Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Jul 7, 2011
    70
    OUTATIME is definitely the best episode of Back to the Future. Thanks to a very successful storyline, the game gains in quality and fun.
  2. Jul 1, 2011
    70
    Well, it's a good game, at times even great, but it functions better as Back to the Future: Part Four than as an adventure game.
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    70
    Outatime is also significant as it is the first entry in which Michael J. Fox joins the cast, jumping into the role of one of Marty's ancestors. While I found Fox's involvement exciting, the actor's character seemed out of place during these sequences (as if the role was written late just so Telltale could slide him in), and Fox himself uses a goofy southern accent that does little to disguise his aging voice. It's sad, but the most authentic sounding McFly in the game is a Michael J. Fox impersonator.
  4. Jun 24, 2011
    70
    It's funny, it clever, and it answers a lot of questions I had. I enjoyed playing it, but I didn't love it. The story isn't as grounded as I'd like it to be at certain points, so it throws the balance of sincere/goofy off. I wanted the conclusion of the serious movie feelings episode one started, but I got the comical ending of a Saturday morning cartoon.
  5. Jun 27, 2011
    68
    This game isn't very much fun to play, but the storyline is a joy to watch.
  6. Jul 7, 2011
    65
    Overall, Back to the Future has meant several steps behind what Telltale has managed to show in the past with other projects. Funny at times, but really easy and very linear.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 34
  2. Negative: 4 out of 34
  1. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    Episode 5 "Outatime" Has got to be a pretty decent finale for a 5 part game. This part in my opinion is the most emotional, dramatic part outEpisode 5 "Outatime" Has got to be a pretty decent finale for a 5 part game. This part in my opinion is the most emotional, dramatic part out of all the episodes. Although the ending didn't make much sense it what will make you baffle is the message after the credits. Full Review »
  2. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    I always start out reading reviews with the worst scores just out of curiosity and hoping for some rich criticism. I have to give this seriesI always start out reading reviews with the worst scores just out of curiosity and hoping for some rich criticism. I have to give this series a high score. I really enjoyed these games. This last one, OUTATIME, had me on the edge of my seat cranking through this game. I'm looking forward to going back and playing through them all over again. The over-all feel of the series and story behind it really felt like it belongs along side the theatrical films. It was great! When the credits rolled at the end, I was left hoping that Telltale had plans to make another series. I'd jump at the chance to play it. Full Review »
  3. Apr 3, 2014
    9
    If you're a BTTF junkie, it's a must have.
    It has the same flavour as the movies, even that little things.
    The story is fun but the puzzles
    If you're a BTTF junkie, it's a must have.
    It has the same flavour as the movies, even that little things.
    The story is fun but the puzzles are rather easy.
    Just enjoy the ride
    Full Review »