Assassin's Creed II PC

Assassin's Creed II Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1606 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assassin's Creed II is the product of over two years of intensive development by the original creative team behind the Assassin's Creed brand. In a vast open world environment, the game invites players to incarnate Ezio, a privileged young noble in Renaissance Italy who's been betrayed byAssassin's Creed II is the product of over two years of intensive development by the original creative team behind the Assassin's Creed brand. In a vast open world environment, the game invites players to incarnate Ezio, a privileged young noble in Renaissance Italy who's been betrayed by the rival ruling families of Italy. Ezio's subsequent quest for vengeance plunges players into an epic story that offers more variety in missions, surprising and engaging new gameplay elements, diverse weapons and a profound character progression that appeal to fans of the original Assassin's Creed as well as entice players new to the brand. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Assassin’s Creed II is a gem, a truly masterpiece also on PC. Developing a new economic system, and bringing more attention to combats, notoriety and context-script, Ubisoft achieves an awesome and epic experience. This sequel is far better than the first one.
  2. Despite the foolish DRM and six months after the consoles release, Assassin's Creed 2 is still an incredible adventure with a deep and rich world, an engaging story and loads of contents.
  3. PC Format
    90
    A worthy sequel with all the parkour fun and swashbuckling joy of the original, and a bunch more game for your money. [Apr 2010, p.88]
  4. That’s how a sequel should be done. There’s a better story and a much more charming hero. Even the few flaws of the game can’t hurt the great overall impression.
  5. PC Gamer UK
    86
    Tactile, bloody and substantial. One of gaming's most exciting open worlds - but only when you're online. [Apr 2010, p.96]
  6. Assassin's Creed II is a great romp through the past and a present that lingers on the precipice of becoming bleak and controlled.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    50
    A combination of DRM and instability ruins what should be an excellent game. Pick this up on console. [Apr 2010, p.58]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 143
  2. Negative: 24 out of 143
  1. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    The best Assassin's Creed ever. It's nice, interesting and so on. You can enjoy the views of Florence and Venice. It's good, isn't it? So,The best Assassin's Creed ever. It's nice, interesting and so on. You can enjoy the views of Florence and Venice. It's good, isn't it? So, what we have? A good hero, interesting setting, outstanging gameplay and the best story in 2009 except DA:Origins Expand
  2. May 13, 2013
    10
    Simply one of the best games I have ever played. Great, engaging storyline, superb combat and gameplay, witty dialogues and a charismaticSimply one of the best games I have ever played. Great, engaging storyline, superb combat and gameplay, witty dialogues and a charismatic lead. You can only love the great assassin Ezio Auditore. His story brings evokes great emotions in the player and that is a highlight of a well made game. Expand
  3. Matt
    Jun 13, 2010
    10
    I am rating this purely on the game itself, not the Ubisoft DRM (which i didn't need to worry about because i cracked the game[shhh tell I am rating this purely on the game itself, not the Ubisoft DRM (which i didn't need to worry about because i cracked the game[shhh tell no one!]). The graphics, beautiful. The Free running, excellent, some tweaks made to improve it, and endless fun to be had. The story, FANTASTIC, and WAY better than Assassins creed 1. There is more to do, and a wider, more diverse range of directions to go, so it is not the same things over and over again. And the events that are taking place interest you and draw you in. The Combat system remains largely unchanged, but larger scale of enemy difficulties makes for some more challenging and often more enjoyable fights. And I love the cash aspect of this game. Instead of just having a sword and a dagger, the ability to buy and upgrade weapons, to save for the next one, is great! Plus the ability to upgrade the Villa (Sort of home town) in order to gain more revenue is good as. So, based purely on playing the game itself, i give it a 10. I give Ubisoft a 0 for trying their hardest to lose as many customers as they can, but admittedly they've put out a damn good game. I will add that this is an obvious console port, with the menu better controllable with keys, as well as the game telling you to press the "hand" key rather than the shift key (the HUD has an Xbox button style diamond like in Assassins Creed 1, with images corresponding to each button on an Xbox controller). Once you get past this, and the keys become muscle memory, you will have no more issues with it. I would give it 9.5/10 but there's no such option so I'm rounding up. Expand
  4. Jul 26, 2011
    9
    Since crappy always-on DRM was removed, this game has become a timesink for me. Great atmosphere, and always that nagging feeling to get thatSince crappy always-on DRM was removed, this game has become a timesink for me. Great atmosphere, and always that nagging feeling to get that one more mission done :) Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2013
    8
    I have played about 40+ Hrs. so far, and I have to say that I'm pleasantly surprised at how much I'm enjoying the story and game play. II have played about 40+ Hrs. so far, and I have to say that I'm pleasantly surprised at how much I'm enjoying the story and game play. I haven't played the 1st or the 3rd AC yet. So, I didn't quite know what to expect. Anyway, I'll try to sum my opinion up point by point.
    I played this on an i7 3770K with a GTX680 and an Asus VG248QE running Windows 7 Ultimate.

    1st, The graphics are typical for a multiplatform release. (nice but nothing groundbreaking) 2nd, The sound is good, and they managed to pack some atmosphere into this game.
    3rd, There is plenty to do, but it does become a little repetitive after playing many hours.
    4th, The storyline is, for the most part, good. Some parts are a little fluffed up, but you at least want to stay on board to find out what will happen next, and how it will end. 5th, The controls were unintuitive. So, I remapped them, but they still didn't feel quite right. Finally, I opted to use an XBOX360 controller. For me, this is an unfortunate and unnecessary weak spot, because the PC version of a game should work well with a mouse and keyboard. Other than that, the game is fun to play.
    6th, I would've liked to have seen more options to customize the graphics, and maybe the main character as well.
    7th, I didn't experience any technical problems like bugs, glitches, freezing, or crashing. However, this game does require Uplay to run in the background. I bought this on Steam, which means I already have Steam running. So, I don't see the point of needing both to play, but since, I didn't experience any issues during my sessions, I'll leave it at that.
    All in all, this title was worth adding to my collection.
    Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2011
    6
    Ubisoft's "Assassin's Creed 2" looks beautiful with its architecture and buildings and all those thieves and prostitutes. However, the singleUbisoft's "Assassin's Creed 2" looks beautiful with its architecture and buildings and all those thieves and prostitutes. However, the single player makes you kinda boring as time passes by; too repetitive of what it's doing as well as a long, monotonous story with linear assassinations (But it's fun). The crucial component of AC2 that disappointed me was the controls. It's TOO difficult and the counter-attacks are nearly impossible to use on the **** keyboard. Sure, you can fix it, but it's not gonna feel like the typical assassination games like "Hitman: Blood Money". Nevertheless, if you're interested in the game, try for it; Maybe you might like it.â Expand
  7. May 28, 2011
    0
    DON'T buy this for PC. After having read all of these horrible reviews, I figured it couldn't be *that* bad and I got it (because it is aDON'T buy this for PC. After having read all of these horrible reviews, I figured it couldn't be *that* bad and I got it (because it is a great game, after all). Such a waste of money! First there's the DRM and required internet connection - not a problem for me, though. I get booted out of the game sometimes (Ubisoft's issue, not mine) and often my game doesn't save properly and I have to redo it (which is bad considering you can't save whenever you want in this game - it's automatic). When I play this, I feel like I'm playing a pirated or emulated game!!! It's so sloppily copied from the console game it's not even funny... it's actually sad. At the beginning of the game it shows you the controls using the Xbox360 color coded icons. I found myself mashing random buttons on the keyboard having no idea what corresponded.

    There are so many bugs and issues I don't even know where to start, from messed up cutscenes to bad controls. If you want to play Assassin's Creed II, get it for another system (it's a really good game when it's not on PC). If you don't have one, honestly just pirate the game (I never pirate games but I wouldn't blame anyone if they did with this terrible thing).
    Expand

See all 143 User Reviews