User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 769 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 64 out of 769
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 4, 2016
    8
    Este es el inicio de la famosa saga de Assassin's Creed. De la mano de los que trajeron los últimos juegos de Prince of Persia, llega este interesante título sobre un protagonista perteneciente a una hermandad de asesinos en los tiempos de 1191. La historia es muy interesante y atrapante, el cual te tendrá atada/o por continuarla. Lamentablemente, junto con su jugabilidad cae en loEste es el inicio de la famosa saga de Assassin's Creed. De la mano de los que trajeron los últimos juegos de Prince of Persia, llega este interesante título sobre un protagonista perteneciente a una hermandad de asesinos en los tiempos de 1191. La historia es muy interesante y atrapante, el cual te tendrá atada/o por continuarla. Lamentablemente, junto con su jugabilidad cae en lo repetitivo, ya que tendrás que hacer todo lo mismo durante todo el transcurso del juego: encargos de asesinatos, descubrir nuevas ciudades, realizar misiones secundarias, enfrentamiento con un jefe, todo esto esto está metido en un círculo repetitivo hasta el final del juego, lo cual es un poco decepcionante. Gráficamente se ve bien, tampooco es la gran cosa, pero no son nada malos. Tiene una buena ambientacíon de las localizaciones de aquella época. En el apartado sonoro los efectos de sonidos son muy buenos, y el doblaje al español se deja escuchar. Y musicalmente el juego es bueno, aunque hace más presencia en momentos que ponen tenso al jugador. En conclusión puedo decir que es un muy buen juego, pero el único defecto que le veo es lo bastante repetitivo que logra ser. Si para tí esto no es un problema, puede que lo disfrutes aún más. Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2016
    8
    Puede que a algunas personas les parezca aburrido este juego pero vale la pena su compra por unos 5 euros te dará unas buenas horas de diversión y gracias a ello Altair se a convertido en uno de mis personajes favoritos.
  3. Apr 12, 2016
    7
    Aged well. Looks pretty good maxed out. Good gameplay. There is a reason mordor did use it. Okay story. Kinda weak pay-off. Replay value if you are into it.
  4. Feb 26, 2016
    6
    El comienzo de una saga odiada por muchos, veneradas por otros. Un juego bastante decente aunque muy repetitivo en sus mecánicas. Lo mejor sin duda, los escenarios.
  5. Jan 25, 2016
    7
    A good story and a good start for such a great series. First time when i play this game was , nah, it's nothing new. After i played more, he gives me a great story, a great gameplay and a great feeling about this game. One issue i didn't like was the game don't have subtitles.
  6. Dec 8, 2015
    4
    Playing for the first time in 2015, wondering what the hype is about... The graphics and AI all in all (considering 2008 game) are whatever. The problem I had is that everything looks the same, feels the same and basically IS the same: NPCs, hideouts, cities... It gets incredibly boring out of blue when you need to kill someone the exactly same way for the bilionth time. Havent finished.Playing for the first time in 2015, wondering what the hype is about... The graphics and AI all in all (considering 2008 game) are whatever. The problem I had is that everything looks the same, feels the same and basically IS the same: NPCs, hideouts, cities... It gets incredibly boring out of blue when you need to kill someone the exactly same way for the bilionth time. Havent finished. Going for ACII tomorrow. Expand
  7. Sep 30, 2015
    7
    Assassin's Creed seems awesome, stunning and promising at first, but after finishing it, the only thing left in your mind is how repetitive its gameplay can be.
  8. Sep 22, 2015
    3
    The first 3 main missions to the game are on fire but then after then the game just totally goes to dust with the remaining missions as they are far to repetitive and it's like you are restarting the game over and over again by doing the same things the missions have to offer. Most of the side quests are Really boring, bland, the main story is dull and the controls are so out of whack.The first 3 main missions to the game are on fire but then after then the game just totally goes to dust with the remaining missions as they are far to repetitive and it's like you are restarting the game over and over again by doing the same things the missions have to offer. Most of the side quests are Really boring, bland, the main story is dull and the controls are so out of whack. It's actually so disappointing as the game has stunning visuals and the first 3 missions are so good! The open world is awesome but still very restrictive for where you can go as you have to unlock the areas. Overall I would have given a lot higher rating but the repetitiveness and lack of ideas to the game and story is the sole reason of my rate for now. Expand
  9. Jul 1, 2015
    7
    - Good: Story, Concept
    - Mixed: Gameplay
    - Bad: Controls

    Interesting and fresh concept, good story line. Mediocre gameplay with terrible controls. Too much filler content.
  10. Jul 1, 2015
    5
    Assassin creed PC at first glance is beautiful and the main character one of the coolest looking. Assassin creed is fun with it's unique fighting style, art work, mechanics. BUT it has it's flaws from not properly saving to clunky jumping, lack of weapons, attack animations, and terrible repetitive gameplay forcing you to find and do boring things like climbing tall towers, pick pocketingAssassin creed PC at first glance is beautiful and the main character one of the coolest looking. Assassin creed is fun with it's unique fighting style, art work, mechanics. BUT it has it's flaws from not properly saving to clunky jumping, lack of weapons, attack animations, and terrible repetitive gameplay forcing you to find and do boring things like climbing tall towers, pick pocketing that seems so bland and useless, than you realize everything is copy and pasted. The story feels awkward, with no immersion everything you do in the game you do in the first coupe of hours.

    The game sometimes forgets weather you want to jump down or go up and bugs out on some of the simplest climbing movements. Some games didn't save properly, and some broken missions caused me to restart several times.

    Also 4 a Assassin game, no stealth is ever needed for the main missions whats up with that?

    The dialogue beside the main assassinations are all repeats just like the buildings, gets old pretty quick.

    I can see why people like this creed, I do not.

    I like the concept of the game, like most it failed horribly at keeping me entertained.
    Expand
  11. Jun 19, 2015
    6
    This game is good, has a different drive, but confused sometimes had problems with it, has a good gameplay, but the game is pretty repetitive, but worth playing.
  12. Mar 19, 2015
    6
    Visually, Assassin's Creed was way ahead of its time. However, despite its great potential and the revolutionary combat system, the game suffers from VERY repetitive game-play and missions, which are basically the same all the way through, only in different locations. The story is thrilling and delivers an acceptable beginning to the franchise.

    Assassin's Creed grabs ones attention well
    Visually, Assassin's Creed was way ahead of its time. However, despite its great potential and the revolutionary combat system, the game suffers from VERY repetitive game-play and missions, which are basically the same all the way through, only in different locations. The story is thrilling and delivers an acceptable beginning to the franchise.

    Assassin's Creed grabs ones attention well enough to consider playing the sequels, unfortunately it feels more like a prototype than anything else.
    Expand
  13. Dec 26, 2014
    8
    Assassin's Creed is a game published in 2007, developed by Ubisoft Montreal and published by Ubisoft. The game puts you in the shoes of Altair Ibn La-Ahad's a membership cards of "The Assassin Brotherhood", which aims to assassinate nine historical figures during the Third Crusade. To achieve this goal, player need to gather some information about tinta.Depsre story can not say anythingAssassin's Creed is a game published in 2007, developed by Ubisoft Montreal and published by Ubisoft. The game puts you in the shoes of Altair Ibn La-Ahad's a membership cards of "The Assassin Brotherhood", which aims to assassinate nine historical figures during the Third Crusade. To achieve this goal, player need to gather some information about tinta.Depsre story can not say anything because the roads to give to some spoilere.Jocul is quite ok, in terms of graphics. The game has little to control the game. Not often I tried to climb the tower and the game does not allow me to not see a window that I can climb. Expand
  14. Dec 21, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So, I recently got assassins creed 3 as it was bundled with these new headphones I bought. It was probably one of the best games I had ever played. So I decided to play though from the start of the series and become a dedicated pc fan.

    The story was fairly good in my opinion, great character development with some twists and turns along the way. But the actual gameplay was realy a bad exeriance.

    The game is split into I think 7 total memory blocks, you must go through each one in order to finish the game, the problem is, They're all essentially the same. you talk to a guy, he tells you to do 3 missions before you can assassinate the main bad guy. You have to do this up to three times in each memory block and it really starts to get repetitive.

    Another major flaw with gameplay is the free running system, it's fairly nifty and is actually quite fun..... When it works. I find that I am constantly havering to climb th same wall again because the camera angle was slightly off and the character jumped off the wall only to lose half his health and be killed by the persuing Templars on the ground. The free running in this game was so bad that I found myself rage quitting often just because i couldn't synchronise the surroundings to continue with the game due to the consant falling or slow climbing.

    Some may not agree with the last paragraph, but i can assure my keyboard works perfectly fine with games such as bioshock, team fortress 2 and titanfall. Anyway, the last problem I had with the game is the map. it is really annoying to use as she you select to only see primary objectives, it then switches back to all objectives once you leave the menu, not only that. But in order to progress you must essentially write the entire map of the world on your own, and I'm pretty sure during the game you are given a map of the town you are in multiple times.

    I have played some of the later assassins creed games and they fixed a lot of these problems, but I'm really surprised the franchise has been this successful with this game being the one that started it. It truely was a pain to get through and I am never going to play it again, nor am I recommending to anybody I come across.

    Thank god it's over now, I can start playing assassin's creed 2. XD
    Expand
  15. Dec 8, 2014
    5
    Aún habiéndolo jugado en 2014 creo que puedo hacer una opinión objetiva.

    Gráficamente el juego resulta notable para su época, a pesar de que su edición de PC podría haber sido mejor. Sobre todo dejaban mucho que desear la calidad de las sombras, el AA (mejorable con herramientas externas) y la distancia de renderizado, sobre todo esta última resultaba bastante incómoda para un jugador
    Aún habiéndolo jugado en 2014 creo que puedo hacer una opinión objetiva.

    Gráficamente el juego resulta notable para su época, a pesar de que su edición de PC podría haber sido mejor. Sobre todo dejaban mucho que desear la calidad de las sombras, el AA (mejorable con herramientas externas) y la distancia de renderizado, sobre todo esta última resultaba bastante incómoda para un jugador de PC, nada acostumbrado a que las texturas carguen a cinco metros. Por lo demás el juego puede obtener un 7/10 en calidad gráfica.

    La banda sonora es sublime, ambientando completamente la inmersión en la época a experimentar.

    La jugabilidad es lo más pecaminoso de este juego, no valen excusas del tipo "es un juego de 2008". El juego es de lo más repetitivo que he podido jugar en mi vida, una vez completada la introducción, el juego comienza a repetirse una y otra vez, haciendo siempre lo mismo, solo que con personajes distintos y en un ambiente distinto. A pesar de que la fórmula del sigilo/asesinato resulta novedosa y divertida, cuando comienza a repetirse empiezas a odiarla. Además intentan meter un pequeño sistema de sandbox que por suerte puedes comenzar a saltarte más adelante, porque solo consigue aburrirte y agobiarte aún más. Hay un solo tipo de misión principal, que se va repitiendo, y tres tipos de misiones principales, que se van repitiendo también.

    La historia es lo que salva un poco al juego, es algo nuevo, usar la historia ya contada de la humanidad como herramienta narrativa, quien diría que un juego tipo documental histórico podría ser tan enganchante. Y aunque en este juego no lo veremos en su esplendor, el final nos garantiza que los juegos que vendrán, serán algo mágico.

    En definitiva, es un juego que deseas pasarte rápido para poder llegar al desenlace de la historia y disfrutar de lo único bueno que tiene este juego, su guión. Por suerte, algunos ejecutivos decidieron seguir adelante con el segundo juego, y dar pie a una de las mejores sagas de videojuegos que existen. Porque si por este juego fuera, nadie creería que podría venir lo que después vino, y que mirando a posteriori podemos ver.
    Expand
  16. Nov 20, 2014
    5
    Overall, this game is gorgeous and a true technological feat for its time. The game can be thrilling as you run from guards through the streets of Jerusalem. The stealth aspect of the game is well-done. However, the gameplay is otherwise overly simplistic and repetitive. Combat is particularly dull. The overarching story concerning the main character Desmond detracts from the centralOverall, this game is gorgeous and a true technological feat for its time. The game can be thrilling as you run from guards through the streets of Jerusalem. The stealth aspect of the game is well-done. However, the gameplay is otherwise overly simplistic and repetitive. Combat is particularly dull. The overarching story concerning the main character Desmond detracts from the central character and story of Altaïr. Expand
  17. Aug 11, 2014
    6
    Now that's different. An open world that looks like the middle east in history. I liked the atmosphere. The buildings, dresses, horses and sword fights. And I really enjoyed jumping on rooftops and doing parkour stuff. The control is good. It gives a great experience. But the story was too boring. And this affected the game significantly. I was hardly playing that game and hoping for aNow that's different. An open world that looks like the middle east in history. I liked the atmosphere. The buildings, dresses, horses and sword fights. And I really enjoyed jumping on rooftops and doing parkour stuff. The control is good. It gives a great experience. But the story was too boring. And this affected the game significantly. I was hardly playing that game and hoping for a change. But Al Muallim is such dull man. He keeps giving me the same mission every time I accomplished one. Expand
  18. Jul 28, 2014
    1
    Hack'n'slash creed is a good game. Unfortunately, they called it Assassin's Creed, and if you think you're playing a stealth game, you'll be totally frustrated. By bad controls. By tedious mechanics. By lack of imagination. By stupid AI that can't see you in front of them sometimes and is super reactive other times. There is no cover, there is no hide, you really can't strategize theHack'n'slash creed is a good game. Unfortunately, they called it Assassin's Creed, and if you think you're playing a stealth game, you'll be totally frustrated. By bad controls. By tedious mechanics. By lack of imagination. By stupid AI that can't see you in front of them sometimes and is super reactive other times. There is no cover, there is no hide, you really can't strategize the missions that much. You can just try to "blend" but it doesn't even work that well.

    Ok, it was the first of the franchise.. but it feels really old (the characters, the story.. the mechanics.. it's all so naive and outdated).

    Only good remark: the good graphics, for a 2008 game - but considering I played it with a total retexturing mod, that uses textures from Revelations.
    Expand
  19. Jun 22, 2014
    8
    This game was one of the best games I have played in a long time. Ubisoft did well. The story is great but there are a few flaws. The game is repetitive. You basically have to get a certain same requirement for each chapter. For example, you needed three investigations and they were pretty much the same throughout the whole story. You also needed to do view points and save citizens whichThis game was one of the best games I have played in a long time. Ubisoft did well. The story is great but there are a few flaws. The game is repetitive. You basically have to get a certain same requirement for each chapter. For example, you needed three investigations and they were pretty much the same throughout the whole story. You also needed to do view points and save citizens which pretty much got boring. The game also does not explain well on who the characters and places are. The visuals for its time is astonishing. The game makes you feel and care about certain characters whether good or bad. I would give this game an 85/100. Expand
  20. May 27, 2014
    8
    The beginning of a legend. I liked the first game, even with a median story, but with good graphics. The real innovation became with the second game of the franchise, which is my favorite.
  21. May 15, 2014
    5
    I will sum this game up by describing the most irritating thing about it.
    To quit the game you must first turn off the animus, then open the animus then go to the menu, then go to the main menu.
    It takes a good 1-5 minutes depending on your hard-drive setup. Simply put, really, really annoying. Story itself is good but that one thing really just killed playing it for me enough to not
    I will sum this game up by describing the most irritating thing about it.
    To quit the game you must first turn off the animus, then open the animus then go to the menu, then go to the main menu.
    It takes a good 1-5 minutes depending on your hard-drive setup.

    Simply put, really, really annoying.
    Story itself is good but that one thing really just killed playing it for me enough to not even try playing Assassins Creed II. (for now..)
    Expand
  22. Mar 22, 2014
    8
    Assassin's Creed (Director's Cut Edition) consists of a small variation of different elements that helped build the franchise's foundation and success.

    It somewhat fufilled it's role as a "historical adventure, open-world game", but unfortunately leaves out the "stealth" aspect away in the dirt. Here's a list of pros and cons from my 16 hours of experience with the game: Pros:
    Assassin's Creed (Director's Cut Edition) consists of a small variation of different elements that helped build the franchise's foundation and success.

    It somewhat fufilled it's role as a "historical adventure, open-world game", but unfortunately leaves out the "stealth" aspect away in the dirt.

    Here's a list of pros and cons from my 16 hours of experience with the game:

    Pros:

    + Great looking graphics for a 2007/2008 game
    + Game mechanics isn't really choppy, although the character sometimes get stucked in foliages and invisible floors/walls, but other than that, it still gets the job done, decently.
    + Detailed character modelling, costumes are looks realistic and well-detailed.
    + Missions usually relate to the plot directly, no twist and turns around a corner or two.
    + Plot was intriguing and epic.
    + At least 16-18 hours of non-stop gameplay spent completing just on the story.

    Cons:

    - Repetitive mission types, lacks creativity.
    - Artificial Intelligence coding feels half-assed, e.g. enemy A.I falling off buildings, not retaliating frequently to attacks, not noticing "stealth assassinations" when closeby.
    - Side missions (or known as "memories") are completely useless and takes a long time to complete.
    - Game stablility issues. E.g. unable to start the game, game crashing frequently.
    - Checkpoints feels non-existent.
    - Stealth doesn't really work all that well in this game.
    - Cliffhanger ending was disappointing. Adruptly ended with poor execution methods.

    To sum it up, this game is worth a shot at. I did enjoy this game a ton during the 16 hours of playtime. Good way to start up the storyline of the series to the future games.
    Expand
  23. Mar 18, 2014
    8
    I played the more recent AC installments and then decided to go back and try this one. I feared outdated mechanics, and though they do change drastically from the more recent set up, it was not difficult to adapt to and felt pretty good. I like the way the game flows and I felt much more like a true assassin rather than an extremely agile brawler like the other titles.
  24. Feb 24, 2014
    5
    The game looked very nice and the story was appealing. But the gameplay just wasn't for me. I think I just expected something else from the game. It seems smooth, made with a lot of care and perfectionism, but it just wasn't for me. I gave up after 5 or 6 hours.
  25. Feb 17, 2014
    6
    Can not believe that 2007 graphics, unique story pretty good, but too repetitive missions, unfriendly gameplay, such difficulties are way too high ahswiwotda battle.
  26. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    Story:7.8/10

    Characters:5/10 Graphics:7.3/10 Gameplay:7.5/10 A.I:7/10 Controls:9/10 Voice Acting:9/10 Music:9/10 Replay Value:7.1/10 POSITIVES + Open world,Prince of Persia,Third Crusade,Assassins and more + Amazing climbing system + Great music,voice acting and controls + View points + Good surprise twist and boss NEGATIVES - Side quest get
    Story:7.8/10

    Characters:5/10

    Graphics:7.3/10

    Gameplay:7.5/10

    A.I:7/10

    Controls:9/10

    Voice Acting:9/10

    Music:9/10

    Replay Value:7.1/10

    POSITIVES

    + Open world,Prince of Persia,Third Crusade,Assassins and more

    + Amazing climbing system

    + Great music,voice acting and controls

    + View points

    + Good surprise twist and boss

    NEGATIVES

    - Side quest get repetitive and boring

    - No character development or liking

    - Frustrating A.I.

    - Desmond

    - Combat that gets boring
    Expand
  27. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    Personally I love the Assassins Creed series. The story is great and is full of excitement and depth. I prefer Assassins Creed over the other games in the series. This game has a very good story line to it and i recommend playing it if you like stealth and assassinating games then this is the game for you. The story has a big twist at the end of it which keeps you on you feet. The end ofPersonally I love the Assassins Creed series. The story is great and is full of excitement and depth. I prefer Assassins Creed over the other games in the series. This game has a very good story line to it and i recommend playing it if you like stealth and assassinating games then this is the game for you. The story has a big twist at the end of it which keeps you on you feet. The end of the game really shows you about the continuing story from Assassin's Creed & Assassin's Creed II via Desmond Miles. Although this is a great game i cannot deny that there are some problems in the gameplay. For example there are a few bugs that get annoying in the storyline, the fighting also has problems and the occasional glitch. But overall its a great game and i recommended it to those who love these types of games.

    This is AssassinReviews,
    Thanks for reading :D
    Expand
  28. Nov 25, 2013
    6
    This game was like a dream come true for me. A lot of people complain about it being repetitive, shallow, boring, etc. and I can understand how they can say that. However I really enjoyed the freedom of movement and beautiful scenery. It's like you're a Middle Ages Batman! With time travel! I would've picked up the sequel on launch day if it wasn't for the overbearing DRM.
  29. Nov 18, 2013
    9
    This game is very well done, with a great story, great gameplay, great graphics, and great everything. The story will keep you intrigued and keeps you moving forward. Planning the Assassination of each of your targets is interesting, as you have to do investigation to find out more about them. Such as how to infiltrate the building they are currently in, the location of guards, why theThis game is very well done, with a great story, great gameplay, great graphics, and great everything. The story will keep you intrigued and keeps you moving forward. Planning the Assassination of each of your targets is interesting, as you have to do investigation to find out more about them. Such as how to infiltrate the building they are currently in, the location of guards, why the target is there, places to climb to get a nice view of the target.
    This game will keep completionist occupied, as to get %100 you have to kill 60 Templars, and get a set of flags from each of the three main cities.
    You can find secrets in areas in the game that will reveal parts of story you might miss completely.

    The story is odd, and is a little original but it may have been done before. I don't want to give anything away. But you most of the time you play as Altair, or 'The son of none', who has to assassinate nine targets in three cities in each district of that city (poor, middle, rich). Each memory block contains an assassination (1/2/3).
    Memory Blocks are split up so you can get story bits in between, out of the animus.

    Part of the game takes outside of the animus, which can read memories of your ancestors. Altair is the ancestor of Desmond Miles, a bartender. The animus can read his DNA to access Altair's memories. Like I said I am not going to spoil anything, but this game will interest you.

    Buy this game.
    Expand
  30. Oct 29, 2013
    5
    Arcade and repetitive, but this game also has nice open world cities, smooth choreography and the best horses in a game yet. Like most ports, this is nearly ruined by consolitis: narrow FOV, too easy, non-persistent world, annoying AI respawns, and one of the worst menu systems ever. The save system is bad and there are no subtitles. I had occasional CTDs. A pity, because without allArcade and repetitive, but this game also has nice open world cities, smooth choreography and the best horses in a game yet. Like most ports, this is nearly ruined by consolitis: narrow FOV, too easy, non-persistent world, annoying AI respawns, and one of the worst menu systems ever. The save system is bad and there are no subtitles. I had occasional CTDs. A pity, because without all those flaws, this would be a great game. In the end its an "OK" game. The sequels are also "OK" in my opinion. Expand
  31. Oct 14, 2013
    8
    While not as good as the sequels that followed, the original game set the bar high, in fact it's a testament to the others that they managed to beat it. The open world stealth and assassination gameplay template that many games followed was exemplified here.
  32. Oct 13, 2013
    9
    Game Play[9]
    Controls[10]
    Contactable/Easter Eggs[7]
    Innovation[10]
    Graphics[10]
    Sounds[9]
    replay Value[7]
    Gaming Satisfaction[9]
    Price/Playtime[10]
    Technical Issues[10]
    ------------------------------------
    Over All[9.1]
  33. Oct 6, 2013
    8
    Good game. I give it a 8/10. Remarkable for the visuals for a game from 2007. Looses points for being repetitive and having a camera that you want to kill during combat. Some points come back for having an intriguing back story. I didn't realize this is a trilogy with a long story. I figured it was just run and gun. Intrigued for AC2. I stalled out on this game in chapter 2 of 7, mostlyGood game. I give it a 8/10. Remarkable for the visuals for a game from 2007. Looses points for being repetitive and having a camera that you want to kill during combat. Some points come back for having an intriguing back story. I didn't realize this is a trilogy with a long story. I figured it was just run and gun. Intrigued for AC2. I stalled out on this game in chapter 2 of 7, mostly due to the repetition, but got going again after seeing an AC4 trailer. Took about 24 hours total to get through the game. This is a pretty good stealth game, which is in my wheel house. The combat is fun, but a bit non-intuitive and timing dependent. After you get the hang of it though you pretty much can't loose. Expand
  34. Sep 26, 2013
    8
    This is a great game which I really enjoyed. The attention to detail and historical accuracy is excellent and you really feel that you are wandering around in the cities the story takes place in. I particularly liked the parts of the story that take place in Acre. However I agree with a lot people that the missions do get slightly repetitive towards the end causing the game to drag a bitThis is a great game which I really enjoyed. The attention to detail and historical accuracy is excellent and you really feel that you are wandering around in the cities the story takes place in. I particularly liked the parts of the story that take place in Acre. However I agree with a lot people that the missions do get slightly repetitive towards the end causing the game to drag a bit at times hence me only giving it a score of 8. However it is a good intro to a very well done and fascinating series and a good hack and slash romp through a fascinating part of the Middle Ages Expand
  35. Sep 24, 2013
    4
    I wasn't astounded by the graphics and game engine, though both were really good, especially the latter but the depth of the game and way it handled were terrible. The side tasks were just moronic- help the same type of citizen in every town, stealth-kill some hoodlums for some unknown brother, eagle view of the city and jumping into haystacks without any harm. The fight engine was prettyI wasn't astounded by the graphics and game engine, though both were really good, especially the latter but the depth of the game and way it handled were terrible. The side tasks were just moronic- help the same type of citizen in every town, stealth-kill some hoodlums for some unknown brother, eagle view of the city and jumping into haystacks without any harm. The fight engine was pretty decent if you don't mention the fact that whilst killing soldiers others wait in a queue for their turn. Menus, the way it handled, the chore of exiting, uncuttable cutscenes, and the amount of unnecessary keys you had to push to do most things I gather were a thing of the concole but should have never found their way onto a PC. Also I had to kill most soldiers on my way because that was the easier way of getting rid of them after they saw Altair galloping around- killing should be the last thing an assassin does and not an easier way of travelling. And don't get me started on the need to hide after you ran away from enemies- why should I hide if I already lost them?!
    I imagine this must have been quite a thing for the console since it was uncomplicated and quite flashy but for me it was a boring, unimmaginative advanced hack'n'slash. A terrible port. It should've been called "Hack'n'slasher's creed".
    Expand
  36. Sep 10, 2013
    0
    This game is the worst disappointment I had in 20 years of gaming, also for all the hype around the series. The first 2 hours are great. Then it's just the same over and over again and you can't wait to complete it and get rid of it.

    PROS: - graphics are great, considering how old it is. -The cities are beautiful and interesting. - The story is ok. Nothing special though. CONS: -
    This game is the worst disappointment I had in 20 years of gaming, also for all the hype around the series. The first 2 hours are great. Then it's just the same over and over again and you can't wait to complete it and get rid of it.

    PROS:
    - graphics are great, considering how old it is.
    -The cities are beautiful and interesting.
    - The story is ok. Nothing special though.
    CONS:
    - controls with mouse and keyboard are plain terrible. Just do you a favour and play with a gamepad.
    - The game is REPETITIVE as hell. You do stupid tasks over and over again.
    - Combat is boring, frustrating without being challenging. You have 2/3 moves in total and always have to deal with large groups. Assassin style.
    - The game is more linear than Virtua Cop. Complete absence of any freedom in the storyline. There is some free roaming, but there is no reason to waste time picking up flags around.
    - Hours of cinematics, and you can't skip them even if you have to replay some mission

    You are an assassin. A deadly assassin. That's why the last hour of gameplay you will roleplay as a Barbarian and fight some 100 enemies in groups of 10.
    Expand
  37. Sep 3, 2013
    9
    this game is the one that made history is not boring and of course this game is one of the best game in the world this game is the one that started the assassin's creed franchise made this franchise one of the best open world game in the world
  38. Aug 19, 2013
    7
    All in all you can say that the game is good. The story is okay, but you have to do the same thing again and again, so it gets boring. The graphical quality and game-play are good. Only some bugs and glitches, but nothing to get excited about.

    Finally it's totally worth 7 points and you should play it
  39. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    Assassin's creed is a good game with decent story (although the ending was bad great graphic and some cool characters but the game is repetitive with the same missions nothing new so you'll have fun in the beginning and then you'll get a bit bored then disappointed in the ending but still it is not bad and give it a try
  40. Jul 8, 2013
    2
    This game started good. I loved the historical setting, walking around in Acre, Jerusalem, Damascus. But as game its just a POS. I cant imagine how the franchise survived. The controls, the most important thing in game are ridiculous. They sometimes working, other times not. That isnt a problem for a while, but after a few hours its getting harder and one missed push means running aroundThis game started good. I loved the historical setting, walking around in Acre, Jerusalem, Damascus. But as game its just a POS. I cant imagine how the franchise survived. The controls, the most important thing in game are ridiculous. They sometimes working, other times not. That isnt a problem for a while, but after a few hours its getting harder and one missed push means running around from soldiers endlessly. It is a shame. Its always the same they publish the game on the pc but leaving the damn controls console. Ive tried it with different hardware, I wanted to like this game, but I gave up at memory block 5... And if I didnt finished this, why on earth would I want to play the other parts?
    Score is 2 for the setting and not 0 which would be correct...
    Expand
  41. Jun 25, 2013
    6
    I really tried to like this game and it does have some things going for it. It looks good, it has very open maps and the premise (being stealthy assassin) sounds great.

    Unfortunately this game is very repetitive. Basically every mission is exactly the same and every map has the same scripted things you need to do and can do. This gets old somewhere around third mission. I originally
    I really tried to like this game and it does have some things going for it. It looks good, it has very open maps and the premise (being stealthy assassin) sounds great.

    Unfortunately this game is very repetitive. Basically every mission is exactly the same and every map has the same scripted things you need to do and can do. This gets old somewhere around third mission. I originally expected something more like Thief series. Optional side quests like "collect zillion flags around the map, to get nothing concrete" also don't help.

    It's also mind boggling why we need convoluted double plot. You see, all the assassin stuff actually happens inside this guy's head who is kidnapped by some organization in present time and placed inside machine that can play his "genetic memory". I really can't see any relevance or added value between this and the game's central idea of being medieval assassin. Granted that I didn't finish the game so I don't know if it starts to make sense at some point.

    All in all, the game is ok. Unfortunately, there are tons of better ways to spend your time than this game. It offers nothing exceptional or memorable.
    Expand
  42. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    Assassin's Creed ended up being a very fun game to play, however there are certain qualities that can make it less fun than it should be. Certain civilians (Beggars and lepers, specifically) keep bugging you. So much so that I had to actually parkour out of the way whenever I saw one approaching. The combat can be rather tedious, although new moves you gain after each assassination do helpAssassin's Creed ended up being a very fun game to play, however there are certain qualities that can make it less fun than it should be. Certain civilians (Beggars and lepers, specifically) keep bugging you. So much so that I had to actually parkour out of the way whenever I saw one approaching. The combat can be rather tedious, although new moves you gain after each assassination do help to relieve that. But the biggest problem I have with this game would be the missions, which often end up being the same.

    Yet with all of these qualities, it still stands as a good game, not only for it's great visuals and music, but also because with each mission you can actually understand who the victim is, why you're killing him, and how he could see what he was doing as a good thing; something that most modern shooters miss entirely. It also gives a great sense of character development as the main character actually undergoes a major change throughout the story, as those around him begin to notice.

    TL;DR Assassin's Creed has it's flaws, but is a great game, overall.
    Expand
  43. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game leaves a awesome positive mindset everytime you quit. One thing that is even remotely bad is quitting the game. It takes over a minute to exit the memory and the animus then quit the game. You cant skip cutscenes but usually they are so big of a deal you possibly cannot play without them, most of them are interactive so you can still do something while watching them. You get used to the keyboard controls very soon but it is clear that they didn't think of the mouse. the game has good graphics for it's age. The experience is intresting after memory block 1 and 2. The assassinations are really difficult if you don't exactly know what you are doing (one instance: I didn't play for a while and started playing right before an assassination and got killed over 20 times). the game is well balanced you are really agile and have to fight against a lot of enemies. Counter attacks may even be the most important thing in the game. Expand
  44. May 21, 2013
    6
    Extremely bland. The only thing holding this game up is its great story and engaging main missions. Every so often you'll be sent to kill a key target, and the mission to do so is a high point in the game. Unfortunately, everything else in between is very lackluster and boring. The same missions are repeated over and over in each city you go to and it's just not fun. I recommend readingExtremely bland. The only thing holding this game up is its great story and engaging main missions. Every so often you'll be sent to kill a key target, and the mission to do so is a high point in the game. Unfortunately, everything else in between is very lackluster and boring. The same missions are repeated over and over in each city you go to and it's just not fun. I recommend reading the wiki article to get the story down and then start playing ACII. Expand
  45. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    A revolucionary game. Intire cities developed at game, that was amazing. The problem: The game is so much repetitive. You have to do the same thing all the time.
  46. Apr 15, 2013
    6
    The game was greatly advertised but with poor creativity. With very repetitive side and main quests. Really hope the others are better. It was good at the beginning and at the end, despite that, what motivated me to continue playing was the curiosity to play the sequels and due to its nice graphics.
  47. Mar 23, 2013
    1
    Why this game has earned the respect of so many people? It seems very repetitive. The only thing acceptable was that the story engages, the rest is always the same Even the dialogues of the characters in the cities are repeated over and over again, not to mention the damn beggars and madmen that you pull to one side... PC is also very hard to play with keyboard, since I tried to play withWhy this game has earned the respect of so many people? It seems very repetitive. The only thing acceptable was that the story engages, the rest is always the same Even the dialogues of the characters in the cities are repeated over and over again, not to mention the damn beggars and madmen that you pull to one side... PC is also very hard to play with keyboard, since I tried to play with it but it's impossible to configure it, because each time I enter the game again is dropped and buttons are misplaced. I put it a 1 for the story... Expand
  48. Feb 28, 2013
    5
    Sometimes very boring and monotone.
  49. Jan 29, 2013
    4
    Good springboard for later games, but the pure receptivity shows story and innovation incompotence. Interesting setup, but seven or eight hours in, I realised I was doing the same thing I was doing last missions, and before that too. Character models are frequently repeated and have sticky animations, added to which, Altair looks exactly like Desmond. So many cut corners here it's a wonderGood springboard for later games, but the pure receptivity shows story and innovation incompotence. Interesting setup, but seven or eight hours in, I realised I was doing the same thing I was doing last missions, and before that too. Character models are frequently repeated and have sticky animations, added to which, Altair looks exactly like Desmond. So many cut corners here it's a wonder Ubisoft kept going with the franchise, but I'm glad they did. Expand
  50. Jan 16, 2013
    8
    While not nearly as refined as later titles, the original AC game stands on its own merits too. It features a compelling story, great atmosphere, and fresh gameplay mechanics. I found the parts where you must control Desmond to be rather tedious, but thankfully they are relatively short and do at least help to build up the story. The actual heart of the game, playing as Altair theWhile not nearly as refined as later titles, the original AC game stands on its own merits too. It features a compelling story, great atmosphere, and fresh gameplay mechanics. I found the parts where you must control Desmond to be rather tedious, but thankfully they are relatively short and do at least help to build up the story. The actual heart of the game, playing as Altair the assassin, is plenty of fun. The world is fairly large and mostly open, so you can explore, cause havoc, or do missions largely at your own pace. The cities are beautiful and each have their own look and feel, whether it's the holy city of Jerusalem, the crusader fortress of Acre, or the Muslim city of Damascus. Unfortunately the game provides you with limited weapons (you don't have the luxury of crossbows or smoke bombs as in later games), and most major assassination missions end up in huge sword-fights or long desperate chases. Still, there's nothing quite like hearing the chase music pumping as you leap around rooftops trying to escape a horde of pissed guards! Expand
  51. Jan 6, 2013
    7
    Awesome graphics, fantastic gameplay, but plotline is repetitive even though the story as a whole is one of the best i've seen/played. The only thing that drove me forward was the Desmond part and conspiracy theories about religion.
  52. Nov 30, 2012
    6
    Good graphics and interesting storyline, although lack of subtitle feature can make the game confusing from time to time. Story progress linear and no re-playability value. The game mechanic is highly repetitive and I wanted to quit playing after two to three hours. However, I beat the game just so I can say 'been there, done that'. Skip this game and go for Assassin Creed II if you areGood graphics and interesting storyline, although lack of subtitle feature can make the game confusing from time to time. Story progress linear and no re-playability value. The game mechanic is highly repetitive and I wanted to quit playing after two to three hours. However, I beat the game just so I can say 'been there, done that'. Skip this game and go for Assassin Creed II if you are thinking whether to get this game as of November 2012. Expand
  53. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    This game is nearly perfect. The storyline is a bit controversial but it unfolds in an amazing fashion as you are transported back and forth in time to relive the "memories" of your assassin ancestors. The developers took great pains to faithfully recreate the Holy Lands during an early crusade and bring times and places to life. One of my favorite parts of this game was simply scaling theThis game is nearly perfect. The storyline is a bit controversial but it unfolds in an amazing fashion as you are transported back and forth in time to relive the "memories" of your assassin ancestors. The developers took great pains to faithfully recreate the Holy Lands during an early crusade and bring times and places to life. One of my favorite parts of this game was simply scaling the large building and taking in the historic scenery. The controls were amazing, IMO, even with the mouse and keyboard. The ability to scale nearly every building, leap from the highest heights, and fight crowds of soldiers, all with an amazing fluidity and a profoundly deep level of control makes this one of the most enjoyable games you will ever play. I can agree with those who found the game a bit repetitive at times, particularly if you do the storyline first and then go back to try to get full synchronization; however, if you take your time and do all the side quests in an area before moving on to the next part of the storyline, it really isn't too bad. The only reason this game doesn't get a full 10 out of 10 is because once you finish the storyline, which doesn't feel rushed or too short, you really have no reason to play it again. It's like watching a great movie that you feel totally satisfied to have watched, but have no interest in watching again... sure you really look forward to the sequel, but you aren't going to do the first one over since you know how it is going to end and there is nothing new or exciting the second time around. . Expand
  54. Nov 12, 2012
    7
    Graphics, detailed models and artwork are good. The game play is entertaining for a short time, the player only has skills of combat, but no perks or other tactics that employs the assassin, in other words has very limited capabilities.The game has no re playability, and has no Multiplayer.So far seen few bugs.The story and the main characters are good, make you keep playing.
  55. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    A nice start for the best-selling franchise, Assassin's Creed's main flaw is its repeatetiveness - it follows the same pattern in all the three cities: complete a number of similiar side-missions - go in and eliminate the VIP. Still, the game features a great plot (both in the middle ages and in the modern days), impressive graphics (they're competetive even today), beautifullyA nice start for the best-selling franchise, Assassin's Creed's main flaw is its repeatetiveness - it follows the same pattern in all the three cities: complete a number of similiar side-missions - go in and eliminate the VIP. Still, the game features a great plot (both in the middle ages and in the modern days), impressive graphics (they're competetive even today), beautifully reconstructed cities and the unique feeling of being an assassin, watching his targets from the crowd and going in for the kill as an eagle squawks. Expand
  56. Oct 24, 2012
    7
    I would say this is a pretty good game overall. Nice gameplay, good combat system and a pretty good story with a fantastic ending. But this game definetly has it's bad sides too : The free run system has it's flawsand the guard system is just really messed up: Sometimes you can murder someone right infront of a guard and they don't give a **** and other times all you have to do is moveI would say this is a pretty good game overall. Nice gameplay, good combat system and a pretty good story with a fantastic ending. But this game definetly has it's bad sides too : The free run system has it's flawsand the guard system is just really messed up: Sometimes you can murder someone right infront of a guard and they don't give a **** and other times all you have to do is move past them and they will try to kill you. These two and other details about the game make it so frustrating to play that i can't give it more than a 7/10. Expand
  57. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Assassin's Creed İs Getting You Back To 1191 So İts A Rare Game.Map İs Very Big.Cities Are Very Big.Atmosphere is Good. Graphics are Very Good For 2008.And Assassinating Someone İs Enjoyable.You Can Climb Everywhere So İts Enjoyable Game.
  58. Aug 30, 2012
    6
    A good start, but not more. The following games are better. Me missions are not very difficulty, but the open world feeling ist very cool. The graphics were awesome that time.
  59. Aug 18, 2012
    8
    Really great game, provided you play it with a controller. Unfortunate fact of the matter is keyboard and mouse controls are rather bad. But if you're set with a controller there's a bunch of cool stuff here. Ubisoft made a huge emphasis on controls in this game. Just from pressing your left analog stick at different intensities, there are around 4 different walking animations, and thenReally great game, provided you play it with a controller. Unfortunate fact of the matter is keyboard and mouse controls are rather bad. But if you're set with a controller there's a bunch of cool stuff here. Ubisoft made a huge emphasis on controls in this game. Just from pressing your left analog stick at different intensities, there are around 4 different walking animations, and then there's another animation for running once you hit the "high profile" button. This allows you to seamlessly transition between movement speeds for incredibly tight and precise controls. This ties in beautifully with the game's focus on parkour style gameplay. Climbing up Jerusalem's tallest buildings and beholding the surrounding view is an amazing experience.

    Sadly, the game does suffer from lack of variety in combat and missions. Not enough to spoil the experience though. Between the controls, the gritty atmosphere and plot, and the environments, there's quite a lot to enjoy. here A real step forward for action platformers in my opinion.
    Expand
  60. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    AC is visually stunning, and the gameplay is fun. The story can be predictable, but It's interesting. Now, Assassin's Creed is the second best looking AC game, for my opinion, but It's not the best. The game can feel repetitive at times, and It haves some glitches. But, this game kicks asses, means that it's great. 83 out of 100
  61. Aug 12, 2012
    8
    This is a very good game. Its graphics are superb and the storyline is well thought out and gripping. Basically, you play as a 21st century person who uses a machine to relive the life of his ancestor-Altair, an assassin in the 12th century. Altair messes up a mission and is demoted in his assassin guild. In order to regain his high rank Altair is tasked by his master to assassinate aThis is a very good game. Its graphics are superb and the storyline is well thought out and gripping. Basically, you play as a 21st century person who uses a machine to relive the life of his ancestor-Altair, an assassin in the 12th century. Altair messes up a mission and is demoted in his assassin guild. In order to regain his high rank Altair is tasked by his master to assassinate a number of Templars-his guild's mortal enemies, including their grand master. The story has an interesting conclusion-I'll leave it at that. The gameplay is fluid and amazing. My only real criticisms are that the NPCs don't do much else other than walk around and utter the odd sentence. Also, most of the time you simply duel your target face-to-face, rather than employing skill to take them out stealthily. Overall, a great game! Expand
  62. Jul 23, 2012
    5
    Having played through, and for the most part- loving- the later Assassin's Creed games, I was really looking forward to seeing how the series started. Unfortunately, it seems there were some large growing pains with this first incarnation of the franchice. I have to agree with others who point out the repetitiveness of the missions once you get past the first three memories. The amount ofHaving played through, and for the most part- loving- the later Assassin's Creed games, I was really looking forward to seeing how the series started. Unfortunately, it seems there were some large growing pains with this first incarnation of the franchice. I have to agree with others who point out the repetitiveness of the missions once you get past the first three memories. The amount of time I have to spend synchronizing viewpoints and such just to unlock yet more-of-the-same types of missions is frankly exhausting. I can forgive the terrible combat controls and copy/paste generic NPC's everywhere, but if a game can't at least keep me entertained and wanting to see what happens next, it's just not worth it. Also worth noting is how wooden and unemotional Altair sounds throughout most of the game. The "animus translation" excuse just isn't sufficient for him to feel very out of place when compared to almost any of the other characters, whose performances are much more realistic. The modern-day exposition concerning Lucy and Abstergo is worth getting to hear, but not nearly good enough to save the rest of the game from being tedious and uninteresting. If you're a die-hard AC fan, you'll probably want it in your collection. Whether or not you'll be able to finish it is another question entirely. Expand
  63. Jul 13, 2012
    9
    Great story, graphics and animations are very good, Killing people it is repetitive because your an assassin and all your job to do is to kill people and all the objectives are great...
  64. Jun 12, 2012
    8
    Assassin's Creed is an enjoyable new game where people who are fond of conspiracies will surely enjoy the amazing storyline with a twist. Players will also enjoy the amazing unique gameplay and the different views of places which are based upon actual real life locations. Any person who is a fan of Action, stealth or sandbox games will surely love this game and will be glad to add it toAssassin's Creed is an enjoyable new game where people who are fond of conspiracies will surely enjoy the amazing storyline with a twist. Players will also enjoy the amazing unique gameplay and the different views of places which are based upon actual real life locations. Any person who is a fan of Action, stealth or sandbox games will surely love this game and will be glad to add it to their collection. Expand
  65. Apr 21, 2012
    8
    Nice locations, awesome story, sort of weird combat system, lucky that will be fixed in the next episodes, repetitive cause you always have to investigate+help citizen, but all in all worth the price of when it goes on sale, kept me busy for a few, if you want to go for the 100% completed in-game you will need a lot of times, if you are a fan of AC game get it anyway.
  66. Apr 9, 2012
    9
    Great atmosphere, with wonderful animations and an intriguing story. The parkour-style gameplay is addictive and fast paced, and the human crowds are lively, realistic and add an exciting element to the gameplay. Repetitive combat and missions are the drawbacks to Assassin's Creed, peppered with occasional camera and control issues, inherent with third-person open-world action games.Great atmosphere, with wonderful animations and an intriguing story. The parkour-style gameplay is addictive and fast paced, and the human crowds are lively, realistic and add an exciting element to the gameplay. Repetitive combat and missions are the drawbacks to Assassin's Creed, peppered with occasional camera and control issues, inherent with third-person open-world action games. Highly recommended, provided you have a gamepad and the hardware to support it! Expand
  67. Mar 19, 2012
    4
    A GAME WITH BIG "BUTS" +++
    I'm a huge fan of medieval games and a huge fan of stealth games, so Assassin's Creed was my game of choice the moment I played it for five minutes on a friends PS3. Graphics are well done, no doubt about that, assets, clothes, armour and architecture put you back into the time of crusades without too many fantasy like touches -- as an upcoming reenactor I found
    A GAME WITH BIG "BUTS" +++
    I'm a huge fan of medieval games and a huge fan of stealth games, so Assassin's Creed was my game of choice the moment I played it for five minutes on a friends PS3. Graphics are well done, no doubt about that, assets, clothes, armour and architecture put you back into the time of crusades without too many fantasy like touches -- as an upcoming reenactor I found this very inspiring!
    +++
    Game controls are a joy to play with. While many jump'n'run games fail to guide you along thin beam or on critical jumps, you really have to force your character off, which can be done quite well after a little practice. As mentioned before this sometimes gets into your way when your character automatically grabs ladders or beams to climb, while you actually want to run/fall/whatever.
    +++
    The fighting system is nice in terms of animations and feeling, but it is way too easy. While you are able to draw attention at you by an entire crusaders encampment you may get surrounded by 20 knights in a "circle of death", meaning you only fight one enemy at a time. Despite the honor of your enemies you will never get attacked when lying on the ground after you made a bad turn. You can use instant kill counterattacks efficiently after the first few fight leaving no challenge to such situations!
    +++
    As an assassin your job is to kill hits (people of influence, nobles, etc.) and nothing is more useful but having some clues on your hit before you strike. The game does not only offer clues, it forces you to collect them by playing repeating mini games. Even failing at those mini games is not a loss as you may retry as many times as you like -- so no pressure. After all clues you get are not only things you already know or you get to know -- at least while you try to find your "contacts" for the clues -- but they also have no impact on how you will strike! There usually is only one way in, no way to really prepare your strike and no way to strike silently. It always ends in a "honorable" fight (mentioned above) so you could rush right through if you didn't had to do those (now) pointless mini games....
    +++
    As mentioned before AI behavior only focuses on the player and gets really annoying as you -- the one in a robe wandering with the monks -- are literally attacked by beggars in a place crawling with nobles wearing silk more worth than half of the city.
    +++
    The story of Assassin's Creed has a nice idea inside. In good story telling characters called "shapeshifter" are the ones who betray you, fooling you to have worked for the wrong side after a long way, but still leaving you -- the player -- fooled as well when done well. Assassin's Creed tries that as well, leaving hints by each hit that you are fooled and if you have an IQ greater than a stone you will get it at least after the 3rd hit. This would not be the problem if there were not 6-7 more! From this point on I was not that motivated very much as I -- the character -- had to do things I -- the player -- didn't really want to do.
    +++
    I kept playing until the final punch in the face: You finally know what the master plan was behind everything in this game, but then suddenly be left alone in solitary, able to walk around, use "the machine" or literally find "the game's credits on a wall". The game has no satisfying ending, keeping you -- the player -- eager to continue right there. You may call it "cliffhanger" but it felt like someone ran off with the bag of money two month before the game was finished....
    +++
    CONCLUSION: The game is fun for one or two hours with so many ideas BUT looses depth quickly, like a teaser shooting all golden moments of a movie. As a "pilot" of a series it failed to get me....
    Expand
  68. JYT
    Jan 6, 2012
    1
    - only work is done on the graphism and riding the horse is nice
    - the story is simple: follow the doth, only one route to the end and no multiple route for the character.
    - it means no decision making - the last fight using the mouse has a bug and the support team was not able to solve the problem, they give and all-made answer of updating drivers although the rest of the game works well
    - only work is done on the graphism and riding the horse is nice
    - the story is simple: follow the doth, only one route to the end and no multiple route for the character.
    - it means no decision making
    - the last fight using the mouse has a bug and the support team was not able to solve the problem, they give and all-made answer of updating drivers although the rest of the game works well the system.
    - Who is the stupid game developper who did not bother programming the function "Quit", "Save and Quit" ??????
    Expand
  69. Dec 30, 2011
    4
    I'm a huge fan of the Assassin's creed series, but this one i could not get into at all. At first i loved it because I could run around and collect things but that grew old and repetitive just like the story missions. Near the end it gets less repetitive but you have to grind through many same-thing different-story missions to get there. The only reason this gets a 4 from me is becauseI'm a huge fan of the Assassin's creed series, but this one i could not get into at all. At first i loved it because I could run around and collect things but that grew old and repetitive just like the story missions. Near the end it gets less repetitive but you have to grind through many same-thing different-story missions to get there. The only reason this gets a 4 from me is because the story that it lays down for the rest of the series. Expand
  70. Dec 29, 2011
    7
    The game is nothing special. The assassin's creed series is fantastic but this game is just repetitive and boring, but it's not awful. It's easy, repetitive... blah. BUT, I recommend to play this before you play the rest of the games. Really, it's important. Anyway, it's a perfect port.
  71. Dec 28, 2011
    8
    This is a brilliant port to PC. Ubisoft listened to the complaints that people had about the console version, and came out with a refined, improved game on the PC. Unfortunately, I had to play this beauty on a on board graphics card which couldn't even run it on the lowest settings without lag. I struggled through the game with a framerate dipping as low as 5fps. After recently investingThis is a brilliant port to PC. Ubisoft listened to the complaints that people had about the console version, and came out with a refined, improved game on the PC. Unfortunately, I had to play this beauty on a on board graphics card which couldn't even run it on the lowest settings without lag. I struggled through the game with a framerate dipping as low as 5fps. After recently investing in a new graphics card I discovered that it was a truly magnificent game and I would recommend it to anyone who has an appetite for some blood (and a good enough rig) Expand
  72. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    I really love the Assassin's Creed series, I like this game very much. I like the graphics too. Great controls and story, the enemies need some more voices, but that's alright. The thing I don't like is that the structure of the missions is repetitive, and sometimes the dialog is too long. Other than that, it is a good game to buy. 9 out of 10 is what I give it.
  73. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Controls... Controls... Controls... This game loses everything at that point. I don't remember a game that i finished and still don't know the controls.
  74. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    I just want to start off by saying that I actually do enjoy this game, even if it might come across overly critical. I bought it a week or so ago, and have had about 10 hours play time with it now, won't be long either, till it is completed, at least with regards to the main story line.

    The graphics, for 2008 are very good, but, ofcourse, compared to todays standards they're not really
    I just want to start off by saying that I actually do enjoy this game, even if it might come across overly critical. I bought it a week or so ago, and have had about 10 hours play time with it now, won't be long either, till it is completed, at least with regards to the main story line.

    The graphics, for 2008 are very good, but, ofcourse, compared to todays standards they're not really that great, at all. Especially the character models and animations can sometimes have me cringing in my shoes, but I'll survive. The scenery, and the "finish", the aesthetics, are wonderful, though. I like the "dirty" look/feel to the game graphically, and it conveys a proper sense of atmosphere to the time period. Textures could be bumped up, alot, though.

    Sound and VA works fine, but the lip synch is nothing special, at all. This generation has featured, even older games, with better synching than this. All in all though, it works, but its not getting a 10/10 based on sound, VA and synching though.

    Gameplay wise it is pretty repetitive, listen to this guy, do this guy's challenge, pickpocket that guy, beat up the third guy and boom you are set to assassinate someone who will give you another piece to the storyline. So far, for me, the story line does seem quite intriguing, which is, as far as I see it (in this day and age) the one reason to play this game now. Especially seeing as Assassin's Creed II, Brotherhood and Revelations and the future Assassin's Creed III builds onto this storyline.

    Combat is a bit odd if I have to be honest. Yes you can hit someone with the sword, or stab someone with your hidden knife. If you are discovered, well, hold down right mouse button and stare at the screen until an enemy attacks you, then press left mouse button, and said enemy will either die or be out of combat for a while. You will be pretty much unkillable with right mouse button held, and left mouse button will kill people for you. It is rather simplistic, and would have worked fine, with a few more kill animations. There are quite a few, but you see them soooo often that they get tedious in the end. The first few times are very awesome though.

    Camera angling and control is horrible, it sometimes just does whatever the hell it wants to do and your sat wondering "wtf?" that is pretty much all there is to say to it.

    By 2008 standards it might have been an 8 or 9/10, by todays standards it would barely scrape a 7, but then again, for the money it costs these days, there are quite alot of fun to be had, and the story is pretty good. So 7/10 from me.
    Expand
  75. Oct 19, 2011
    4
    I really tried to like this game, but overall it was so repetitive it started to feel like a chore to finish. Go here, view here, complete objectives, and return to Masyaf. Aside from the historic holy land cities you visit (where you wash, rinse and repeat) the story is interesting and the visuals are great. The repetition leaves a bad after taste in your mouth, but this game alsoI really tried to like this game, but overall it was so repetitive it started to feel like a chore to finish. Go here, view here, complete objectives, and return to Masyaf. Aside from the historic holy land cities you visit (where you wash, rinse and repeat) the story is interesting and the visuals are great. The repetition leaves a bad after taste in your mouth, but this game also helps to setup the Assassin's Creed franchise. Not all is bad here, but it just wasn't well thought out and executed. Expand
  76. Aug 4, 2011
    6
    The story is good - EA did an awesome job doing historical research.
    However, the game play has the following pattern that does not change:
    Get Assignment, Kill soldiers, Assassinate Target. Next. Guess what - using a Knife!
    After third assignment - i uninstalled this game from my computer.
  77. Jul 31, 2011
    6
    i`liked playing the game but before it ends it got a bit boring, because the missions are often the same und you must travel long distances without happening much...

    ++ graphics
    + atmosphere
    + controls
    ~ story
    - - Missions
    - - menu controls
  78. Jul 23, 2011
    8
    Assassin's Creed is fun and challenging. It puts the player in a setting in the 12th century, during king Richard the Lionheart's crusades. The player takes on a role of an assassin Altair, who is part of a secret group of assassins. The game offers a free roaming gameplay and takes place in 4 cities, as well as a countryside in between those. The graphics are very rich, with stunningAssassin's Creed is fun and challenging. It puts the player in a setting in the 12th century, during king Richard the Lionheart's crusades. The player takes on a role of an assassin Altair, who is part of a secret group of assassins. The game offers a free roaming gameplay and takes place in 4 cities, as well as a countryside in between those. The graphics are very rich, with stunning environments, the locations are well designed, and the quests are pretty fun, even though somewhat repetitive after a while. My favourite thing about Assassin's Creed is its fantastic combat mechanic. I can fight guards day in day out and not get bored of it, because there are a number of moves you can perform in combat, with the most addictive one being counter attacks, which can instantly kill an attacking enemy if timed well. And if you aren't up for a fight, you can play a cat and mouse game with the guards, run through the city streets, dodging civilians, jumping through merchant stands and eventually disappearing in a good hiding place. There are only 5-6 different types of quests which you have to do in every city and every city district, but they do get more challenging as you progress through the game. At the end of each set of sidequests you have to assassinate a certain corrupt leader, and even though that's a repetitive structure to a game, you still face a different challenge with each leader (for example one you might need to chase, another one to face in battle, third one to stealthly kill, etc). The storyline maybe isn't anything special, but it's not exactly bad either. It's predictable to a degree, but it's not stale. Repetition might be one issue in the game, but I don't mind it so much, so long as the game is fun. However there are a couple of issues I wasn't too fond of. First one was that it took a while to get used to the controls. The fact there are separate buttons for each limb and a button for a high profile stance can get confusing in the beginning. Another problem that brought the game down a bit was that whenever you entered an area where a cinematic had to occur, you would suddenly not be able to do anything apart from walking until the cinematic triggers. This means that if you tried to enter through a roof, you basically wouldn't be able to jump down and would be stuck on a ledge. Other than those few issues the game is good. Expand
  79. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    OK, I usually don't like games that are set in middle ages, but this was a surprise. The graphics are awesome but my computer could handle this only on the lowest settings and that's the reason why I don't try Assassin's Creed 2 and Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood. Even the lowest settings are great! The story is about a dude. In 2012 he has been held in captivity by a mad scientist. He putsOK, I usually don't like games that are set in middle ages, but this was a surprise. The graphics are awesome but my computer could handle this only on the lowest settings and that's the reason why I don't try Assassin's Creed 2 and Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood. Even the lowest settings are great! The story is about a dude. In 2012 he has been held in captivity by a mad scientist. He puts the dude in sort of a time machine (or what the hell it is) called Animus. You actually control the dude. The environment is massive and you can go wherever you want. You will be in Middle East and there is a village, a big kingdom, and three cities - Jerusalem, Damascus and Acre. There are there three areas in each city - rich class people area, medium class people area and poor class people area. All those things are nice but sadly, that you do the same thing over and over again. There are some bugs too. Two or three times I fell out of the graphics. The good thing is that you can climb walls, jump from roof to roof etc. The controls are a bit confusing but you will get used to them.

    Graphics: They are awesome 10/10
    Sound: I usually play and don't listen to sounds
    Gameplay: 7/10 because of the repetitive gameplay
    Story: Great but confusing 8/10
    Expand
  80. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played, and much better then the second.This game is full of action, semi liinear (You may need to do the storyline to unlick certain things, which is pretty common, such as areas and items) VERY underated, should be at least an 8.6 or higher.The repetetive part of the game is veiw points when you first enter the city.Many beleive the investigationsOne of the best games I have ever played, and much better then the second.This game is full of action, semi liinear (You may need to do the storyline to unlick certain things, which is pretty common, such as areas and items) VERY underated, should be at least an 8.6 or higher.The repetetive part of the game is veiw points when you first enter the city.Many beleive the investigations repetetive, but this is fixed with the director's cut.A must have. Expand
  81. Apr 30, 2011
    6
    Beautiful, detailed game. Authentic medieval feel. Great animations. Climbing tall structures gives genuine feeling of vertigo which never gets old. Repetitive and boring game play however which evolves little as game progresses. Annoying combat sequences. Little motivation to complete lengthy campaign beyond concluding the story. Excruciating game menu interface.
  82. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Those guys who gaves scores below 5 they didn't even finished the game.. The reason? they say ots bad ported, bugs, lag...
    Well hello, if you want to play a mans game, then buy a dam **** mans PC...
    Assassins creed was th best game ever released, thank GOD somebody had the idea releasing such a beautiful game, thnak you.. The game is PERFECT. There are some repetitive missions but killing people is repetitive too isn't?? Every game has to be repetitive with something.. I enjoyed the game and i bought Assassins Creed 2 6 month later and now i bought assassins Creed Brotherhood and i already completed it... Dam, thats what i call a Game!!! Assassins Creed for Ever!!!
    Expand
  83. Nov 22, 2010
    3
    Yet another half-arsed attempt to milk the pc market on money. It's a port at its worst, a growing trend.

    Virtually everything about this game is bad. The only thing that stands out is the graphics, it certainly isn't crysis but not all that terrible. But everything else is, as said, terrible. The controls or inhumane, it's almost as if they randomly assigned key bindings. Now I said it's
    Yet another half-arsed attempt to milk the pc market on money. It's a port at its worst, a growing trend.

    Virtually everything about this game is bad. The only thing that stands out is the graphics, it certainly isn't crysis but not all that terrible.
    But everything else is, as said, terrible. The controls or inhumane, it's almost as if they randomly assigned key bindings.
    Now I said it's a bad port and it first shows when moving the camera, it's a standard console camera, not suitable for the PC-market since it get stuck, it's not really a idealistic viewpoint.
    The second proof that no work was put in porting this game whatsoever is the fact that you have to lock onto a target in order to fight it, it simply doesn't work and isn't needed on a computer.

    Even if the controls and the game handled like a regular PC game the story is meagre -- at best.
    It's a very cliché game, I won't go into details but I can think of several books and films that have already pulled that thing off. It's not interesting any more. For the younger and casual audience this isn't perhaps an issue at all, but for a gamer like me that view games like art it certainly isn't impressive.

    This game isn't worthwhile playing, regardless of the price, heck even if you got it for free!
    Expand
  84. Oct 14, 2010
    5
    I bought this for PC because it was on sale on Steam for $5. You should only plan to buy this for PC if you have a computer capable of taking advantage of the graphics vs a console and if you have a controller (the game instantly recognized my Logitech Rumblepad 2). The PC controls are beyond awful. Controls aside, this game had some good ideas for assassination but could have beenI bought this for PC because it was on sale on Steam for $5. You should only plan to buy this for PC if you have a computer capable of taking advantage of the graphics vs a console and if you have a controller (the game instantly recognized my Logitech Rumblepad 2). The PC controls are beyond awful. Controls aside, this game had some good ideas for assassination but could have been executed much better. Every aspect in the game is repetitive. All three cities you explore look exactly the same. The AI citizens same the exact same things, perhaps in a different accent. The missions you do are indistinguishable from the other. Saving citizens, finding flags, chasing people down, everything you do in the game is pretty much restricted to those few actions. This wouldn't be so much of a problem if the story was good, but it's not. While getting to the end was intense, the long middle was just hunting down an evil person, killing them and viewing their cinematics, then repeat. You meet no indistinguishable characters and everything gets REALLY boring, REALLY fast. I can only think of one reason to recommend anyone to play Assassin's Creed, and that is to play Assassin's Creed II. While it's not mandatory to play it to understand AC2's backstory, it's nice to be less confused in the game. And believe me, AC2 fixes EVERYTHING from the first game, and adds so much more. Assassin's Creed II alone, makes the first game worth playing. Expand
  85. Sep 4, 2010
    8
    Great game, the storyline slowly unfolds and the main character pulls off some amazing moves in a visually stunning backdrop. Does tend to become a bit repetitive after a while though.
  86. Aug 12, 2010
    6
    This game is mediocore at most. The combat system is repetitive, and the assassinations are surprisingly linear. All that is fun to do is basically the free-running, and even that gets boring at sometime. I like the concept, but it is just too repetitive to be a good game.
  87. GusGus
    Jan 14, 2010
    6
    What an amazing game! So much fun to play and great graphics. What awful awful awful interface on PC. on Win 7- 64bit, I cant alt tab out of the game and it takes sometimes 7-8 trys to cntrl-alt-del out of the game! Why is it neccesary to leave the game this way? Because to just quit the game takes 5 minutes! first you have to quit the "animus" then leave the game, then goto the menu, What an amazing game! So much fun to play and great graphics. What awful awful awful interface on PC. on Win 7- 64bit, I cant alt tab out of the game and it takes sometimes 7-8 trys to cntrl-alt-del out of the game! Why is it neccesary to leave the game this way? Because to just quit the game takes 5 minutes! first you have to quit the "animus" then leave the game, then goto the menu, then quit the game???? Really? They couldnt just give you a "Quit to Windows" option? Also some glitchy stuff that I am not going to get into. Great game, great graphics, not made for the PC and/or just a lack of awareness be designers that truly takes away from the experience. Expand
  88. IanK
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    good game overall, i played it on the xbox 360 at my friend's a couple times and it was GREAT! I absolutly loved it! Graphics were amazing, gameplay was semi-repetative but think thats possibly what an 12th century assassin had to do. deep story line very fun to play. The reason i played this the first time was to see if i could get any ideas for free running ie. parkour, and was good game overall, i played it on the xbox 360 at my friend's a couple times and it was GREAT! I absolutly loved it! Graphics were amazing, gameplay was semi-repetative but think thats possibly what an 12th century assassin had to do. deep story line very fun to play. The reason i played this the first time was to see if i could get any ideas for free running ie. parkour, and was shown so much more then i was hoping for, I was sucked into the story and couldnt walk away. GREAT GAME! Expand
  89. OakleyP
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    Best game I have ever played on the PC. If you like any kind of Assassin or stealth games, this is for you!
  90. SyedS.
    Nov 27, 2009
    8
    The graphics are realistic and the gameplay is great, but the story is somewhat confusing, and the side missions are boring. The styles are great, especially leaps. You wouldn't find anything new to it rather than the side missions which turn out to be boring as well.
  91. AlexR.
    Oct 24, 2009
    9
    This game is ridiculously fun all you do is run around and kill people it is repetitive because your an assassin and all your job to do is to kill people and THAT my friend is what makes this video game so awesome and addictive. Some people may get bored of this but it is one of the reasons I play video games. I LOVE IT!!!
  92. Dr.VV
    Oct 23, 2009
    2
    This is typical ubisoft, good graphics but the gameplay and interface are very linear and not well documented and the control interface sucks. As is very typical, they consistently require various combination's of keystrokes to do various actions and yet allow the character to get locked up in surroundings or people, this preventing any action from taking place. Avoid this fetid This is typical ubisoft, good graphics but the gameplay and interface are very linear and not well documented and the control interface sucks. As is very typical, they consistently require various combination's of keystrokes to do various actions and yet allow the character to get locked up in surroundings or people, this preventing any action from taking place. Avoid this fetid design unless you thrive on frustration. Oh, and Ubi, fix your friggin interfaces first, then worry about graphics. Expand
  93. PhillipB
    Jul 28, 2009
    7
    Not the best, not the worst, i give it a 7/10 because some of the gameplay is repeating and the story is a bit confusing, but the its still a very entertaining game to play.
  94. CH
    Jul 27, 2009
    7
    To be fair, there are some glitches and exploits here and there. One of them is the sound, and it took me like 2 days to fix it (there's a ultra short tutorial on it for XP, but now vista which im currently using). Another glitch (or bug rather) occurred when i was fighting the 9th boss (the one at the end of a passage). I somehow managed to kill the biss in the "Memory Error" zone To be fair, there are some glitches and exploits here and there. One of them is the sound, and it took me like 2 days to fix it (there's a ultra short tutorial on it for XP, but now vista which im currently using). Another glitch (or bug rather) occurred when i was fighting the 9th boss (the one at the end of a passage). I somehow managed to kill the biss in the "Memory Error" zone after 10 minutes of nintendo tumbs and tada, I'm dead cause he was beaten inside that zone. Well, apart from these 2 experiences, it's generally is fun. Expand
  95. ChrisR
    Jul 17, 2009
    8
    Great game, it gets a little repetitive though...
  96. JamesM
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    I loved this game! It's my favorite computer game of all time, I think.Sneaking up on people, quietly stabbing them, and then calmly walking away...lol It's just an all around fun game, good story (so far), fun game play, though the controls still give me a hard time, sometimes. All around... Amazing! 10!:)
  97. Ralph
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    It's one of the best games I have ever played in my life. Amazing graphics, amazing story, amazing gameplay. I loved it, and I hope you will love it too.
  98. JuanC
    Jun 17, 2009
    9
    Getting in and out menu is exasperating. Seems the menu was a copycat from console game. Fantastic graphics. Sword battles reminds me the Fugitive Samurai.
  99. PabloS.
    Jun 5, 2009
    9
    Although after a long time becomes a bit tedious, is a very entertaining game and a very pleasant environment.
  100. AlanM
    Jun 5, 2009
    9
    Having not played this game on anything but the PC, I cannot speculate on any changes/imporvements made from the carry-over to the computer version. That being said, I easily gave this title a 9 out of 10, and only because most, if not all, missions are repetitive in nature. The essence of not only the main character but his surroundings are superb and at no time did I feel that things Having not played this game on anything but the PC, I cannot speculate on any changes/imporvements made from the carry-over to the computer version. That being said, I easily gave this title a 9 out of 10, and only because most, if not all, missions are repetitive in nature. The essence of not only the main character but his surroundings are superb and at no time did I feel that things within the context of the overall game were out of place. In fact, I became more interested in the real history of the area and time period because of this game. The end of the game only solidified my curiosity as to what Ubisoft will develop with the other two games of the trilogy and seeing as how Assassin's Creed 2 ships late 2009, I count the days and crave what comes next. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. PC Format
    84
    Playing as gaming's most agile character is joyous, which outweighs the lengthy cutscenes and disappointing final hour. [Apr 2008, p.38]
  2. Assassin’s Creed for the PC is a pretty compelling action game that benefits from huge environments and an interesting story. While the main campaign can get a bit repetitive, the new Director’s Cut features add some nice variety.
  3. 78
    What you're left with is a repetitive side-quest requirement for completing each primary mission, though the issue is alleviated somewhat with the PC version's additional content.