User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 646 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 646

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Those guys who gaves scores below 5 they didn't even finished the game.. The reason? they say ots bad ported, bugs, lag...
    Well hello, if you want to play a mans game, then buy a dam **** mans PC...
    Assassins creed was th best game ever released, thank GOD somebody had the idea releasing such a beautiful game, thnak you.. The game is PERFECT. There are some repetitive missions but killing people is repetitive too isn't?? Every game has to be repetitive with something.. I enjoyed the game and i bought Assassins Creed 2 6 month later and now i bought assassins Creed Brotherhood and i already completed it... Dam, thats what i call a Game!!! Assassins Creed for Ever!!!
    Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played, and much better then the second.This game is full of action, semi liinear (You may need to do the storyline to unlick certain things, which is pretty common, such as areas and items) VERY underated, should be at least an 8.6 or higher.The repetetive part of the game is veiw points when you first enter the city.Many beleive the investigations repetetive, but this is fixed with the director's cut.A must have. Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Assassin's Creed İs Getting You Back To 1191 So İts A Rare Game.Map İs Very Big.Cities Are Very Big.Atmosphere is Good. Graphics are Very Good For 2008.And Assassinating Someone İs Enjoyable.You Can Climb Everywhere So İts Enjoyable Game.
  4. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    Personally I love the Assassins Creed series. The story is great and is full of excitement and depth. I prefer Assassins Creed over the other games in the series. This game has a very good story line to it and i recommend playing it if you like stealth and assassinating games then this is the game for you. The story has a big twist at the end of it which keeps you on you feet. The end of the game really shows you about the continuing story from Assassin's Creed & Assassin's Creed II via Desmond Miles. Although this is a great game i cannot deny that there are some problems in the gameplay. For example there are a few bugs that get annoying in the storyline, the fighting also has problems and the occasional glitch. But overall its a great game and i recommended it to those who love these types of games.

    This is AssassinReviews,
    Thanks for reading :D
    Expand
  5. Jul 23, 2011
    9
    Assassin's Creed is fun and challenging. It puts the player in a setting in the 12th century, during king Richard the Lionheart's crusades. The player takes on a role of an assassin Altair, who is part of a secret group of assassins. The game offers a free roaming gameplay and takes place in 4 cities, as well as a countryside in between those. The graphics are very rich, with stunning environments, the locations are well designed, and the quests are pretty fun, even though somewhat repetitive after a while. My favourite thing about Assassin's Creed is its fantastic combat mechanic. I can fight guards day in day out and not get bored of it, because there are a number of moves you can perform in combat, with the most addictive one being counter attacks, which can instantly kill an attacking enemy if timed well. And if you aren't up for a fight, you can play a cat and mouse game with the guards, run through the city streets, dodging civilians, jumping through merchant stands and eventually disappearing in a good hiding place. There are only 5-6 different types of quests which you have to do in every city and every city district, but they do get more challenging as you progress through the game. At the end of each set of sidequests you have to assassinate a certain corrupt leader, and even though that's a repetitive structure to a game, you still face a different challenge with each leader (for example one you might need to chase, another one to face in battle, third one to stealthly kill, etc). The storyline maybe isn't anything special, but it's not exactly bad either. It's predictable to a degree, but it's not stale. Repetition might be one issue in the game, but I don't mind it so much, so long as the game is fun. However there are a couple of issues I wasn't too fond of. First one was that it took a while to get used to the controls. The fact there are separate buttons for each limb and a button for a high profile stance can get confusing in the beginning. Another problem that brought the game down a bit was that whenever you entered an area where a cinematic had to occur, you would suddenly not be able to do anything apart from walking until the cinematic triggers. This means that if you tried to enter through a roof, you basically wouldn't be able to jump down and would be stuck on a ledge. Other than those few issues the game is good. Expand
  6. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    I really love the Assassin's Creed series, I like this game very much. I like the graphics too. Great controls and story, the enemies need some more voices, but that's alright. The thing I don't like is that the structure of the missions is repetitive, and sometimes the dialog is too long. Other than that, it is a good game to buy. 9 out of 10 is what I give it.
  7. Apr 9, 2012
    9
    Great atmosphere, with wonderful animations and an intriguing story. The parkour-style gameplay is addictive and fast paced, and the human crowds are lively, realistic and add an exciting element to the gameplay. Repetitive combat and missions are the drawbacks to Assassin's Creed, peppered with occasional camera and control issues, inherent with third-person open-world action games. Highly recommended, provided you have a gamepad and the hardware to support it! Expand
  8. Jul 13, 2012
    9
    Great story, graphics and animations are very good, Killing people it is repetitive because your an assassin and all your job to do is to kill people and all the objectives are great...
  9. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    This game is nearly perfect. The storyline is a bit controversial but it unfolds in an amazing fashion as you are transported back and forth in time to relive the "memories" of your assassin ancestors. The developers took great pains to faithfully recreate the Holy Lands during an early crusade and bring times and places to life. One of my favorite parts of this game was simply scaling the large building and taking in the historic scenery. The controls were amazing, IMO, even with the mouse and keyboard. The ability to scale nearly every building, leap from the highest heights, and fight crowds of soldiers, all with an amazing fluidity and a profoundly deep level of control makes this one of the most enjoyable games you will ever play. I can agree with those who found the game a bit repetitive at times, particularly if you do the storyline first and then go back to try to get full synchronization; however, if you take your time and do all the side quests in an area before moving on to the next part of the storyline, it really isn't too bad. The only reason this game doesn't get a full 10 out of 10 is because once you finish the storyline, which doesn't feel rushed or too short, you really have no reason to play it again. It's like watching a great movie that you feel totally satisfied to have watched, but have no interest in watching again... sure you really look forward to the sequel, but you aren't going to do the first one over since you know how it is going to end and there is nothing new or exciting the second time around. . Expand
  10. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    A revolucionary game. Intire cities developed at game, that was amazing. The problem: The game is so much repetitive. You have to do the same thing all the time.
  11. Sep 3, 2013
    9
    this game is the one that made history is not boring and of course this game is one of the best game in the world this game is the one that started the assassin's creed franchise made this franchise one of the best open world game in the world
  12. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game leaves a awesome positive mindset everytime you quit. One thing that is even remotely bad is quitting the game. It takes over a minute to exit the memory and the animus then quit the game. You cant skip cutscenes but usually they are so big of a deal you possibly cannot play without them, most of them are interactive so you can still do something while watching them. You get used to the keyboard controls very soon but it is clear that they didn't think of the mouse. the game has good graphics for it's age. The experience is intresting after memory block 1 and 2. The assassinations are really difficult if you don't exactly know what you are doing (one instance: I didn't play for a while and started playing right before an assassination and got killed over 20 times). the game is well balanced you are really agile and have to fight against a lot of enemies. Counter attacks may even be the most important thing in the game. Expand
  13. Oct 13, 2013
    9
    Game Play[9]
    Controls[10]
    Contactable/Easter Eggs[7]
    Innovation[10]
    Graphics[10]
    Sounds[9]
    replay Value[7]
    Gaming Satisfaction[9]
    Price/Playtime[10]
    Technical Issues[10]
    ------------------------------------
    Over All[9.1]
  14. Nov 18, 2013
    9
    This game is very well done, with a great story, great gameplay, great graphics, and great everything. The story will keep you intrigued and keeps you moving forward. Planning the Assassination of each of your targets is interesting, as you have to do investigation to find out more about them. Such as how to infiltrate the building they are currently in, the location of guards, why the target is there, places to climb to get a nice view of the target.
    This game will keep completionist occupied, as to get %100 you have to kill 60 Templars, and get a set of flags from each of the three main cities.
    You can find secrets in areas in the game that will reveal parts of story you might miss completely.

    The story is odd, and is a little original but it may have been done before. I don't want to give anything away. But you most of the time you play as Altair, or 'The son of none', who has to assassinate nine targets in three cities in each district of that city (poor, middle, rich). Each memory block contains an assassination (1/2/3).
    Memory Blocks are split up so you can get story bits in between, out of the animus.

    Part of the game takes outside of the animus, which can read memories of your ancestors. Altair is the ancestor of Desmond Miles, a bartender. The animus can read his DNA to access Altair's memories. Like I said I am not going to spoil anything, but this game will interest you.

    Buy this game.
    Expand
  15. Aug 1, 2014
    9
    "Assassin's Creed" features a fresh and decent plot and an innovative gameplay. Back in 2008, its graphics were exceptional, too. You cannot get easily attached to the central character, but the full of twists story is pretty absorbing. It's an absolute achievement and deserves every single bit of its acclaim.
  16. Sep 4, 2010
    8
    Great game, the storyline slowly unfolds and the main character pulls off some amazing moves in a visually stunning backdrop. Does tend to become a bit repetitive after a while though.
  17. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    OK, I usually don't like games that are set in middle ages, but this was a surprise. The graphics are awesome but my computer could handle this only on the lowest settings and that's the reason why I don't try Assassin's Creed 2 and Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood. Even the lowest settings are great! The story is about a dude. In 2012 he has been held in captivity by a mad scientist. He puts the dude in sort of a time machine (or what the hell it is) called Animus. You actually control the dude. The environment is massive and you can go wherever you want. You will be in Middle East and there is a village, a big kingdom, and three cities - Jerusalem, Damascus and Acre. There are there three areas in each city - rich class people area, medium class people area and poor class people area. All those things are nice but sadly, that you do the same thing over and over again. There are some bugs too. Two or three times I fell out of the graphics. The good thing is that you can climb walls, jump from roof to roof etc. The controls are a bit confusing but you will get used to them.

    Graphics: They are awesome 10/10
    Sound: I usually play and don't listen to sounds
    Gameplay: 7/10 because of the repetitive gameplay
    Story: Great but confusing 8/10
    Expand
  18. Oct 14, 2013
    8
    While not as good as the sequels that followed, the original game set the bar high, in fact it's a testament to the others that they managed to beat it. The open world stealth and assassination gameplay template that many games followed was exemplified here.
  19. Jun 12, 2012
    8
    Assassin's Creed is an enjoyable new game where people who are fond of conspiracies will surely enjoy the amazing storyline with a twist. Players will also enjoy the amazing unique gameplay and the different views of places which are based upon actual real life locations. Any person who is a fan of Action, stealth or sandbox games will surely love this game and will be glad to add it to their collection. Expand
  20. Dec 28, 2011
    8
    This is a brilliant port to PC. Ubisoft listened to the complaints that people had about the console version, and came out with a refined, improved game on the PC. Unfortunately, I had to play this beauty on a on board graphics card which couldn't even run it on the lowest settings without lag. I struggled through the game with a framerate dipping as low as 5fps. After recently investing in a new graphics card I discovered that it was a truly magnificent game and I would recommend it to anyone who has an appetite for some blood (and a good enough rig) Expand
  21. Apr 21, 2012
    8
    Nice locations, awesome story, sort of weird combat system, lucky that will be fixed in the next episodes, repetitive cause you always have to investigate+help citizen, but all in all worth the price of when it goes on sale, kept me busy for a few, if you want to go for the 100% completed in-game you will need a lot of times, if you are a fan of AC game get it anyway.
  22. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    A nice start for the best-selling franchise, Assassin's Creed's main flaw is its repeatetiveness - it follows the same pattern in all the three cities: complete a number of similiar side-missions - go in and eliminate the VIP. Still, the game features a great plot (both in the middle ages and in the modern days), impressive graphics (they're competetive even today), beautifully reconstructed cities and the unique feeling of being an assassin, watching his targets from the crowd and going in for the kill as an eagle squawks. Expand
  23. Jan 16, 2013
    8
    While not nearly as refined as later titles, the original AC game stands on its own merits too. It features a compelling story, great atmosphere, and fresh gameplay mechanics. I found the parts where you must control Desmond to be rather tedious, but thankfully they are relatively short and do at least help to build up the story. The actual heart of the game, playing as Altair the assassin, is plenty of fun. The world is fairly large and mostly open, so you can explore, cause havoc, or do missions largely at your own pace. The cities are beautiful and each have their own look and feel, whether it's the holy city of Jerusalem, the crusader fortress of Acre, or the Muslim city of Damascus. Unfortunately the game provides you with limited weapons (you don't have the luxury of crossbows or smoke bombs as in later games), and most major assassination missions end up in huge sword-fights or long desperate chases. Still, there's nothing quite like hearing the chase music pumping as you leap around rooftops trying to escape a horde of pissed guards! Expand
  24. Oct 6, 2013
    8
    Good game. I give it a 8/10. Remarkable for the visuals for a game from 2007. Looses points for being repetitive and having a camera that you want to kill during combat. Some points come back for having an intriguing back story. I didn't realize this is a trilogy with a long story. I figured it was just run and gun. Intrigued for AC2. I stalled out on this game in chapter 2 of 7, mostly due to the repetition, but got going again after seeing an AC4 trailer. Took about 24 hours total to get through the game. This is a pretty good stealth game, which is in my wheel house. The combat is fun, but a bit non-intuitive and timing dependent. After you get the hang of it though you pretty much can't loose. Expand
  25. Aug 12, 2012
    8
    This is a very good game. Its graphics are superb and the storyline is well thought out and gripping. Basically, you play as a 21st century person who uses a machine to relive the life of his ancestor-Altair, an assassin in the 12th century. Altair messes up a mission and is demoted in his assassin guild. In order to regain his high rank Altair is tasked by his master to assassinate a number of Templars-his guild's mortal enemies, including their grand master. The story has an interesting conclusion-I'll leave it at that. The gameplay is fluid and amazing. My only real criticisms are that the NPCs don't do much else other than walk around and utter the odd sentence. Also, most of the time you simply duel your target face-to-face, rather than employing skill to take them out stealthily. Overall, a great game! Expand
  26. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    AC is visually stunning, and the gameplay is fun. The story can be predictable, but It's interesting. Now, Assassin's Creed is the second best looking AC game, for my opinion, but It's not the best. The game can feel repetitive at times, and It haves some glitches. But, this game kicks asses, means that it's great. 83 out of 100
  27. Aug 18, 2012
    8
    Really great game, provided you play it with a controller. Unfortunate fact of the matter is keyboard and mouse controls are rather bad. But if you're set with a controller there's a bunch of cool stuff here. Ubisoft made a huge emphasis on controls in this game. Just from pressing your left analog stick at different intensities, there are around 4 different walking animations, and then there's another animation for running once you hit the "high profile" button. This allows you to seamlessly transition between movement speeds for incredibly tight and precise controls. This ties in beautifully with the game's focus on parkour style gameplay. Climbing up Jerusalem's tallest buildings and beholding the surrounding view is an amazing experience.

    Sadly, the game does suffer from lack of variety in combat and missions. Not enough to spoil the experience though. Between the controls, the gritty atmosphere and plot, and the environments, there's quite a lot to enjoy. here A real step forward for action platformers in my opinion.
    Expand
  28. Sep 26, 2013
    8
    This is a great game which I really enjoyed. The attention to detail and historical accuracy is excellent and you really feel that you are wandering around in the cities the story takes place in. I particularly liked the parts of the story that take place in Acre. However I agree with a lot people that the missions do get slightly repetitive towards the end causing the game to drag a bit at times hence me only giving it a score of 8. However it is a good intro to a very well done and fascinating series and a good hack and slash romp through a fascinating part of the Middle Ages Expand
  29. Mar 22, 2014
    8
    Assassin's Creed (Director's Cut Edition) consists of a small variation of different elements that helped build the franchise's foundation and success. It somewhat fufilled it's role as a "historical adventure, open-world game", but unfortunately leaves out the "stealth" aspect away in the dirt. Here's a list of pros and cons from my 16 hours of experience with the game: Pros:

    + Great looking graphics for a 2007/2008 game
    + Game mechanics isn't really choppy, although the character sometimes get stucked in foliages and invisible floors/walls, but other than that, it still gets the job done, decently.
    + Detailed character modelling, costumes are looks realistic and well-detailed.
    + Missions usually relate to the plot directly, no twist and turns around a corner or two.
    + Plot was intriguing and epic.
    + At least 16-18 hours of non-stop gameplay spent completing just on the story.

    Cons:

    - Repetitive mission types, lacks creativity.
    - Artificial Intelligence coding feels half-assed, e.g. enemy A.I falling off buildings, not retaliating frequently to attacks, not noticing "stealth assassinations" when closeby.
    - Side missions (or known as "memories") are completely useless and takes a long time to complete.
    - Game stablility issues. E.g. unable to start the game, game crashing frequently.
    - Checkpoints feels non-existent.
    - Stealth doesn't really work all that well in this game.
    - Cliffhanger ending was disappointing. Adruptly ended with poor execution methods.

    To sum it up, this game is worth a shot at. I did enjoy this game a ton during the 16 hours of playtime. Good way to start up the storyline of the series to the future games.
    Expand
  30. Mar 18, 2014
    8
    I played the more recent AC installments and then decided to go back and try this one. I feared outdated mechanics, and though they do change drastically from the more recent set up, it was not difficult to adapt to and felt pretty good. I like the way the game flows and I felt much more like a true assassin rather than an extremely agile brawler like the other titles.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Playing as gaming's most agile character is joyous, which outweighs the lengthy cutscenes and disappointing final hour. [Apr 2008, p.38]
  2. Assassin’s Creed for the PC is a pretty compelling action game that benefits from huge environments and an interesting story. While the main campaign can get a bit repetitive, the new Director’s Cut features add some nice variety.
  3. 78
    What you're left with is a repetitive side-quest requirement for completing each primary mission, though the issue is alleviated somewhat with the PC version's additional content.