Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1368 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroyThe year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built for themselves. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    There are refinements still to be made but Black Flag is a stunning return to form worthy of any gamer’s time.
  2. PC PowerPlay
    Dec 30, 2013
    90
    Makes up for the failings of AC3, delivering a fantastic, engaging open world experience. [Jan 2014, p.78]
  3. Jan 16, 2014
    90
    Fans that were bummed out by Assassin’s Creed III will most likely find Black Flag to be a welcoming return to what they love about the series, with a great story, amazingly crafted world and smart additions to the sailing that make it a refreshing part of the Assassin’s Creed formula.
  4. Dec 19, 2013
    87
    At the end of a generation, Ubisoft gives us a new and great chapter of Assassin's Creed. Black Flag, despite some congenital defects works great, focusing on the exploration and a free roaming component refreshed for the most.
  5. Nov 24, 2013
    80
    Like its winsome protagonist, Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag is fixated on pursuing the riches of high-seas piracy and seems reluctant to be drawn into convoluted Templar plots. The most self-aware Assassin’s Creed title to date, and one that makes the most of some aging mechanics.
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    80
    The game looks absolutely beautiful, is jam packed with things to do, and as ever, the combat is a joy to fiddle with.
  7. Mar 5, 2014
    60
    Ironically enough for a game which centers around the concept of genetic ancestry, however, it continually lets itself down by refusing to break away from its own tired and worn-out heritage,

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 65 out of 281
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    The Assassin Creed Franchise has had its up and downs, but ACV is absolutely an up. This game is extremely fun and I recommend it to anyoneThe Assassin Creed Franchise has had its up and downs, but ACV is absolutely an up. This game is extremely fun and I recommend it to anyone who enjoyed the previous games. The ship combat has improved and the graphics are beautiful. This game is probably my favorite in the franchise so far. Collapse
  2. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    Even though this is very far from what I would have imagined as a sequel to the Assassin's Creed I played in 2008, it's hard to blame the gameEven though this is very far from what I would have imagined as a sequel to the Assassin's Creed I played in 2008, it's hard to blame the game for this departure from the original. AC4: Black Flag is over the top entertaining and one of the most addicting games I have played in a long time, while still looking absolutely stunning, even on low-end machines. Except for the controls (controller recommended) the game is very well ported to the PC and runs very smoothly. Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2014
    9
    well for me i found this game just pure awesome, but i still had a few problems like
    1. a bug at the ending
    2. the story wasnt as good as
    well for me i found this game just pure awesome, but i still had a few problems like
    1. a bug at the ending
    2. the story wasnt as good as the old creeds, like enzio well he is the charecter in the francise, but for me edward
    the naval gameplay was epic and basically the backbone of the game, fighting machanics were set right and the sound track was awesome
    in conclusion must buy
    Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2013
    8
    I wish I could give this game two scores.

    The pirate (in-animus) part of the game is pretty great. In fact, the parts that focus on simply
    I wish I could give this game two scores.

    The pirate (in-animus) part of the game is pretty great. In fact, the parts that focus on simply being a scallywag and scoundrel on the high seas are phenomenal. Ultimately, the game itself gets weighed down under the weight of the assinine and trite Assassin's Creed mythos and loses steam. Even so, the fantastic attention to detail and the euphoria of piracy are enough to earn a solid 8.5.

    BUT. The Abstergo (out-of-animus) portion of the game is an abomination. Every second I spent outside the animus was a moment of my life I'll never get back. I felt like Ubisoft was shoving this nonsense down my throat. If anyone at Ubisoft happens to read this, here's a message: NO ONE CARES ABOUT ASSASSINS, TEMPLARS, OR ABSTERGO. STOP MAKING ME RUN AROUND AN OFFICE BUILDING WHEN I COULD BE SWASHBUCKLING. 0/10 for this part.
    Expand
  5. May 6, 2014
    7
    Pretty pirate-simulator with some fun naval combat. Let down though by the usual repetitive quests, stupid sword-play combat, and lack of aPretty pirate-simulator with some fun naval combat. Let down though by the usual repetitive quests, stupid sword-play combat, and lack of a particularly interesting narrative journey or characters. An improvement for sure on the last AC. The best aspect of the game is traversing the picturesque waters in changing weather conditions on a boat full of pirates singing a song. Not much tension or drama, plenty of grind. Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2016
    5
    I had high expectations of this game, it's good but the part where you have to sail draws the score down alot. It's slow and boring with theI had high expectations of this game, it's good but the part where you have to sail draws the score down alot. It's slow and boring with the sailing. But if I wouldn't have to spend 60% of the time on sailing in the game I'd give it an 7/10. Expand
  7. Feb 3, 2014
    0
    assassins creed 4 is an amazing game and a grand improvement over AC3. the map is just huge, one of the bigger games i have ever seen.theassassins creed 4 is an amazing game and a grand improvement over AC3. the map is just huge, one of the bigger games i have ever seen.the story is great. it isnt a heavy or too serious story, though it does have its great moments. the story is fun and interesting, and is supported by greatly written cast of characters. the characters are interesting and greatly help the plot. overall i enjoyed the story it was written good and was fun.
    the gameplay is mostly fun. the games stealth system is greatly improved over AC3, but it still needs tweaking and it isnt as good as its supposed to be. the game has a lot of stealth, and the system just doesnt feel built for it sometimes. still some stealth missions are fun. the combat system is great. its fun and cool and the fighting animations are great. animations in general are top notch! from climbing to running the games animations are amazing. the graphics are also amazing, and its one of the best looking games ive seen. the engine isnt as powerfull as cryengine, but the game is so well made that it still looks spectacular. the sea, sunsets, citys and jungles all look amazing. jungles in particular have tons of detail, and the lighting there is great. the game in general is extremely detailed, much more than other games. given that this game is also so huge, there was a lot of effort built into it. naval combat is also great and fun. boarding ships does get repetetive though. even so its still fun. the draw distance is also spectacular. weather effects are, again, some of the best ive seen, especially the waves. the music in the game is mostly good and fits the game. when your crew starts singing its also pretty fun. the parkour system is overall great. you do stumble to your death for no reason some times, but overall it works pretty good. parkour on your boat is a bit annoying. underwater segments are also great and cool.
    EXPLORATION is a huge part of the game, and it is done masterfully. you allways want to find new locations and explore. finding collectibles in the game is also fun. in most games i dont care about collectibles, but in AC4 they are done really good. tailing missions and evesdrop missions are still in the game, and theyre annoying as ever.

    overall this game is amazing and i cant praise it more. exploration is really fun, the design is great and the story is good. this is the ultimate pirate game. i highly recomend it!!!!!!!!
    Expand

See all 281 User Reviews