section becomes impossible after a checkpoint. These times could cause you having to restart the whole level from the beginning.

    In addition to the 14 campaign missions, you also get some bonus challenges (Baghdad Mayhem and Tokyo Raid) which you can try out, where you're given a series of tasks (not related to the story) in an area and you must complete them. Overall, the presentation is pretty good. Great visuals, adrenaline-pumping music, and nice voice acting. So if you don't mind some challenge, this game is worth getting.
    Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2015
    7
    Anomaly Warzone Earth is the first in a line up of great Sci-Fi/Action/Strategy games. You plan your route carefully with planning and thought, after you get to choose the loadout of vehicles you wish, after you try and survive the terrors of the Alien lifeforms which has taken over Baghdad and other ares round that part. Overall it makes me feel like I am playing a tower defense game, butAnomaly Warzone Earth is the first in a line up of great Sci-Fi/Action/Strategy games. You plan your route carefully with planning and thought, after you get to choose the loadout of vehicles you wish, after you try and survive the terrors of the Alien lifeforms which has taken over Baghdad and other ares round that part. Overall it makes me feel like I am playing a tower defense game, but instead of planning to defend whatever I need, I am actually moving through, while the Alien lifeforms is planning its way on defending either its power cores or just trying to ruin your day by just shooting you non-stop. Overall the graphics and music are great, the voice acting is good and the story is actually quite a good story, kinda weird as I was just expecting soldiers trying to move their way through either a group of terrorists or shooting their way through to get out of Baghdad, like Jagged Alliance or Doorkickers.

    The game is great, short, but challenging as you may die a lot for poor planning, but thankfully their is a good checkpoint system where if you die or want to start over again, you can just start from the checkpoint. A great first game from 11 Bit Studios!
    Expand
  4. Jul 8, 2014
    8
    This game is a combination of tower-defense action strategy with a somewhat unique tower-offense technique used most of the time. It will not give you many ways to accomplish missions, most of the times the scripted events are so obvious that you will know for sure when an ''anomaly'' hits the short route you decided to take, giving you only the choice to switch to the longer, more riskyThis game is a combination of tower-defense action strategy with a somewhat unique tower-offense technique used most of the time. It will not give you many ways to accomplish missions, most of the times the scripted events are so obvious that you will know for sure when an ''anomaly'' hits the short route you decided to take, giving you only the choice to switch to the longer, more risky route.
    Despite of these scripted events and a bit of failed voice acting from every character, this is a very good game. It's refreshing an old, almost lost genre.

    Pros:
    + Tower defense at its best, plus somethig more
    + Suspanse at every corner, especially on higher difficulties
    + The AI is surprisingly good for an almost indie game
    + Nice and simple leaderboards display, depending on the difficulty you play

    Cons:
    - Short campaign; tiny fast-paced levels
    - Scripted events will become obvious before they even happen, after 1h of gameplay
    - The buy/sell/upgrade function is simple. Could've been added something more.
    Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    Great idea, beautifull graphics and genius mechanics. I found it firs on play store but didn't get it and then I found it on PC. I hope you guys are working on something new.
  6. Oct 13, 2013
    9
    Fantastic way of handling the "tower offence" ethos, looks great, has absolutely flawless, effortless game mechanics, tells a compelling story, We are talking a premium quality game here.
  7. Aug 27, 2013
    8
    Anomaly: Warzone Earth is a totally fresh experience. It's a tower defense game, except instead of defending, you're the side that's attacking. It's great fun when you command a small band of 6 units and plow your way through massive enemy defenses towards your ultimate objective. If you enjoy strategy games and Tower Defense games, you're bound to enjoy this title as well.
  8. Mar 6, 2013
    8
    I purchased this game on steam for $3.33 and got about 7 hours of enjoyment out of it. By my books, that is a successful game. And there was still stuff left to complete that I never got around to doing. Graphics are decent, gameplay is unique and different, and the price was right. If on sale again, I would highly recommend it.
  9. Dec 11, 2012
    6
    A "Tower Offense" game where you navigate a column of vehicles of your choosing through a city infested by alien turrets. You control a commander who can deploy 4 types of powerups, upgrade & deploy new vehicles, and scout the environment. You control the vehicles by plotting their path on an overhead 2D map. The whole game can be played with just the mouse so perhaps this is my newA "Tower Offense" game where you navigate a column of vehicles of your choosing through a city infested by alien turrets. You control a commander who can deploy 4 types of powerups, upgrade & deploy new vehicles, and scout the environment. You control the vehicles by plotting their path on an overhead 2D map. The whole game can be played with just the mouse so perhaps this is my new favorite one-handed game. Worth picking up if you enjoy tower defense games, but shorter on content than a traditional tower defense such as Defense Grid. Expand
  10. Oct 16, 2012
    8
    An excellent game. Nothing like I expected. Graphically fab and a nice twist on Tower Defence gaming. No idea why the critical reviews don't mirror the user reviews???
  11. Aug 26, 2012
    7
    Conceptually different than your normal tower defense; this tower offense title is fun and challenging. AWE packs a punch with the perspective being that of the incoming forces against an alien invasion. Pros: Visually, it's clean, well designed and brilliant. The colors are clean and vibrant and the shading looks great. The paths are true to the urban and suburban landscapes theyConceptually different than your normal tower defense; this tower offense title is fun and challenging. AWE packs a punch with the perspective being that of the incoming forces against an alien invasion. Pros: Visually, it's clean, well designed and brilliant. The colors are clean and vibrant and the shading looks great. The paths are true to the urban and suburban landscapes they represent and the details of the areas are crisp and realistic. The weaponry of both the earth and the alien forces look sweet and vicious giving it a visceral realism. The map directing is great for moving your squad through the streets. All the controls are easy to use and setup and the mechanics are simple and swift most of the time. Cons: Glitches in the control system: A big and annoying one at that. For whatever reason, the mouse controls revert back to the default keyboard control after every mission. It's extremely frustration but changeable. The mouse control over the map whips across too fast and it is sometimes hard to move from spot to spot with the commander. Upgrades. Too few. Way too few. All units (and there are only five total) can only be upgraded two levels with a total of three. The upgrades only increase the armor and power of each unit but not the range or rate of fire so the changes are subtle at best. Voice-overs: Poorly preformed. Bad accents and horrible delivery. Dialogue: Dull and riddled with corny lines and cliches with a predictable storyline. Game length: Way too short. It could've easily gone on for twice the length that the game goes on for. Very disappointing. Overall: It's a great little game that looks and plays great but is very limited in terms of originality as execution. Expand
  12. Aug 3, 2012
    8
    The second game in the first Steam indie bundle in yet another unique idea conjured from the indie development: a tower OFFENCE game in which you basically fight an alien force using vehicles. The gameplay is satisfyingly challenging despite some 'dumb luck' moments. There's not really that much I can say about AWE: it's unique despite some design flaws that was well worth the price in theThe second game in the first Steam indie bundle in yet another unique idea conjured from the indie development: a tower OFFENCE game in which you basically fight an alien force using vehicles. The gameplay is satisfyingly challenging despite some 'dumb luck' moments. There's not really that much I can say about AWE: it's unique despite some design flaws that was well worth the price in the sale. That's really all I can say. Expand
  13. Jun 9, 2012
    7
    Pretty descent game. It's basically a reverse-tower defence game. The story is... mediocre, and the game-play is alright too. Again, for $10 bucks, I expected much worse. On a side note, this game had a very indie feel to it, and probably because it was.
  14. Jun 2, 2012
    8
    Oh my, this game is such a FUN! Its idea makes me think of good old videogames with easy concept and payloads of funny gameplay! You can play it continuously, you can play it from time to time, but one thing is certain: Anomaly: Warzone Earth will never bore you!
  15. Feb 19, 2012
    9
    I originally bought this game as part of a bundle for $6 so I wasn't expecting much. However, I was presently surprised by this game. So this is basically a reverse tower-defense game where you use powerups to protect your troops. It may sound boring, but you always have to be on your toes as a single tower can quickly deal massive damage to your troops, especially in the beginning. TheI originally bought this game as part of a bundle for $6 so I wasn't expecting much. However, I was presently surprised by this game. So this is basically a reverse tower-defense game where you use powerups to protect your troops. It may sound boring, but you always have to be on your toes as a single tower can quickly deal massive damage to your troops, especially in the beginning. The main problem with the game is the lack of an option to reverse direction. Although there are a few issues here and there, it is still one of the most entertaining games I've played. Expand
  16. Feb 10, 2012
    1
    I did not enjoy this game. I love tower defenses, and this is essentially the reversal of that (IE you play as the people trying to get past the towers). The game starts out very slow, and the tutorial is very tiresome. After the first half of the levels, the game is at a nearly unbeatable level. After a while it gets dull, and it's a relatively short game. The graphics are okay.
  17. Feb 6, 2012
    1
    I could not play through the second level. The reason? The idiots who wrote this game named their game after the English word "anomaly", and use it throughout the game. It is quite clear that they have no bloody clue what it means whatsoever, and it's really frustrating to hear it used so hand-wavily. It's become an umbrella term for anything alien and spacey and physicsy or whatever, andI could not play through the second level. The reason? The idiots who wrote this game named their game after the English word "anomaly", and use it throughout the game. It is quite clear that they have no bloody clue what it means whatsoever, and it's really frustrating to hear it used so hand-wavily. It's become an umbrella term for anything alien and spacey and physicsy or whatever, and that is an embarrassment. Expand
  18. Feb 1, 2012
    8
    The game is beautifully voiced. Has a typical, yet working story-line. The mechanics are very dynamic, fast-paced, yet easy to learn. But all in all - the game is just pure fun - it is unique in its approach to tower-defense, intermixing strategy, and way-point action. Really worth the time! :)
  19. Jan 1, 2012
    9
    @ Laringar, your review is nonsense. I assume what happened when you played was either a bug or a mistake of your own. I think it's a fun game. The story mode is interesting, the characters are simple but like-able, voice acting is not bad. The gameplay is neat, reverse tower-defense is not a very common genre, but they really nailed it. Starts off pretty easy, but gets pretty difficult@ Laringar, your review is nonsense. I assume what happened when you played was either a bug or a mistake of your own. I think it's a fun game. The story mode is interesting, the characters are simple but like-able, voice acting is not bad. The gameplay is neat, reverse tower-defense is not a very common genre, but they really nailed it. Starts off pretty easy, but gets pretty difficult after level 12 or so.
    The graphics are quite good, and the menus are simple and effective, yet appealing.
    On the other hand, after a few hours, the game starts to bore and there's no real lasting appeal. Definitely a must-buy if you can find it at a good price.
    Expand
  20. Dec 24, 2011
    1
    So the basic idea here is a reverse tower-defense, which seems interesting enough. The first level is quite slow, which is understandable, you're trying to build interest. That's not the reason for my particular score. The reason there is that shortly before the end of the first level, a random meteor dropped from the sky onto my caravan and destroyed one of my vehicles, instantly failingSo the basic idea here is a reverse tower-defense, which seems interesting enough. The first level is quite slow, which is understandable, you're trying to build interest. That's not the reason for my particular score. The reason there is that shortly before the end of the first level, a random meteor dropped from the sky onto my caravan and destroyed one of my vehicles, instantly failing the mission for me. Let me explain why this was a game-killer for me. It's not because I lost. It's because of the how. Punishing a player for making bad choices is fine. Giving them obstacles to overcome is fine. Several times before this, my vehicles had been hit, damaged, and I was able to repair them and move on. But this was a one-hit death, in a situation where I had no control whatsoever over what had just happened, or any way to avoid it. Just, BAM, you lose the mission. The amount of terrible game design in this is just staggering, and is enough to make me regret spending any money on this game.

    I realize that this sounds harsh, but I don't want to waste my time playing a game where a player's understanding of the game is completely removed from the equation, unless I've come in knowing that's a possibility. This game presents itself as a strategy game, dumb luck shouldn't be required for success.
    Expand
  21. Dec 20, 2011
    7
    This game is sold as "inverse tower defense" or "tower offense" and it's exactly what it is. It is like being on the other end of Defense Grid, but you don't get a swarm at your command, just a few units. You plan a course from your starting point to the target and the units follow this predetermined path to the letter and attack any enemy in range. If conditions change or you find thatThis game is sold as "inverse tower defense" or "tower offense" and it's exactly what it is. It is like being on the other end of Defense Grid, but you don't get a swarm at your command, just a few units. You plan a course from your starting point to the target and the units follow this predetermined path to the letter and attack any enemy in range. If conditions change or you find that your plan leads to ruin, you can alter the plan. However your units are always heading forward at a fixed pace. You can't slow them down, stop them, or reverse their course. You can only make them turn at an intersection. If this were all there was to the game, it would feel constraining and limited, but you also get a special "commander" unit who can roam the map freely, if not safely. You use him to collect various power-ups, deploy decoys and other countermeasures, and repair your other units. He'll keep you busy enough that you won't miss micromanaging the other units. It's easy to imagine dozens of ways that this game could be expanded and made richer, but it really works just as it is. It delivers what it promises and it's a very nice twist on the genre. Expand
  22. Oct 14, 2011
    8
    I liked the concept, the gameplay is pretty original. The game is pretty polished for an indie, actually more so than blockbusters. Level design is nice. I got all my money's worth and then some more.
  23. Oct 12, 2011
    8
    11 bit studio's Anomaly: Warzone Earth is a nice example of pure strategy game. The reverse tower defense -we could say tower offense - game-play gives you a new, refreshing experience. A simple and enjoyable game with tons of achievements, nice graphic, unique atmosphere and high replayability.
  24. CRL
    Sep 2, 2011
    9
    This game is an interesting reversal of the tower defense genre where you become the creeps trying to destroy the tower. Control-wise, I liked the mouse interface better than a keyboard one, and eventually mapped the entire control system to my mouse. It gave it kind of a minimalist fee, leaving more room just to enjoy the game. Graphics-wise it's stellar for a top-down scroller, withThis game is an interesting reversal of the tower defense genre where you become the creeps trying to destroy the tower. Control-wise, I liked the mouse interface better than a keyboard one, and eventually mapped the entire control system to my mouse. It gave it kind of a minimalist fee, leaving more room just to enjoy the game. Graphics-wise it's stellar for a top-down scroller, with decent lower-quality modes for lower-end GPUs. The gameplay itself was unique and fun, with maps that require thought but can be attacked many different ways, integral power-ups that need to be rationed smartly, and several different types of towers all with a different weak spot. Overall Anomaly: Warzone Earth is a lot of fun for the price, and I'd recommend it to anyone who prefers careful strategy to simply mowing down the opposition. Expand
  25. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Anomaly: Warzone earth does what a lot of previous tower defense games haven't done: become the attacker. You get what your money's worth. Graphics, controls, interaction, story line, tutorial, it's all well done for a game that asks nothing more but $10 dollars.
  26. Aug 7, 2011
    9
    Anomaly is a fun twist of a classic tower defense game, where we are the "attackers". I had a blast playing it. The single player campaign is about 8-9 hours, not counting additional modes available after beating the main game. Maybe there could be more missions, but even with the current content you will have a lot of strategizing, because you have adjustable difficulty levels and thoseAnomaly is a fun twist of a classic tower defense game, where we are the "attackers". I had a blast playing it. The single player campaign is about 8-9 hours, not counting additional modes available after beating the main game. Maybe there could be more missions, but even with the current content you will have a lot of strategizing, because you have adjustable difficulty levels and those other modes. Also graphics is really good. You don't have those low resolution textures or simple models like in other games. Everything looks really good and runs smoothly. Highly recommended! Expand
  27. mpr
    Jun 21, 2011
    6
    Decent game. Good graphics, original gameplay: but I got bored with it after a couple hours of play. When I purchased it, I was hoping for a game as good as Defense Grid, so I was slightly disappointed.
  28. Jun 9, 2011
    5
    This game is boring, although the graphic is good. I tried to play it, but all of those errors ruined my opinion about this game. To sum up, not worth buying.
  29. May 22, 2011
    9
    Really good game. The best balanced game I've EVER played! It's easy to learn and start from high difficulty. During the game I had to change for medium and at the end It was so hard that I've finished on EASY. Non of the games I've ever played was balanced so well! Apart from that the gameplay is great, good graphics and sound.
    Weak dialogs, narrative, and lacking some functionality (e.g.
    Really good game. The best balanced game I've EVER played! It's easy to learn and start from high difficulty. During the game I had to change for medium and at the end It was so hard that I've finished on EASY. Non of the games I've ever played was balanced so well! Apart from that the gameplay is great, good graphics and sound.
    Weak dialogs, narrative, and lacking some functionality (e.g. camera movement, multiplayer). BUT It's great all around!
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 19, 2011
    83
    Proves that tower defence is as much fun in reverse. There's slick gameplay, nice visuals and a nice balance of action and strategy on offer here. Silly dialogues and story aside, the only real fault of the game is that it doesn't have that many missions or units. [June 2011]
  2. PC Format
    Sep 8, 2011
    84
    The simplicity of the design is where the game really shines. [Oct 2011, p.105]
  3. Aug 11, 2011
    90
    Unless you hate strategy games or don't have a rig powerful enough to run this, you should not pass up Anomaly.