Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Dec 4, 2012
    60
    Both parts of Baldur's Gate have been given a ton of excellent modifications that make the Enhanced Edition look poor. The overall grade given to the "new" Baldur can seem controversial, so let me explain. Baldur's Gate as a game deserves a full 10 out of 10, but the Enhanced Edition introduces so few interesting new elements, that it's impossible to give it more than 6/10. And in this case we really should consider only the new content.
  2. Dec 4, 2012
    80
    The classics never die. Baldur's Gate still is awesome. A must have for anyone that not played the original, but less recommendable for the veterans of the saga.
  3. 69
    While Baldur's Gate is still a great game, the Enhanced Edition doesn't do it justice. Neither the new content nor the few minor changes to graphics and interface aren't enough to justify paying another 20 bucks for a game that is, in essence, 14 years old.
  4. Dec 3, 2012
    80
    The best way to view the Enhanced Edition is as a particular flavour of this game - one which may or may not appeal to your personal taste. I certainly can't claim that this is the definitive version of Baldur's Gate and I have to judge this game I love with that in mind. It's not better - it's just different.
  5. Dec 1, 2012
    81
    Despite a dearth of immediately obvious changes, Baldur's Gate has aged well, and new players will find many hours' worth of fun if they approach it with an understanding of its increasingly antiquated framework.
  6. Nov 29, 2012
    85
    Fourteen years have passed since its original release, but Baldur's Gate is still a masterpiece. The Enhanced Edition adds nice content and tuning to a game that every RPG player should have played once time (at least) in his life.
  7. Nov 28, 2012
    90
    Putting aside nostalgia, and putting aside a genuine longing for more games in this vein - yes, Baldur's Gate really is that good.
  8. Nov 28, 2012
    85
    A very good version of a great classic. A nice way to remember this jewel and to discover it if it´s your first time. But if you have the original and can manage installing mods, the benefits are not so obvious.
  9. Nov 28, 2012
    80
    A great update for the classic, but not a must-have if you have the original one. If you don't, now it's the perfect choice to live this adventure.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 284 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 82
  2. Negative: 23 out of 82
  1. Mar 7, 2013
    4
    One of the most beloved PC RPGs returns, but all is not nostalgically rosy, and it's not because of any lessening of the quality of the content through modern eyes, but rather the lack of value this version of the game represents.

    All the game does is take the (free) Tutu engine modification, slap it on, add a couple of new characters and quests, and triple the price of the game. They also managed to introduce a load of new bugs into the game that community patches had mostly fixed with the old versions. Of course, those community patches now don't work properly with this version, so it's technically inferior as well.

    Here in the UK, this game costs £14.99 on Steam. Alternatively, you can buy the entire Baldur's Gate series from GOG.com collectively for £13.26 ($19.98), and apply the free Tutu mod (or BG Trilogy mod if you prefer, which does a similar thing) to get about three times the content for a lower cost. Do that instead of buying this.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    5
    Putting aside nostalgia, and putting aside a genuine longing for more games in this vein - yes, Baldur's Gate really is that good. The enhanced edition is simply a overpriced rerelase of a vintage game that provided no significant new content to justify such cost, and while it is solid its nothing someone who already owns the game OR can get it cheaper bundled with its sequel should bother with.

    Bad overhaul games.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    I wouldve given the game 8 in its current state, but gave it 10 to offset the rediculous "0" reviews... Bassically this is the same old game you know and love, if youve played BG1. The core game is largely untouched and the only things changed are the interface, better high res support, bug fixes (get to this one in a minute), and a much better, gutted code base.

    First of all the code base basically means the game loads quicker with no load screens at all and should be much smoother. I think it will hopefully make it easier to mod in the end as well, so expect alot of mods to star popping up come the new year. The changing of the code has also introduced new bugs, so while they have fixed old bugs they ve introduced a fair few in their cleaning of the code. Alot of people dont seem to understand that messing with a 12 year old code base for a game is a messy business, difficult to do and in some ways probably more difficult than building a game from scratch in 2012. So basically they resort to calling overhaul "inept, "incompetant", and all sorts of other insults for managing to introduce bugs that werent in the game before. Which is of course extremely unfair. They are a small team though I am confident they can fix all the bugs they have introduced with the EE.

    Im not going to say a huge amount more about the game seeing as most of you already know the story, characters and how it plays, I just wanted to talk about overhauls efforts so far since the game released.

    Over the span of a just over a week, overhaul has released 4 patches of fixes and even new features.

    Ive heard people say on the forums: "I cant set my fps above 30! This game is rubbish because of this!" They included this in the 3rd patch, so everyone can set their FPS to 60 if they want.

    "I dont like the look of the game, widescreen mod + tutu looks way better and sharper!" so trent (director of overhaul games) posted a tweet giving gamers a .ini modification which will essentially make the game very similar to look at compared to the widescreen mod+ tutu. He stated if people liked it, they would tweak it to make it work even better.

    "The spawns are too small (e.g 1 Xvart spawning and lone gibberlings) making the game too easy!" - Fixed in latest patch (apparantly, I havent tested it yet though).

    All the above are valid remarks and feedback from the community, but they have fixed that much, as well as working on crashes and other hardware/software conflicts that customers are having, fixing minor bugs here and there AND working on the iPad version which was released recently... Not bad for a 13 man company in my opinion.

    Im not delusional though, the release wasnt brilliant, bugs still remain and there is still alot of work to be done. But saying Overhaul arent listening at all to their community (they will only delete posts on forums if they offensive and non-constructive. In fact it is likely moderators deleting them, not overhaul employees) and dont give a s**t is complete rubbish.

    Since the release which I was quite dissapointed in as well, I have seen overhaul respond in a way which you dont see many companies doing these days. They responded with an appology to people whos game wasnt working, and then have put in lots of effort trying to get it fixed. My confidence in them has grown, and to me, BG is in good hands for the future.
    Full Review »