Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1221 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroyThe year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built for themselves. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    There are refinements still to be made but Black Flag is a stunning return to form worthy of any gamer’s time.
  2. Dec 30, 2013
    90
    Makes up for the failings of AC3, delivering a fantastic, engaging open world experience. [Jan 2014, p.78]
  3. Jan 16, 2014
    90
    Fans that were bummed out by Assassin’s Creed III will most likely find Black Flag to be a welcoming return to what they love about the series, with a great story, amazingly crafted world and smart additions to the sailing that make it a refreshing part of the Assassin’s Creed formula.
  4. Dec 19, 2013
    87
    At the end of a generation, Ubisoft gives us a new and great chapter of Assassin's Creed. Black Flag, despite some congenital defects works great, focusing on the exploration and a free roaming component refreshed for the most.
  5. Nov 24, 2013
    80
    Like its winsome protagonist, Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag is fixated on pursuing the riches of high-seas piracy and seems reluctant to be drawn into convoluted Templar plots. The most self-aware Assassin’s Creed title to date, and one that makes the most of some aging mechanics.
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    80
    The game looks absolutely beautiful, is jam packed with things to do, and as ever, the combat is a joy to fiddle with.
  7. Mar 5, 2014
    60
    Ironically enough for a game which centers around the concept of genetic ancestry, however, it continually lets itself down by refusing to break away from its own tired and worn-out heritage,

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 63 out of 268
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    The Assassin Creed Franchise has had its up and downs, but ACV is absolutely an up. This game is extremely fun and I recommend it to anyoneThe Assassin Creed Franchise has had its up and downs, but ACV is absolutely an up. This game is extremely fun and I recommend it to anyone who enjoyed the previous games. The ship combat has improved and the graphics are beautiful. This game is probably my favorite in the franchise so far. Collapse
  2. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    The last few Assassin's Creed games hasn't been so satisfying, but THIS one goes straight to the top on the list of awesome games! I reallyThe last few Assassin's Creed games hasn't been so satisfying, but THIS one goes straight to the top on the list of awesome games! I really enjoyed this game and find myself still playing after completing the main quest, because i want to keep plundering, fighting and improve my ship. The main story line was extremely good. The entire game itself was incredible, everything in the game just makes sense, and is so well done. Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    9
    Well I'm a long time fan of AC, but have been rather critical of some of the historical settings, which we have been presented.
    Where AC
    Well I'm a long time fan of AC, but have been rather critical of some of the historical settings, which we have been presented.
    Where AC would have gotten a 7 this setting and all the new features has blown me out of the water.

    Best pirate game ever love sailing (instead of that irritating horse and discovering loads of secrets.
    Absolutely great graphics and wonderful ideas.
    Expand
  4. Dec 30, 2013
    8
    Play as kenway in this 8-bit action adventure. highly acclaimed game which will thrill you for hours. also there are pirates and who doesn'tPlay as kenway in this 8-bit action adventure. highly acclaimed game which will thrill you for hours. also there are pirates and who doesn't like pirates. This game is great and i recomend it to you if you read this Expand
  5. Nov 30, 2013
    7
    While I don't like some aspects of this game, it's one of most fun games I ever played.

    Graphics are great, the towns look very nice, the
    While I don't like some aspects of this game, it's one of most fun games I ever played.

    Graphics are great, the towns look very nice, the landscape of both missions and islands is amazing, the sea looks nice enough and the waves behave very smoothly.
    The character movement is very good, definitely an improvement, you can connect most of the movement you want to make, rarely you will start to jump and grab places you didn't meant too.
    The missions are mostly well made and fun, and while some might say they are too easy, I think they are just fine because I like to go through the story, I hate bottlenecks of repetitive tries due to chance or difficulty, for the sake of being hard. Sea combat is fun. Boarding ships is fun if you roleplay them, don't go immediately to the goals and you will be immersed into nice visuals and combat.

    But this game has a lot of downsizes. Very easy naval combat, too easy, specially when attacking naval fortress's, the repercussions of pirating are basically none. Land combat is also extremely easy, its all about knowing what type of enemies you are facing and hit the according button, but, its fun, very fun, still way too easy. The map size is extremely small (caribbean islands packed into a 20km per 20km give or take) and the view ranges of enemy ships is ridiculous low, we are talking about having an enemy ship 50 meters away from you and they can't see you!! This game design choice obliterates the immersion of being at sea, the feeling of being alone, of spotting enemies on the horizon, storms are well made but they come and go in a minute, rogue waves and water tornados are just too easy to avoid. Due to the map being so filled with islands and ships, immersion is completely crushed.

    All in all, its a fun game to play, but once you play it the replay value is null, this means that for a open world game something went wrong when they designed it, kinda remembers me of Sleeping Dogs, making an open world that serves no purpose since only the missions have any value.
    Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2014
    5
    What shame.. No game can be good when it performs like a dog.. I have loads of games (similar to this) and they run smoothly without faffingWhat shame.. No game can be good when it performs like a dog.. I have loads of games (similar to this) and they run smoothly without faffing around. I just don't understand why a games company can do this??? If you look on the web you will see loads and loads of people wanting to fix time lags!!

    Second, the game gets off to a bad start.. The first mission you will probably end up looking for help. I spent two hours roaming around doing nothing. When I read up on advice it directs you to go into a "red area" which you would assume was unavailable.

    Game gets better and better but normally I would have stopped wanting a refund!!!!!!!!
    Expand
  7. Oct 6, 2014
    0
    It gives you sea sickness after playing... you just can`t figure out if you are throwing up because of the stupid game or because of the factIt gives you sea sickness after playing... you just can`t figure out if you are throwing up because of the stupid game or because of the fact that everything keeps moving after you close the game.

    Since AC2, all those games are getting worse! Only bought it because it was almost free in Humble Bundle. Well. If you are looking for a good game, try something else.
    Expand

See all 268 User Reviews