Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 285 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Baldur's Gate: Enhanced Edition includes the entire Baldur's Gate adventure, the Tales of the Sword Coast expansion pack, and some never before seen content as well.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    100
    Overhaul Games has succeeded in making one of the big RPG classics available on modern machines. The infinity engine looks great in HD and all the esthetics are well preserved. The new stuff is okay, but most importantly Baldur's Gate can now be fully enjoyed again, as it deserves.
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    89
    The game may not be perfect, and it may not be particularly easy, but that doesn't mean it isn't a fantastic game that RPG fans of all shapes shouldn't try.
  3. Dec 8, 2012
    85
    With this renewed edition, the first chapter of the Baldur's Gate saga revives of a new life, thanks to the original expansion pack "Tales of the Sword Coast" and the new original adventure "The Black Pit" made by Overhaul Games.
  4. Dec 4, 2012
    80
    The classics never die. Baldur's Gate still is awesome. A must have for anyone that not played the original, but less recommendable for the veterans of the saga.
  5. Dec 12, 2012
    80
    Should you buy Baldur's Gate: Enhanced Edition if you own it on GOG? Probably not. A few optional characters, a Horde mode, and a few built-in modifications do not a Really Special Edition make. You should absolutely play Baldur's Gate if you don't mind isometric RPGs that give you a real challenge, since the writing is still amazing and both the world and combat system are still really deep and engrossing.
  6. Dec 17, 2012
    79
    All in all, you'll have to make that decision for yourself. If you want to play the game as it originally looked, or if you want to pay the barrel bottom price, pick the GoG version, but if you think the game is worth a bit of money, want to play the game with a bit of tweaks to make it more usable, or want access to the excellent new content, be sure to at least give the Enhanced Edition a look.
  7. Jan 24, 2013
    40
    The unfortunately named Enhanced Edition fails to make a compelling case for its existence in any meaningful way, especially when you consider its asking price of twenty bucks can net you both the original Baldur's Gate and the far-superior sequel from a site like GOG, and downloading a few free mods that make them really shine takes mere minutes of your time. I would highly recommend that course of action instead.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 83
  2. Negative: 23 out of 83
  1. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    I wouldve given the game 8 in its current state, but gave it 10 to offset the rediculous "0" reviews... Bassically this is the same old game you know and love, if youve played BG1. The core game is largely untouched and the only things changed are the interface, better high res support, bug fixes (get to this one in a minute), and a much better, gutted code base.

    First of all the code base basically means the game loads quicker with no load screens at all and should be much smoother. I think it will hopefully make it easier to mod in the end as well, so expect alot of mods to star popping up come the new year. The changing of the code has also introduced new bugs, so while they have fixed old bugs they ve introduced a fair few in their cleaning of the code. Alot of people dont seem to understand that messing with a 12 year old code base for a game is a messy business, difficult to do and in some ways probably more difficult than building a game from scratch in 2012. So basically they resort to calling overhaul "inept, "incompetant", and all sorts of other insults for managing to introduce bugs that werent in the game before. Which is of course extremely unfair. They are a small team though I am confident they can fix all the bugs they have introduced with the EE.

    Im not going to say a huge amount more about the game seeing as most of you already know the story, characters and how it plays, I just wanted to talk about overhauls efforts so far since the game released.

    Over the span of a just over a week, overhaul has released 4 patches of fixes and even new features.

    Ive heard people say on the forums: "I cant set my fps above 30! This game is rubbish because of this!" They included this in the 3rd patch, so everyone can set their FPS to 60 if they want.

    "I dont like the look of the game, widescreen mod + tutu looks way better and sharper!" so trent (director of overhaul games) posted a tweet giving gamers a .ini modification which will essentially make the game very similar to look at compared to the widescreen mod+ tutu. He stated if people liked it, they would tweak it to make it work even better.

    "The spawns are too small (e.g 1 Xvart spawning and lone gibberlings) making the game too easy!" - Fixed in latest patch (apparantly, I havent tested it yet though).

    All the above are valid remarks and feedback from the community, but they have fixed that much, as well as working on crashes and other hardware/software conflicts that customers are having, fixing minor bugs here and there AND working on the iPad version which was released recently... Not bad for a 13 man company in my opinion.

    Im not delusional though, the release wasnt brilliant, bugs still remain and there is still alot of work to be done. But saying Overhaul arent listening at all to their community (they will only delete posts on forums if they offensive and non-constructive. In fact it is likely moderators deleting them, not overhaul employees) and dont give a s**t is complete rubbish.

    Since the release which I was quite dissapointed in as well, I have seen overhaul respond in a way which you dont see many companies doing these days. They responded with an appology to people whos game wasnt working, and then have put in lots of effort trying to get it fixed. My confidence in them has grown, and to me, BG is in good hands for the future.
    Expand
  2. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    The ridiculously low negative reviews are unjustified. The game is exactly what it says it is: an enhanced version of Balder's Gate. I didn't experience any of the crashes some of the other uses reported and while i do think it is a little overpriced for the slight enhancements it provides, i still think its worth a buy. Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    Gave it a 9/10. On the basis of nostalgia alone this game has some very good advantages. It's fully moddable, has a strong community and the content is all properly there. While there is some minor bugs with the release, it's nothing that will stop a person from playing after a driver fix or two.

    Most of all the important thing is that the game is ready to be introduced to a new generation, and it does well with meshing all of what the community integrated over the last ten+ years from the original release.

    New content and voice overs are excellent, the black pit was rather challenging and required good tactical knowledge of D&D. (It's not hurting the golem! What's that sword enhancement rating?)

    Mostly I like the new characters, the Djinni, and the new party NPC's both of which have certain shall we say, romance elements. All in all I applaud Overhaul games on a job well done and look forward to Baldur's Gate 2.
    Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2013
    7
    A great game with some new bonus content, and most importantly it will run on newer operating systems in the proper resolution. Unfortunately the amount of new content is a bit limited for the price tag. Some new characters with side quests and some interface improvements may not justify 20 dollars if you already own the original and have modded it to a state that is pretty similar to what BG:Enhanced gives you. Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2012
    5
    Putting aside nostalgia, and putting aside a genuine longing for more games in this vein - yes, Baldur's Gate really is that good. The enhanced edition is simply a overpriced rerelase of a vintage game that provided no significant new content to justify such cost, and while it is solid its nothing someone who already owns the game OR can get it cheaper bundled with its sequel should bother with.

    Bad overhaul games.
    Expand
  6. Dec 9, 2012
    4
    If you're a huge fan of the original or if you don't want to bother with modding the original game, you might be interested in this title, though at 20$ it remains pretty expensive for what it has to offer. I was expecting more than what the mods already made available since the release of this 1998 classic. 3 npcs and The Black Pits, are nice additions, but ultimately, the game remains the same. You won't notice most of the enhancements made except for the zoom function, which wasn't needed in the first place, since the outdated graphics weren't improved and zooming out isn't required much. I can't give this game more than a 4/10, sadly, for it's a useless release and simply a way for the team behind it to make some money. Hopefully they have, and will release something signifantly better for BG2. Collapse
  7. Aug 9, 2014
    0
    I think peoples will buy this just to see "enhanced" game with run on modern computer at 1-fps, which normally could run on toaster at 60-fps. This is Guiness Record for worst improvement category. This is like use donkey to pull Ferrari. Expand

See all 83 User Reviews