User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 182 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 182

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    Listen to me now. This game is unbelievably awesome. Most of these reviews - if you take care to read them, are from when the game first came out. It has come a long way - and so has the hardware to support it. Buy the game - even better if you buy combined ops - or buy ArmA II and Operation Arrowhead and combine them. It's not that expensive. Join a clan - a good one - one withoutListen to me now. This game is unbelievably awesome. Most of these reviews - if you take care to read them, are from when the game first came out. It has come a long way - and so has the hardware to support it. Buy the game - even better if you buy combined ops - or buy ArmA II and Operation Arrowhead and combine them. It's not that expensive. Join a clan - a good one - one without ridiculous requirements to maintain membership. Play with the crew. Get to know them. And run some of the most immersive, realistic, expansive, open-ended, tactical, fun, glorious missions you have ever seen. ArmA vets laugh about CoD. We mock CoD. Because CoD doesn't have anything on ArmA. Seriously. Buy it and play it. Learn it. It's tough - we know. But good things come to those who wait - and put in the effort - to learn a real game. And if you can't figure it out - after just a few hours of applied effort - a look or two through the controls menu - and maybe even asking a question or two on multiplayer - then go away - we don't want you here anyway. Go back to your CoD where enemies throw themselves into your bullets and you are virtually invincible. We will be busy fighting serious **** enemies - human or AI - and trying not to get shot even once - because this game does not f*ck around. Expand
  2. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    All in all it's still an improvement over default ArmA2. It's a great sand box but it's only really truly worth playing online if you're a part of a proper milsim team like the guys over at ORC (Operation Reality) or something similar although I think they're pretty unique in the field. It's truly a very immersion orientated game and you really need the right guys around you to get thatAll in all it's still an improvement over default ArmA2. It's a great sand box but it's only really truly worth playing online if you're a part of a proper milsim team like the guys over at ORC (Operation Reality) or something similar although I think they're pretty unique in the field. It's truly a very immersion orientated game and you really need the right guys around you to get that experience, otherwise the game deteriorates real quick and gets boring and unrealistic online. I'd still give it a 7.4/10 and that's pretty high in my books. Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2011
    9
    Arma II and its expansion do require a powerful PC, but that's because its high graphical fidelity. Xalex mentioned in their review: "Other sandbox games do not have this issue at all, for example farcry2 and fallout3. Those game I can run on max settings with atleast 40 fps, ArmA i am glad if I get 15 fps"

    The above quote is ridiculous because it's akin to saying "I can run the original
    Arma II and its expansion do require a powerful PC, but that's because its high graphical fidelity. Xalex mentioned in their review: "Other sandbox games do not have this issue at all, for example farcry2 and fallout3. Those game I can run on max settings with atleast 40 fps, ArmA i am glad if I get 15 fps"

    The above quote is ridiculous because it's akin to saying "I can run the original DOOM on max and get 400 FPS, but on Far Cry 2 I only get 40 FPS." Obviously, games with lower graphical quality are going to run better. It doesn't mean that a game is horribly unoptimized because it doesn't give you the same FPS that much visually simpler games give you. Xalex' request to "Optimize the game and make it playable on normal computers" suggests they don't understand what optimizing is. Making it playable on "normal" (aka middleware) computers would have nothing to do with optimizing it, it would instead require reducing the graphical quality. Or, they could play the game on low graphics settings and let those with powerful computers enjoy the great graphics that games like Far Cry 2 and Fallout 3 aren't in the realm of providing.
    Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    A great addition to the already great ARMA 2. It adds multicore support to ARMA 2. The game finally comes to life. Online play is a joy with the right company... Watch out for British Armed Forces and Private Military Company. Also watch out for the community addons. Bohemia Interactive is a great little company that cares about it's customers - it deserves our support. EA/Activision takeA great addition to the already great ARMA 2. It adds multicore support to ARMA 2. The game finally comes to life. Online play is a joy with the right company... Watch out for British Armed Forces and Private Military Company. Also watch out for the community addons. Bohemia Interactive is a great little company that cares about it's customers - it deserves our support. EA/Activision take notice! You don't care about your customers! Expand
  5. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    Speaking as someone who was pressured into the game by friends I was expecting a very boring game because lets be honest. We play games to escape reality instead of portray it. My expectations dropped when I found several bugs in one scenario. Framerate drops when zooming in, optimization is very poor and the controls are very hard to learn. I gave up on it for a while. It wasn't until mySpeaking as someone who was pressured into the game by friends I was expecting a very boring game because lets be honest. We play games to escape reality instead of portray it. My expectations dropped when I found several bugs in one scenario. Framerate drops when zooming in, optimization is very poor and the controls are very hard to learn. I gave up on it for a while. It wasn't until my friends invited me into a clan did fun start to appear. A local clan filled with ex British army veterans taught me real life tactics and shared some extremely interesting stories. We then started to do events where bullets flied over our heads, A-10's screamed in a ball of fire and friends screamed into the microphone while dragging injured teammates out of the explosive battlefield. We did stealth missions, air drop missions, all kinds of different scenarios.

    To sum it up Operation Arrowhead is a game which repays effort and determination with fun times. If your willing to put yourself through the buggy interface and the rubbish netcode then you will have alot of great times. Its a great game if your interested in joining the military as its the closest you can get to real life warfare. Come with friends and your bound to have a good time.
    Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    Great expansion pack. Nice change to Afghanistan/Iraq environment. New vehicles ,weapons, maps and good old ARMA II gameplay. The best thing of all is that this expansion pack brings some new experience and tactics , its not the same fighting in the woods and fields of Chernogorsk and fighting in the desert and rocky terrain of Takistan.
  7. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    Best mil sim to date. Most people dont like it because its not a run and gun game like COD. If you want to make the game better get ACE mod, JSRS, and find a group to play with.
  8. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Whilst Operation Arrowhead may technically be an expansion for Arma 2, it can run as a standalone game and has enough contents to make doing so worthwhile, if you were to wish to do so. It does take quite a bit of getting used to, even if you don't play CoD or similar games, because there is quite a steep learning curve, but persistence is worthwhile as this game really is one of the mostWhilst Operation Arrowhead may technically be an expansion for Arma 2, it can run as a standalone game and has enough contents to make doing so worthwhile, if you were to wish to do so. It does take quite a bit of getting used to, even if you don't play CoD or similar games, because there is quite a steep learning curve, but persistence is worthwhile as this game really is one of the most immersive on the market. This is a game which keeps you on your toes at all times, makes you actually feel afraid as gives you a sense of accomplishment even if all you do is survive. If you can run it on maximum graphic settings, this game looks great, and it still looks pretty good on lower settings. However, playing it does give the impression that the engine isn't particularly well optimized. The campaign mode won't ever win any awards for originality in terms of plot, but it's a lot of fun and lets you try out several different types of combat, as do the equally enjoyable scenarios which loosely link in with the campaign. The mission editors (both instant-action-style and more advanced) will provide you with almost limitless fun and I would say that it is this sandbox aspect that really shines. If you can find a dedicated team for online play, the experience is simply incredible, though doing so can be difficult.

    My advice to anybody who is willing to invest quite a bit of time for a truly rewarding experience would be to buy this right away.
    Expand
  9. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Great gameplay , perfect AI , outstanding simulation , everything is pure awesome except the physics. I hoping Bohemia improves throughout the year. Also, Bohemia is a great and experienced developer group that greatly cares about it's customers
  10. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    This game is one of the most realistic military stimulations I have ever played. I love the way wind effects sniper fire, and how you don't have to get hit by 2,000 bullets to die like on call of duty. I will have to say that the singleplayer isn't the best, but it's a blast if a buddy joins you in co-op, same with the multiplayer. I find this game most enjoyable due to it's editor, itsThis game is one of the most realistic military stimulations I have ever played. I love the way wind effects sniper fire, and how you don't have to get hit by 2,000 bullets to die like on call of duty. I will have to say that the singleplayer isn't the best, but it's a blast if a buddy joins you in co-op, same with the multiplayer. I find this game most enjoyable due to it's editor, its easy to create your own bombing mission, or make a custom SF night operation. Unlike most of the other people that have been stupid enough to dislike this game, it is easy to make a descent mission or firefight without learning the scripting, they are just a bunch of trolls. There are many weapons to choose from too, better yet, if you get the expansion packs, it's even better. I will give this game a 10, and Arma II OA rocks!!! Expand
  11. May 21, 2012
    9
    That has been said so many times already. Arma series is more to consider as a simulation than a game. There are bugs, glitches, the movements, some animations and the weapon balancing are weird but compared to the satisfaction on point of view of war simulation, realism and content Arma is simply the best in its category.
  12. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    very good reality military simulation game.
    real world pyshical bulletin use and cannon using this game.
    and modfier game design tool presented. custom mod and C & C++ Programing language used mission create or more functional envirment present
  13. Jul 8, 2012
    9
    Whether or not this game is worth picking up depends on what you are looking for in an FPS.

    If you want a fast-paced interactive Michael Bay movie that holds your hand every step of the way, turn back now. If you want a true challenge that is as close to reality as possibly, give this a whirl. I'll start with this: This game does NOT hold your hand, everything takes patience and
    Whether or not this game is worth picking up depends on what you are looking for in an FPS.

    If you want a fast-paced interactive Michael Bay movie that holds your hand every step of the way, turn back now.

    If you want a true challenge that is as close to reality as possibly, give this a whirl.

    I'll start with this: This game does NOT hold your hand, everything takes patience and getting used to. The Single-Player, while short, was fun while it lasted, and while it was buggy at points (In the Vanilla, thanks to the games modding community I managed to fix the AI bugs mostly.) it was still a nice campaign. Your actions in the campaign influence what missions you get and how the game ends. For example: There is a mission where you pilot an AH-64D to take out AA Nests. If your chopper gets shot down and you pull off a proper crash landing (And survive the crash), instead of a game-over screen, you get a mission to rescue that pilot. Most of the fun, however, lies in Multiplayer. Thanks to mods like ACE and DayZ, there is hundreds of hours of fun to be had. If you get into a decent clan and are good with teamwork, this game seriously kicks ass. Lone Wolfs do not last long at all, however. The Editor is probably what gives the most value, you have these insanely large maps, and you can do pretty much ANYTHING. Want to HALO Jump with a four man team in the middle of pitch-black night and slowly pick off insurgents one-by one? You can do that. Want to launch a full-scale invasion with UH-60s full of ground troups and AH-64s ripping armor to shreds? You can do that. Want to JDAM an entire town just for the hell of it? You can do that. If you have patience, this game could be the death of your Social Life. If you are the everyday CoD player and have no interest in making a swap from Arcade to Milsim, this is not your game.
    Expand
  14. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    This is simply the most realistic military simulator I have ever played. ARMA II: OA is a standalone expansion pack to ARMA 2. In Operation Arrowhead, the player can assume the role of various military duties from simple infantry man to tank commander or pilot of a combat helicopter. Also in some scenarios the player is allowed to command units like a real-time strategy game. The teamThis is simply the most realistic military simulator I have ever played. ARMA II: OA is a standalone expansion pack to ARMA 2. In Operation Arrowhead, the player can assume the role of various military duties from simple infantry man to tank commander or pilot of a combat helicopter. Also in some scenarios the player is allowed to command units like a real-time strategy game. The team commands are a little bit tricky but with some practice they offer a great strategic layer to the game. The game can be played with 1st person or 3rd person view. The weapons in the game are modelled after real weapons, and they feel and sound like their real world counterparts. There is basically one huge, and two smaller maps in the game. The game offers a campaign, some single player missions, multiplayer and a -easy to use-game editor, and moddability. With mods the game can offer hundreds of hours of gameplay. BE ADVISED the game is very difficult (one shot one kill), and is not for impatient gamers. Expand
  15. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    One of the best game of history. They are truly focusing on every aspect of realistic simulation and NOT how to make game for every retard out there. Add fact there is hundrets of mods and addons for free and here you have it - best FPS war simulator ever. Better can be only Arma 3 ;)
  16. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    Don't listen to the idiotic critics. They don't know what they are takling about. This is hands down one of the best if not THE best game released for PC
  17. Aug 27, 2012
    9
    A very nice and hardcore game, not for for your typical "OMG 360 noscope hardcore collateral" children. I myself enjoy spending time in the editor which has pretty much everything to create nice missions yourself, and if that is not enough, give yourself unlimited ammo fly with an A-10 across multiple enemies raining down terror from your GAU-8 cannon. But overall, it are the mods whichA very nice and hardcore game, not for for your typical "OMG 360 noscope hardcore collateral" children. I myself enjoy spending time in the editor which has pretty much everything to create nice missions yourself, and if that is not enough, give yourself unlimited ammo fly with an A-10 across multiple enemies raining down terror from your GAU-8 cannon. But overall, it are the mods which really make the game to what it is - if you don't enjoy Day-Z because the lack of real action, you can still enjoy other mods like those in which you can capture and hold cities against wave of enemies. Expand
  18. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    ArmA 2 Operation Arrowhead looks great. I have not played it but I want to and have seen trailers. This game looks entirely perfect and I definitely would want this game.
  19. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    Hate to see someone ratting this 3 because the laser sight doesn't look like COD4... really...

    The fixes are largely in the back-end of the game and allow for much more stable and in-depth moding. A great step to make... not there yet thogh. ARMA3 I hope!!! BTW... needed for Dayz All ARMA games deserve 8-10 rating for being the best in what they do, COD is not simulation. It is
    Hate to see someone ratting this 3 because the laser sight doesn't look like COD4... really...

    The fixes are largely in the back-end of the game and allow for much more stable and in-depth moding. A great step to make... not there yet thogh. ARMA3 I hope!!!

    BTW... needed for Dayz

    All ARMA games deserve 8-10 rating for being the best in what they do, COD is not simulation. It is surprisingly hard to pioneer a genre and ARMA has done that in my eyes.
    Expand
  20. Nov 18, 2013
    9
    An absolutely amazing game that can be played for hours on end, just to learn the basics of the mechanics. The flying mechanics, CAS mechanics, and the central teamwork mechanic all make this game amazing. While buggy, the gravity of the game and its style make these bugs hilarious. The pre-loaded Armex Armory mission is a perfect place to practice everything from tank commanding to flyingAn absolutely amazing game that can be played for hours on end, just to learn the basics of the mechanics. The flying mechanics, CAS mechanics, and the central teamwork mechanic all make this game amazing. While buggy, the gravity of the game and its style make these bugs hilarious. The pre-loaded Armex Armory mission is a perfect place to practice everything from tank commanding to flying close air support. The only major downside is the community that spawned from DayZ. DayZ brought the attention needed to the game, but ruined most servers because of the DayZ community. A hardcore server, where everyone is working together, can be transformed to a angry, rage filled place because one person thinks everyone is going to kill them for their gear. Most of the people have the same gear, and want to seize a village, not someones permissions to play on a server. Play the game, but stay away from DayZ. Expand
  21. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    Love the game. This is not your average arcade shooter. This is not for the COD and Battlefield players. This is the real deal.

    Do not buy this game for an EPIC storyline or on-rails shooter. This is a simulator. The graphics are over the top beautiful, but you need a very good graphics card to run it on high settings.

    Thank you Bohemia. Cannot wait on Arma 3
  22. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    This is a game that has some AWESOME and realistic features with amazing flying mechanics and addicting co-op I see nothing bad with this game. This a great game.
  23. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    This game has a fantastic multi-player and keeps me playing it all the time, is one of the best Military simulators out. However it only loses mark for feeling slightly unfinished, but if you can over look that it is easily one of the best games you will own, ARMA III is not almost in beta so it is worth giving 3 a go.
    Highly Recommend
  24. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    multiplayer sucks, no one every plays a regular game. if you like zombies get a zombie game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  25. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This has perhaps the greatest physics engine ever quite conceived, games like Battlefield 4 wish they look as good as this game. This game runs flawlessly on seemingly any computer, I bet I could run this on a potato.

    This is perfection, no more words needed.
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. tbd
    Operation: Arrowhead has improved the original in many key areas – particularly in co-op.
  2. Operation Arrowhead is a realistic combat simulation game that still suffers from a variety of technical bugs, just like the original. There is a great amount of fun hiding under the surface, which requires patience and time to find and appreciate.
  3. I'll end with this, if you're willing to put the effort in, and the realism aspect sounds like it will appeal to you, the $30 price of Arma II: OA is an easy entry into the series.