Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1123 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of Connor, the son of a Native American mother and English father. As a revolution is imminent, your people are threatened by a powerful movement aiming to quell the American revolution and seize control the colonies. After your village is decimated, you bind yourself to the cause of freedom, and set out on a decades-long quest to achieve it. Your predatory instincts, developed through years of hunting in rough tundra, enable you to pursue and kill your targets in silence. When overt combat becomes necessary, you can uncork a myriad of weapons including tomahawks, darts, and guns. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Nov 30, 2012
    100
    The PC version of Assassin's Creed III has been injected with eye-popping enhancements that bring its compelling story to life. It's like personally participating in the American Revolution without the consequences of death. The ticket price of traveling back to the fascinating period of America's battle for independence, and the fictional story that Ubisoft Montpellier has layered within it, is just a copy of Assassin's Creed III and a high-end PC. Just remember that you'll have to leave your social life behind.
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    92
    The best version so far. It solves many issues and keeps some others, and, even though it doesn't make the most of current PCs, we still think it's the best way to enjoy this outstanding game.
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    90
    If you're looking for the best platform to play Assassin's Creed III, well, take a look at the PC version and you won't be disappointed.
  4. Dec 6, 2012
    85
    Assassin's Creed III rekindled my love for the series. The new setting and characters were a great welcome for me, and the story was well told through some great writing and voice acting. There are some complications here and there that can bog the player down, but for the most part, the amount of content you get in this game is a steal for the price. The PC version is by far the best way to go if you have the rig for it, and the options for the PC players are satisfying.
  5. Jan 6, 2013
    85
    Although it's hard not to appreciate the story (the line between the good and the evil was never this thin in any previous Assassin's Creed) numerous technical issues prevent you from forgetting it's just a game. In addition controls are not very intuitive and low resolution textures occur far too often. Still it's definitely worth playing. [1/2013, p.52]
  6. 80
    Assassin’s Creed III proves to be, despite its promises, a rather indecisive game. It comes with so many strong elements, that it could have been the best Assassin’s Creed ever, but it fails to harmonically balance those elements. [January 2013]
  7. Dec 30, 2012
    40
    Bloated and hubristic, Assassin's Creed III is a shocking disappointment. If you adored Assassin's Creed II, you would be better served replaying that and forgetting this even exists. [Jan 2013, p.77]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    This game is awesome :P I really enjoy myself during my game-play. Although there are some bugs or glitches but they don't effect my game experiences. I believe assassin's creed 3 is worth a 10 score Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    Lot of fun, very solid port, the controls are much better than the previous games, combat still feels a bit awkward but I will probably get used to it, the graphics are a big step up, the people look almost real, the environments lush and full of detail, and in the frontier there are wild animals that you can hunt and skin, adding further into the depth, trees and rocks are fully climbable, and adds a lot to exploration, the voice work is really high quality, and you meet a lot of founding fathers like Ben Franklin, Sam Adams, and George Washington. My only issue is that Connor is kind of boring as a character, he doesn't have the charm that Ezio had, but he's still pretty cool. Good game over all, worth buying if you're a fan of the series. Expand
  3. Jan 28, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is honestly not as bad as everyone makes it out to be. Sure half the game is a tutorial, sure Connor is a little bland as a character. But the upsides of this game includes; The amazing music, the amazing graphics, the tight gameplay(If at times a bit glitchy). The only things that really pissed me off during the game is that half the time you played as either a young Connor, or Haythem. Don't get my wrong, those parts were okay, but then again a grown up Connor is on the cover, not Haythem, nor a little Connor. From my count, it takes at least 3 hours to even see the games actual protagonist. But other than that. This game is fine, you should get it, now that its like, $20 dollars at Gamestop. Expand
  4. Dec 28, 2012
    6
    Ubisoft's 'Assassin's Creed III' marks the end of a saga of heroism, bloodshed and absolute epicness. However, the game has left a sour taste in my mouth as the change in controls, layout and overall experience has shaken me. I found it difficult to combat my enemies without being punched in the face everytime i countered or blocked which would decrease my health. I also found that the bugs and glitches of previous games had not yet been fixed such as the cape dissappearing into the horse your riding, or being blocked by invisible walls or just the occassional **** up in controls leading you to a 500ft plunge off a church building. The game's story is really interesting with the tale of colonized America and a native taking the role of an assassin to hunt his father and restore equality to America. The historical relevance and gameplay makes the experience feel real and interesting, however it is bogged down by repeditive cutscenes and small amount of gameplay. The maps are too large leading to confusion and more bugs and the shops are not plentiful. There is very little customization and the game fails to make you feel individual as a master assassin by not allowing this. Overall though, the game delivers a playable and mildly enjoyable campaign which im sure i will, no doubt, sit on my couch, play it through once missing all the challenges because I can't be stuffed and then recycle it for store credit at my nearest JB-HI FI. Expand
  5. Mar 31, 2013
    4
    This game is OK! Its nothing special or awesome. Its also not very bad. In my opinion this game is a bit too long. (I didnt read the story after 20% of the game, quiet boring this stuff). In the end the cutscenes are too often and too long and the worst you CANT skip them. Thats not what i wrong from a good game you still need a skip button. I dont want to see the credits, iam not intrested in them but you cant skip them. (fail) The game has good graphics but the hair from characters are just terrible, even GTA IV had better hair. Also the controls are not very good. In some missions you need to sprint but sprint is also the climb button so sometimes you climb stuff up that you didnt even want. There are also no marks in missions. (I often failed because of that). Iam happy that i didnt buy that game. I got it with my new PC. Thats not a great game. It have some positiv some like the openworld, graphics in some ways, also minigames etc. etc. Never played AC1/2 and i wont play AC4 its not that good. Expand
  6. May 29, 2014
    3
    Even now, so long after release a horrible, unplayable broken mess. Glitches around every corner, spazzing out people everywhere, pop-in and pop-out of people, even when they're standing next to you (on an impressive PC). Bad optimization, they still haven't killed off Desmond either so he's still in the game with his dumb **** face trying to make sense of what's going on - a total and complete loss of power and an artificial way to keep the overarching story still going. The Desmond story is like a miscarriage, it was sort of alive when it popped out, but brutally deformed and right now the parents act like it's still alive but really it's just dead, uninteresting, and a bloody mess. Haytham as a character is phenomenal, but is replaced within the first 3 minutes of the game with an uninteresting, arrogant (not in a funny way like Ezio) nitwit who doesn't have the slighest clue of what's going on. Horrible game, only finished it because I loved the previous ones and want to play the 4th one.

    But honestly, even if you're a big fan, skip this one. Please, for your own good.
    Expand
  7. Apr 23, 2014
    0
    Review divided between PC specific problems and Game problems.

    A. PC Specific Problems:

    1. No optimisation done at all. If I suffer FPS
    lag on a $3000 machine, I can only imagine the horror those on a more conservative rigs. Its so buggy! If you look in specific directions the fps drops like bass in a dubstep video. So far I am certain that it has got nothing to do with amount of components on screen. I've gotten smooth as butter FPS with a lot of citizens and buildings and an animation slideshow FPS in a f**in JUNGLE with practically nothing putting load on my CPU / GPU.

    2. Controls are just weird. SUPER weird. We have at least a 102 buttons to play games. They REDUCED the amount of buttons required to play the game than previous versions. I am pretty sure you could map an Sega Genesis controller to play this game and won't need any combos on a PC.

    3. Uplay! Need I say more?

    4. Savegames get corrupted randomly. I've had to start the game thrice AT LEAST. Its funny because you don't loose an entire save, you loose the progress! Its not even the progress made in the same session!

    5. Random crashes.

    B. Other Issues Universal to all Systems:

    1. The gameplay is non existent. The game pretty much is like a modern version of those weird CD-I games.

    2. Their version of OPEN world is just run around. Run around to get collectible, deliver letters etc. On top of that, running around isn't even fun! It seems like so for the first 15 minutes, but its horrid! The tree parkour is very badly done. Its laughable. You have to be on a horse for the most part if you actually wanna get to places. In GTA there's a million things to experience in the open world. Here, it's NOTHING!

    3. Horses are BUGGY AS F**K! Skyrim horses are MUCH better than this sh!t!~

    4. It could have better been a shooter on rails! Because you are NOT ALLOWED to THINK how to do a mission. The whole thing is scripted. I've played better NES games than this.

    5. I could rant on but now the game has sucked out all of my motivation.

    On the good part, the graphics are amazing! They are wallpaper worthy! Every single image you capture will be pretty much gorgeous. But it's a GAME. NOT a MOVIE!

    Honestly, you are better off just watching the walkthroughs on youtube or whatever. Even that'll get boring.
    Expand

See all 322 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.